Tuesday, April 12, 2011

Ejections: Bob Davidson (1)

HP Umpire Bob Davidson ejected Diamondbacks Manager Kirk Gibson for arguing a swing call in the bottom of the 3rd inning of the Cardinals-Diamondbacks game. With none out and two on, Diamondbacks batter Miguel Montero attempted to check his swing on a 0-0 curveball from Cardinals pitcher Chris Carpenter. Replays indicate Montero did not appear to have attempted to strike the pitch, the call was incorrect.* At the time of the ejection, the Diamondbacks were leading, 5-3. The Diamondbacks ultimately won the contest, 13-8.

This is Bob Davidson (6)'s first ejection of 2011.
Bob Davidson now has -2 points in the Umpire Ejection Fantasy League (0 Previous + 2 MLB + -4 Incorrect Call) = -2.
Bob Davidson is owned as a Primary Umpire by BGMTOM, who is now tied for 34th place in the UEFL with -2 points.
Bob Davidson is owned as a Primary Umpire by Bino, who is now tied for 34th place in the UEFL with -2 points.
Bob Davidson is owned as a Secondary Umpire by BrooklynUmp, who is now tied for 36th place in the UEFL with -3 points.
*Quality of Correctness was challenged and denied ("Incorrect" ==> "Incorrect").

This is the 6th ejection of 2011.
This is the 3rd Manager ejection of 2011.
This is Kirk Gibson's first career ejection as a Manager.

Wrap: http://mlb.mlb.com/mlb/gameday/index.jsp?gid=2011_04_12_slnmlb_arimlb_1

Video #1: http://mlb.mlb.com/video/play.jsp?content_id=13735415

Video #2: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UcLhaZRkx44

Video #3: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1BKQufGhGBU

Video #4: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EbUFgMEtM9s

1 comments :

jeruhmed said...

This ruling has been challenged.

After review, the Quality of Correctness has been upheld. The call is now incorrect.

Upon initial examination, the appeal call appeared to be incorrect.

Upon further examination, including examination of the replay and real-time play, the determination of upholding the original Quality of Correctness was made. Upon further consultation of the initial play, it was apparent that the batter did not attempt to strike the ball as it prepared to enter the strike zone. After viewing a reverse angle shot, it is apparent the batter successfully checked his swing. The call is in no way obvious, nor can any video evidence be found to reverse the call, nor find it inconclusive.

Denied.

Post a Comment