Tuesday, May 10, 2011

Case Plays: Failure to Connect (Answered)

This Case Play has been completed. Congratulations to UEFL League Members TonyTheRed, sachmet, and cyclone14, as UEFL visitor Penwhale for correctly answering both parts of the posted play. kickersrule answered (b), but not (a), correctly. The correct response is:

(a) B1 is safe and the ball is dead when no further play is possible (as prescribed by the phrasing of the scenario).
(b) B1 is ruled out on appeal and the ball is dead after the live ball appeal (as prescribed by the phrasing of the scenario).
Per MLB Rule 6.05(j), the batter is out when, "...after he hits a fair ball, he or first base is tagged before he touches first base." When the fielder has also missed first base, no out may be called, as neither criteria of Rule 6.05(j) has been fulfilled. The batter-runner, therefore, may only be declared out by appeal under Rule 7.10(b): "Any runner shall be called out, on appeal, when- with the ball in play, while advancing or returning to a base, he fails to touch each base in order before he, or a missed base, is tagged." Our B1, therefore, may be declared out on appeal, but F3 must appeal; simply stepping on first base is not sufficient per Rule 7.10 Comment: "...A player, inadvertently stepping on the base with a ball in his hand, would not constitute an appeal." In part (a) of the scenario, F3 does not declare his intent to appeal, and has inadvertently stepped on first base for the purposes of an appeal under Rule 7.10. In part (b), F3 clearly indicates that his stepping on first base is a direct act of appeal on B1's actions, and the out should be ruled in part (b) only. Defensive appeals refer to ruling on the offense's actions; they do not refer to judgement calls on the defense's actions.

2 Points Added to:
sachmet is now tied for 3rd place in the UEFL with 8 points.
cyclone14 is now tied for 9th place in the UEFL with 6 points.
TonyTheRed is now tied for 16th place in the UEFL with 3 points.

1 Point Added to:
mtn335 is now in 2nd place in the UEFL with 10 points.
kickersrule is now tied for 11th place in the UEFL with 5 points.

Thank you for participating in this Case Play and congratulations to all participants, who responded with at least partial correctness. Stay tuned for further Case Plays. The original Case Play post has been reproduced below.

Pursuant to UEFL Rule 4.f., this Case Play is open for 48 hours from the time of this post (5/8/11 at 7:00PM). During this time, all Case Play responses will remain in moderation (screened or invisible) until the 48 hour submission period is closed. To receive full point(s) credit, you must answer the following scenario correctly, including any relevant MLB Rule(s) and all relevant results of the play after applying said rule(s).

Video: http://mlb.mlb.com/video/play.jsp?content_id=14620831

In the top of the 8th inning, with none out and none on, B1 hits a ground ball to F3, who has to range to his right to field the grounder. F3 and B1 are in a footrace to the first base bag, with F3 arriving at the fair territory side of first base prior to B1 arriving at the foul territory side of first base. Replays indicate (or "for the purposes of this Case Play, let us assume replays indicate") neither B1 nor F3 actually touch the first base bag. U1 (1B Umpire) indicates "safe," points to the fair territory side of first base where F3's foot landed, demonstrating that F3 failed to touch first base. U1 does not rule on B1's actions on the foul territory side of first base at this time. F3 briefly protests the call, and ultimately, while still holding the ball in his glove during a live ball ("time" will not be called until after either (a) or (b) has been completed), F3 touches his foot to the fair territory edge of the first base bag (this time making contact with first base), and (a) clearly demonstrates that F3 thinks he did indeed touch the fair territory side of first base, or (b) verbally requests U1 rule on B1's actions on the foul territory side of first base. For parts (a) and (b) of the scenario, determine the correct result of the play, how play will resume, and the basis on which you reached that decision (cite your rule[s]). (1pt for [a], 1 pt for [b])

Consult the UEFL Rulebook for further information regarding Rule 4.f and Case Plays.

12 comments :

Tony Hendrix said...

A) technically 7.10(b) requires an appeal of the missed base. If he is arguing that he himself touched the base, there is no presumption of an appeal. the ball is in play and provided the runner returns to first per 7.10(c) play shall continue.

B) per 7.10(b) (and assuming the umpire agrees) B1 is called out for missing first base on appeal before the next play. The ball remains in play.

The umpire is correct in ruling B1 "safe" as F3 did not touch the base. Umpires do not rule on missed bases or tag-ups unless appealed.

Pete Krawczyk said...

[Blogger apparently does not like longer comments when using LiveJournal as the authentication mechanism. Please credit this response to "sachmet".]

The applicable rule for the initial play is 6.05.j - the batter is out when "…after he hits a fair ball, he or first base is tagged before he touches first base."

The differences in the scenarios come down to rule 7.10, specifically that "[s]uccessive appeals may not be made on a runner at the same base". Therefore, the defensive player needs to choose his appeal carefully…

In scenario (a), since it can be demonstrated that F3 missed the bag, the appeal would be correctly denied. B1 is now declared safe at first base. It does not matter that the base was tagged before the runner came back into contact with it, since the ruling of "safe" implies that the umpire believes the bag was touched. B2 is up to bat, with a runner on 1st and no outs. Since no additional appeal can be made, the ruling cannot be overturned.

In scenario (b), since it can be demonstrated that B1 missed the bag, and in the act of the appeal F3 did touch 1st base, B1 is now declared out. B2 is up to bat, with no runners on base and 1 out.

However, this relies on the umpire correctly determining that B1 missed the bag - and since 9.02.a gives the calling umpire's judgement precedence, plus 9.02.c does not force the umpire to confer with other umpires, means that there is just a good of a chance that the appeal will be denied and that the result of scenario (a) will apply - a runner on first base with no outs, and B2 up at bat.

cyclone14 said...

a) This is not considered an appeal for the umpire's decision, and so not a proper appeal for the fact that B1 missed the base. The umpire should NOT call B1 out in this case. This does not meet the definition of appeal in Rule 2.00, as there is no claiming of a violation of the rules by the opposition.
b) This is a live-ball appeal by the first baseman. The runner would be called out for missing first base. Rule 4.09b

kickersrule said...

This is so confusing that I have no idea what you are actually asking us to rule on but I will give it a shot anyway. In A) The runner is out after F3 touches 1st base. and in B) The umpire will rule that B1 did not touch first base and will be out after F3 touches first base or safe if the B1 touches 1st base before F3. this case play is messed up and way to hard to understand. Im sure everyone will love calling me stupid on this one but o well. and as long as I get the call right why should I have to cite the rules. I dont have time to go threw the rule book to find where it is.

Penwhale said...

(a) F3's action is not an appeal on the runner missing base (as provided by rule 7.10), and therefore B1 should be called safe.
(b) This is an appeal play and B1 will be called out by 7.10(b).

Gil "CASD" said...

@kickersrule, the rules citations help if you're aiming for partial credit in the event that you're "on the right track." As of the last Case Play, you're no longer required to cite rules... but if you're wrong and you don't cite rules, you won't receive partial credit.

Anonymous said...

There was an appeal play in the Cardinals game tonight on a sacrifice fly play.

mtn335 said...

Gil, do you have no comment from me? I left one comment today, then (unsure if it had posted) I left another.

If you don't have either of my comments, I don't see a way for you to give me credit. For the record, I had (b) correct but (a) wrong (I had judged this play not to be a missed base, but simply a play that hadn't concluded yet). However, I recognize it's not fair for you to give me the point.

That said, there's no way for people to make sure their comments have shown up properly. I can't see whether or not my comment has gone through, since I'm not using a Blogger account (my google account has a different username) and comments are held in moderation.

Ideas for fixing this?
E-mail me if you like at mtn335 (AT) yahoo (DOT) com if you want.

Gil "CASD" said...

User sachmet has also reported some problems with blogger accepting lengthy posts, especially when authenticating with Livejournal. If you don't have a blogger/google profile or openid, you can always send me an e-mail with your response (view my profile).

Check your inbox.

on behalf of mtn335 said...

"A TAG is the action of a fielder in touching a base with his body while holding the
ball securely and firmly in his hand or glove; or touching a runner with the ball, or with his
hand or glove holding the ball, while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or
glove [OBR 2.00 Definitions]."

"A batter is out when...After a third strike or after he hits a fair ball, he or first base is tagged before he
touches first base [OBR 6.05(j)]."

Assuming that the Batter-Runner B1 has not returned to first base prior to the actions of (a) and (b), the result of both plays is the same: B1 is out. Play resumes normally with the at-bat of B2, 1 out, bases empty.

Rationale: The definition of a Tag [OBR 2.00 definition] makes no mention of intent with regards to the fielder F3 touching the base; that is, F3's motives in touching the bag are irrelevant. Therefore, F3's actions in both (a) and (b) constitute a tag. Since F3 has tagged first base prior to B1 legally touching first base, B1 is out by 6.05(j).

kickersrule said...

I would of gotten A and B correct but I was very confused on the wording of this play. Its way easier if you actually can see what you are writing about. No big deal though. Im glad we are finally getting some ejections after a slow april.

Gil "CASD" said...

This was a tough case play to simply understand, but the main theme was that A referred to an inadvertent touching of first base, while B referred to an actual requested appeal. The video of the play was definitely of the (a) scenario, with Case Plays, that's often the case - you'll have a video of (a), but not (b), or vice versa.

Post a Comment