Saturday, June 25, 2011

Ejections: Chris Conroy (3)

HP Umpire Chris Conroy ejected Dodgers center fielder Matt Kemp for arguing a strike call in the bottom of the 5th inning of the Angels-Dodgers game. With none out and none on, Kemp took a 1-2 fastball from Angels pitcher Tyler Chatwood for a called third strike. Replays indicate the pitch was located thigh high and over the heart of home plate, the call was correct. Replays indicate 1B Umpire Tom Hallion's swing call on the 1-1 pitch was also correct. At the time of the ejection, the Angels were leading, 2-0. The Angels ultimately won the contest, 6-1.

This is Chris Conroy (98)'s third ejection of 2011.
Chris Conroy now has 15 points in the Umpire Ejection Fantasy League (10 Previous + 3 AAA + 2 Correct Call = 15).
Chris Conroy was not drafted in 2011.

This is the 86th ejection of 2011.
This is the 37th player ejection of 2011.
Prior to his ejection, Kemp was 0-2 in the contest.

Wrap: LAA @ LAD 6/25/11 Wrap
Video: Kemp is tossed arguing balls and strikes

Pitch f/x courtesy Brooks Baseball

12 comments :

jhagen88 said...

"If you're at the other end of the dugout and you're screaming out onto the field the umpires just need to disregard that. Unless it's just verbally abusive, because you're emotional, you're gonna be fine, it's gonna die down. You can't be looking into the dugout 'Oh who's doing that?' and just can somebody especially a guy like Matt Kemp."

Hmmmm....

1) If you're in the dugout you're a part of my field.
2) Umpires do disregard a lot of the crap going on in the dugouts.
3) What Kemp said probably was verbally abusive.
4) It's not gonna die down, put a stop to it early.
5) I can and will look into the dugout in an attempt to discover who it is.
6) I can 'can' anyone I want if they deserve it.
7) 'Especially a guy like Matt Kemp' What??? Wasn't Kemp tossed at least once last season too? Or was it this season?

Bottom line. Don't F*** with the umpires or you watch the rest of the game on the TV in the clubhouse.

Gil "R.O." said...

Matt Kemp was ejected on May 29, 2011, in Ejections: Ron Kulpa (1, 2). That ejection was also over balls and strikes, and the call was ultimately ruled correct. This ejection established pitch f/x quality of correctness precedent, or the Kulpa Rule, which grants umpires the quantified borderline px values between absolute 0.901-1.000.

Anonymous said...

Gotta love the idiot announcers.

Kemp is not "at the other end of the dugout". He is near the stairs (when he gets tossed he takes two steps and is on the field). Kemp is also obviously not just being emotional. He is animated during his argument with Conroy. Where do these idiots come from?

Anonymous said...

@Anonymous 7:21pm, you realize Karros used to play for the Dodgers, right?

Penwhale said...

Gil: 10+3+2 is not 16. Just saying.

Anonymous said...

Um looks like 15 to me...

Bill said...

Conroy's work so far this work has been impessive...he seems to great field presence, and all of his EJ's have been dead on professional. And I didn't realize until he was towering over Mattingly that he is like McClelland tall.

Conroy is this year's AAA star, like Bellino last year. And this does not bode well for Estabrook in getting a fulltime job.

Anonymous said...

You can hear and read Kemp's lips. He kept repeating the phrase, "Keep it on the plate!" He wasn't arguing the check swing, but was aruging that the zone was too wide.

Anonymous said...

@Anonymous 7:36pm

That is surprising. Hallion's check swing was def the closer call. Conroy had a solid zone. Kemp should have just swung the bat.

Anonymous said...

That's right, using the definition of swing, Tom Hallion swing call was correct...Oh really, so how do we determine it was a swing or not?

Anonymous said...

Who said anything about definition of swing?

Anonymous said...

That's my point...there is no definition, therefore HOW do we determine a call to be correct/incorrect on a swing call. That is something called in the umpires judgement.

Seriously, how can one say it was incorrect/correct. To be correct/incorrect because of what "The League" judges to be a swing or not. That's a pile of poop. One can agree/disagree with a swing call, but YOU CAN NOT CALL IT INCORRECT/CORRECT and give/take points away.

I will say I agree with the swing call though.

Post a Comment