Sunday, August 28, 2011

Ejections: Dan Bellino (4)

2B Umpire Dan Bellino ejected Giants Manager Bruce Bochy for arguing an out call in the bottom of the 10th inning of the Astros-Giants game. With one out and one on, Giants batter Mark DeRosa singled on a ground ball to right fielder Brian Bogusevic. Giants R2 Andres Torres scores. Batter-runner DeRosa out at 2nd, right fielder Brian Bogusevic to shortstop Angel Sanchez. Replays indicate Sanchez was unable to apply a tag to DeRosa before DeRosa was able to return to second base, the call was incorrect.* After challenge, the call was determined to have been correct.* At the time of the ejection, the contest was tied, 3-3. The Astros ultimately won the contest, 4-3, in 11 innings.

This is Dan Bellino (93)'s fourth ejection of 2011.
Dan Bellino now has 16 points in the Umpire Ejection Fantasy League (12 Previous + 2 MLB + 2 Correct Call = 16).
Dan Bellino is owned as a Secondary Umpire by sachmet, who is now in 5th place in the UEFL with 24 points.
*Quality of Correctness was challenged and overturned ("Incorrect" ==> "Correct").

This is the 176th ejection of 2011.
This is the 86th Manager ejection.
This is the fifth ejection of the day.
This is the 39th ejection of August 2011.
This is Bruce Bochy's second ejection of 2011.

Wrap: Astros at Giants 8/28/11
Video: Bochy gets the heave in extras

31 comments :

Anonymous said...

That was a bad call from a horrible umpire. DeRosa got the bag before the tag was made. That probably cost the Giants the game right there.

Pete Krawczyk said...

Video: http://mlb.mlb.com/video/play.jsp?content_id=18557849

sachmet said...

It's extremely close, but the glove touches the underside of DeRosa's arm just before DeRosa's hand touches 2nd base. (And I'm not just saying that for the points!)

Anonymous said...

Once again, announcers are idiots.

Anonymous said...

Just a quick point. "Terrible call by a terrible umpire"....what? Are you some kind of daddyball coach with a limited vocabulary who's pissed because your team lost? Is that the best you got? The play was actually very close and there is a chance that after reviewing it one may say he was safe but it was a difficult call. It was hardly a bad call by a bad umpire.

jrd said...

"Bad call from horrible umpire"

Sorry Giants fan. get off this site. We all know Bellino is one of the best and the brightest of the new umpires.

Although the Centerfield zoom camera seems to indicate that DeRosa did get in there right before the tag.

thexfactor264 said...

I would love to believe Bellino, but I just don't see any video evidence that indicates a tag was applied.

Jared said...

Tough tough call. There's nothing Bellino could have done positionwise, he had a great angle.

OSheaman said...

That's a much closer one than he's getting credit for. My feeling is Bellino was focused on the glove instead of the base, saw the arm come down and hit it and didn't see the hand hit the base. I think it's a missed call but it's definitely not terrible.

I'm also shocked that Bochy got tossed and not DeRosa . . . looked like DeRosa was in much greater danger of getting hooked for dissent.

Anonymous said...

I'm not really sure how anyone is saying conclusive either way. I don't see a conclusive angle. I challenge that this should be inconclusive at worst.

Anonymous said...

Houston feed was much better than what MLB showed. I say he got it right.

Anonymous said...

I really do think he got him. If you look very close you will see the runners arm move slightly up when the tag is applied. I Challenge this.

Gil "R.O." said...

This ruling has been challenged and is under review.

Anonymous said...

The call might have been right or wrong, but either way it was a pretty sweet mechanic!

Anonymous said...

Looked out and is inconclusive at best according to MLB's umpire eval system. When it comes to close plays, announcers are almost always one-sided, irresponsible, umpire-bashing idiots.

Jon Terry said...

"That probably cost the Giants the game right there."

Yeah, no chance they lost because they gave up three runs in the last four innings. Or because they failed to get an extra-base hit. Or because they left 11 on base. Or failed to capitalize on two hit batsmen and two stolen bases. Or struck out 13 times. No way they lost for any of those reasons. Had to be Dan Bellino. Had to.

Jackass.

Anonymous said...

He oversold a guess, Rookie mistake.

Bugs said...

The announcers must have been watching a different game than I saw. How do they come up with "not even close?"

I've watched the video 20 times and still can't say with any certainty that Bellino missed it. The more I watch it--especially when paused at the 1:01 to 1:01:5 mark--the more I think Bellino got it right. Position-wise, if Bellino had been any more on top of this play, he would have been inside Sanchez's glove.

On top of all that, he let Bouchy and DeRosa have their say. All around good job from Bellino.

Bill said...

Dead on asessment from Bugs...Dan could not have done better on this call from positioning to mechanic. Runner oversldes, comes off the bag, and then the call becomes Bellno's fault? Gimme a break.

Anonymous said...

great answer Bugs..LOL

sachmet said...

I think my standings are wrong - I should have 22 points (9 for West, 10 for Bellino, 3 for Case Plays) which should tie me for 5th.

Gil "R.O." said...

This ruling has been challenged.

After review, the Quality of Correctness has been overturned. The call is now correct.

After review, including examination of the real-time play, replays, and alternate angles, the decision of overturning the original Quality of Correctness was made. Specifically, the visiting team's broadcast features a zoomed in slow motion replay which conclusively shows the fielder tagging the runner prior to the runner touching second base.

Affirmed.

-

As a result, sachmet now is in 5th place in the UEFL with 24 points. (9 for West, 12 for Bellino, 3 for Case Plays... recall a Secondary Umpire scores one less point than a Primary Umpire per ejection).

Anonymous said...

difference between bellino and other umps----bellino kept moving and staying with the play to get the call right...in last night's Mets/Marlins game, Fatty Feildin Culbrith stood motionless as Reyes dropped a throw from first, picked it up and still tagged the bag in plenty of time, but the runner was called safe. If Culbrith follwed the play to the left by even a step, he would have gotten the call right. Ended up not being an impact call on the game, but it showed poor umpiring and obvious laziness on Culbrith's part.

Anonymous said...

WOW. good over turn. Now re-re-review Alan Porter's last ejection of Leyland. I think the call by Porter is more clear than this.

Dave D said...

I love everything about this call, and really appreciate Bellino more for it.

I'd like to see the other angle that's more definitive, as well, but overall it's just good mechanics, staying with the play (aside from the almost safe call on the overslide) and seeing the whole thing happen.

I'm actually going to use this play as a teaching example in upcoming clinics I'm giving, as it just has everything down right including giving DeRosa and Bochy ample rope. DeRosa chose to walk away from it (smartly) and Bochy didn't. Granted, Bochy had to go out and protect his player...I'm not sure DeRosa was really the one to protect, especially on that close a call.

In any case, I posted before on a Bellino call, and I'll say it again - one to watch. Awesome stuff.

Dan said...

I've looked at all the replays, including the Houston feed of the game, that was one of the reasons cited for overturning the original ruling and making it a correct call. And I still think that while it was extremely close, DeRosa's hand gets in there before he's tagged. But I can definitely see it going either way.

Jeremy "jeruhmed" said...

Dan, there has definitely been very, very close calls the past few days (and this year). Fortunately enough we have the luxury of having replay and lots of angles in slow motion. We also have the challenge system in place to really give these calls close attention and review. That is why Gil and I review each other's determination of QoC on a challenge.

Anonymous said...

Mechanically he was way to close....you can't get an accurate view of the play when it's blowing up on you. He took a great read step to see the missed tag but actually stepped on the bag when making the call....TOO CLOSE.

Anonymous said...

@ 5:55pm-

Excellent observation! The closer to a play the umpire gets, the harder it becomes to see both a tag and hand touching a base. I knew this to be the case immediately after watching the replay. When there's going to be a play where there's a possibility of a missed tag, it's ok to be closer than normal. But when the issue isn't a missed tag, and the call becomes a simple race to the bag, then it becomes more of a force play, as far as mechanic is concerned, so as we all know, it's better not to be to close as force plays blow up on you when your too close. On this play however, both happened to the umpire. 1st, the issue was, will the tag be applied? So the umpire got close, which was a good and correct mechanic because the 1st tag was missed. Now once the runner over slid the base, the next attempt at the tag was not going to be a tag, no tag issue. It was going to be who touched 1st, the hand on the bag, or the glove on the arm. The umpire was too close for the 2nd play, and in perfect position for the 1st attempt by the runner.

Gil "R.O." said...

@Anonymous 5:57AM, be advised, after exhaustive review, we have overturned the Porter/Leyland QOC.

Anonymous said...

Tooooooo Goooood. Gil!!!! Ya know I argue a lot, but knew......I KNEW you would look again, and change your mind.

I knew that wouldn't happen if I started a big fight, and said a bunch of shit in my posts.
But like I said, I knew you would after I've seen a couple of your explanations this week, and some of your reviews, just in the last week I mean.

Hey, listen, I love coming here and reading your stuff.

I hope you guys make a million dollars doing this........ it was a great idea!!

I keep missing my poker tournaments because I spend time over here.

Thanks again, nice job!

Post a Comment