|Aspiring Umpire Malachi Moore|
After missing the PBUC cut at the Harry Wendelstedt Umpire School in early 2011, Moore attended MLB's one-week November Umpire Camp later that year and returned to Florida. With a UYA umpiring school sponsorship in hand, Moore made the most of his second go-around and was selected for the PBUC evaluation course following the month-long course. Moore was also a 2011 umpire in the Northwoods League.
Back to the Dodger Stadium umpires' dressing room and the umpires are discussing mechanics on a fairly difficult play. Moore's question comes just days after Tim Welke and his crew of Paul Schrieber and Mikes Estabrook and Everitt incorrectly determined a bunted ball did not strike the batter during a Tigers-Rangers game. The resulting RBI bunt single proved to be decisive in the outcome of that particular contest.
As previously reported by the UEFL, Rules 6.05(g) and (h) govern batter's interference.