Tuesday, September 11, 2012

Rule 7.08(j): Lifting the Batter-Runner's Overrun Privelege

A core principle of baseball often neglected is the batter-runner's overslide/overrun protection at first base.

Rule 7.08(j) addresses when this protection is eliminated, specifying that the runner is out when:
He fails to return at once to first base after overrunning or oversliding that base. If he attempts to run to second he is out when tagged. If, after overrunning or oversliding first base he starts toward the dugout, or toward his position, and fails to return to first base at once, he is out, on appeal, when he or the base is tagged.
Runners are authorized to overslide/run 1st base by rule
On Monday, Rockies batter-runner B1 Tyler Colvin was ruled out after Giants catcher Buster Posey's throw eluded Brandon Belt before striking 1B Umpire Eric Cooper and staying on the infield. Colvin was ruled to have made an attempt to run to second, thus putting him in jeopardy of being tagged out pursuant to Rule 7.08(j). (Video: Eric Cooper hit by throw, crew reverses call).
Video: Carlos Santana reaches on error, but is tagged out after making an attempt to advance
Video: Jerry Meals ejects Rays Manager Joe Maddon after Upton is ruled out for attempting to advance
Video: Manny being Manny, Ramirez tagged after attempt at advancement on overthrown ball
Video: Joey Votto clearly attempts turns to advance and is tagged out forfeiting overrun protection

Myth: A runner must (1) turn into (2) fair territory to be declared out (Video: False, it need only be an attempt)
Undetermined: Does sliding into first base save any time? Perhaps if a runner has miscalculated his stride so as to ensure he will contact first base, the slide is valuable; it surely is a tool used to avoid tags. However, sliding into first base eliminates the umpire's ability to call safe/out "by sound," which may have been a contributing factor to recent high-profile misses at first base (Video: Teixeira called out sliding into first)

Rule 7.08(j) Comment additionally specifies that a runner who touches first base in an overrun and is declared safe by the umpire has reached first base for the purposes of Rule 4.09(a), effectively eliminating that rule's exception wherein a run is not scored if the third out occurs after the runner touches home plate. (Video: Lee misses first base entirely for out #3, meaning Marlins run does not score).

This protection only applies to the batter-runner at first base. (Video: McLouth out after oversliding second).
Video: Cliff Pennington overslides third base and is tagged out trying to return

*Once a runner legally touches home plate, he has scored and is "safe" (Video: Andrus safe at home)


Anonymous said...

interesting crew in BAL. Foster, Hudson, Culbreth, who i believe is the acting cc and Timmons, SO Kellogg, and cooper gone but will return soon.

Anonymous said...

cooper is in colorado for giants-rockies with mcclelland, barrett and campos and kellogg is injured

Anonymous said...

chad fairchild has had a small zone for lester so far- valentine came out to talk in the 3rd but didn't get tossed- he came out and was demonstratively talking to lester but directed to chad

UmpireDude said...

I was just thinking about this rule the other day. I'm always amazed how people misinterpret rules like this one.

Post a Comment