Wednesday, October 17, 2012

WNBA Finals Technical Fouls: Michael Price (1, 2)

WNBA Referee Michael Price issued technical fouls to Lynx guard Lindsay Whalen and Head Coach Cheryl Reeve for overt actions indicating resentment to a call during Game 2 of the WNBA Finals between the Indiana Fever and Minnesota. With 3:18 remaining in the third period, Whalen rebounded a missed shot from Fever guard/forward Karima Christmas and attempted to execute a layup, which was blocked by Fever guard Briann January. At the time of the technical fouls, the contest was tied, 48-48. A technical was later issued to Fever coach Lin Dunn (9:08, 4th Quarter). The Lynx ultimately won the contest, 83-71.

WNBA Rule 12A-Section V-d directs officials to issue conduct technical fouls for unsportsmanlike tactics, including (1) disrespectfully addressing an official, (3) overt reactions indicating resentment to a call, (4) use of profanity and (5) a coach entering onto the court without permission of an official.

Reeve subsequently removed and threw her jacket as Price walked away from the area, but was not ejected.

Officials: #39 Michael Price, #42 Roy Gulbeyan, #43 Brenda Pantoja

Wrap: Indiana Fever at Minnesota Lynx, WNBA Finals Game 2, 10/17/12
Video: After no-call on Whalen drive and miss, Whalen and Reeve hit with technical fouls

6 comments :

Anonymous said...

"blocked"?

Anonymous said...

I was wondering that too. The box score lists it as a shot attempt & block, though I thought it was a turnover. Then again, I'm not a basketball stats person either.

Anonymous said...

Apparently, she dislocated her shoulder when she was trying to yank her jacket off. You can't make this stuff up.

http://sports.yahoo.com/sportsminute

Anonymous said...

Hah! She dislocated a shoulder, got injured while throwing a hissy fit. Now THAT's funny and almost makes the WNBA worthwhile here. Almost.

Lee Esbin said...

What I like about the announcing is that they got it right. A hand is considered part of the ball according to basketball rules.

Lee Esbin said...

What I like about the announcing is that they got it right. A hand is considered part of the ball according to basketball rules.

Post a Comment