Tuesday, May 7, 2013

Bruce Almighty: Catch, Possession, Control and Release

Umpire Bruce Dreckman ruled D-Backs SS Didi Gregorius safe on a contested no catch call against Dodgers left fielder Carl Crawford Monday, finding that Crawford failed to satisfy the criteria required by Rule 2.00 CATCH in attempting to retire the young Arizona infielder.

Rule 2.00 CATCH defines the air putout as "the act of a fielder in getting secure possession in his hand or glove of a ball in flight and firmly holding it...In establishing the validity of the catch, the fielder shall hold the ball long enough to prove that he has complete control of the ball and that his release of the ball is voluntary and intentional. If the fielder has made the catch and drops the ball while in the act of making a throw following the catch, the ball shall be adjudged to have been caught."

The Major League Baseball Umpire Manual (MLBUM) further states that "a ball will be ruled caught when the momentum of the catch is completed and the player voluntarily releases the ball."

Did Crawford catch the ball? You make the call!
With none out and none on in the top of a 3-2 5th inning, Gregorius hit a 0-1 fastball from Dodgers pitcher Chris Capuano to left field, Crawford settling under the descending fly ball before receiving the baseball into his glove, dropping the small white orb at some point between glove, hand and transfer.

Originally ruled a no catch error allowing Gregorius to take second base, the call was upheld by the umpiring crew of HP Gary Darling (chief), 1B Paul Emmel, 2B Jerry Meals and 3B Dreckman. Though subsequent batter Paul Goldschmidt clubbed a 2-1 pitch into dead center for a two-run home run, no further argument was made.

You Make the Call: Was the no catch call correct or did Crawford's actions adhere to Rule 2.00's criteria?

This type of play has happened many times before and has resulted in ejection in the past. For instance, Greg Gibson ejected Rockies Manager Jim Tracy for arguing a safe (no catch) call after Angels pitcher Scott Downs was ruled to have failed to catch a line drive; Tracy argued Downs lost the ball during a transfer from glove to hand after the catch.

LAD: Prime Ticket (TV): Vin Scully / KLAC (Radio): Charlie Steiner and Rick Monday.
ARI: Fox Sports Arizona (TV): Steve Berthiaume, Bob Brenly / KTAR (Radio): Greg Schulte, Tom Candiotti.

2 comments :

Gil Imber said...

It looks like a catch to me, but it is so difficult to tell in "real time" I am not surprised this could go either way. To me, CC satisfied rule 2.00's req'ts....But it is certainly close.

Gil Imber said...

Do not have "voluntary release". Only way you might is if you have the benefit of the super slo mo. In real time you have R2 and no catch.

Post a Comment