Wednesday, June 19, 2013

Cubby Call: Double Play Interference Ends Cubs-Cards

Umpire Fieldin Culbreth's interference call on Cardinals runner Shane Robinson ended Tuesday night's Cubs-Cardinals game in a textbook application of OBR Rule 6.05 under similar circumstances to CB Bucknor's game-ending interference call in Philadelphia on August 29, 2007. QOC for both calls? Absolutely correct.

Freese interferes with Castro on DP, ending game.
That day, it was Mets baserunner Marlon Anderson who slid into Phillies turn-man Tadahito Iguchi significantly wide of second base, preventing the tying run from scoring from third. At the time, crew chief Joe West explained, "Marlon Anderson went after the second baseman to break up the double play and did not, and could not reach the base, which is what he argued. He went out of his way to interfere with the play that created the interference. CB made a great call, made a gutsy call and he didn’t back down from the call at all."

Back to June 18, 2013, Cardinals batter David Freese, serving as the tying run, hit a roller to second base, Darwin Barney pitching to shortstop Starlin Castro as baserunner Robinson slid into Castro's person, as opposed to second base, effectively preventing Castro from throwing the ball onto first base, but drawing the interference call from Culbreth, resulting in Freese's third GIDP of the game.

Though argued vociferously on the field by Cardinals Manager Mike Matheny following the play, the skipper later admitted, "[Culbreth] made the right call." Starlin Castro's take, as the pivot man getting crashed, was more humorous: "[It wasn't] even close. I couldn't throw the ball because he tried to kill me."

In a more somber tone, Castro accused Robinson of sliding in "cleats up."

Robinson was still in shock: "It's a shame it had to end like that. I didn't think it was that bad of a slide. I didn't contact him at all. I was a little surprised, but it wasn't my call to make."

Video: Shane Robinson crashes the pivot man in a textbook case of 6.05 to end the ballgame (CHC)

16 comments :

Gil Imber said...

Great call, that is all that can be said for that one.

Gil Imber said...

This is an excellent example of this rule. The runner was clearly trying to interfere with the short stop. I don't think this is called enough at all levels.

Gil Imber said...

Absolutely.


This is an excellent call by Cubby.

Gil Imber said...

Great call by Cubby!

Gil Imber said...

It may just be my bad eyes, but does it look to anyone else like Castro didn't touch the base? I really don't think he did.

Gil Imber said...

I was thinking the exact same thing - he stutter-stepped right over the base. Makes me think if Culbreth is paying attention (and doesn't give him the out just by sheer proximity to second), and Robinson goes straight in, maybe the game's not over after all. Wouldn't be the first time Starlin has screwed up a simple play on the field....and probably would be far from the dumbest play he's made.

Doesn't affect the outcome of the play though - 6.05m dictates that the batter is out because of the interference, and Robinson is out because he's out of the baseline to interfere with the play. Drive home safely.

Gil Imber said...

Too true. I remember when Tim Timmons made that call in Milwaukee a few years back, and the Milwaukee announcers were basically rolling their eyes because nobody ever calls it.


FWIW, that was the same night Balkin' Bob was behind the plate, throwing out pitching coaches and hitters and front-row fans. Good times had by all.

Gil Imber said...

non-umpire here. And fan of neither team. Great call.

Gil Imber said...

Even if he sees it and doesn't call him out on the force at second, he is calling interference on R1 that is a willful and deliberate intent to break up a double play. Thus, you get the two outs anyway.

Gil Imber said...

Also, notice Cubby never calls the force out... maybe he did see it and the interference with willful and deliberate intent is the only call he made.

Gil Imber said...

This isn't really even that close. Easy call.

Gil Imber said...

Even if he could touch the base, he could have been called out for the kicking motion to get contact with the shortstop.

Gil Imber said...

I think Cubby called him out for the interference, not the force, along with BR.

Gil Imber said...

That was also the same game that Trevor Huffman got his 600th career save. That was a very entertaining game to watch.

Gil Imber said...

Yeah, I really didn't like that. I imagine at some point when they play again (if they do) he'll get a couple of REALLY inside pitches....

Gil Imber said...

Agreed on both counts. Like Bucknor's call earlier this season, this is accurate and gutsy....but correct! This almost makes up for his rules gaffe earlier this season. =)

Post a Comment