Tuesday, April 8, 2014

MLB Instant Replay Review 052: Chris Guccione (02)

Instant Replay Review confirmed 2B Umpire Chris Guccione's out call in the top of the 9th inning of the Tigers-Dodgers game. With two out and one on, Tigers baserunner R1 Victor Martinez attempted to steal second base off Dodgers pitcher Kenley Jansen, catcher Tim Federowicz to second baseman Dee Gordon as Martinez arrived at second base. Upon Instant Replay Review as the result of a challenge by Tigers Manager Brad Ausmus, Guccione's ruling that Gordon tagged Martinez while he was off his base was affirmed, the call was correct. At the time of the review, the contest was tied, 2-2. The Dodgers ultimately won the contest, 3-2, in 10 innings

This is Chris Guccione (68)'s second Instant Replay Review of 2014.
Chris Guccione is now 2/2 (1.000 Affirmation Rate) in Instant Replay Reviews during 2014.
Crew Chief Tom Hallion's crew is now 2/2 (1.000 Affirmation Rate) in Replay Reviews during 2014.

This is the 52nd Instant Replay Review of the 2014 MLB Regular Season.
Tigers Manager Brad Ausmus is now 2/4 (.500 Success) in Instant Replay Reviews during 2014.
Umpires are now 34/52 (.654 Affirmation Rate) in Replay Reviews during the 2014 MLB season.

Wrap: Detroit Tigers vs. Los Angeles Dodgers, 4/8/14
Video: Play stands; Ausmus challenges final call of Tigers' ninth, which is affirmed (DET)


Gil Imber said...

Two challenges tonight were on catches and were ruled no catches based on this new policy tmac hinted at earlier. I really think MLB opened up Pandora's box on this interpretation change. So much so that I think the manager on the wrong end of this sort of call may be eligible for the first ejection. Mike Scoissa sure was pretty animated after this one got overturned.

Gil Imber said...

You can see Winters around the 4:12 mark say something to the effect of "you've got to get the ball out now."

Tmac - can you elaborate a little on why the outcome of this play would be different if it were the 3rd out, which is a distinction I'm under the impression that you've made.

Gil Imber said...

Ok For multiple reasons..... Lets say he turns around to throw the ball into the stands which almost all outfielders do for the 3rd out. It would be ruled a catch even if in the process he dropped the ball on the transfer..... I DO NOT agree with this but it's the ruling I've been leaked by an umpire. The idea is he's not making a following play.
This pertains more to the transfer of a DP @ 2nd base in which there wouldn't be any for a 3rd out. Players bring the ball to the dugout and toss it into the stands. That would make out number 2 and out number one different from out number 3. Voluntary release would be assumed once the fielder isn't making a following play.
Wait until it happens on a ctach in the OF for a 3rd out you'll see the ruling and be as confused as I was. We're reinventing the wheel and losing outs that are OUTS in the process. I can't see this lasting for more then one year. But As I said in the offseason on these boards, the ball MUST be controlled in the BARE hand for a catch to be ruled.

Gil Imber said...

So damn sad. John Hirschbeck, who legitimately is a nice person, loses another kid. Not fair and absolutely tragic.

Post a Comment