Wednesday, August 6, 2014
Case Play 2014-3: What of an Extra Ball on the Field?
Replays indicate that during play and while the live ball was being thrown back towards the infield, Reds pitcher Jumbo Diaz, warming in the right field bullpen, completely airmailed a practice toss over the outfield fence and onto the playing field, where the bullpen ball coincidentally rolled toward F4 Negron, who was busy catching F9 Bruce's throw. After being tagged out at third, R1 Murphy pointed toward the second, unauthorized baseball as the argument was picked up, to no avail, by Terry Francona.
Question: Is this the proper call and application of rules? If not, what should have transpired and what rule(s) or interpretation (e.g., MLBUM) supports this? If any runners should be placed, do so (if applicable).
This Case Play is of the Group variety and expires no earlier than the final out of the final regularly scheduled game Friday, August 8. Participants may receive up to two UEFL points for discussion and solution.
Wrap: Cincinnati Reds vs. Cleveland Indians, 8/5/14
Video: Reds 'pen airmails a pitch, throwing a second baseball on the playing field, distracting Murphy