Thursday, March 28, 2013

Case Play Solution 2013-01: Ball Comes Apart During Play

Case Play 2013-01 (ball comes apart during play) is now complete. Refer to the solution below.
Original post: Case Play: Hockey Pucks Splits in Two in Swiss Game

To recap, with two outs and bases loaded in the bottom of the ninth inning of a 3-0 game, B1 hits a fly to deep center field with such force that the ball comes at least partially, if not fully, apart during play (Video);

Qa) Was our umpire correct in keeping this play alive... Aa) Yes. As many UEFL'ers alluded to, Rule 5.02 Comment specifies that if a ball shall come partially apart during play, the play remains live. Though Rule 5.10(e) authorizes an umpire to call "Time" for the purposes of examining the ball or equipment, 5.10(h) prescribes an umpire shall not call "Time" while a play is in progress, as is the case with, amongst others, Rule 5.02. The video clearly indicates a play is in progress while the ball is apart.

Qb) Is B1 out or does his run count; how does play proceed... Ab: B1 is out. Also acceptable: B1 is safe. Rule 2.00 [Tag] decrees an out shall be recorded if a fielder touches a runner with a baseball that is held securely and firmly in his hand; secure possession is of tantamount importance. Depending on your interpretation of the video, the game either goes into extra innings or offensive Team A wins {see 9.01(c) below, in part (c)}.

Qc) If the ball completely severs in two, with half landing in F8's glove and half landing over the fair outfield wall, what happens... Ac) Though Rules 6.09(d) and 7.05(a) specify that all runners and the batter may advance to home plate, scoring a run, if a fair ball goes out of the playing field in flight, Rule 6.05(a) ordains a batter is out when his fair or foul fly ball (other than a foul tip) is legally caught by a fielder. Rule 2.00 [Catch] defines the act as a fielder gaining secure possession of a ball in flight and holding it. No rule or official interpretation specifically addresses a ball coming completely apart during play. Therefore, Rule 9.01(c)—the elastic clause—applies. The "larger part of the ball" theory is not an official interpretation, though Rule 9.01(c) authorizes an umpire employing this or another principle to help adjudicate this play.

Thank you to all participants—each and every league member who participated answered at least one (generally more than one) scenario correctly, thereby earning one Case Play point in the UEFL standings.

+1 point to: BigCatch22, clawdad, CricketChapman, cyclone14, Drjjulius, gkiewitt, heyblue17, JeremyJ, Kevin Nichols, kickersrule, Oakgrove1, pamarlowe, titandude25, toss 'em, Turducken, TXWrangler, wwjd220.


Gil Imber said...

In the cartoon video, first (as well as second and third) bases were dislodged by the batter/runner. How would this change the ruling, if at all?

Post a Comment