Showing posts with label Toby Basner. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Toby Basner. Show all posts

Monday, June 19, 2017

MiLB - Toby Basner Ejects Ranting Rojas Late in Toledo

In his native Triple-A, MLB call-up umpire Toby Basner ejected Toledo Mud Hens Manager Mike Rojas over a balls/strikes dispute late in the Bulls-Mud Hens game. With two out and none on in the top of the 9th inning, Bulls batter Casey Gillaspie took a 3-1 pitch outside from Mud Hens pitcher Logan Kensing for a called fourth ball. Basner ejected Rojas following the ensuing mound visit, after which Rojas protested by kicking dirt onto home plate. At the time of the ejection, the Bulls were leading, 5-3. The Bulls ultimately won the contest, 5-3.

Monday, May 1, 2017

Infield Interference - LeMahieu Collides with Pollock

An extra inning interference call against Arizona's AJ Pollock didn't hurt the Diamondbacks, who defeated Colorado three innings later, but drew the ire of D-Backs fans and broadcasters at the time.

Executive Summary: Due to the runner's actions in failing to avoid the protected fielder in pursuit of a batted ball, this is interference pursuant to Official Baseball Rule 6.01(a)(10).

Umpires meet to discuss the collision near 2B.
The Play: With one out and one on (R1), Diamondbacks batter David Peralta hit a ground ball softly to second baseman DJ LeMahieu, who ran into D-Backs baserunner R1 AJ Pollock on his way to second base. Initially ruled "no interference" by 2B Umpire Toby Basner, the call was reversed to that of interference on Pollock upon consultation amongst Jerry Layne's crew.

Relevant Rules: Official Baseball Rule 6.01(a)(10) is clear on the right-of-way rules when it comes to a fielder attempting to play a batted ball: "It is interference by a batter or a runner when—He fails to avoid a fielder who is attempting to field a batted ball...The umpire shall call the runner out in accordance with Rule 5.09(b)(3) (former Rule 7.08(b))."

Rule 5.09(b)(3), for those wondering, states that a runner is out when he "hinders a fielder attempting to make a play on a batted ball."

Diagram of the interference play in ARI.
Make no mistake, however, that "Of course such 'right of way' is not a license to, for example, intentionally trip a runner even though fielding the ball" (Rule 6.01(a)(10) Comment). This same tenet applies to a fielder deliberately creating contact—or the appearance of hindrance—in order to draw an interference call.

Analysis: Pollock only has one obligation as a runner during a batted ball: "avoid a fielder attempting to field a batted ball" (or "avoid interference with a fielder fielding a batted ball"), which is a phrase that appears three times in the Official Baseball Rules: once in 6.01(a)(10), once in Rule 5.09(a)(11) in regards to a batter-runner's legal exit from the three-foot-wide runner's lane, and once in Rule 5.09(b)(1) in regards to a runner's legal deviation from his established base path.

The reason that three rules make reference to the runner's obligation to avoid a fielder attempting to field a batted ball—including two rules that go so far as to exempt the runner (or batter-runner) from compliance with runner's lane and base path restrictions—is that there is no function for the runner more important on a batted ball than avoiding contact with a fielder attempting to field said ball.

Side angle of the runner-fielder interaction.
With Pollock clearly failing to fulfill this #1 obligation (to avoid fielder LeMahieu), the only question is whether LeMahieu satisfied the portion of Rule 6.01(a)(10) regarding "a fielder who is attempting to field a batted ball." If the answer is "YES," this is interference and Pollock is out with Peralta awarded first base. If the answer is "NO," this is either nothing or potentially obstruction and the most likely outcome would be Pollock at second base and Peralta at first.

Ready for the hockey analogy? Think of a fielder attempting to make a play on a batted ball like a goalie: run into him and it's likely an interference penalty. Why? Because, like a goalie with a puck, the fielder's first and only obligation on a batted ball hit toward him (and only him) is attempting to field it. Like a skater, a runner is allowed to screen the goalie/fielder (albeit, unlike a skater, the runner can't park in front of the fielder), as long as he avoids the defensive player. And, like a goalie who goes after an opposing player instead of fulfilling his obligation to the puck, a fielder who fails to attempt to field a batted ball and instead targets a baserunner may be called for a penalty of his own, in the fielder's case, obstruction. (Things get complicated with two or more goalies...take a look at two fielders interacting with a runner—or with a batter-runner).

A goalie playing shortstop. Photo: Salon.com
Back to the play at hand, with runner Pollock having failed to avoid fielder LeMahieu, the benefit of the doubt is conferred upon the fielder, who, by rule, also possesses the right-of-way for this play. LeMahieu's route takes him to the left-field side of the batted ball, but Rule 6.01(a)(10) makes absolutely no consideration for the fielder's efficiency or route selection. It is immaterial; the only question is whether LeMahieu attempted to field the ball, regardless of his strategy in doing so. LeMahieu does appear to run in the general direction of the batted ball, and there is insufficient evidence to suggest he failed to attempt to field the baseball (Why? Because LeMahieu's contact with Pollock prevented us from seeing how the play would have transpired absent such an interaction). Thus, Pollock failed to avoid a fielder attempting to field a batted ball and was properly ruled out for this interference.

Sidebar: Batter-runner Peralta was not credited with a single on this play (the "batter gets a single on interference" idea is a myth); it was a fielder's choice. Rule 9.05(b)(5) states, "The official scorer shall not credit a base hit when a—runner is called out for interference with a fielder attempting to field a batted ball, unless in the scorer’s judgment the batter-runner would have been safe had the interference not occurred."

Thus, the official scorer ruled that, absent interference, LeMahieu's attempt to field the batted ball would have actually retired Peralta at first base had he been able to complete his intended play.

Bad Broadcasting Award: "The runner is entitled to the baseline." (ARI)
Rationale: No rules support the assertion that on a batted ball, the runner is entitled to the baseline.

Video via "Read More"

Monday, April 24, 2017

Sorry Toronto - Batter's Interference Call Was Correct

After ejecting John Gibbons in the 6th, HP Umpire Toby Basner ruled batter interference in the 7th, again stirring Toronto's ire. Was this the correct call? Here is the proper interpretation for batter's interference, complicated by what appears to be unintentional backswing contact with the catcher.

Click here for video analysis of this play.

Travis argues Basner's call to no avail.
The Play: With none out and a runner on first in the top of the 7th, Blue Jays batter Devon Travis swung on and missed a 1-0 changeup from Angels pitcher Yusmeiro Petit as Jays baserunner R1 Chris Coghlan attempted to steal second base. Angels catcher Martin Maldonado's throw to second baseman Danny Espinosa was high, and Espinosa's tag on Coghlan occurred after Coghlan slid into second base, resulting in a fairly obvious safe call by 2B Umpire and Crew Chief Jerry Layne.

Back at home plate, however, Basner had called "Time" and interference on batter Travis. As the throw failed to retire Coghlan, Basner enforced the interference rule and declared batter Travis out, returning Coghlan to first base on the dead ball penalty.

Analysis: As is said, what we have here is a failure to communicate: Toronto and acting manager DeMarlo Hale thought Basner called one thing when he really called an entirely different infraction: Basner got this play right, but why? Let's break down the contested sequence.

Diagram of the INT play.
The entire baseball language barrier is alleviated when we separate "batter's interference" from "unintentional backswing contact," and remind ourselves that Basner called Travis for interference, not contact on the backswing.

This also should help: There is no such thing as backswing interference. Interference is an act that results in an out. Unintentional backswing contact is simply a dead ball (delayed as it were).

Learn more about the difference between interference on the batter and unintentional backswing contact at Case Play 2016-9 - A Backswing on Strike 3 (Backswing contact play with David Ortiz from August 2016).

Rule 6.03(a)(3) describes batter's interference, and states that a batter is out for illegal action when "He interferes with the catcher’s fielding or throwing by stepping out of the batter’s box or making any other movement that hinders the catcher’s play at home base."

Pursuant to this definition, we rewind the tape and see that in swinging and missing at Petit's changeup, Travis' right foot exited the batter's box and landed behind home plate, in front of catcher Maldonado before he released the baseball. It was this infraction that Basner called.

Note, for instance, that when Travis argues his case by recreating his swing, he stays within the confines of the batter's box. Had Travis remained within the batter's box during the play, he would have had a valid argument.

The fact that Travis' bat, on the backswing, made contact with Maldonado is the textbook definition of unintentional backswing contact, but this inadvertent contact is superseded by the batter's interference call that immediately followed it.

In other words, in the hierarchy of baseball rules, interference trumps accidental contact.

Timing: Travis' foot is out before the throw.
Though the backswing contact may or may not have caused Maldonado's high throw, that matter is irrelevant: the proper interference call—due to Travis stepping out of the batter's box in front of a throwing Maldonado—meant that at the end of this play, either Coghlan would be out on the tag, or Travis would be out on interference, pursuant to Rule 6.03(a)(3) and (4) Comment, which states, "If the batter interferes with the catcher, the plate umpire shall call 'interference.' The batter is out and the ball dead...If, however, the catcher makes a play and the runner attempting to advance is put out, it is to be assumed there was no actual interference and that runner is out—not the batter."

For wholesome's sake, Rule 6.03(a)(3) and (4) Comment also dictates the terms of unintentional backswing contact: "If a batter strikes at a ball and misses and swings so hard he carries the bat all the way around and, in the umpire’s judgment, unintentionally hits the catcher or the ball in back of him on the backswing, it shall be called a strike only (not interference). The ball will be dead, however, and no runner shall advance on the play."

Video via "Read More

MLB Ejection 019 - Toby Basner (1; John Gibbons)

HP Umpire Toby Basner ejected Blue Jays Manager John Gibbons (strike three call) in the top of the 6th inning of the Blue Jays-Angels game. With two out and none on, Blue Jays batter Russell Martin took a 3-2 fastball from Angels pitcher Jesse Chavez for a called third strike. Replays indicate the pitch was located off the outer edge of home plate and waist high (px 1.234, pz 2.670), the call was incorrect. At the time of the ejection, the Angels were leading, 2-1. The Angels ultimately won the contest, 2-1.

This is Toby Basner (99)'s first ejection of the 2017 MLB regular season.
Toby Basner now has -2 points in the UEFL Standings (0 Previous + 3 AAA - 1 N - 4 Incorrect = -2).
Crew Chief Jerry Layne now has 2 points in Crew Division (2 Previous + 0 Incorrect Call = 2).
*Refer to UEFL Rule 6-2-b-1 (Kulpa Rule) for full ranges; px > .914 are in "always a ball" category.

This is the 19th ejection report of 2017.
This is the 12th Manager ejection of 2017.
This is Toronto's 2nd ejection of 2017, T-1st in the AL East (BOS, TB, TOR 2; BAL, NYY 0).
This is John Gibbons' 2nd ejection of 2017, 1st since April 23 (Ramon De Jesus; QOC = Y [Illegal Pitch]).
This is Toby Basner's first ejection since September 19, 2016 (Ned Lost; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).

Wrap: Toronto Blue Jays vs. Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim, 4/24/17 | Video via "Read More"

Monday, September 19, 2016

MLB Ejections 167-168 - Toby Basner (3-4; Escobar, Yost)

HP Umpire Toby Basner ejected Royals SS Alcides Escobar and Manager Ned Yost for arguing a strike two call in the bottom of the 5th inning of the White Sox-Royals game. With two out and none on, Escobar took a 3-1 fastball from Royals pitcher Juan Minaya for a called second strike. Replays indicate the pitch was located over the outer half of home plate and knee high (px .612, pz 1.580 [sz_bot 1.570]) and that the strike one call was located over the outer edge of home plate and thigh high (px .730, pz 2.246), the call was correct. At the time of the ejection, the Royals were leading, 6-2. The Royals ultimately won the contest, 8-3.

This is Toby Basner (99)'s third, fourth ejection of the 2016 MLB regular season.
Toby Basner now has 12 points in UEFL Standings (2 Previous + 2*[3 AAA + 2 Correct Call] = 12).
Crew Chief Jerry Layne now has 11 points in Crew Division (9 Previous + 2*[1 Correct Call] = 11).

This is the 167th, 168th ejection report of the 2016 regular season.
This is the 78th player ejection of 2016. Prior to ejection, Escobar was 1-2 in the contest.
This is the 67th Manager ejection of 2016.
This is Kansas City's 6/7th ejection of 2016, T-2nd in the AL Central (DET 11; CWS, KC 7; CLE, MIN 6).
This is Alcides Escobar's first ejection since April 19, 2015 (Jim Joyce; QOC = U [USC-NEC]).
This is Ned Yost's first ejection since August 18, 2015 (Mark Carlson; QOC = U [Replay Review]).
This is Toby Basner's first ejection since June 24, 2016 (Bryan Price; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).

Wrap: Chicago White Sox vs. Kansas City Royals, 9/19/16 | Video available via "read more."

Friday, June 24, 2016

MLB Ejection 080 - Toby Basner (2; Bryan Price)

HP Umpire Toby Basner ejected Reds Manager Bryan Price for arguing a strike three call in the bottom of the 3rd inning of the Padres-Reds game. With none out and one on, Reds batter Tucker Barnhart took a 3-2 fastball from Padres pitcher Colin Rea for a called third strike. Replays indicate the pitch was located over the inner half of home plate and at the hollow of the knee (px .545, pz 1.545 [sz_bot 1.500]) and that all other pitches during the at-bat were properly officiated, the call was correct. At the time of the ejection, the Padres were leading, 3-0. The Padres ultimately won the contest, 13-4.

This is Toby Basner (99)'s second ejection of the 2016 MLB regular season.
Toby Basner now has 9 points in the UEFL Standings (4 Previous + 3 AAA + 2 Correct Call = 9).
Crew Chief Tom Hallion now has 5 points in Crew Division (4 Previous + 1 Correct Call = 5).

This is the 80th ejection report of the 2016 regular season.
This is the 31st Manager ejection of 2016.
This is Cincinnati's 4th ejection of 2016, 2nd in the NL Central (PIT 6; CIN 4; CHC 2; MIL, STL 0).
This is Bryan Price's 2nd ejection of 2016, 1st since May 11 (Jeff Kellogg; QOC = U [Throwing At]).
This is Toby Basner's first ejection since May 21, 2016 (Josh Donaldson; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).

Wrap: San Diego Padres vs. Cincinnati Reds, 6/24/16 | Video available via "Read more"

Saturday, May 21, 2016

MLB Ejection 053 - Toby Basner (1; Josh Donaldson)

HP Umpire Toby Basner ejected Blue Jays 3B Josh Donaldson for arguing a strike one call in the top of the 1st inning of the Blue Jays-Twins game. With one out and none on, Donaldson took a 2-0 fastball from Twins pitcher Pat Dean for a called first strike before grounding out on the ensuing pitch. Replays indicate the called strike was located over the heart of home plate and knee high (px -.010, pz 1.671 [sz_bot 1.590]), the call was correct. At the time of the ejection, the game was tied, 0-0. The Twins ultimately won the contest, 5-3.

This is Toby Basner (99)'s first ejection of the 2016 MLB regular season.
Toby Basner now has 5 in the UEFL Standings (0 Previous + 3 AAA + 2 Correct Call = 5).
Crew Chief Joe West now has 6 points in Crew Division (5 Previous + 1 Correct Call = 6).
*This is Toby Basner's second consecutive first-inning ejection.

This is the 53rd ejection report of the 2016 regular season.
This is the 27th player ejection of 2016. Prior to ejection, Donaldson was 0-1 in the contest.
This is Toronto's 9th ejection of 2016, 1st in the AL East (TOR 9; BOS 4; BAL, NYY, TB 1).
This is Josh Donaldson's 2nd ejection of 2016, 1st since May 15 (Dale Scott; QOC = U [Fighting]).
This is Toby Basner's first ejection since July 27, 2015 (Mike Napoli; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).

Wrap: Toronto Blue Jays vs. Minnesota Twins, 5/21/16 | Video available via "Read more"

Monday, July 27, 2015

MLB Ejection 136: Toby Basner (2; Mike Napoli)

HP Umpire Toby Basner ejected Red Sox 1B Mike Napoli for arguing a strike three call in the bottom of the 1st inning of the White Sox-Red Sox game. With two out and none on, Napoli took a 0-2 fastball from White Sox pitcher John Danks for a called third strike. Replays indicate the pitch was located over the inner half of home plate and thigh high (px -.338, pz 1.992 [sz_bot 1.460]), the call was correct. At the time of the ejection, the White Sox were leading, 4-2. The White Sox ultimately won the contest, 10-8.

This is Toby Basner (99)'s second ejection of 2015.
Toby Basner now has 8 points in the UEFL Standings (3 Previous + 3 AAA + 2 Correct Call = 8).
Crew Chief Bill Miller now has 4 points in Crew Division (3 Previous + 1 Correct Call = 4).

This is the 136th ejection of the 2015 MLB Regular Season.
This is the 64th player ejection of 2015. Prior to ejection, Napoli was 0-1 (SO) in the contest.
This is the Red Sox's 8th ejection of 2015, 1st in the AL East (BOS 8; TOR 6; BAL, NYY 4; TB 3).
This is Mike Napoli's 3rd ejection of 2015, 1st since June 28 (Tripp Gibson; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Toby Basner's first ejection since May 28, 2015 (Manny Machado; QOC = Y [Check Swing]).

Wrap: Chicago White Sox vs. Boston Red Sox, 7/27/15
Video: After striking out to end the 1st, Napoli tosses his helmet, which rebounds and hits Basner (BOS)

Thursday, May 28, 2015

MLB Ejection 058: Toby Basner (1; Manny Machado)

HP Umpire Toby Basner ejected Orioles 3B Manny Machado for arguing a strike three (check swing) call in the bottom of the 8th inning of the White Sox-Orioles game. With two out and none on, Machado attempted to check his swing on a 2-2 changeup from White Sox pitcher Chris Sale. Play was reviewed and affirmed by the UEFL Appeals Board (8-0-0), the call was correct. At the time of the ejection, the White Sox were leading, 2-0. The White Sox ultimately won the contest, 3-2.

This is Toby Basner (99)'s first ejection of 2015.
Toby Basner now has ? points in the UEFL Standings (3 Previous + 3 AAA + ? Call = ?).
Crew Chief Larry Vanover now has ? points in Crew Division (-2 Previous + ? Call = ?).

This is the 58th ejection of the 2015 MLB Regular Season.
This is the 28th player ejection of 2015. Prior to ejection, Machado was 0-4 in the contest (3 SO).
This is the Orioles' 3rd ejection of 2015, 1st in the AL East (BAL 3; TB 2; BOS, NYY 1; TOR 0).
This is Manny Machado's first ejection since June 8, 2014 (Adrian Johnson; QOC = U [USC-NEC]).
This is Toby Basner's first ejection since August 7, 2014 (Lloyd McClendon; QOC = U [Warnings]).

Wrap: Chicago White Sox vs. Baltimore Orioles (Doubleheader Game 1), 5/28/15
Video: A deuces-wild strikeout call on Machado procedures a slammed bat and immediate toss (BAL)

Wednesday, August 27, 2014

MLB Instant Replay Reviews 1042-1046: August 27, 2014

August 27, 2014 featured the following MLB Instant Replay Review decisions:

TypeR#PosUmpireRU#TeamRT#NameInnPreResult
R10421BMay, Ben1CHC52Rick Renteria5SafeOverturned
r1043HPDrake, Rob10CWS33Robin Ventura7OutStands
R10442BDiMuro, Mike17HOU30Bo Porter9SafeStands
r10451BBasner, Toby9HOU31Bo Porter9OutConfirmed
R10461BBarrett, Ted13MIL24Ron Roenicke8SafeOverturned

MLB Instant Replay Review Videos (MLB Advanced Media):
Video 1042: CHC@CIN: Safe call at first is overturned in the 5th
Video 1043: CLE@CWS: Umpires review out at home in 7th, stands
Video 1044: OAK@HOU: A safe call is reviewed in the 9th, stands
Video 1045: OAK@HOU: An out call at first is reviewed in the 9th, confirmed
Video 1046: MIL@SD: Umpires review safe call at first in the 8th, overturned

Sunday, August 10, 2014

MLB Instant Replay Reviews 918-924: August 10, 2014

August 10, 2014 featured the following MLB Umpire Instant Replay Review decisions:

TypeR#PosUmpireRU#TeamRT#NameInnPreResult
R9182BEveritt, Mike9TOR40John Gibbons9OutOverturned
R9192BEveritt, Mike10TOR41John Gibbons13SafeOverturned
R9202BNelson, Jeff10BAL26Buck Showalter7OutOverturned
R9213BFoster, Marty10LAD34Don Mattingly4SafeOverturned
R9221BRandazzo, Tony12HOU25Bo Porter1OutOverturned
r923HPDeMuth, Dana11HOU26Bo Porter2OutStands
R9241BBasner, Toby8SEA31Lloyd McClendon6SafeOverturned

Instant Replay Review Decision Video Clips (MLB.com/MLBAM):
Video 918: DET@TOR: Gibbons challenges out call at second in 9th
Video 919: DET@TOR: Gibbons challenges safe call in 13th inning
Video 920: STL@BAL: Cardinals challenge force play in the 7th *Ejection*
Video 921: LAD@MIL: Dodgers challenge safe call at third in 4th
Video 922: TEX@HOU: Astros challenge out on double play in 1st
Video 923: TEX@HOU: Umpires review play at plate in the 2nd
Video 924: CWS@SEA: Mariners challenge safe call at first in 6th

Thursday, August 7, 2014

MLB Ejection 147: Toby Basner (6; Lloyd McClendon)

HP Umpire Toby Basner ejected Mariners Manager Lloyd McClendon for arguing warnings (Unsportsmanlike-NEC) in the bottom of the 8th inning of the White Sox-Mariners game. With none out and none on, Mariners batter Kendrys Morales took a 0-0 fastball from White Sox pitcher Maikel Cleto for a hit-by-pitch. Replays indicate the pitch was located off the inner half of home plate and knee-high, the call was irrecusable. At the time of the ejection, the Mariners were leading, 11-3. the Mariners ultimately won the contest, 13-3.

This is Toby Basner (99)'s sixth ejection of the 2014 MLB Regular Season.
Toby Basner now has 21 points in the UEFL Standings (18 Prev + 3 AAA + 0 Irrecusable Call = 21).
Crew Chief Hunter Wendelstedt now has 3 points in Crew Division (2 Previous + 1 Irrecusable = 3).

This is the 147th ejection of the 2014 MLB Regular Season.
This is the 68th Manager ejection of 2014.
This is the Mariners' 6th ejection of 2014, 2nd in the AL West (TEX 7; SEA 6; OAK 5; HOU 2; LAA 1).
This is Lloyd McClendon's first ejection since May 14, 2014 (Lance Barksdale; QOC = Y [Check Swing]).
This is Toby Basner's first ejection since July 22, 2014 (Justin Wilson; QOC = U [Throwing At]).

Wrap: Chicago White Sox vs. Seattle Mariners, 8/7/14
Video: McClendon's continued dispute over Basner's warnings earns him the early hook (SEA)

Saturday, August 2, 2014

MLB Instant Replay Reviews 855-868: August 2, 2014

August 1, 2014 featured the following MLB Umpire Instant Replay Review decisions:

TypeR#PosUmpireRU#TeamRT#NameInnPreResult
r855HPBasner, Toby7OAK34Bob Melvin4OutConfirmed
R8561BSchrieber, Paul12NYY24Joe Girardi6OutOverturned
R8571BTimmons, Tim14SEA30Lloyd McClendon6SafeOverturned
R8582BWinters, Mike10CIN22Bryan Price9OutConfirmed
R8591BCarapazza, Vic16LAA29Mike Scioscia6SafeStands
r860HPVanover, Larry14LAA30Mike Scioscia9OutConfirmed
R8612BRipperger, Mark10CWS25Robin Ventura8OutConfirmed
R8621BReyburn, DJ16SF34Bruce Bochy3SafeOverturned
R863HPBaker, Jordan7HOU23Bo Porter8OutOverturned
R864HPCuzzi, Phil14STL25Mike Matheny9HBPOverturned
R8651BHickox, Ed10ARI31Kirk Gibson2OutStands
r8662BHoberg, Pat7ARI32Alan Trammell3Not HRConfirmed
r867HPReynolds, Jim18ATL20Fredi Gonzalez8OutConfirmed
R8681BRackley, Dave5CHC42Rick Renteria7SafeOverturned

Instant Replay Review Decision Video Clips (MLB.com/MLBAM):
Video 855: KC@OAK: Out at the plate confirmed on Crew Chief Review
Video 856: NYY@BOS: Yankees win challenge at first in the 6th
Video 857: SEA@BAL: Mariners challenge call in the 6th inning
Video 858: CIN@MIA: Reds challenge ruling, which is confirmed in 9th
Video 859: LAA@TB: Angels challenge safe call in the 6th
Video 860: LAA@TB: Umpires review play at plate in the 9th
Video 861: MIN@CWS: White Sox challenge call in the 8th
Video 862: SF@NYM: Giants win challenge in the 3rd inning
Video 863: TOR@HOU: Singleton hits an inside-the-park home run
Video 864: MIL@STL: Hit-by-pitch call overturned in 9th
Video 865: PIT@ARI: McCutchen's sliding catch stands in the 2nd
Video 866: PIT@ARI: Umpires review Peralta's double in the 3rd
Video 867: ATL@SD: Umpires confirmed out at home in the 8th
Video 868: CHC@LAD: Pickoff attempt overturned in the 7th