Showing posts with label Fieldin Culbreth. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Fieldin Culbreth. Show all posts

Friday, February 4, 2022

Culbreth & Danley Round Out Retirements (Joining Davis, Gorman & West), with Diaz, Gibson, Hudson, Kulpa, and Welke Promoted to Crew Chief

Major League Baseball announced its final umpire staff changes for 2022, with Fieldin Culbreth and Kerwin Danley retiring alongside Gerry Davis, Brian Gorman, and Joe West. Crew Chief promotions and new full-time umpires hires were also announced.

MLB's official announcement confirms the hiring of Ryan Additon, Sean Barber, John Libka, Ben May, and Roberto Ortiz to the full-time staff. The new-hires have worked the following numbers of MLB games prior to 2022:
> Additon: 381 major league games.
> Barber: 693.
> Libka: 371.
> May: 658.
> Ortiz: 412.

Retiring umpires are Culbreth, Danley, Davis, Gorman, and West. They retire with the following experience:
> Culbreth: 29 years, 3140 regular season. 1 Wild Card, 8 Division, 7 Lg Champ, 3 World Series.
> Danley: 30 years, 2656 regular season. 1 Wild Card, 7 Division, 2 Lg Champ, 2 World Series.
> Davis: 40 years, 4849 regular season (5k overall). 3 WC, 13 DS, 11 LCS, 6 World Series.
> Gorman: 31 years, 3430 regular season. 1 WC, 10 DS, 7 LCS, 3 World Series.
> West: 44 years, 5460 regular season. 4 WC, 8 DS, 10 LCS, 6 World Series.

West retires as the umpire with the most games officiated in MLB history; Gerry Davis has the fourth-most all-time. Davis retires with the second-most League Championship Series officiated with 11 (Jerry Crawford 12), and Joe West with the third-most (10). Davis has the most Division Series officiated with 13 and Brian Gorman has the 6th-most. Gerry Davis has the most postseason games in MLB history (151) and Joe West is second (132, presently tied with Ted Barrett).

Promoted to crew chief to fill the five retirements are Laz Diaz, Greg Gibson, Marvin Hudson, Ron Kulpa, and Bill Welke. Of that list, Diaz, Hudson, Kulpa, and Welke served as interim crew chiefs for MLB's COVID-shortened 2020 season (Greg Gibson opted out).
Related PostMLB Names 7 Interim Crew Chiefs for 2020 (7/23/20).

Wednesday, July 22, 2020

Joe West Testifies for Angel in Hernandez's MLB Suit

Angel Hernandez picked up a few key umpire witnesses in support of his discrimination lawsuit against Major League Baseball, presenting declarations from Joe West and Richie Garcia in the latest filing of Hernandez v MLB. Fieldin Culbreth's deposition from 2019 also made an appearance.

Fieldin Culbreth spoke about pressure from the league to apply for an open crew chief position in 2013 even though Culbreth did not initially want to apply and felt the job should have gone to Wally Bell or Angel Hernandez.

In May 2020, Rich Garcia told the AP he was "sick of it," in reference to Randy Marsh's claim that Garcia was fired in 2010 for watching son-in-law Vic Carapazza work a minor league game. Garcia, who has consistently stated he had zero involvement in Carapazza's hiring, went so far as to speak with then-World Umpires Association President Joe West, who backed Garcia's version of events, recalling that Garcia said, "'I don't want to be in a situation where I have a conflict of interest because he's my son-in-law.'"
Related PostRich Garcia 'Fed Up' Following Marsh Testimony (5/19/20).

Now, in July 2020, Garcia has turned that fed-up attitude into tangible testimony, submitting a written declaration in the Angel Hernandez lawsuit, writing, "Quite simply, Angel Hernandez should have been promoted to crew chief a long time ago. He is an outstanding umpire. I recommended him for the World Series several times."

Joe West also submitted a written declaration in July 2020, slamming MLB for deficient video replay technology in 2013 (Hernandez's "Cleveland Game") and for seemingly punishing Hernandez both for whistleblowing the video problem and for a July 2019 game in which Hernandez presided over a designated hitter/pitcher substitution situation in Tampa Bay: Despite the league telling Hernandez he got the call right and that he acted appropriately, West said that MLB, after a most unusual and unprecedented investigation, inexplicably removed Hernandez from his interim crew chief role.

Thursday, October 10, 2019

Teachable - Clearing the Catcher on a Wild Pitch

This edition of Tmac's Teachable Moments pertains to an umpire's positioning responsibilities during a wild pitch with a potential play at the plate involving a runner from third base. Clearing the catcher, as Fieldin Culbreth demonstrates, is the first step in preparing for a play, but what happens next?

The first step for a home plate umpire on a wild pitch/passed ball play with a runner coming home from third is to spin off the catcher by reading where the catcher wants to go, and then getting out of this fielder's way. Taking the mask off will likely come after the catcher leaves the vicinity, since the most important thing is to minimize the potential for collision with the catcher.

Here, we follow Culbreth during a Red Sox-Rangers game as Shawn Kelley's pitch bounces to the backstop.

After clearing the catcher, an umpire should continue to read the fielders—the catcher's actions will communicate where the ball is, while it's a pretty solid bet that the pitcher will be running home to cover the plate.

Sometimes it isn't feasible to be 3BLE.
Accordingly, the umpire should ensure that the catcher has an unobstructed look at home plate from wherever the catcher is near the backstop—this is the most likely path the catcher will use to throw the ball to the pitcher and an umpire should stand nowhere near this path.

A plate umpire may continue to adjust position in response to the fielders' actions and then prepare to take this play just like any other tag play—with freedom to position adjust as needed to get a keyhole angle look at the action area, and with great regard for the fact that the throw is coming from behind the plate, not in front of it.

The pitcher would block the umpire at 3BLE.
It's not always practicable to start at point of plate or even third baseline extended because of the potential for getting in the way of the catcher's throw, so a plate umpire may alternately stand close to the first base foul line—it's all dependent on where the catcher goes and how the pitcher sets up for a tag. For instance, Rangers pitcher Kelley sets up in a way that would block the plate umpire from seeing the play from the third baseline extended position; in order to get the keyhole from the behind-the-plate angle, the umpire would likely have to move into the catcher's throw, which could complicate the play.

In this situation, Culbreth moves far away from a place where me may get in the way of a potential play—and if this is an umpire's route, that umpire should be prepared to adjust positioning based on the fielders' actions, which Culbreth does by continuing to circle around into fair territory. In this situation, the reverse angle is not possible due to the catcher throw and the direction of the runner's arrival.

This edition of Tmac's Teachable Moments is brought to you by Umpire Placement Course.
https://www.umpcourse.com/

Tuesday, May 21, 2019

MLB Ejection 060 - Fieldin Culbreth (1; Ron Gardenhire)

3B Umpire Fieldin Culbreth ejected Tigers Manager Ron Gardenhire (Replay Review decision that overturned Culbreth's drop [safe] call to a catch [out]; QOCY) in the bottom of the 9th inning of the Marlins-Tigers game. With one out and two on (R1, R3), Tigers batter Ronny Rodriguez hit a 1-0 slider from Marlins pitcher Sergio Romo on a fly ball to left fielder Harold Ramirez, who dropped the ball while attempting to catch and throw to second base ahead of Tigers baserunner R1 Brandon Dixon, preparing to tag up, ruled a dropped ball (safe) by 3B Umpire Culbreth and overturned on Replay Review to a sacrifice fly (out/catch) as the result of a challenge by Marlins Manager Don Mattingly. Replays indicate fielder Ramirez momentarily gained secure possession in his glove of the ball such that after the ball came to a complete stop, firmly held in his glove, his subsequent release/transfer was voluntary and intentional, during which process he dropped the ball, the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the game was tied, 4-4. The Marlins ultimately won the contest, 5-4, in 11 innings.

This is Fieldin Culbreth (25)'s first ejection of 2019.
Fieldin Culbreth now has 4 points in the UEFL Standings (0 Prev + 2 MLB + 2 Correct Call = 4).
Crew Chief Fieldin Culbreth now has 2 points in Crew Division (1 Previous + 1 Correct Call = 2).
*OBR Definition of Terms: "A CATCH is the act of a fielder in getting secure possession in his hand or glove of a ball in flight and firmly holding it...In establishing the validity of the catch, the fielder shall hold the ball long enough to prove that he has complete control of the ball and that his release of the ball is voluntary and intentional. If the fielder has made the catch and drops the ball while in the act of making a throw following the catch, the ball shall be adjudged to have been caught."

This is the 60th ejection report of the 2019 MLB regular season.
This is the 30th Manager ejection of 2019.
This is Detroit's 4th ejection of 2019, T-1st in the AL Central (CWS, DET 4; KC 3; MIN 1; CLE 0).
This is Ron Gardenhire's 3rd ejection of 2019, 1st since May 11 (Hunter Wendelstedt; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Fieldin Culbreth's first ejection since Sept 16, 2018 (Andy Green; QOC = Y [Fair/Foul]).

Wrap: Miami Marlins vs. Detroit Tigers, 5/21/19 | Video as follows:

Tuesday, May 14, 2019

SEA Replay - Cubby's Pitching Motion Rules Check

In the wake of MLB's Carter Capps delivery rule, Chief Fieldin Culbreth's crew initiated a Replay Review Monday in Seattle regarding Mariners relief pitcher Cory Gearrin's motion in the 7th inning, supporting HP Umpire DJ Reyburn's initial assertion of an illegal pitching move as a result of a double-step during Gearrin's motion home.

What was the rule being discussed and was Reyburn's instinct correct?

Gearrin's Illegal Move: During warmups after entering Monday's A's-Mariners game, the right-handed Gearrin demonstrated his usual pitching motion: With his right foot (pivot foot) in contact with the pitcher's plate, Gearrin raised his left leg (free foot) before returning his free foot to the ground, slightly lifting this foot and moving it forward before planting further down the mound, and finally releasing the ball toward home plate.

The second step toward home is illegal.
Rule & Analysis: This is an illegal motion because of Official Baseball Rule 5.07(a) Comment's provision that "The pitcher may not take a second step toward home plate with either foot or otherwise reset his pivot foot in his delivery of the pitch. If there is a runner, or runners, on base it is a balk under Rule 6.02(a); if the bases are unoccupied it is an illegal pitch under Rule 6.02(b)." This rule applies for all pitching deliveries, regardless of whether the pitcher has opted to use Windup Position or to use Set Position.

The rule outlawing a second step toward home plate was added prior to the 2017 season in response to former big league pitcher Carter Capps' unique crow-hop delivery in which he reset his pivot in delivery of the pitch.
Related PostCarter Capps Throws Illegal Pitch, Ejected After Hitting Ump (6/26/17).
Scott Servais disputes the crew's call.

For what it's worth, 6.02(a) simply states that such an illegal pitch is a balk with runners on base, while 6.02(b) states that the penalty for an illegal pitch with the bases unoccupied shall be a ball added to the count.

Preventative Officiating: Thus, Reyburn's instinct was correct—Gearrin's two-step maneuver is illegal and is more severe than a simple "don't do that" instruction; had Gearrin double-tapped his free foot during gameplay, it would have been an illegal pitch.

DJ Reyburn signals for a Replay Review.
Replay Review: After Reyburn informed Gearrin that his motion was illegal, protestation from Seattle brought the umpiring crew of Reyburn, Culbreth, Paul Nauert, and CB Bucknor together, which, after discussion with Mariners Manager Scott Servais, opted to initiate a Crew Chief Review for a rules check relative to OBR 5.07(a) and 6.02(b).

Six minutes? I'm with Dee Gordon (at 3:29).
After a two-and-a-half minute review, New York returned a verdict that confirmed Reyburn's suspicion, and Gearrin subsequently altered his pitching motion such that his free foot remained off the ground until reaching its final landing place, thus satisfying Rule 5.07(a) Comment's requirement that the pitcher not "take a second step toward home plate with either foot."

Total Delay & Pace of Play: The entire process took about six minutes from Reyburn's initial conversation with Gearrin until the resumption of play.

The game then proceeded and concluded without further incident (until Reyburn ejected Athletics Manager Bob Melvin an inning later following a ball four call and game-tying home run).
Related PostMLB Ejection 054 - DJ Reyburn (1; Bob Melvin) (5/13/19).

Video as follows:

Sunday, September 16, 2018

MLB Ejection 168 - Fieldin Culbreth (3; Andy Green)

3B Umpire Fieldin Culbreth ejected Padres Manager Andy Green (unreviewable Fair/Foul call prior to a Replay Review decision that overturned HP Umpire Ryan Blakney's foul ball call to HBP; QOCY) in the top of the 9th inning of the Rangers-Padres game. With one out and none on, Rangers batter Robinson Chirinos attempted to check his swing on a 2-2 fastball from Padres pitcher Trey Wingenter, ruled a foul ball by HP Umpire Blakney. Green requested a review as to the issue of whether the ball, ruled foul, was actually fair (e.g., Green's contention was that the ball hit the bat and then bounded fair, while Blakney's original ruling contended that the ball hit the bat, then batter Chirinos' hand, and then bounded fair), after which the Replay Operations Center informed Culbreth (and Green) that this aspect of the play was not subject to review. At this time, Green was ejected for arguing the unreviewable Fair/Foul aspect of the play.

Upon subsequent Replay Review as the result of a challenge by Rangers Manager Jeff Banister that the ball hit Chirinos' hand prior to striking the bat, Blakney's call was overturned to a hit-by-pitch, the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the Rangers were leading, 3-2. The Padres ultimately won the contest, 7-3.

This is Fieldin Culbreth (25)'s third ejection of 2018.
Fieldin Culbreth now has 4 points in the UEFL Standings (0 Prev + 2 MLB + 2 Correct Call = 4).
Crew Chief Fieldin Culbreth now has 0 points in Crew Division (-1 Previous + 1 Correct Call = 0).
*This call is correct pursuant to UEFL Rule 6-2-b-6-a regarding displayed reasoning: "Quality of Correctness is governed by the (in)correctness of the call made, not by the quality of reasoning given for such a call." The call in this case is the Replay Official's ruling of HBP, which is QOCY.

*SD vs TEX requests for Replay Review, as pertains to the sequence of events relative to HP Umpire Blakney's original ruling of Pitch => Ball Hits Bat => Ball Hits Hand => Ball Lands Fair.
SD Wanted to Review: Pitch => Ball Hits Bat => (THIS PART OF THE PLAY) Ball Hits Hand.
TEX Wanted to Review: Pitch => (THIS PART OF THE PLAY) Ball Hits Bat => Ball Hits Hand.
In other words, once the umpire rules the ball has hit the bat, no subsequent aspect of the play relative to whether the ball then hit the batter's person may be reviewed. This is similar to the standard "did the batter foul the ball off his foot?" question, which is not a reviewable play...but should it be?
Related PostTmac's Teachable Moments - Let's Fix Replay (3/19/17).

This is the 168th ejection report of the 2018 MLB regular season.
This is the 69th Manager ejection of 2018.
This is San Diego's 7th ejection of 2018, T-2nd in the NL West (SF 8; ARI, LAD, SD 7; COL 5).
This is Andy Green's 4th ejection of 2018, 1st since June 29 (Angel Hernandez; QOC = Y [Balk]).
This is Fieldin Culbreth's 3rd ejection of 2018, 1st since July 27 (Rick Renteria; QOC = N [Check Swing]).

Wrap: Texas Rangers vs. San Diego Padres, 9/16/18 | Video as follows:

Friday, July 27, 2018

MLB Ejections 106-107 - Fieldin Culbreth (1-2; CWS x2)

3B Umpire Fieldin Culbreth ejected White Sox Pitching Coach Don Cooper and Manager Rick Renteria (checks swing ball four call) in the top of the 1st inning of the Blue Jays-White Sox game. With none out and one on, Blue Jays batter Kendrys Morales attempted to check his swing on a 3-2 fastball from White Sox pitcher Reynaldo Lopez, ruled a ball and no swing by HP Umpire CB Bucknor and affirmed on appeal as no swing by 3B Umpire Culbreth (the pitch was properly officiated location-wise as a ball; pz 1.194 [sz_bot 1.565]). Play was adjudicated and reversed by the UEFL Appeals Board, the call was incorrect. At the time of the ejection, the Blue Jays were leading, 2-0. The Blue Jays ultimately won the contest, 10-5.

These are Fieldin Culbreth (25)'s 1st and 2nd ejections of 2018.
Fieldin Culbreth now has -4 points in the UEFL Standings (2 Prev + 2 MLB + 2*[-4 Incorrect] = -4).
Crew Chief Fieldin Culbreth now has 2 points in Crew Division (2 Previous + 2*[0 Incorrect Call] = 2).

This is the 106th and 107th ejection report of the 2018 MLB regular season.
This is the 44th Manager ejection of 2018.
This is Chicago-AL's 5/6th ejection of 2018, 1st in the AL Central (CWS 6; KC 4; DET, MIN 3; CLE 1).
This is Don Cooper's first ejection since May 16, 2017 (Tripp Gibson; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Rick Renteria's 4th ejection of 2018, 1st since July 14 (Adam Hamari; QOC = Y-C [Check Swing]).
This is Fieldin Culbreth's first ejection since June 29, 2017 (Bryan Price; QOC = Y [Replay Review]).

Wrap: Toronto Blue Jays vs. Chicago White Sox, 7/27/18 | Video as follows:

Tuesday, May 15, 2018

Injury Scout - Fieldin Culbreth Departs on Foul to Jaw

Fieldin Culbreth exited Tuesday's game in Anaheim after taking a foul ball off the lower right jaw.

In the bottom of the 3rd inning of the Astros-Angels game, batter Shohei Ohtani fouled a 99.4-mph 0-2 fastball from Astros pitcher Gerrit Cole into the lower right portion of Culbreth's traditional-style facemask.

2B Umpire CB Bucknor replaced Culbreth behind home plate with 1B Umpire Chris Conroy and 3B Umpire Brian O'Nora as the two field umpires. O'Nora served as acting crew chief in Culbreth's absence.

Relevant Injury History: In 2015, Culbreth exited his assignment in Arizona after sustaining a concussion as the result of a foul ball to the left side of his mask in the first inning of July 5's Rockies-Diamondbacks game. Culbreth had remained in the game in the immediate aftermath of the head injury, but departed the game in the bottom of the 2nd.
Related PostFieldin Culbreth Leaves Game with Mild Concussion (7/5/15).

Exactly five years ago to the day, Culbreth left an extra-inning game in Pittsburgh after a foul ball wedged between his facemask and chest protector.
Related PostCulbreth Leaves Game with 11th Inning Collarbone Injury (5/15/13).

Last Game: May 15 | Return to Play: May 28 | Time Absent: 12 Days | Video as follows:

Friday, July 7, 2017

Dispelling the Fan Interference Ground Rule Double Myth

Let's clear up a myth: fan interference does not result in an automatic ground rule double call. By rule, the term "ground rule double" is reserved for a batted ball that goes out of play under one of the field-specific or Universal Ground Rules (e.g., a batted ball that lodges in the rotating signage along the first or third base stands is out of play due to a Universal Ground Rule. Thus, if a double is awarded due to this lodgment, it is a ground rule double). By contrast, a batted ball that travels over the outfield wall and out of play after bouncing once on the playing field is not actually a "ground rule double" but a "rulebook double" or "two-base award," as in Rule 5.05(a)(6) ("A fair ball, after touching the ground, bounds into the stands"); it's a double, but not because of the ground rules.

Crew Chief Culbreth signals fan interference.
The Play: With none out and none on in the top of the 4th inning of Thursday's Athletics-Mariners game, A's batter Bruce Maxwell hit a line drive down the left field line and toward the short wall separating the spectator area from the playing field. As the ball kicked along the wall, a fan reached out from the stands and onto field, whereupon his glove touched the live ball. With none of the umpires ruling the play dead for the interference, and batter-runner Maxwell winding up at first base, A's Manager Bob Melvin challenged the play, resulting in the rare overturned call where nothing of physical significance actually changes: Replay Officials overturned 3B Umpire Fieldin Culbreth's interference no-call, but opted to place Maxwell at first base.
Related PostMLB Instant Replay Review 454: Fieldin Culbreth (06) (6/6/14).

The Broadcast: The A's broadcasters led off with this doozie: "The A's are saying that somebody touched it, which means it would be a double." Followed by, "That's a ground rule double, if he makes any contact." After the replay decision to keep Maxwell at first base on the interference, the broadcast debated whether the A's had actually won or lost the challenge.

Fan interference's "nullify the act" penalty.
The Rule: The definition of terms states that fan interference (aka spectator interference) occurs when, "a spectator reaches out of the stands, or goes on the playing field, and (1) touches a live ball or (2) touches a player and hinders and attempt to make a play on a live ball."

Rule 6.01(e) specifies the penalty for fan interference as: "the ball shall be dead at the moment of interference and the umpire shall impose such penalties as in his opinion will nullify the act of interference. APPROVED RULING: If spectator interference clearly prevents a fielder from catching a fly ball, the umpire shall declare the batter out."

Fan INT from the UEFL Video Rulebook.
Analysis: As evidenced by the aforementioned rules, spectator interference is not an automatic double, and if a fielder is clearly prevented from making a play on a batted fly ball, the batter can even be called out. People have gotten thrown out because of this, even with Replay Review (MLB Ejection 101: Mike DiMuro (1; AJ Hinch)).

To reiterate, under the "nullify the act" clause of Rule 6.01(e), umpires can place runners anywhere they feel is appropriate in order to rectify the non-natural occurrence of fan interference. Especially in ballparks with foul outfield walls that jut out at near-perpendicular angles relative to the foul lines, this can result in a fan interference single if the umpire rules that, absent interference, the defense would have fielded the ball and held the batter at first base.
Related PostBoundary Call - Spectator Interference vs Out of Play (5/17/17).

Spectator interference can even result in a HR.
Under the "nullify the act" procedure, for instance, fan interference in the outfield can even result in a home run.
Related PostALDS Game 4 (OAK-DET): The Fan Interference Home Run (10/9/13).

MLB Network's World Baseball Classic commentators were no better in March, when Japan's Tetsuto Yamada hit a fly ball that was caught by a fan reaching out of the left-center field stands. In that situation, though, 3B Umpire Cory Blaser ruled that had the interference not occurred, Yamada would have achieved second base, and, thus, placed him at second. The broadcasters quipped that the call "cost Japan at least a base," claiming that Yamada would have had a triple if not for the interference. On the contrary, Had the umpires believed that Yamada would have reached third base safely if not for the interference, they would have placed him at third base.
Related PostWBC Replay Review - Blaser's Fan Interference (3/7/17).

The final element here is the broadcast wondering whether Oakland won or lost its challenge, since nothing on the field physically changed (e.g., the runner remained at first base). Answer: The replay decision is considered an overturned call and a successful challenge. Replay Review Regulation I.B.1 states, "If the Replay Official overturns any call challenged by a Club (even if he upholds other challenged calls), the Club retains its Manager Challenge." Accordingly, the Replay Official upheld the runner placement call, but overturned the fan interference no-call.

Video as follows:

Thursday, June 29, 2017

MLB Ejection 085 - Fieldin Culbreth (3; Bryan Price)

HP Umpire Fieldin Culbreth ejected Reds Manager Bryan Price (Replay Review, confirmed stadium boundary call; QOCY) in the top of the 3rd inning of the Brewers-Reds game. With two out and one on (R1), Brewers batter Jesus Aguilar hit a 0-0 fastball from Reds pitcher Homer Bailey on a fly ball to the base of the right field wall, where it was fielded by right fielder Arismendy Alcantara, ruled in play by 1B Umpire Mark Carlson, baserunner R1 Domingo Santana scoring. Upon Replay Review as the result of a Manager's Challenge by Price, Carlson's ruling was affirmed, replays indicate the ball first made contact with the outfield wall's padding before dropping to the ground; it did not stick nor pass through or under the fence and the outfield wall did not cause the ball to come to rest (see Related Post), the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the Brewers were leading, 4-0.

This is Fieldin Culbreth (25)'s first, second ejection of the 2017 MLB regular season.
Fieldin Culbreth now has 14 points in the UEFL Standings (10 Prev + 2 MLB + 2 Correct Call = 14).
Crew Chief Fieldin Culbreth now has 6 points in Crew Division (5 Previous + 1 Correct Call = 6).
*OBR 5.05(a)(7) states the batter becomes a runner when—"Any fair ball which, either before or after touching the ground, passes through or under a fence, or through or under a scoreboard, or through any opening in the fence or scoreboard, or through or under shrubbery, or vines on the fence, or which sticks in a fence or scoreboard, in which case the batter and the runners shall be entitled to two bases."
*OBR 5.06(b)(4)(F): "Each runner including the batter-runner may, without liability to be put out [the ball is dead], advance—Two bases, if a fair ball bounces or is deflected into the stands outside the first or third base foul lines; or if it goes through or under a field fence, or through or under a scoreboard, or through or under shrubbery or vines on the fence; or if it sticks in such fence, scoreboard, shrubbery or vines."
The MLB Umpire Manual uses the phrase "goes behind...wall padding" in regards to a lodged ball.
Related Post: Cause You're Stuck in a Wall - Batted Ball Out of Play (9/20/16).

This is the 85th ejection report of 2017.
This is the 45th Manager ejection of 2017.
This is Cincinnati's 2nd ejection of 2017, 4th in the NL Central (MIL, PIT, STL 3; CIN 2; CHC 1).
This is Bryan Price's 2nd ejection of 2017, 1st since June 17 (Stu Scheurwater; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Fieldin Culbreth's 3rd ejection of 2017, 1st since June 3 (Brad Ausmus; QOC = Y [Replay Review]).

Wrap: Milwaukee Brewers vs. Cincinnati Reds, 6/29/17 | Video via "Read More"

Thursday, June 8, 2017

Time Limit Trouble - Replay Review from 0-to-30 Seconds

Umpires are getting better at enforcing Replay Review's new 30-second Manager's Challenge time limit, which has resulted in a minor managerial rebellion as evidenced by Joe Girardi's press conference remarks asking for a meeting with MLB Replay shot-callers after Tom Hallion denied Girardi's late replay request, and Fieldin Culbreth's recent ejection of Brad Ausmus after Culbreth denied Ausmus' untimely review request.

The 30-second process seems simple enough: Field Timing Coordinators start 30-second clocks after each close play that might go to review. If the Manager challenges (or requests a Crew Chief Review) in that time, the play goes to Replay. If not, it doesn't.

Video: Clock counts down Jays' challenge window in Oakland as Gibbons files in the nick of time

Complicating matters, however, the clocks default to a blank setting after reaching zero seconds on the countdown, not all Field Timing Coordinators are consistent about starting the clocks after every close play (for instance, a seemingly benign no-call that might turn into a boundary issue that isn't apparent in real-time), and some situations (e.g., end of innings, pitching changes) call for the clocks to be set to times greater than 30-seconds in length.

Pre-season table of Replay Review timelines and limits.
To recap, there are several time limits pertaining to Replay Review (see attached table). The big change for 2017 concerned the introduction of a 30-second time limit for all manager review requests, regardless of game situation, while emphasizing enforcement pertaining to the various time limits already in existence for End of Inning (10 seconds to notify umpires of intent-to-consider a review, and 30 seconds to actually file the challenge or request) and End of Game (immediately) scenarios.

The following examples portray how untimely replay requests were addressed by various crews. Most recently, on Wednesday (June 7), Tom Hallion's crew refused to honor Joe Girardi's request for a review on a home run/out/fan interference play because the crew said Girardi failed to satisfy the Replay Review regulations pertaining to time limits, namely the 10-second hold time limit that follows a third out play.

End-of-Inning 10+ Second Notification Denied Case Study: Crew Hallion: With two out in the 6th inning of the Reds Sox-Yankees game, Yankees batter Chris Carter flied out to Red Sox right fielder Mookie Betts, who leapt at the wall and came down with the baseball in his glove. Replays indicate the batted ball first contacted a fan reaching over the wall before settling into Betts' glove, inspiring Girardi to request the umpires invoke a Crew Chief Review to consider the boundary fan interference question.

Hallion denies Girardi's untimely request.
Tom Hallion's crew ruled that Girardi failed to inform any of the umpires of his intent to review the play within 10 seconds of the inning's third out pursuant to Replay Review Regulation II.D.3, and thus denied Girardi's request.

Hallion's crew had the right idea, but the language of II.D.3 is slightly different for boundary calls, which are exempted from the Manager's Challenge and must be initiated by the Crew Chief: "In the case of a play that results in a third-out call and is subject to review at the discretion of the Crew Chief, the Crew Chief must either immediately initiate a Replay Review or signal for an Umpire conference to discuss the play while holding the defensive players on the field."

Because Hallion did not immediately initiate a Replay Review or umpire conference while holding the defensive players on the field (primarily because nobody knew of the potential of fan interference until well after the teams had already changed sides), Hallion's crew properly denied Girardi's request for an untimely Crew Chief review.

Video: Girardi requests a meeting with MLB corporate about baseball's Replay time limit rules

Andy Green is upset over late Nats challenge.
End-of-Inning 10+ Second Notification Allowed Case Study: Crew Layne: On May 26, Jerry Layne's crew entertained a Nationals challenge after the third out of an inning in which Manager Dusty Baker failed to inform the umpires of his intent to internally review the play within the 10 seconds as prescribed by rule. Like Hallion/Girardi, the closeness of the play—a neighborhood play out call at second base—was not readily apparent and, thus, evaded immediate detection by Washington's coaching staff. Opposing Manager Andy Green, not happy by the untimely turn of events, was seen silently fuming on camera during the ensuing Replay Review. Video: Nats get umpires to review play after the inning break has commenced.

30+ Second Denied Case Study: Crew Culbreth: On May 31, Culbreth denied Mets Manager Terry Collins an attempted challenge filed after the 30-second time limit had expired (37 seconds to be exact), but we wanted to wait for something a little more juicy to analyze.

Culbreth ejected Ausmus for arguing a denial.
On June 3, Culbreth in his role as Crew Chief ejected Tigers Manager Brad Ausmus after the Detroit skipper objected to the Cubby Crew's policy (or, more accurately, the "MLB policy") of requiring a manager to file his challenge within 30 seconds of the end of the play-to-be-reviewed. Culbreth ejected Ausmus after plate umpire Manny Gonzalez, as umpire-in-chief, ruled that Ausmus waited too long to file a challenge concerning a play at first base. Timed replays indicated that Ausmus failed to request a challenge of the play until 39 seconds had elapsed since the conclusion of the play.

Pursuant to the new-for-2017 challenge decision time limit, Culbreth's crew properly denied Ausmus and Collins' requests for untimely Manager's Challenges.

Price and Girardi's late requests were rejected.
End-of-Game Denied Case Study: Crew Miller: Last season—prior to the 30-second rule—Bill Miller's crew refused to honor Reds Manager Bryan Price's attempted Manager's Challenge of a game-ending play. Similar to the Hallion/Girardi play, neither Miller nor Price knew the boundary-related play contained a potential dead ball situation until well after the play had concluded and the time limit to notify and/or file had expired. Price actually followed the umpires toward their room in an attempt to bring them back onto the field to review the play, but Miller properly denied Price's request for an untimely Manager's Challenge.

Pitching Change Allowed Case Study: Crew T Barrett: Also on Wednesday afternoon, Ted Barrett's crew honored a Manager's Challenge from Nationals Manager Dusty Baker 41 seconds after the play-to-be-reviewed had concluded, and complicated by a pitching change.

Barrett allows Baker's untimely challenge.
With one out in the top of the 8th inning of the Nationals-Dodgers game, Bryce Harper reached on a fielder's choice out, as the Dodgers tagged out baserunner R3 Trea Turner. Although Baker timely notified the umpires of his intent to internally review the play (although, because it wasn't a third out, Baker didn't need to adhere to the 10-second notification time limit), he failed to actually file his Manager's Challenge until 41 seconds after the play had ended, and only as Dodgers relief pitcher Kenley Jansen had already began jogging in from the home bullpen.

In the event of a pitching change, the Field Timing Coordinator starts a routine commercial break clock in significant excess of 30 seconds. Video: Baker's late challenge of play at the plate is honored, and the call is ultimately confirmed.

30+ Second Allowed Case Study: Crew Marquez: Also on Wednesday, acting crew chief Alfonso Marquez agreed to review a Manager's Challenge from Cardinals Manager Mike Matheny 36 seconds after the play-to-be-reviewed had concluded. Video: Matheny's late challenge of play at the plate is honored, and the call is confirmed.

30+ Second Allowed Case Study: Crew Holbrook: On June 3, Sam Holbrook honored Craig Counsell's Manager's Challenge submitted 38 seconds after the conclusion of the out/safe (tag - stolen base) play to be reviewed. Video: Counsell requests a review after time expires following the play, call confirmed. Here's an honored 33-second deliberation from June 2's game.

30+ Second Allowed Case Study: Crew Reynolds: On May 25, Jim Reynolds honored Arizona's request for a Crew Chief Review submitted 43 seconds after the conclusion of a bang-bang play at first base. Video: D-Backs request a review well after the 30-second time limit, which is granted; call stands.

Outlier Thrown Out: Crew Reynolds: As described on Monday, Clint Hurdle's skirting of the 30-second rule due to the stand-still tradition of "God Bless America" is an outlier and a seemingly acceptable exception to the 30-second time limit. Therefore, this play was thrown out of the analysis.

Saturday, June 3, 2017

MLB Ejection 060 - Fieldin Culbreth (2; Brad Ausmus)

1B Umpire Fieldin Culbreth ejected Tigers Manager Brad Ausmus (denied Replay Review - exceeded 30-second time limit) in the bottom of the 1st inning of the White Sox-Tigers game. With one out and two on (R1, R2), Tigers batter Victor Martinez hit 2-2 slider from White Sox pitcher Miguel Gonzalez on the ground to second baseman Yolmer Sanchez, who threw to first baseman Matt Davidson as Martinez arrived at first base. Replays indicate Davidson caught the ball and tagged first base prior to Martinez's arrival and that Ausmus took longer than 30 seconds in determining whether to challenge the play (replays indicate he took approximately 39 seconds to decide), the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the game was tied, 0-0. The Tigers ultimately won the contest, 10-1.

This is Fieldin Culbreth (25)'s second ejection of the 2017 MLB regular season.
Fieldin Culbreth now has 9 points in the UEFL Standings (5 Previous + 2 MLB + 2 Correct Call = 9).
Crew Chief Fieldin Culbreth now has -3 points in Crew Division (-4 Previous + 1 Correct Call = -3).
*MLB introduced a 30-second time limit for Replay Review challenge decisions prior to the season.

This is the 60th ejection report of 2017.
This is the 32nd Manager ejection of 2017.
This is Detroit's 2nd ejection of 2017, T-1st in the AL Central (CWS, DET, KC, MIN 2; CLE 0).
This is Brad Ausmus' first ejection since August 27, 2016 (Mike Everitt; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Fieldin Culbreth's 2nd ejection of 2017, 1st since June 1 (Terry Collins; QOC = Y-C [Interference]).

Wrap: Chicago White Sox vs. Detroit Tigers, 6/3/17 | Video via "Read More"

Thursday, June 1, 2017

MLB Ejection 057 - Fieldin Culbreth (1; Terry Collins)

3B Umpire Fieldin Culbreth ejected Mets Manager Terry Collins (unintentional interference foul ball call by Roberto Ortiz) in the top of the 4th inning of of the Brewers-Mets game. With one out and the bases loaded, Brewers batter Eric Sogard hit a 0-1 curveball from Mets pitcher Zack Wheeler on a fly ball into foul territory near the third base dugout. Replays indicate that as Mets third baseman Wilmer Flores attempted to catch the batted ball, he collided with a batboy, who was attempting to get out of the way. Initially ruled an out by HP Umpire Roberto Ortiz, the call was reversed to that of unintentional interference after consultation amongst the umpires and a determination that the batboy did not intend to interfere with the play, the call was correct.* Play was reviewed and affirmed by the UEFL Appeals Board (8-0-1), the call was correct. At the time of the ejection, the Brewers were leading, 2-0. The Brewers ultimately won the contest, 2-1.

This is Fieldin Culbreth (25)'s first ejection of the 2017 MLB regular season.
Fieldin Culbreth now has 5 points in the UEFL Standings (2 Previous + 2 MLB + 1 QOCY-Crewmate = 5).^
Crew Chief Fieldin Culbreth now has -4 points in Crew Division (-5 Previous + 1 Correct Call = -4).
*Rule 6.01(d), titled Unintentional Interference states, "In case of unintentional interference with play by any person herein authorized to be on the playing field (except members of the team at bat who are participating in the game, or a base coach, any of whom interfere with a fielder attempting to field a batted or thrown ball; or an umpire) the ball is alive and in play. If the interference is intentional, the ball shall be dead at the moment of the interference and the umpire shall impose such penalties as in his opinion will nullify the act of interference."
*Rule 6.01(d) Comment states, "The question of intentional or unintentional interference shall be decided on the basis of the person’s action. For example: a bat boy, ball attendant, policeman, etc., who tries to avoid being touched by a thrown or batted ball but still is touched by the ball would be involved in unintentional interference. If, however, he kicks the ball or picks it up or pushes it, that is considered intentional interference, regardless of what his thought may have been."
^Roberto Ortiz is Calling and Fieldin Culbreth is the Secondary umpire pursuant to UEFL Rule 6-2-c.

This is the 57th ejection report of 2017.
This is the 31st Manager ejection of 2017.
This is NY-NL's 2nd ejection of 2017, T-2nd in the NL East (MIA 5; NYM, WAS 2; ATL, PHI 1).
This is Terry Collins' first ejection since July 30, 2016 (Jeff Kellogg; QOC = Y [Replay Review]).
This is Fieldin Culbreth's first ejection since August 3, 2016 (Terry Francona; QOC = N-C [Replay]).

Wrap: Milwaukee Brewers vs. New York Mets, 6/1/17 | Video via "Read More"

Tuesday, April 18, 2017

Bucknor's False Strikeout, Non-Ejection (Jayson Werth)

Nationals LF Jayson Werth charged at HP Umpire CB Bucknor after umpires reversed a strikeout call with two outs in the bottom of the 9th inning of the Nationals-Braves game during a chaotic sequence for Bucknor and fellow umpires led by Crew Chief Fieldin Culbreth.

Bucknor appeared to initially call "Time."
With two out and the bases loaded in the bottom of the 9th inning of a three-run game, Braves batter Chase d'Arnaud swung at a 1-2 slider from Nationals pitcher Shawn Kelley for an apparent third strike to end the game. After appeal from Braves 3B Coach Ron Washington, home plate umpire Bucknor alongside crewmates Manny Gonzalez (1B), Culbreth (2B), and Mark Carlson (3B) convened, and ultimately determined that d'Arnaud had fouled the ball into the dirt, and ordered play resumed with d'Arnaud still at bat with a 1-2 count. Replays indicate d'Arnaud's bat did not make contact with the baseball and that Bucknor appeared to call "Time" after the pitch's completion, the call was incorrect. Kelly struck out d'Arnaud in earnest on the ensuing pitch to give Washington a 4-1 victory.

Werth tears into Bucknor after the final out.
After the game's conclusion, Nats LF Werth approached Bucknor while yelling and gesticulating with such intensity that teammates had to physically restrain Werth as Bucknor walked off the field, accompanied by Gonzalez. Werth previously expressed dissatisfaction over strike calls made during a fourth-inning at-bat in which Bucknor called Werth out on strikes. Replays indicated two of the three called strikes, including the called third strike, were located off the plate.

This unofficial ejection discussion is presented as an Umpire Odds & Ends post, pursuant to UEFL Rule 8-2, which governs unofficial ejections and unique umpiring situations that may not lead to an ejection. While no ejection mechanic appeared to have manifested during the strange sequence, the situation—and Werth's apparent unsporting conduct—merits further discussion.

Bucknor's most recent ejection on Sunday, April 16 also concerned a mechanically unclear play.

Wrap: Washington Nationals vs. Atlanta Braves, 4/18/17 | Videos (2 videos) via "Read More"

Friday, September 16, 2016

Case Play 2016-11 - Time to Pass a Runner [Solved]

Runner passing occurs when a trailing baserunner passes a preceding one. Time to Pass a Runner is our 11th Case Play of the 2016 season and, like Case Play 2016-10, concerns a Replay Review decision flagged for discussion by tmac.

Diagram of the Runners Passing Case Play.
The Play: With one out and one on (R1), White Sox batter Tyler Saladino hit a 1-2 fastball from Royals pitcher Matt Strahm to deep left-center field, where the ball fell onto the warning track untouched before bouncing over the outfield wall as Royals outfielder Jarrod Dyson unsuccessfully tried to glove it. Initially ruled a two-base award for Saladino and baserunner R1 Leury Garcia, giving Garcia third base and Saladino second base, the play was challenged by Royals Manager Ned Yost, who alleged that Saladino had illegally passed Garcia on the base paths, and therefore, should have been declared out pursuant to Rule (Garcia would still be awarded third base). After review, however, the Replay Official ruled both runners safe and placed them at second and third base, explaining in his decision to confirm the on-field ruling, that "The runner was not passed by another runner prior to the ball going out of play."

NY/Replay's Explanation in Confirming the Call.
Question: Is this the proper ruling, given visual evidence (or assuming that the evidence indicates) that Saladino did pass Garcia, but only after the ball had become dead by virtue of it bouncing out of the playing field? If not, what is the proper ruling, and who would get credit for the putout (if applicable)?

In other words, assume Crew Chief Fieldin Culbreth ruled the runners did pass each other, but only after the ball was dead, and assume this is visually correct. The question at hand is whether or not the ball becoming dead has any bearing on the legality of the trail runner's passing of the lead runner at some point during the dead ball period. Does the runners passing rule become suspended/not applicable when the ball is dead?

Answer: If Yost specifically challenged that the runners passing action occurred prior to the ball going out of play (as the above graphic and explanation from NY/Replay HQ indicates), then this is the proper ruling, as the passing did not occur during a live ball ("The Replay Official shall have no authority to review any calls other than those included in a Manager's Challenge or those accepted for review by the Crew Chief" Replay Review Regulation II.I).

Otherwise, Rule 5.06(c) states that the when the ball is dead, bases may not be run, no run scored, and no runner may be put out, except "as the result of acts which occurred while the ball was alive." For this play, the batted ball bouncing out of play is a live ball event that results in a dead ball bases-run situation (R1 awarded 3rd, B1 awarded 2nd). By contrast, a foul ball is also a dead ball, but no bases are awarded as result of the foul ball, so no runners may advance or be put out. (There is no potential for illegal base running during a dead foul ball because no runners may advance during a foul ball.)

Rule 5.06(b)(4)(I) Comment specifies that a base award without liability to be put out "does not relieve [a runner] of the responsibility..." For example, a batter-runner who hits a home run must still touch all bases in order. If a base is missed, the defense may appeal when the ball next becomes live. However, does this responsibility extend to other baserunning obligations, such as passing or abandonment?

Abandonment may occur during a home run.
A runner may not be put out during a dead ball—this is why the defense must wait for the ball to become live before lodging an appeal—but this isn't to say a runner may not be declared out during a dead ball. "Put out" is something the defense does, whereas "declare out" is something the umpire does.

For example, with one out and the bases loaded, B1 hits a game-winning home run, and runs across the field to celebrate before the winning run crosses home plate (for simplicity's sake, assume B1 already touched first base). B1's run will not count, as B1 never legally touched home plate and therefore will be declared out for abandonment, even though this action occurs when the ball is dead. The winning run thus will score with two outs.

A passing runners play from earlier in 2016.
A similar circumstance exists with passing runners. This occurred in Case Play 2016-3, when Marlins batter JT Realmuto passed baserunner Marcell Ozuna during an apparent home run. Originally no-called, the Replay Official in overturning the on-field ruing simply explained that runner passing occurred, without regard to the timing relative to live/dead ball (the definitive angle used to overturn the call appears in the image to the left—the ball's location was not considered as it was in Chicago).

Similarly, Orioles batter Javy Lopez was declared out by 2B Umpire Gerry Davis for passing baserunner Miguel Tejada during a 2006 non-home run in Baltimore, while Robin Ventura hit a grand slam single during the 1999 NLCS after failing to legally run the bases during a dead ball. Naturally, the umpire may reverse the passing if doing so will nullify the defense's illegal act (for instance, passing may be reversed/cancelled/nullified if the defense has obstructed the offense, for instance by face guarding, jockeying, or improperly blocking R1's view, and doing so will nullify the obstruction).

F4 is closest to the passing & gets the putout.
The only consideration in regards to the "put out" is scoring the play: the fielder closest to the violation receives credit for an unassisted put out (9.09(c)(4)). Technically, however, the offending trail runner is declared out by the umpire, rather than physically put out by the defense: there is no tag.

Retrosheet.org has a list of notable Passing Runners situations that have occurred over the years, including several instances of batters and runners being declared out for passing that occurred during a dead ball.

NFHS vs NCAA vs OBR: All codes agree, passing can occur during a dead ball. However, only NFHS does not treat runner passing during a dead ball as a time play. PLAY: With two outs and two on, B1 hits a home run. After R3 scores, B1 passes R1 on the bases. Undeterred, R1 completes his HR trot and touches home plate. RULING: In NFHS, R3 & R1's runs both count. In NCAA & OBR, only R3's run counts due to the timing of the third out. NOTE: If the bases are loaded with two outs and B1 walks on a 3-2 pitch, after which R1 passes R2, then R3's run shall count whether or not he touched home plate prior to the third out, since he was forced home.

Official Baseball Rules Library
OBR 5.05(a)(6): "A fair ball, after touching the ground, bounds into the stands, or passes through, over or under a fence, or through or under a scoreboard, or through or under shrubbery, or vines on the fence, in which case the batter and the runners shall be entitled to advance two bases."
5.06(b)(4)(I) Comment: "The fact a runner is awarded a base or bases without liability to be put out does not relieve him of the responsibility to touch the base he is awarded and all intervening bases."
Rule 5.06(c): "While the ball is dead no player may be put out, no bases may be run and no runs may be scored, except that runners may advance one or more bases as the result of acts which occurred while the ball was alive (such as, but not limited to a balk, an overthrow, interference, or a home run or other fair ball hit out of the playing field)."
OBR 5.09(b)(9): "Any runner is out when—He passes a preceding runner before such runner is out."
OBR 5.09(b)(9) Comment: "A runner may be deemed to have passed a preceding (i.e., lead) runner based on his actions or the actions of a preceding runner."

Video available via "Read more"

Wednesday, August 3, 2016

MLB Ejections 122-124 - Culbreth, Reynolds (3|4, 1; CLE)

2B Umpire Fieldin Culbreth ejected Indians Manager Terry Francona and Pitching Coach Mickey Callaway for arguing a Replay Review decision that upheld 1B Umpire Jim Reynolds' no catch (safe) call in the top of the 3rd and 1B Umpire Jim Reynolds ejected Indians bench player Corey Kluber for arguing an out call (non-replay) in the top of the 5th inning of the Twins-Indians game. In the 3rd, with two out and two on (R2, R3), Twins batter Max Kepler hit a 1-2 cutter from Indians pitcher Trevor Bauer on a soft fly ball to right fielder Lonnie Chisenhall, who dove in an attempt to catch the ball before it hit the ground. Upon Replay Review as there result of a challenge by Indians Manager Francona, Reynolds' no-catch call was upheld. Play was reviewed and reversed by the UEFL Appeals Board (5-3-1), the call was incorrect. In the 5th, with none out and none on, Indians batter Abraham Almonte swung and missed at a 0-2 knuckle curve in the dirt from Twins pitcher Tyler Duffey and arrived at first base as catcher Juan Centeno's subsequent throw entered first baseman Joe Mauer's glove. Replays indicate the ball hit Mauer's glove prior to Almonte's foot touching first base, the call was correct (the Indians were unable to challenge the play due to their unsuccessful challenge earlier in the game). At the time of Francona and Callaway's ejections, the Twins were leading, 8-2. At the time of Kluber's ejection, the Twins were leading, 8-4. The Twins ultimately won the contest, 13-5.

This is Fieldin Culbreth (25)'s third, fourth ejection of the 2016 MLB regular season.
This is Jim Reynolds (77)'s first ejection of the 2016 MLB regular season.
Fieldin Culbreth now has 2 points in the UEFL Standings (2 Prev + 2*[2 MLB - 2 Incorrect-Crewmate] = 2).
Jim Reynolds now has 8 points in the UEFL Standings (4 Previous + 2 MLB + 2 Correct Call = 8).
Crew Chief Fieldin Culbreth now has 2 points in Crew Division (1 Previous + 1 Correct Call = 2).

This is the 122nd, 123rd, 124th ejection report of the 2016 regular season.
This is the 52nd Manager ejection of 2016.
This is the 58th player ejection of 2016. Prior to ejection, Kluber did not play nor appear in the game.
This is Cleveland's 2/3/4th ejection of 2016, 5th in the AL Central (CWS 6; DET, KC, MIN 5; CLE 4).
This is Terry Francona's 2nd ejection of 2016, 1st since May 30 (Manny Gonzalez; QOC = N [RLI]).
This is Mickey Callaway's first ejection since June 23, 2015 (Eric Cooper; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Corey Kluber's first career MLB ejection.
This is Fieldin Culbreth's first ejection since June 7, 2016 (Manny Machado; QOC = U [Fighting]).
This is Jim Reynolds' first ejection since June 23, 2015 (Matt Kemp; QOC = Y-C [Check Swing]).

Wrap: Minnesota Twins vs. Cleveland Indians, 8/3/16 | Video available via "Read more"

Tuesday, June 7, 2016

MLB Ejections 068|069 - Culbreth (1|2; Ventura, Machado)

2B Umpire Fieldin Culbreth ejected Royals P Yordano Ventura for throwing at Orioles 3B Manny Machado and Machado for charging the mound (fighting) in the bottom of the 5th inning of the Royals-Orioles game. With one out and none on, batter Machado took a 0-0 fastball for a hit-by-pitch. Replays indicate the 99-mph pitch was located inside and struck Machado in the backside (px -2.975, pz 3.901), and that in the 2nd inning, Ventura and Machado engaged in a verbal disagreement as Machado flew out, the call was irrecusable. At the time of the ejection, the Orioles were leading, 5-1. The Orioles ultimately won the contest, 9-1.

These are Fieldin Culbreth (25)'s first and second ejections of the 2016 MLB regular season.
Fieldin Culbreth now has 9 points in the UEFL Standings (1 Previous + 2*[2 MLB + 0 QOCU] = 9).
Crew Chief Fieldin Culbreth now has 4 points in Crew Division (2 Previous + 2 Irrecusable Calls = 4).

This is the 68th, 69th ejection report of the 2016 regular season.
This is the 34th, 35th player ejection of 2016. Prior to ejection, Ventura's line was 4.1 IP, 6 ER, HBP.
Prior to ejection, Machado was 1-2 in the contest (RBI double in 1st inning).
This is Kansas City's 2nd ejection of 2016, 4th in AL Central (MIN 5; CWS 4; DET 3; KC 2; CLE 1).
This is Baltimore's 2nd ejection of 2016, 3rd in the AL East (TOR 10; BOS 4; BAL 3; NYY, TB 1).
This is Yordano Ventura's 1st ejection since April 23, 2015 (Sam Holbrook; QOC = U [Fighting]).
This is Manny Macho's 1st ejection since March 30, 2016 (Joey Amaral; QOC = U [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Fieldin Culbreth's 1st ejection since August 15, 2015 (Craig Counsell; QOC = U [Replay Review]).

Wrap: Kansas City Royals vs. Baltimore Orioles, 6/7/16 | Video available via "Read more"