Saturday, January 23, 2016

ABL Ejection - Jordan Taylor (Nathan Wright)

Australian Baseball 3B Umpire Jordan Taylor ejected Sydney Blue Sox Coach Nathan Wright for arguing an out (catch/transfer, reversed from safe/no catch) call in the bottom of the 7th inning of the Aces-Blue Sox game. With one out and one on, Blue Sox batter Joshua Dean hit a 2-1 fastball from Aces pitcher Sam Street on a fly ball to left fielder Josh Davies, who attempted to catch the ball. Replays indicate Davies appeared to catch the baseball and subsequently drop the ball while attempting to transfer it to his throwing hand from his glove, the call was correct. At the time of the ejection, the Aces were leading, 6-3. The Aces ultimately won the contest, 6-3.

Wrap: Melbourne Aces vs. Sydney Blue Sox (Australian Baseball League), 1/23/16
[Video posted below, via 'read more']

Thursday, January 21, 2016

2016 MLB Umpire Crews (Pre-Season Edition)

Announcing MLB's 2016 Umpire Crew roster: 19 Crews & 75 Umpires, which is a change of -1 umpire from the 2015 iteration. Visit the UEFL's Umpire Roster and Profiles page for a sortable list of all MLB and MiLB call-up umpires (MLB umpires may be sorted by 2016 Crew). This is an unofficial early release of the 2016 MLB Umpire Crews and is subject to change prior to or during the regular season due to vacation, injury, or other events. Procedures for registering for the 2016 UEFL season will be released in early February: Stay tuned!

2016 MLB Umpire Crews (By Umpiring Crew Chief Seniority)

UEFLCrew ChiefUmpire 2Umpire 3Umpire 4
Crew 112 Davis, Gerry34 Holbrook, Sam30 Drake, Rob[Call-Up Umpire]
Crew 232 DeMuth, Dana53 Gibson, Greg15 Hickox, Ed83 Estabrook, Mike
Crew 317 Hirschbeck, John52 Welke, Bill19 Carapazza, Vic70 Reyburn, D.J.
Crew 45 Scott, Dale58 Iassogna, Dan61 Davidson, Bob94 Barrett, Lance
Crew 522 West, Joe44 Danley, Kerwin49 Fletcher, Andy90 Ripperger, Mark
Crew 638 Cederstrom, Gary56 Cooper, Eric28 Wolf, Jim80 Johnson, Adrian
Crew 724 Layne, Jerry21 Wendelstedt, Hunter87 Barry, Scott73 Gibson, Tripp
Crew 89 Gorman, Brian6 Carlson, Mark16 DiMuro, Mike81 Wolcott, Quinn
Crew 98 Kellogg, Jeff7 O'Nora, Brian64 Porter, Alan[Call-Up Umpire]
Crew 1020 Hallion, Tom10 Cuzzi, Phil1 Dreckman, Bruce2 Bellino, Dan
Crew 1133 Winters, Mike14 Wegner, Mark60 Foster, Marty76 Muchlinski, Mike
Crew 1266 Joyce, Jim51 Hudson, Marvin92 Hoye, James4 Fairchild, Chad
Crew 1325 Culbreth, Fieldin77 Reynolds, Jim54 Bucknor, CB79 Gonzalez, Manny
Crew 1465 Barrett, Ted55 Hernandez, Angel23 Barksdale, Lance93 Litle, Will
Crew 1545 Nelson, Jeff63 Diaz, Laz88 Eddings, Doug89 Blaser, Cory
Crew 1626 Miller, Bill11 Randazzo, Tony91 Knight, Brian13 Tichenor, Todd
Crew 1741 Meals, Jerry46 Kulpa, Ron39 Nauert, Paul98 Conroy, Chris
Crew 1827 Vanover, Larry72 Marquez, Alfonso68 Guccione, Chris86 Rackley, David
Crew 1957 Everitt, Mike*50 Emmel, Paul95 Timmons, Tim71 Baker, Jordan
Unassigned3 Welke, TimObtained byClose Call Sports/ UEFL
Some Notes and Observations:
Paul Schrieber is not listed on the MLB Umpire Crew list/staff. He did not work the 2015 postseason, but did officiate the 2015 All-Star Game as the second base umpire.
Tim Welke has not been assigned to a crew, but remains a Crew Chief.
Mike Everitt leads Crew 19 as an interim/acting crew chief (Everitt was on Welke's crew in 2015).
≫ Because of this movement, there are 75 Umpires listed on the Crew list and two Umpire 4 slots available for Call-Up Umpires from AAA baseball. There were 76 umpires and no permanent fill-ins in 2015.

Statistical Promotions or Leftward Lateral Movement:
≫ From Umpire 2 To Interim or Acting Crew Chief: Mike Everitt.
≫ From Umpire 3 to Umpire 2 (Backup Crew Chief): Sam Holbrook, Marvin Hudson, Tony Randazzo.
≫ From Umpire 4 to Umpire 3: Vic Carapazza, James Hoye.

Statistical Rightward Lateral Movement:
≫ From Umpire 2 to Umpire 3: Doug Eddings, Paul Nauert.