Saturday, January 27, 2024

Coach Throws Shoe at Referee, Player Throws Shoe to Play Defense - Technically Speaking...

A disgruntled head coach threw his shoe at a referee during a basketball game, while a player used his shoe to try and block a shot attempt, leading to a few technical fouls and one ejection for illegal use of sneakers...kind of.

NCAA Men's Basketball - Player Throws Shoe to Play Defense: During a Stonehill College vs Long Island University game in Brooklyn, Skyhawks guard Tony Felder slipped out of his shoe while on offense in the front court. As the player picked up his fallen shoe, play shifted to the other end of the floor and instead of putting the shoe back on, Felder sprinted to play defense, shoe in hand.

As Sharks forward Tana Kopa pump-faked a three point try, Felder jumped into the frame, appearing to throw his shoe in an attempt to block the potential shot. Play was whistled dead immediately and Felder assessed a technical foul for the shoe throw.

In NCAA Men's college, there are two basic types of technicals: Class A and Class B. The primary difference between the two is that Class A pertains to unsporting acts while Class B includes technical fouls that aren't maliciously unsporting in nature or otherwise don't rise to the severity of Class A. Class A's result in two free throws, count as one of two technicals for disqualification, and are added to the team foul count for bonus purposes. Class B's result in one free throw, do not count as one of the two DQ technicals (through three B's result in an ejection [or two B's plus one A]), and do not get the team fouls-toward-bonus treatment. Both resume at point of interruption.

NFHS Boys' Basketball - Head Coach Throws Shoe at Referee: While the Brooklyn shoe-throw might not have risen to the level of Class A, JSerra head coach Keith Wilkinson's conduct certainly did as he threw his shoe at a referee during a Trinity League game at Mater Dei after a no-call. Add in a second shoe-throw/spike and Wilkinson was ejected...and suspended six games.

High school ball has no Class A vs B technical foul distinction—these were simply two bench technicals assessed to the head coach.

Long story short, throwing a shoe to play defense or otherwise is nearly always illegal.

Video as follows:

Tuesday, January 23, 2024

Why did Penguins Penalty Continue After Own Goal?

The Coyotes scored an unusual Power Play Goal wherein Penguins player Jansen Harkins remained in the box on a minor penalty even through Arizona scored a PPG. Pittsburgh had drawn a delayed penalty and attempted to kill off their penalty by pulling their goalie and playing keep-away in their defensive zone...accidentally scoring an own goal when Evgeni Malkin's pass to Kris Letang slid into the empty net.

Under the hockey rules, this is still considered a Power Play Goal, but one scored without a numerical advantage for Arizona. Instead of the usual 5-on-4 skater format of a power play, Pittsburgh had voluntarily pulled its goalie to create a 5-on-5 skater situation, effectively eliminating the numerical strength disparity for skaters in an attempt to waste time.

As a result, this qualifies as a goal scored during numeric equality, so even though Pittsburgh was serving a minor penalty, the penalty did not terminate upon the Coyotes goal, as there was no numeric advantage (for skaters) at the time of the goal.

Play thus resumed with Harkins remaining in the box for Pittsburgh and Arizona's Jason Zucker in the penalty box as well for the now-no-longer-delayed hooking minor penalty.

Video as follows: