Saturday, May 11, 2013

After Rough Week, Vin Scully Voices Umpire Appreciation

After a rough week for umpires, Hall of Famer Vin Scully gave the boys in black a much-needed reprieve, showing his genuine appreciation and thanks while describing the seemingly simple act of an MLB umpire calling a play in real-time. (Video: Simply put, when they were down, broadcaster Scully picked them up.)

Hall of Famer Vin Scully shows umps some love.
With none out and one on in the top of the 7th inning of the Marlins-Dodgers game, Marlins batter Chris Coghlan hit a 0-1 fastball from Dodgers pitcher Ronald Belisario to deep left-center field where it struck near the top of the wall at the padding and caromed back toward center fielder Matt Kemp. Initially ruled a live ball (no HR) by 3B Umpire Phil Cuzzi—2B Umpire Chris Guccione positioned inside the infield with a runner aboard—the duo along with 1B Umpire Ron Kulpa and crew chief and HP Umpire Tom Hallion conferred after a brief appeal from rookie Marlins Manager Mike Redmond, electing to consult instant replay video review for the first time in Dodger Stadium history.

While the umpires watched the replays, Scully heaped praise on baseball's arbiters. Some of the classic snippets of Scully's timeless storytelling include:

On the initial call of keeping the ball alive and in play: "The umpires had to call that in real-time...We can have the ability I think to slow it down and take a look...I mean, they had one fraction of a second."

On the decision to consult instant replay: "They're going to go and look at it, which is a smart idea. So that's a heads up play by the umpires. First you get the call correct. I think if Mike Redmond had a chance to look at it as we have, you could see the ball hitting the top of the fence but coming back."

On the call and process: "Now, isn't that great? And they didn't have all of this equipment, they just made the call. And they were absolutely 100% correct."

On the final ruling to affirm the original call, resulting in a double for Coghlan: "Here come the umpires. It's going to be a double, and rightly called. It wasn't a bad idea for Mike Redmond to go out and appeal, but that's all it did. It hit the top of the pad and came back into play."

Culbreth Suspended; Johnson, Welke & O'Nora Fined for Pitching Change Fiasco

Fieldin Culbreth was suspended and umpires Adrian Johnson, Bill Welke & Brian O'Nora fined after incorrectly applying baseball rules regarding pitching changes during the Angels' 6-5 win at Houston on Thursday night.

Culbreth and crew's conference concerning changes.
As explained in "Angels Protest After Wright Exists Without Throwing a Pitch," the umpiring crew improperly allowed a replacement pitcher who was not injured to exit the ballgame without firing a single pitch, much to the chagrin of Angels Manager Mike Scioscia, who argued vehemently but to no avail. Rule 3.05(b) requires such a pitcher to face at least one batter or record the third out, whichever comes first.

MLB announced the discipline as a press release, explaining that because Culbreth was the crew chief during this episode of rules misapplication, he received both a two-game suspension and a fine. As crewmates, Johnson, Welke and O'Nora were fined, but not suspended. Astros skipper Bo Porter apologized while Scioscia largely refrained from comment.

The press release also stated that the Office of the Commission would determine the dates of Culbreth's two-game suspension. On Friday night, Culbreth was the plate umpire in Tampa Bay with his fully intact crew.

Video: Scioscia files protest after alleging umpires, Porter guilty of rules book misconduct (LAA, 5/9/13)

Friday, May 10, 2013

Solution for Case Play 2013-04: Marte's Odd Glove Use

Group Case Play 2013-04 (Marte's Unorthodox Glove Use) is now final. Answer appears below.

To refresh, right-handed F7 attempted to field B1's batted ball with his glove held in his throwing (right) hand. With F7 unable to field the baseball, B1 ended up at third base with a triple. The question posed a scenario in which F7's glove, held but not worn in this position, made contact with the batted ball after B1 touched first base. The scenario specifically asked, "is such contact between a held glove and a batted ball legal?"

Marte's right hand/glove's attempted play.
Answer, Group Case Play 2013-04
In responding to this scenario, the group properly identified relevant OBR Rules 1.11, 1.14, 1.17 and 7.05(b). To review:

Rule 1.11: Specifies that (a)(1) "all players on a team shall wear uniforms identical in color..." Notably absent from the uniform is any reference to gloves or mitts, helmets, etc.
Rule 1.14: Allows each fielder (other than C or 1B, as in 1.12 and 1.13) "to use or wear a leather glove."
Rule 1.17: Specifies that playing equipment is comprised of mutually exclusive items, including uniforms and outfielders gloves, which are listed separately and distinctly.
Rule 7.05(b): Authorizes a three-base award "if a fielder deliberately touches a fair ball with his cap, mask or any part of his uniform detached from its proper place on its person."
Rule 7.05(c): Authorizes a 3-base award "if a fielder deliberately throws his glove at and touches a fair ball."
Rule 7.05(b)-(e) Comment: Unique language provides the phrase, "thrown glove or detached cap or mask."

Accordingly, the glove is not part of the uniform. For instance, a batter does not wear a fielder's glove nor are all fielders' gloves mandated to be identical in color (1.11). Instead, a glove is clearly a piece of equipment (1.14, 1.17). That said, Rule 7.05(b) regarding deliberate touching with a cap, mask or any part of his uniform detached from its proper place on its person is inapplicable. Instead, Rule 7.05(c) governs contact with a glove and only authorizes a penalty if the glove is thrown at and touches a fair ball.

Rule 1.14 specifically authorizes each fielder "to use or wear" a glove. The method in which a glove may be used is not restricted nor are fielders mandated to actually wear gloves on the non-throwing hand. As such, F7 would be legally permitted to use his glove as long as he does not violate Rule 7.05(c) in throwing his glove at, and touching a fair ball. This is confirmed by Rule 7.05(b)-(e) Comment, wherein the phrase "thrown glove" precedes and is distinct from "detached cap or mask."

How scored? This play is legal, there is no call to make. The official scorer may credit F7 with an error pursuant to criteria established by Rule 10, though no infraction of the rules has occurred. Play on.

As an aside, had this been a case of a thrown glove touching a fair ball, the three-base award would be invoked from the time of touch, rather than the time of pitch. B1 would be entitled to home for a score (MLBUM).

Participants (+1) [Correct Respondents Underlined (+2)]: 2dub, bjweig01, Bob Abouy, BoredcravensBrett Whaley, BrooklynUmp, BT_Blue, bwburke94, Chris Silvestri, Chris Smith (RadioPearl)clawdad, cyclone14, DD4D, Furax01, gkiewitt, gregoryakochJesse Brown, Joe Gravina, Kevin Nichols, kickersrule, Marcus, Matt, NorthStarUmpire#2pamarloweRed @ss Ump, rgoldar2, RichMSN, RIumpinchief, SJR, toss 'em, Turducken, TXWrangler

Thank you to all participants (+1 to all, +2 to correct respondents)!

Thursday, May 9, 2013

Angels Protest After Wright Exits Without Throwing a Pitch

Angels Manager Mike Scioscia filed a protest Thursday after Houston Astros Manager Bo Porter relieved righty Paul Clemens with Wesley Wright in the top of the 7th, only to replace Wright with Hector Ambriz before Wright faced his first batter.

Scioscia passionately argues his case to Cubby.
With the Angels threatening, southpaw Wright was sent to the mound as Angels batter JB Shuck—a lefty—was due up next. Instead, however, Scioscia sent the right-handed-hitting Luis Jimenez to on-deck circle to set the lefty-righty matchup. Porter, meanwhile, responded by removing Wright from the ballgame and calling in the right-handed Ambriz, all before Wright fired a single pitch.

Pursuant to Rule 3.05(b), "If the pitcher is replaced, the substitute pitcher shall pitch to the batter then at bat, or any substitute batter, until such batter is put out or reaches first base, or until the offensive team is put out, unless the substitute pitcher sustains injury or illness which, in the umpire-in-chief’s judgment, incapacitates him for further play as a pitcher."

No discernible injury or illness was cited for the Ambriz-for-Wright substitution, which suggests a violation of Rule 3.05(b). Pursuant to Rule 3.05(b) Comment, "If a manager attempts to remove a pitcher in violation of Rule 3.05 (c) the umpire shall notify the manager of the offending club that it cannot be done. If, by chance, the umpire-in-chief has, through oversight, announced the incoming improper pitcher, he should still corrrect the situation before the improper pitcher pitches. Once the improper pitcher delivers a pitch he becomes the proper pitcher."

Upon observing the apparent illegal substitution, Scioscia convened crew chief Fieldin Culbreth and his umpiring crew of Brian O'Nora, Bill Welke and Adrian Johnson (plate), ultimately electing to protest the game due to the alleged misapplication of the Official Baseball Rules, pursuant to Rule 4.19 which governs protested games (umpires shall be notified at the time the play under protest occurs and before the next pitch, play or attempted play).

As such, Ambriz was permitted to pitch to Shuck's replacement, left-handed batter Scott Cousins (Jimenez was never officially announced) and Cousins flew out to end the inning. At the time of the protest, the Astros were leading, 5-3. The Angels ultimately won the contest, 6-5. Because the Angels won the ballgame, the protest has been withdrawn.

The last protest in Major League Baseball occurred during the 2012 NL Wild Card Game when LF Umpire Sam Holbrook ruled an infield fly (denied; judgment call) while the last Angels protest occurred on August 3, 2012 when Scioscia protested a runner's lane interference non-call (denied; umpire's judgment).

The last time a protest was upheld in MLB was on June 17, 1986, when the Pittsburgh Pirates protested that a rain-shortened game during which the Pirates appeared to lose to the St. Louis Cardinals, 4-1, was improperly called by umpiring crew chief John Kibler. Kibler called the game after two rain delays lasting 17 and 22 minutes; two pitches were thrown between the two delays. As National League regulations required umpires to wait at least 75 minutes during an initial and 45 minutes after a subsequent rain or other weather delay before calling a game, NL President Charles Feeney upheld the protest.

Wrap: Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim vs. Houston Astros, 5/9/13
Video: Scioscia charges out of the dugout to file a protest when umpires allow consecutive pitching changes
Video: Scioscia repeats, "he's got to face a hitter!" to no avail as the umpires conference four times
Video: Porter explains his motives behind his excessive pitching changes, a misunderstanding of the rules

Wednesday, May 8, 2013

MLB Ejection 031: Scott Barry (1; Joe Maddon)

HP Umpire Scott Barry ejected Rays Manager Joe Maddon for arguing a foul ball call made by 1B Umpire Tim Welke in the top of the 6th inning of the Blue Jays-Rays game. With none out and none on, Blue Jays batter
Maddon ejected two days in a row.
Maicer Izturis hit a 1-0 cutter from Rays pitcher Jamey Wright onto the infield where it was fielded by first baseman James Loney, but ruled a foul ball by 1B Umpire Welke for having contacted Izturis' leg or foot at home plate, while Izturis was in a legal batting position within the batter's box pursuant to Rule 6.03, before striking the ground. Replays indicate the batted ball did not make contact with Izturis' person whatsoever, the call was incorrect. At the time of the ejection, the Rays were leading, 6-2. The Rays ultimately won the contest, 10-4.

This is Scott Barry (87)'s first ejection of 2013.
Scott Barry now has 0 points in the UEFL (0 Previous + 2 MLB + -2 Incorrect Call [Crewmate] = 0).
Crew Chief Tim Welke now has 0 points in the UEFL's Crew Division (0 Previous + 0 Incorrect Call = 0).

This is the 31st ejection of 2013.
This is the 14th Manager ejection of 2013.
This is the Rays' 4th ejection of 2013, T-1st in the AL East (TB, TOR 4; BAL, BOS, NYY 0).
This is Joe Maddon's first ejection since yesterday, May 7 (Marty Foster; QOC = N).
This is Scott Barry's first ejection since August 22, 2012 (Ned Yost; QOC = Y).

MLB Ejection 030: Angel Hernandez (1; Bob Melvin)

2B Umpire Angel Hernandez ejected A's Manager Bob Melvin for arguing a reviewed and upheld: double call in the top of the 9th inning of the A's-Indians game. With two out and none on, A's batter Adam Rosales hit a
Melvin argues for a home run after replay review.
1-1 fastball from Indians pitcher Chris Perez to deep left-center field, the ball striking near the top of the outfield wall and deflecting back onto the playing field for a double. After a brief conference, crew chief Hernandez and fellow crewmates John Tumpane and Doug Eddings left the field to review the play via instant replay to determine whether the call of double would stand or be reversed to that of a home run while Paul Nauert remained on the field. Replays indicate the fly ball appeared to strike a railing above the yellow line atop the outfield wall, the call was incorrect. At the time of the ejection, the Indians were leading, 4-3. The Indians ultimately won the contest, 4-3.

This is Angel Hernandez (55)'s first ejection of 2013.
Angel Hernandez now has -2 points in the UEFL (0 Previous + 2 MLB + -4 Incorrect Call = -2).
Crew Chief Angel Hernandez now has 0 points in the UEFL's Crew Division (0 + 0 Incorrect Call = 0).

This is the 30th ejection of 2013.
This is the 13th Manager ejection of 2013.
This is the A's' 3rd ejection of 2013, 1st in the AL West (OAK 3; HOU, LAA, SEA, TEX 0) .
This is Bob Melvin's first ejection since April 13 (Andy Fletcher; QOC = Y).
This is Angel Hernandez's first ejection since July 3, 2011 (Ron Washington/Gary Pettis; QOC = Y).

NBA Ejections (2): Scott Foster, Rodney Mott, Sean Wright

Referees Scott Foster (crew chief), Rodney Mott (R) and Sean Wright (R2/umpire) ejected Bulls guard Joakim Noah and forward Taj Gibson for second technical fouls in the 4th quarter of the Bulls-Heat game. With 0:11.6 remaining in the 1st quarter, Noah received his first technical foul as part of a double technical foul sequence for unsporting argument actions with Heat forward LeBron James. With 10:13 remaining in the 4th period, Bulls guard Marquis Teague was called for a shooting foul; Noah and Gibson then proceeded to display overt actions indicating resentment to the call, resulting in Noah's second technical foul and Gibson's first. Gibson continued to violate the NBA Respect for the Game guidelines and was administered his second technical foul and disqualification. At the time of the ejections, the Heat were leading, 93-56. The Heat ultimately won the contest, 115-78.

Wrap: Chicago Bulls vs. Miami Heat (Eastern Conference Semifinals, Game 2), 5/8/13
Video: While getting blown out on the road, embarrassed Noah, Gibson show frustration, cry out for Ts

Tuesday, May 7, 2013

MLB Ejections 028, 029: Marty Foster (1, 2; Maddon, Enc)

HP Umpire Marty Foster ejected Rays Manager Joe Maddon for arguing an out call in the bottom of the 2nd inning and Blue Jays first baseman Edwin Encarnacion for arguing a strike call in the top of the 9th inning of the Blue Jays-Rays game. In the 2nd, with none out and two on, Rays batter Jose Molina bunted a 0-1
Maddon in disbelief over Foster's call.
curveball from Blue Jays pitcher J.A. Happ to first baseman Edwin Encarnacion, who threw home to catcher J.P. Arencibia as baserunner R3 Sean Rodriguez attempted to score. Replays indicate Rodriguez successfully avoided Arencibia's tag and touched the point of home plate, the call was incorrect. In the 9th, with two out and two on, Encarnacion swung and missed a 1-2 splitter from Rays pitcher Brandon Gomes for a third strike. Replays indicate the called strike two pitch was located navel high and off the inner edge of home plate (px -1.110), the call was incorrect. At the time of the Maddon ejection, the Blue Jays were leading, 1-0. At the time of the Encarnacion ejection, the Blue Jays were leading, 6-4. The Blue Jays ultimately won the contest, 6-4.

These are Marty Foster (60)'s first and second ejections of 2013.
Marty Foster now has -4 points in the UEFL (0 Previous + 2*[2 MLB + -4 Incorrect Call] = -4).
Crew Chief Tim Welke now has 0 points in the UEFL's Crew Division (0 + 2*[0 Incorrect Call] = 0).

These are the 28th and 29th ejections of 2013.
This is the 12th Manager ejection of 2013.
This is the 14th player ejection of 2013.
Prior to his ejection, Encarnacion was 1-4 in the contest.
This is the Rays' 3rd/Jays' 4th ejection of 2013, 2nd/1st in the AL East (TOR 4; TB 3; BAL, BOS, NYY 0).
This is Joe Maddon's first ejection since April 17 (Brian Knight; QOC = Y).
This is Edwin Encarnacion's first ejection since July 1, 2008 (Chad Fairchild; QOC = N/A).
This is Marty Foster's first ejection since Feb 28 (Chris Stewart; QOC = N).

Wrap: Toronto Blue Jays vs. Tampa Bay Rays, 5/7/13
Video: Maddon is ejected arguing Foster's out call at the dish (TB)
Video: Jays cut down Tampa Bay's would-be first run of the game (TOR)

Bruce Almighty: Catch, Possession, Control and Release

Umpire Bruce Dreckman ruled D-Backs SS Didi Gregorius safe on a contested no catch call against Dodgers left fielder Carl Crawford Monday, finding that Crawford failed to satisfy the criteria required by Rule 2.00 CATCH in attempting to retire the young Arizona infielder.

Rule 2.00 CATCH defines the air putout as "the act of a fielder in getting secure possession in his hand or glove of a ball in flight and firmly holding it...In establishing the validity of the catch, the fielder shall hold the ball long enough to prove that he has complete control of the ball and that his release of the ball is voluntary and intentional. If the fielder has made the catch and drops the ball while in the act of making a throw following the catch, the ball shall be adjudged to have been caught."

The Major League Baseball Umpire Manual (MLBUM) further states that "a ball will be ruled caught when the momentum of the catch is completed and the player voluntarily releases the ball."

Did Crawford catch the ball? You make the call!
With none out and none on in the top of a 3-2 5th inning, Gregorius hit a 0-1 fastball from Dodgers pitcher Chris Capuano to left field, Crawford settling under the descending fly ball before receiving the baseball into his glove, dropping the small white orb at some point between glove, hand and transfer.

Originally ruled a no catch error allowing Gregorius to take second base, the call was upheld by the umpiring crew of HP Gary Darling (chief), 1B Paul Emmel, 2B Jerry Meals and 3B Dreckman. Though subsequent batter Paul Goldschmidt clubbed a 2-1 pitch into dead center for a two-run home run, no further argument was made.

You Make the Call: Was the no catch call correct or did Crawford's actions adhere to Rule 2.00's criteria?

This type of play has happened many times before and has resulted in ejection in the past. For instance, Greg Gibson ejected Rockies Manager Jim Tracy for arguing a safe (no catch) call after Angels pitcher Scott Downs was ruled to have failed to catch a line drive; Tracy argued Downs lost the ball during a transfer from glove to hand after the catch.

LAD: Prime Ticket (TV): Vin Scully / KLAC (Radio): Charlie Steiner and Rick Monday.
ARI: Fox Sports Arizona (TV): Steve Berthiaume, Bob Brenly / KTAR (Radio): Greg Schulte, Tom Candiotti.

Sunday, May 5, 2013

NHL Ejections: Paul Devorski & Dan O'Halloran (9 Games)

NHL referees Paul Devorski and Dan O'Halloran along with linesmen Lonnie Cameron and Jay Sharrers presided over a massive on-ice brawl that left nine ejected during Game 3 of the Canadiens-Senators Stanley Cup Playoffs series' blowout win for Ottawa, who defeated the Canadiens 6-1.

Full line fight produces mass ejections.
With 12:56 remaining in the third period, the Canadiens and Senators lines engaged in a mighty melee, 10 players charged with fighting and eight game misconduct penalties after a two-minute minor for slashing by Montreal's Ryan White. As play resumed several minutes later, another scrum broke out at the 8:31-mark (or with 11:29 remaining in the third period), resulting in two roughing minors, two instigators (one face shield), two fighting and one additional game misconduct after a Josh Gorges (Montreal) two-minute minor for charging. In all, 14 players were charged with fighting during the third period and one received a simple misconduct (White).

When the dust—or ice—finally settled, nine players received game misconduct (ejection) penalties...

7:04 Game Misconduct Penalties (Ejections)
- Ottawa's Zack Smith (also fighting)
- Ottawa's Chris Neil (also fighting)
- Ottawa's Chris Phillips (also fighting)
- Ottawa's Matt Kassian (also fighting)
- Montreal's Jarred Tinordi (also fighting)
- Montreal's Colby Armstrong (also fighting)
- Montreal's Travis Moen (also fighting)

8:31 Game Misconduct Penalty (Ejection) - Montreal's PK Subban (also fighting, instigator face shield)

On May 2, Eric Gryba earned a game for an injurious hit on Lars Eller that resulted in facial and dental fractures.

Wrap: Montreal Canadiens vs. Ottawa Senators (Stanley Cup Playoffs), 5/5/13
Video: Full line brawl and subsequent fight between Canadiens, Senators send nine off ice for game miscs

Larry Vanover Possibly Concussed After Foul Ball Off Mask

HP Umpire Larry Vanover left Sunday's game with a possible concussion after being struck with a foul ball in his face mask during the first inning of Angels-Orioles at Angel Stadium of Anaheim. With one out and two on,
Vanover's mask is dislodged with force.
Angels batter Mark Trumbo fouled a 1-0 fastball straight back into ump Vanover's mask, knocking the mask and Vanover's plate hat off of his head. Crewmates Wally Bell and Tony Randazzo met with the Angels training staff to evaluate Vanover at the time; the 20-year MLB veteran remained in game until the top of the third inning, at which point second base umpire Manny Gonzalez donned the plate gear and took over behind home plate. Pursuant to MLB injury protocol regarding head or brain injuries and possible concussions, Vanover is expected to be sidelined for multiple games. If a concussion is diagnosed or as a precaution, Vanover will likely be placed on the 7-day Concussion List.

Video: Trumbo's foul ball beans Vanover square in the upper face, knocking his mask off (LAA)
Video: After the second inning ends on a fly out, Vanover leaves game for further evaluation (LAA)

MLB Ejection 027: John Hirschbeck (1; Bryce Harper)

3B Umpire John Hirschbeck ejected Nationals LF Bryce Harper for arguing a check swing (swinging) strike three call in the top of the 1st inning of the Nationals-Pirates game. With two out and none on, Harper
Hirschbeck, in mid-ejection mechanic.
attempted to check his swing on a 3-2 curveball from Pirates pitcher Wandy Rodriguez. Replays indicate regardless of Harper's attempt to strike the ball (he did offer at the pitch), the pitch was located thigh high and over the inner half of home plate (px .155, pz 1.643, sz_bot 1.500), the call was correct on both accounts.* At the time of the ejection, the contest was tied, 0-0. The Nationals ultimately won the contest, 6-2.

This is John Hirschbeck (17)'s first ejection of 2013.
John Hirschbeck now has 4 points in the UEFL (0+2+2=4).
Crew Chief John Hirschbeck now has 3 points in the Crew Division (2 Previous + 1 Correct Call = 3).
*UEFL Rule 6-2-b-6-a: "Quality of Correctness is governed by the (in)correctness of the call made, not by the quality of reasoning given for such a call." The correct call of strike three was ultimately made.

Still frame of Harper's check swing.
This is the 27th ejection of 2013.
This is the 13th player ejection of 2013.
This is the Nationals' 1st ejection of 2013, T-1st in the NL East (ATL, PHI, WAS 1; MIA, NYM 0).
This is Bryce Harper's first ejection since August 29, 2012 (CB Bucknor; QOC = Y).
This is John Hirschbeck's first ejection since September 19, 2010 (Ron Gardenhire; QOC = N).

Wrap: Washington Nationals vs. Pittsburgh Pirates, 5/5/13
Video: After HP Umpire Bob Davidson appeals to 3rd, Hirschbeck rings him up, throws him out (WAS)
Video: Following the TV break, MASN recaps Harper's helmet toss, Hirschbeck's heave-ho (WAS)

Group Case Play 2013-04: Marte's Unorthodox Glove Use

Starling Marte's creative fielding gives us a UEFL Group Case Play. In the top of the 4th inning of Saturday's Nationals-Pirates game, Nationals batter Ryan Zimmerman hit a line drive into the left field corner, where the ball eluded Pirates outfielder Starling Marte as Zimmerman charged into third base with a hustle triple.
Marte whiffs at his odd attempt to field Zim's ball.

Yet something didn't quite look right in the outfield as Marte, who is right-handed, displayed a bare left palm while attempting to field the ball using his throwing hand. Replays indicate Marte appeared to have held his glove with his right hand, though the glove did not make contact with the batted ball as it skipped out towards left-center field. (Video: A triple after an outfield miscue.)

Q: This group case play is worth one point and expires Thursday, May 9 at 12:00 PM Pacific Time; to secure your case play point, be sure to include your username in your reply (or as your posting name)—Assume Starling Marte's glove—as held, but not worn, by his right (aka throwing) hand, as in the video above—touches the ball; where should Ryan Zimmerman end up and how shall this play be scored? In other words, how shall play proceed: is such contact between a held glove and a batted ball legal? As a refresher, at time of pitch, the Pirates led the Nationals 2-1 with none out and none on in the top of the 4th inning.