Showing posts with label Catch/No Catch. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Catch/No Catch. Show all posts

Sunday, September 29, 2024

MLB Ejection 186 - Marvin Hudson (2; AJ Hinch)

HP Umpire Marvin Hudson ejected Tigers manager AJ Hinch (Replay Review decision that upheld 2B Umpire Nick Mahrley's catch [out] call; QOCN) in the bottom of the 9th inning of the #WhiteSox-#Tigers game. With none out and none on, Tigers batter Zach McKinstry hit a 2-2 fastball from White Sox pitcher Enyel De Los Santos on a fly ball to right fielder Dominic Fletcher, who attempted to catch the baseball near the outfield wall, ruled a catch (out) by 2B Umpire Mahrley. Upon Replay Review as the result of a challenge by Tigers manager Hinch, the out call stood. Replays indicate the fly ball appeared to touch the outfield wall before being caught by Fletcher, the call was incorrect. At the time of the ejection, the White Sox were leading, 9-5. The White Sox ultimately won the contest, 9-5.

This is Marvin Hudson (51)'s 2nd ejection of 2024.

This is the 186th ejection report of the 2024 MLB regular season.
This is the 93rd manager ejection of 2024. Ejection Tally: 93 Managers, 32 Coaches, 61 Players.
This is Detroit's 2nd ejection of 2024, T-4th in the AL Central (CWS 10; CLE, KC 3; DET, MIN 2).
This is AJ Hinch's 1st ejection since August 25, 2023 (Laz Diaz; QOC = U [Pitch Clock]).
This is Marvin Hudson's 2nd ejection of 2024, 1st since Aug 21 (Ryan O'Hearn; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).

Tuesday, July 25, 2023

Red Sox Turn Two on Catch & Failure-to-Tag Appeal Play

Atlanta hit into an odd inning-ending double play to end the 1st inning in Boston as 2B Umpire Mike Estabrook ruled that Red Sox second baseman Christian Arroyo caught Braves batter Marcell Ozuna's bases-loaded line drive. After the play, Boston appealed that Braves baserunner Austin Riley failed to tag up after the catch, with 3B Umpire Andy Fletcher sustaining the appeal for the inning's final out.

The call itself of catch vs no catch is quite close and not at issue here. What is a potential problem is the umpire's mechanics at second base, as the out signal was so small relative to what it could have been...did the runner from third even have a chance to see it? We might never know.

Video as follows:

Thursday, July 20, 2023

Ask CCS - Outfielder Drops Ball Over Wall - HR or Out?

Oklahoma City Dodgers batter Devin Mann hit an unusual home run against the Sacramento River Cats when his fly ball to left-center field was transported over the bullpen wall, courtesy of River Cats center fielder Bryce Johnson, ruled a home run by 1B Umpire Mike Rains.

The question of whether the fielder should have been credited with an out (catch) or not rests in the rulebook's definition of the term itself, which may be found both in Official Baseball Rule 5.09(a)(1) ["a batter is out when their fair or foul fly ball is legally caught by a fielder"] as well as the definition of terms glossary.

The rule defines a catch as "the act of a fielder in getting secure possession in their hand or glove of a ball in flight and firmly holding it; providing they do not use their cap, protector, pocket or any other part of their uniform in getting possession. It is not a catch, however, if simultaneously or immediately following their contact with the ball, they collide with a player, or with a wall, or if they fall down, and as a result of such collision or falling, drop the ball..."

Replays indicate center fielder Johnson, following his contact with the ball, collided with the wall and as a result of such collision, dropped the ball over the fence and out of play for a home run. To further drive the point home, we continue with the catch definition: "...In establishing the validity of the catch, the fielder shall hold the ball long enough to prove that they have complete control of the ball and that their release of the ball is voluntary and intentional."

One would thus surmise the player's release of the ball was not voluntary nor intentional. As a result of these criteria not being satisfied, the play therefore should not be ruled a catch and, instead, should be deemed a home run. (We can't have a catch & carry here, either, as this was not a catch in the first place.)
Related PostAaron Judge's Bullpen Crashing Catch & Carry (6/4/23).

Video as follows:

Thursday, August 4, 2022

MLB Ejection 120 - Will Little (3; Corey Ragsdale)

1B Umpire Will Little ejected Rangers 1B Coach Corey Ragsdale (Replay Review decision that overturned Little's out [catch] call to safe [drop]; QOCN) in the top of the 3rd inning of the #WhiteSox-#Rangers game. With one out and one on (R1), White Sox batter Jose Abreu hit a 1-1 cutter from Rangers pitcher Cole Ragans on a fly ball to right fielder Adolis Garcia, who attempted to catch the ball, ruled an out by 2B Umpire Fairchild and overturned via Replay Review following a challenge by White Sox manager Tony La Russa to no catch. Replays indicate Garcia failed to establish secure possession of the baseball in his glove such that the ball's release was voluntary and intentional, the call was correct. At the time of the ejection, the Rangers were leading, 1-0. The Rangers ultimately won the contest, 3-2.

This is Will Little (93)'s 3rd ejection of 2022.
Will Little now has 9 points in the UEFL Standings (5 Prev + 2 MLB + 2 Correct Call = 9).
Crew Chief Chad Fairchild now has 4 points in Crew Division (3 Previous + 1 Correct Call = 4).
OBR's Definition of Terms: "A CATCH is the act of a fielder in getting secure possession in their hand or glove of a ball in flight and firmly holding it; providing they do not use their cap, protector, pocket, or any other part of their uniform in getting possession...
In establishing the validity of the catch, the fielder shall hold the ball long enough to prove that they have complete control of the ball and that their release of the ball is voluntary and intentional. If the fielder has made the catch and drops the ball while in the act of making a throw following the catch, the ball shall be adjudged to have been caught."

This is the 120th ejection report of the 2022 MLB regular season.
This is Texas' 1st ejection of 2022, 1st in the AL West (LAA 9; SEA 7; HOU 6; OAK 4; TEX 1).
This is Corey Ragsdale's first career MLB ejection.
This is Will Little's 3rd ejection of 2022, 1st since May 26 (David Ross; QOC = U [Warnings NC]).

Wrap: Chicago White Sox vs. Texas Rangers, 8/4/22 | Video as follows:

Wednesday, June 9, 2021

No Catch - AZ Fielder Drops Ball After Colliding with Wall

With two outs and two on in the 2nd inning of Wednesday's Diamondbacks-Athletics game, A's batter Mark Canha hit a fly ball to deep left-center field. Arizona outfielder Ketel Marte attempted to catch the ball, which entered his glove, but after colliding with the wall, dropped the ball, ruled no catch/safe by 3B Umpire Mike Muchlinski. Upon Replay Review as the result of a challenge by D-Backs manager Torey Lovullo, the call was confirmed as an RBI triple (no catch). Should it have been?

In order to answer this question, we turn to the Official Baseball Rules' Definition of Terms: "A CATCH is the act of a fielder in getting secure possession in their hand or glove of a ball in flight and firmly holding it; providing they do not use their cap, protector, pocket or any other part of their uniform in getting possession."

So far so good, but key to this play is the sentence that follows: "It is not a catch, however, if simultaneously or immediately following their contact with the ball, they collide with a player, or with a wall, or if they fall down, and as a result of such collision or falling, drop the ball. It is not a catch if a fielder touches a fly ball which then hits a member of the offensive team or an umpire and then is caught by another defensive player."

Thus, because Marte after colliding with the wall dropped the ball, it is not a catch. Much like falling to the ground, the fielder must complete the act of catching the ball in order to receive credit for such a catch.

There is no magic "two steps" rule or similar football-esque vernacular regarding a catch. Instead, this is the metric umpires are given: "In establishing the validity of the catch, the fielder shall hold the ball long enough to prove that they have complete control of the ball and that their release of the ball is voluntary and intentional. If the fielder has made the catch and drops the ball while in the act of making a throw following the catch, the ball shall be adjudged to have been caught."

To be judged as voluntary and intentional, the ball's release must satisfy a key criterion: the fielder meant for the ball to fall out of their glove. During a throw—the "dropped on the transfer" provision of the rule—the fielder voluntarily opens their glove to retrieve the ball and the release of the ball is intentional in that sense, even if the end result (dropping the ball) is not.

In the Arizona-Oakland game, Marte does not intend to release the ball in this fashion after colliding with the wall and, the fielder not having demonstrated complete control to the umpire in the immediate aftermath of and while still under the effects of momentum from his collision with the wall, 3B Umpire Muchlinski properly rules the play a dropped ball (via safe mechanic), a call affirmed via Replay Review.

Video as follows:

Tuesday, May 21, 2019

MLB Ejection 060 - Fieldin Culbreth (1; Ron Gardenhire)

3B Umpire Fieldin Culbreth ejected Tigers Manager Ron Gardenhire (Replay Review decision that overturned Culbreth's drop [safe] call to a catch [out]; QOCY) in the bottom of the 9th inning of the Marlins-Tigers game. With one out and two on (R1, R3), Tigers batter Ronny Rodriguez hit a 1-0 slider from Marlins pitcher Sergio Romo on a fly ball to left fielder Harold Ramirez, who dropped the ball while attempting to catch and throw to second base ahead of Tigers baserunner R1 Brandon Dixon, preparing to tag up, ruled a dropped ball (safe) by 3B Umpire Culbreth and overturned on Replay Review to a sacrifice fly (out/catch) as the result of a challenge by Marlins Manager Don Mattingly. Replays indicate fielder Ramirez momentarily gained secure possession in his glove of the ball such that after the ball came to a complete stop, firmly held in his glove, his subsequent release/transfer was voluntary and intentional, during which process he dropped the ball, the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the game was tied, 4-4. The Marlins ultimately won the contest, 5-4, in 11 innings.

This is Fieldin Culbreth (25)'s first ejection of 2019.
Fieldin Culbreth now has 4 points in the UEFL Standings (0 Prev + 2 MLB + 2 Correct Call = 4).
Crew Chief Fieldin Culbreth now has 2 points in Crew Division (1 Previous + 1 Correct Call = 2).
*OBR Definition of Terms: "A CATCH is the act of a fielder in getting secure possession in his hand or glove of a ball in flight and firmly holding it...In establishing the validity of the catch, the fielder shall hold the ball long enough to prove that he has complete control of the ball and that his release of the ball is voluntary and intentional. If the fielder has made the catch and drops the ball while in the act of making a throw following the catch, the ball shall be adjudged to have been caught."

This is the 60th ejection report of the 2019 MLB regular season.
This is the 30th Manager ejection of 2019.
This is Detroit's 4th ejection of 2019, T-1st in the AL Central (CWS, DET 4; KC 3; MIN 1; CLE 0).
This is Ron Gardenhire's 3rd ejection of 2019, 1st since May 11 (Hunter Wendelstedt; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Fieldin Culbreth's first ejection since Sept 16, 2018 (Andy Green; QOC = Y [Fair/Foul]).

Wrap: Miami Marlins vs. Detroit Tigers, 5/21/19 | Video as follows:

Monday, April 30, 2018

Replay Rewind - Curious Review & Concentration, Too

In this edition of Replay Rewind, we revisit a few curious challenge outcomes, including an air out that appears to bounce into a fielder's glove in Toronto, a complex play full of activity, and a video review that never was.

Umpire discretion & Crew Chief reviews.
R-189 (Base Touch; Confirmed): Tuesday in St. Louis, a 10th-inning go-ahead home run from the bat of Mets batter Jay Bruce resulted in a review as Cardinals Manager Mike Matheny asked Brian Gorman to conduct a Crew Chief Review regarding a base touching appeal during Bruce's home run trot. Gorman obliged and Replay HQ confirmed Gorman's call that Bruce touched first base; Matheny had lost his challenge earlier in the game on another upheld call.

As Mets broadcasters bemoaned Matheny's move as "ridiculous" and "absolute nonsense," Ron Darling implored of Gorman, "have some conviction in your call."

Replay Review Regulation II.C.1 states that a manager who is out of challenges may "request but cannot insist that the Crew Chief invoke his right to initiate Replay Review," while instructing the crew chief that the decision to review lies at "his sole discretion."

With all the recent talk of pace of play on such an obvious call, maybe a crew chief or two should take up Darling's suggestion and deny such a request for such a clear decision.

Replay-235 produced an upheld out call.
R-235 (Catch/No Catch; Stands): Sunday in Toronto, 3B Umpire Mike Winters' catch call on a foul fly ball in the bottom of the 6th inning withstood a Blue Jays challenge that Rangers left fielder Ryan Rua did not catch the ball.

Both the Toronto and Texas broadcasts agreed—well before Winters and Tim Timmons put on the headsets—that the ball bounced off the playing surface and into Rue's glove...yet Replay HQ failed to overturn the call.

Those listening to Fox Sports Southwest were then treated to an exercise of mental gymnastics as commentators Dave Raymond and Tom Grieve argued that although the ball plainly was not caught on the fly, perhaps the Replay Official would find that evidence was not conclusive to overturn the call to that of a trap. New York must have been listening.

Scheurwater stays with the play for the out.
R-214 (Pulled Foot; Confirmed): Thursday in Chicago, 1B Umpire Stu Scheurwater's out call at first base in the top of the 6th inning was confirmed following a Brewers challenge.

When categorizing replays on the bases, we generally label a replay as either a tag (of the runner) or force (tag of the base, including plays at first base [even though they are not technically force outs, the act of tagging the base is akin to that of a force out elsewhere]), and several permutations therein, such as a tag - pickoff, versus a tag - stolen base, or tag - into base, tag - swipe, etc., or whether the force-type play involves a pulled foot situation.

This play at first base could have involved nearly all of them: first baseman Anthony Rizzo fields Tommy La Stella's throw by stepping into foul ground while attempting to keep his right foot in contact with first base as batter-runner Chase Anderson lunges for the front of the bag.

For U1 Scheruwater, considerations had to involve: A) Did Rizzo catch the ball before Anderson touched first base? B) Did Rizzo's foot maintain contact with first base before Anderson arrived? C) Did Rizzo's glove, after possessing the ball, tag Anderson before he arrived at first base? That's a lot of moving parts.

After all that, the seemingly nonchalant out call not only stood, but was confirmed.

[Non-Replay] (Appeal Play [Left Early] & Time Play): Speaking of plays with a lot of moving parts, on Friday, we discussed two apparent missed calls on the same play—one benefiting the visiting Yankees and one benefiting the home Angels—that never went to review because of managerial failure (New York's Aaron Boone failed to timely challenge) and strategy (Mike Scioscia opted not to challenge).
An appeal in Anaheim didn't go to review.

The notable feature here is that without the missed call on the live ball appeal at second base (appeal play - leaving early), the potential for a missed call at home plate (time play) never happens. Though mechanically speaking, 2B Umpire Angel Hernandez stood exactly where he needed to stand, drifting into the infield between first and second base, a convergence of events led to him missing this call.

The second base umpire here is responsible for both the runner at second base's tagging up and the batter-runner's touch at first base. Because the batter-runner's touch at first base occurred nearly simultaneously with the outfielder's catch of the fly ball and R2's leaving second base to tag, U2 had a choice to make: Look left and observe R2's tag-up relative to the air out, or look right and spy BR touching first base. U2 chose BR, which is why the appeal on R2 was missed.

In the future, consider: What is more important here—R2's tag up or BR (out on the fly ball)'s base touch?
Related PostMaster Mike - Boone Boots a Replay as Scioscia Plays Coy (4/27/18).

Videos as follows:

Tuesday, June 13, 2017

NCAA Rule - Reversing a Catch Call's Runner Placement

NCAA's "Getting the Call Right" rule regarding runner placement on a reversed no catch call may have incidentally put the offensive team at a disadvantage during the Gainesville Super Regional, as a Florida baserunner was forced to return to a base he likely would have advanced from if not for an NCAA-specific rule specifically prohibiting such advancement.

Wake Forest requests a replay reversal.
The Play: With none out and two on (R1, R2), the batter flies to right field, whereupon the outfielder drops the ball in the process of catching and transferring the ball to his throwing hand, ruled "no catch" (safe) by the first base umpire. The baserunner from second successfully advances to third base, while runner R1 fails to vacate first base (forced to do so due to the batter becoming an unretired runner), and the defense tags second base for the force out: score it a fielder's choice to make the situation one out, R1, R3.

Replay Review: The defensive (Wake Forest) coach argues that the right fielder caught the ball and dropped it during the transfer process, alleging the proper call should have been a fly out. After video review, the umpires reverse the on-field ruling, declare the batter out, and send the two base runners back to the bases they occupied at the beginning of the play: One out, R1, R2.

Florida questions the runner placement rule.
Logical Argument: The offensive (Florida) coach in turn argues that R2 successfully ran to third base during the play, and would have ended up on third base no matter the call in the outfield: he would have either advanced due to his being forced to do so, or as a result of tagging up with a play that deep into right field.

The Rule: NCAA Appendix E-1-C-10 (Getting the Call Right) states that if the umpires reverse the call of "no catch" to that of "catch," then:
a) The ball is dead;
b) All action prior to the ball becoming dead shall be disallowed;
c) The batter shall be declared out;
d) All base runners shall be returned to the base they occupied at the time of the pitch.
Analysis: Accordingly, college baseball's Getting the Call Right rule requires that on a reversed no catch-to-catch call, the runners be returned to the bases occupied at time of pitch (TOP). This is a mandatory provision of the rule and not subject to further interpretation, negotiation, or crew chief discretion. Therefore, R1 was correctly returned to first base and R2 was correctly returned to second base.

Commentary: The intent of the Getting the Call Right rule in regards to no catch/catch is to declare the play dead immediately upon the incorrect call being made, so as not to put any team in jeopardy by having the offense run into an unnecessary out (failing to tag up, trying to take an extra base, passing a preceding runner, etc.) or the defense into committing an unnecessary play (errors or throws to bases) that could further confuse or complicate the situation (and then having to adjudicate such contingencies). By killing play immediately, the rule effectively takes discretion away from the umpires, who have erred during the original play, so as to take all potential arguments away from impacted teams. Batter out, runners returned to their bases at TOP, end of discussion. Naturally, this unique play—wherein the situation would likely have ended up as one out, R1, R3 no matter what the first base umpire's catch/no catch call was—pigeonholed the crew into (correctly) applying a rule that likely was not intended to address this precise all-else-equal type of play (or, if it was designed to govern the identical-outcome play, then perhaps the rule should be changed).

MLB and NFHS codes do not have this rule.
MLB Difference: In Major League Baseball, Replay Regulation IV.A tasks the Replay Official with runner placement responsibility, with the following standard: "the Replay Official shall place the base runners on the bases he believes they would have reached had the reviewed call been made correctly."

Under the Official Baseball Rules, there is no requirement to return runners to their TOP bases in the event of a reversed no catch call; thus, had this play occurred at the professional level, the runners likely would have been placed at first and third base if the Replay Official deemed that the runners would have ended up at those bases had the correct call been made in real-time.

This discretionary authority also applies to the minor leagues and non-Replay plays, pursuant to OBR 8.02(c), which states, "If the umpires consult after a play and change a call that had been made, then they have the authority to take all steps that they may deem necessary, in their discretion, to eliminate the results and consequences of the earlier call that they are reversing, including placing runners where they think those runners would have been after the play, had the ultimate call been made as the initial call."

NFHS Rule: In high school, there is similarly no return-of-runners rule for reversed no catch calls. Instead, discretionary authority is delegated to the umpire-in-chief, who shall "Rectify any situation in which an umpire’s decision that was reversed has placed either team at a disadvantage" (Rule 10-2-3-l).

Thus, the return-of-runners to TOP on a no catch-to-catch reversal is, for now, an NCAA exclusive.

Video via "Read More"

Sunday, August 10, 2014

MLB Ejection 150: Jeff Nelson (4; Buck Showalter)

2B Umpire Jeff Nelson ejected Orioles Manager Buck Showalter for arguing a Replay Review decision that overturned Nelson's out (transfer) call in the top of the 7th inning of the Cardinals-Orioles game. With one out and one on, Cardinals batter Jon Jay hit a 0-0 fastball from Orioles pitcher T.J. McFarland on the ground to shortstop Ryan Flaherty, who threw to second baseman Jonathan Schoop as Cardinals baserunner Jhonny Peralta slid into second base. Upon Replay Review as the result of a challenge by Cardinals Manager Mike Matheny, Nelson's ruling was reversed; replays indicate Schoop did not legally tag second base while in possession of the ball, the call was correct. At the time of the ejection, the Cardinals were leading, 4-3. The Cardinals ultimately won the contest, 8-3.

This is Jeff Nelson (45)'s fourth ejection of the 2014 MLB Regular Season.
Jeff Nelson now has 12 points in the UEFL Standings (8 Prev + 2 MLB + 2 Correct Call = 12).
Crew Chief Jeff Nelson now has 9 points in Crew Division (8 Previous + 1 Correct Call = 9).

This is the 150th ejection of the 2014 MLB Regular Season.
This is the 70th Manager ejection of 2014.
This is the Orioles' 3rd ejection of 2014, 5th in the AL East (BOS 11; TB 10; NYY 6; TOR 4; BAL 3).
This is Buck Showalter's first ejection since August 4, 2013 (Larry Vanover; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Jeff Nelson's first ejection since July 22, 2014 (Clint Hurdle; QOC = U [Unsportsmanlike-NEC]).

Wrap: St. Louis Cardinals vs. Baltimore Orioles, 8/10/14
Video: Nelson tosses Showalter for continuing to advance toward the headsets to New York (BAL)
Video: Play overturned; Initially ruled out on the transfer, play at second is reversed on review (STL)

Sunday, July 6, 2014

MLB Instant Replay Review 668: Bob Davidson (16)

Instant Replay Review upheld 2B Umpire Bob Davidson's out call in the top of the 7th inning of the Giants-Padres game. With one out and one on, Giants batter Joaquin Arias hit a ground ball to Padres shortstop Alexi Amarista, who threw to second baseman Brooks Conrad as Giants baserunner R1 Brandon Crawford slid into second base. Upon Replay Review as the result of a challenge by Giants Manager Bruce Bochy, Davidson's ruling was affirmed, the call was correct. At the time of the review, the Giants were leading, 3-0. The Giants ultimately won the contest, 5-3.

This is Bob Davidson (61)'s 16th Replay Review of the 2014 MLB Regular Season.
This is Crew Chief Bob Davidson's 26th supervised Replay Review of the 2014 Season.

This is the 668th Instant Replay Review of the 2014 MLB Regular Season.
This is the San Francisco Giants' 26th Replay Review of 2014.
Umpires are now 348/668 (.520 Affirmation Rate) in Replay Reviews during the 2014 MLB season.

Wrap: San Francisco Giants vs. San Diego Padres, 7/6/14
Video: Play stands; Catch/transfer play comes into effect as Davidson rules an out, which is upheld (SF)

Sunday, June 22, 2014

MLB Replay Reviews 564-566: Conroy, Meals (11, 08-09)

Instant Replay Review overturned 2B Umpire Chris Conroy's out (catch) call in the top of the 9th, 1B Umpire Jerry Meals' out call in the bottom of the 5th and Meals' out call in the top of the 8th inning of the Tigers-Indians game. In the top of the 5th, with none out and two on, Tigers batter Miguel Cabrera hit a 0-0 fastball from Indians pitcher Josh Tomlin on the ground to second baseman Jason Kipnis, who threw to shortstop Asdrubal Cabrera as Cabrera arrived at second base. Upon Replay Review as the result of a challenge by Tigers Manager Brad Ausmus, Conroy's ruling was reversed, the call was incorrect. At the time of the review, the Tigers were leading, 3-0.

In the bottom of the 5th, with one out and one on, Indians batter Michael Bourn hit a 0-0 fastball from Tigers pitcher Max Scherzer on the ground to shortstop Andrew Romine, who threw to second baseman Ian Kinsler to first baseman M Cabrera. Upon Replay Review as the result of a challenge by Indians Manager Terry Francona, Meals' ruling was reversed, the call was incorrect. At the time of the review, the Tigers were leading, 9-0.

In the top of the 9th, with none out and one on, Tigers batter Romine hit a 0-0 fastball from Indians pitcher Mark Lowe on the ground to shortstop A Cabrera, who threw to second baseman Kipnis to first baseman Carlos Santana as Romine arrived at first base. Upon Replay Review as the result of challenge by Tigers Manager Ausmus, Meals' ruling was reversed, the call was incorrect. At the time of the review, the Tigers were leading, 10-1. The Tigers ultimately won the contest, 10-4.

This is Chris Conroy (98)'s 11th Replay Review of the 2014 MLB Regular Season.
This is Jerry Meals (41)'s eighth, ninth Replay Review of the 2014 MLB Regular Season.
This is Crew Chief Jerry Meals' 27th, 28th, 29th supervised Replay Review of the 2014 Season.

This is the 564th, 565th, 566th Instant Replay Review of the 2014 MLB Regular Season.
This is Tigers Manager Brad Ausmus' 21st, 22nd Replay Review of 2014.
This is Indians Manager Terry Francona's 19th Replay Review of 2014.
Umpires are now 297/566 (.525 Affirmation Rate) in Replay Reviews during the 2014 MLB season.

Wrap: Detroit Tigers vs. Cleveland Indians, 6/22/14
Video: Play overturned; Replay Review transforms Conroy's catch call at second into a drop (DET)
Video: Play overturned; Double play becomes a force out after successful challenge by Tito (CLE)
Video: Play overturned; 9th inning DP is the third ruling of the game to be reversed by NY (DET)

Tuesday, June 10, 2014

MLB Replay Reviews 479-480: Hudson, Blaser (07, 05)

Instant Replay Review reversed 2B Umpire Marvin Hudson's out (catch/transfer) call in the bottom of the 3rd and upheld 1B Umpire Cory Blaser's out call in the top of the 8th inning of the Indians-Royals game. In the 3rd, with one out and two on, Royals batter Jarrod Dyson hit a 0-0 slider from Indians pitcher Corey Kluber on the ground to second baseman Jason Kipnis, who threw to shortstop Asdrubal Cabrera as Royals baserunner R1 Alcides Escobar slid into second base. Upon Replay Review as the result of a challenge by Royals Manager Ned Yost, Hudson's ruling was reversed, the call was incorrect. At the time of the review, the contest was tied, 0-0.

In the 8th, with none out and none on, Indians batter David Murphy hit a 1-1 fastball from Royals pitcher Jason Vargas on the ground to first baseman Eric Hosmer, who tagged first base as Murphy arrived at the bag. Upon Replay Review as the result of a challenge by Indians Manager Terry Francona, Blaser's ruling was affirmed the call was correct. At the time of the review, the Royals were leading, 6-0. The Royals ultimately won the contest, 9-5.

This is Marvin Hudson (51)'s seventh Replay Review of the 2014 MLB Regular Season.
This is Cory Blaser (89)'s fifth Replay Review of the 2014 MLB Regular Season.
This is Crew Chief Brian O'Nora's 22nd, 23rd supervised Replay Review of the 2014 season.

This is the 479th, 480th Instant Replay Review of the 2014 MLB Regular Season.
This is Royals Manager Ned Yost's 16th Replay Review of 2014.
This is Indians Manager Terry Francona's 17th Replay Review of 2014.
Umpires are now 255/480 (.531 Affirmation Rate) in Replay Reviews during the 2014 MLB season.

Wrap: Cleveland Indians vs. Kansas City Royals, 6/10/14
Video: Play overturned; Replays show no possession at second base, reversing the transfer call (KC)
Video: Play confirmed; Replays indicate Hosmer's glove touched first base prior to Murphy (CLE)

Saturday, May 31, 2014

MLB Instant Replay Review 415: Chris Guccione (05)

Instant Replay Review confirmed 2B Umpire Chris Guccione's catch (out on transfer) call in the top of the 1st inning of the Pirates-Dodgers game. With none out and one on, Pirates batter Neil Walker hit a 0-2 fastball from Dodgers pitcher Hyun-Jin Ryu on the ground to third baseman Justin Turner, who threw to second baseman Dee Gordon as Pirates baserunner R1 Josh Harrison arrived at second base and the ball fell to the ground. Upon Replay Review as the result of a challenge by Pirates Manager Clint Hurdle, Guccione's ruling was affirmed, the call was correct. At the time of the review, the contest was tied, 0-0. The Dodgers ultimately won the contest, 12-2.

This is Chris Guccione (68)'s fifth Replay Review of the 2014 MLB Regular Season.
This is Crew Chief Eric Cooper's seventh supervised Replay Review of the 2014 Regular Season.

This is the 415th Instant Replay Review of the 2014 MLB Regular Season.
This is Pirates Manager Clint Hurdle's 18th Replay Review of 2014.
Umpires are now 221/415 (.532 Affirmation Rate) in Replay Reviews during the 2014 MLB season.

Wrap: Pittsburgh Pirates vs. Los Angeles Dodgers, 5/31/14
Video: Play confirmed; Revamped catch/transfer rule interpretation comes into play at 2nd (FOX)

Saturday, May 24, 2014

MLB Replay Reviews 365-366: Fletcher, Wegner (03, 06)

Instant Replay Review overturned 3B Umpire Andy Fletcher's out (catch) call in the bottom of the 5th and confirmed 2B Umpire Mark Wegner's safe call in the bottom of the 6th inning of the Royals-Angels game. In the 5th, with none out and none on, Angels batter Albert Pujols hit a 1-2 fastball from Royals pitcher James Shields on a fly ball to left fielder Alex Gordon, who jumped in an attempt to catch the fly. Upon Replay Review as the result of a challenge by Angels Manager Mike Scioscia, Fletcher's ruling was reversed, the call was incorrect. At the time of the review, the contest was tied, 3-3.

In the 6th, with one out and none on, Angels batter Hank Conger hit a 3-2 cutter from Royals pitcher Shields on a line drive to right fielder Nori Aoki, who threw to second base as Conger slid into the bag. Upon Replay Review as the result of a challenge by Royals Manager Ned Yost, Wegner's ruling was affirmed, the call was correct. At the time of the review, the Angels were leading, 4-3. The Royals ultimately won the contest, 7-4, in 13 innings.

This is Andy Fletcher (49)'s third Replay Review of the 2014 MLB Regular Season.
This is Mark Wegner (14)'s sixth Replay Review of the 2014 MLB Regular Season.
This is Crew Chief Mark Wegner's sixth, seventh supervised Replay Review of the 2014 season.

This is the 365th, 366th Instant Replay Review of the 2014 MLB Regular Season.
This is Angels Manager Mike Scioscia's 13th Replay Review of 2014.
This is Royals Manager Ned Yost's ninth Replay Review of 2014.
Umpires are now 187/366 (.511 Affirmation Rate) in Replay Reviews during the 2014 MLB season.

Wrap: Kansas City Royals vs. Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim, 5/24/14
Video: Play overturned; Angels challenge bobbling catch at the wall that reverts to a double (FOX)
Video: Play confirmed; Conger slides into second base safely on a call affirmed by Replay (FOX)

Thursday, May 22, 2014

MLB Instant Replay Review 342: Larry Vanover (06)

Instant Replay Review confirmed 2B Umpire Larry Vanover's safe (no catch) call in the top of the 6th inning of the Dodgers-Mets game. With none out and one on, Dodgers batter Yasiel Puig hit a 1-1 curveball from Mets pitcher Jon Niese on the ground to third baseman David Wright, who threw to second baseman Daniel Murphy as Dodgers baserunner R1 Chone Figgins slid into second base. Upon Replay Review as the result of a challenge by Mets Manager Terry Collins, Vanover's ruling was affirmed, the call was correct. At the time of the review, the Mets were leading, 3-1. The Mets ultimately won the contest, 5-3.

This is Larry Vanover (27)'s sixth Replay Review of the 2014 MLB Regular Season.
This is Crew Chief Larry Vanover's 21st supervised Replay Review of the 2014 season.

This is the 342nd Instant Replay Review of the 2014 MLB Regular Season.
This is Mets Manager Terry Collins' eighth Replay Review of 2014.
Umpires are now 180/342 (.526 Affirmation Rate) in Replay Reviews during the 2014 MLB season.

Wrap: Los Angeles Dodgers vs. New York Mets, 5/22/14
Video: Play confirmed; Dodgers get two runners on on botched double play attempt (NYM)

Monday, May 19, 2014

MLB Instant Replay Review 313: Tim Timmons (07)

Instant Replay Review confirmed 2B Umpire Tim Timmons' out (catch/transfer) call in the top of the 8th inning of the Tigers-Indians game. With none out and one on, Tigers batter Victor Martinez hit a 1-1 cutter from Indians pitcher Bryan Shaw on the ground to second baseman Mike Aviles, who threw to third baseman Carlos Santana at second base ahead of Tigers baserunner R1 Miguel Cabrera. Upon Replay Review as the result of a challenge by Tigers Manager Brad Ausmus, Timmons' ruling was affirmed, the call was correct. At the time of the review, the Indians were leading, 4-3. The Indians ultimately won the contest, 5-4, in 10 innings.

This is Tim Timmons (95)'s seventh Replay Review of the 2014 MLB Regular Season.
This is Crew Chief Tim Welke's 18th supervised Replay Review of the 2014 season.

This is the 313th Instant Replay Review of the 2014 MLB Regular Season.
This is Tigers Manager Brad Ausmus' 10th Replay Review of 2014.
Umpires are now 162/313 (.517 Affirmation Rate) in Replay Reviews during the 2014 MLB season.

Wrap: Detroit Tigers vs. Cincinnati Reds, 5/19/14
Video: Play confirmed; Reverted catch/transfer rule favors the Tribe on force play at second (DET)

Friday, May 16, 2014

MLB Instant Replay Review 289: Gary Cederstrom (04)

Instant Replay Review overturned 1B Umpire Gary Cederstrom's no catch (safe/drop) call in the bottom of the 5th inning of the Marlins-Giants game. With none out and one on, Giants batter Hunter Pence hit a 1-0 fastball from Marlins pitcher Henderson Alvarez on a fly ball to right fielder Giancarlo Stanton. Upon Replay Review as the result of a challenge by Marlins Manager Mike Redmond, Cederstrom's ruling was reversed, the call was incorrect. At the time of the review, the Marlins were leading, 5-3. The Marlins ultimately won the contest, 7-5.

This is Gary Cederstrom (38)'s fourth Replay Review of the 2014 MLB Regular Season.
This is Crew Chief Gary Cederstrom's 17th supervised Replay Review of the 2014 season.

This is the 289th Instant Replay Review of the 2014 MLB Regular Season.
This is Marlins Manager Mike Redmond's 12th Replay Review of 2014.
Umpires are now 151/289 (.524 Affirmation Rate) in Replay Reviews during the 2014 MLB season.

Wrap: Miami Marlins vs. San Francisco Giants, 5/16/14
Video: Play overturned; Marlins benefit from revised and restored catch-to-transfer rule (MIA)

Sunday, May 4, 2014

MLB Instant Replay Review 213: Bob Davidson (07)

Instant Replay Review upheld 2B Umpire Bob Davidson's out (catch/transfer) call in the top of the 4th inning of the Mariners-Astros game. With one out and one on, Mariners batter Willie Bloomquist hit a 0-0 slider from Astros pitcher Collin McHugh on the ground to third baseman Marwin Gonzalez, who threw to second baseman Jose Altuve as Mariners baserunner R1 Michael Saunders slid into second base. Upon Replay Review as the result of a challenge by Mariners Manager Lloyd McClendon, Davidson's ruling was affirmed, the call was correct. At the time of the review, the Mariners were leading, 6-1. The Mariners ultimately won the contest, 8-7.

This is Bob Davidson (61)'s seventh Replay Review of the 2014 MLB Regular Season.
Bob Davidson is now 4/7 (.571 Affirmation Rate) in Replay Reviews in 2014.
Chief Bob Davidson's crew is now 4/8 (.500 Affirmation Rate) in Replay Reviews in 2014.

This is the 213th Instant Replay Review of the 2014 MLB Regular Season.
Marlins Manager Lloyd McClendon is now 6/9 (.667 Success) in Replay Reviews in 2014.
Umpires are now 117/213 (.549 Affirmation Rate) in Replay Reviews during the 2014 MLB season.

Wrap: Seattle Mariners vs. Houston Astros, 5/4/14
Video: Play stands; Force out at second base upheld on return to the old catch/transfer rule (SEA)

Monday, April 21, 2014

MLB Instant Replay Review 133: Marvin Hudson (03)

Instant Replay Review overturned 2B Umpire Marvin Hudson's out (catch) call in the top of the 8th inning of the Marlins-Braves game. With one out and two on, Marlins batter Giancarlo Stanton hit a 1-1 slider from Braves pitcher Jordan Walden on the ground to shortstop Andrelton Simmons, who threw to second baseman Dan Uggla as Marlins baserunner R1 Marcell Ozuna arrived at second base. Upon Instant Replay Review as the result of a challenge by Marlins Manager Mike Redmond, Hudson's ruling that Uggla completed the action and momentum of the catch and lost the ball in the transfer was reversed, the call was incorrect. At the time of the review, the Braves were leading, 2-1. The Braves ultimately won the contest, 4-2, in 10 innings.

This is Marvin Hudson (51)'s third Instant Replay Review of the 2014 MLB Regular Season.
Marvin Hudson is now 1/3 (.333 Affirmation Rate) in Replay Reviews in 2014.
Crew Chief Jim Joyce's crew is now 2/6 (.333 Affirmation Rate) in Replay Reviews in 2014.

This is the 133rd Instant Replay Review of the 2014 MLB Regular Season.
Marlins Manager Mike Redmond is now 4/8 (.500 Success) in Instant Replay Reviews during 2014.
Umpires are now 77/133 (.579 Affirmation Rate) in Instant Replay Reviews during the 2014 MLB season.

Sunday, April 20, 2014

MLB Replay Reviews 120, 121: Rob Drake, Joe West (2, 3)

Instant Replay Review overturned 1B Umpire Rob Drake's out call  in the top of the 4th and 2B Umpire Joe West's safe call in the top of the 11th inning of the Yankees-Rays game. In the 4th, with two out and one on, Yankees batter Brett Gardner hit a 3-1 sinker from Rays pitcher Cesar Ramos on the fly to deep right-center field, where the ball was fielded by right fielder Will Myers. Upon Instant Replay Review as the result of a challenge by Yankees Manager Joe Girardi, Drake's ruling that Myers caught the ball in flight was reversed and Gardner placed at second base, the call was incorrect. At the time of the review, the contest was tied, 0-0.

In the 11th, with one out and one on, Yankees baserunner Ichiro Suzuki attempted to steal second base off Rays pitcher Heath Bell and catcher Jose Molina, who threw to second baseman Logan Forsythe as Ichiro arrived at second base. Upon Instant Replay Review as the result of a challenge by Rays Manager Joe Maddon, West's ruling that Forsythe did not catch the ball and tag Ichiro prior to his arrival at second base was reversed, the call was incorrect. At the time of the review, the contest was tied, 1-1. The Yankees ultimately won the contest, 5-1, in 12 innings.

This is Rob Drake (30)'s second Instant Replay Review of the 2014 MLB Regular Season.
This is Joe West (22)'s third Instant Replay Review of the 2014 MLB Regular Season.
Rob Drake is now 1/2 (.500 Affirmation Rate) in Replay Reviews in 2014.
Joe West is now 1/3 (.333 Affirmation Rate) in Replay Reviews in 2014.
Crew Chief Joe West's crew is now 3/8 (.375 Affirmation Rate) in Replay Reviews in 2014.

These are the 120th and 121st Instant Replay Reviews of the 2014 MLB Regular Season.
Yankees Manager Joe Girardi is now 4/7 (.571 Success) in Instant Replay Reviews during 2014.
Rays Manager Joe Maddon is now 3/7 (.429 Success) in Instant Replay Reviews during 2014.
Umpires are now 72/121 (.595 Affirmation Rate) in Instant Replay Reviews during the 2014 MLB season.

Wrap: New York Yankees vs. Tampa Bay Rays, 4/20/14
Video: Play overturned; Replay review deems that the ball hit to the wall was not caught (NYY)
Video: Play overturned; Rays even out the challenge score by winning an extra-inning review (TB)