Friday, June 3, 2011

Ejections: Greg Gibson (1)

HP Umpire Greg Gibson ejected Padres Manager Bud Black for arguing a foul ball call in the top of the 4th inning of the Astros-Padres game. With two out and none on, Astros batter J.A. Happ swung at a 1-2 sinker from Padres pitcher Dustin Moseley for a called foul ball. Replays indicate the pitch was fouled at the plate, the call was correct. At the time of the ejection, the Astros were leading, 1-0. The Padres ultimately won the contest, 3-1.

This is Greg Gibson (53)'s first ejection of 2011.
Greg Gibson now has 4 points in the Umpire Ejection Fantasy League (0 Previous + 2 MLB + 2 Correct Call = 4).
Greg Gibson is owned as a Primary Umpire by TonyTheRed, who is now in 9th place in the UEFL with 9 points.
Greg Gibson is owned as a Primary Umpire by HIGHSCHOOLUMP, who is now tied for 19th place in the UEFL with 4 points.
Greg Gibson is owned as a Primary Umpire by BrooklynUmp, who is now tied for 22nd place in the UEFL with 3 points.
Greg Gibson is owned as a Secondary Umpire by rasseul, who is now tied for 22nd place in the UEFL with 3 points.

This is the 60th ejection of 2011.
This is the 34th Manager ejection of 2011.
This is Bud Black's second ejection of 2011.

Wrap: Astros at Padres 6/3/11 Wrap
Video (1): HOU@SD 6/3 Game Recap (0:18)
Video (2): HOU@SD 6/3 Condensed Game (3:34, Brief Argument Only)


tmac said...

One wonders what gets up Gibson's ass sometimes... easy call foul ball... mighty quick heave ho.

Anonymous said...

It's just cause the pitcher batter isn't used to it. If it was anyone else, this ejection would not have happened, Black wouldn't have argued.

thexfactor264 said...

You can see a replay here: at 0:18

JACK said...

So batter Happ was called back to the plate by the umpire... it was such an obvious call, Houston Astros didn't get lucky, it was just Greg Gibson who did his job.

Anonymous said...

Man, gotta love those San Diego Padres field mics that pick up the sounds of a good old manager umpire argument.

Jamie said...

Pity there's not more video of this one: argument sure looked good.

Anonymous said...

Fairly straight forward call, I have no idea what Black is arguing...

Anonymous said...

It wasnt the foul ball call, if yall were watching the game fro mthe beginning, Gibson had a pretty relaxed strike zone. The Astros dugout already said something in 1st inning then Bud said something an inning before he got ejected. So Im sure the ejection stemmed from Greg's strike zone, not a foul ball because Bud and Greg already got into it once before Greg showed him the showers

Arik said...

I think one thing that got black fired up was Gibson saying that Happ "is a pitcher and doesnt know the difference." Lets not forget that Black WAS a pitcher as well.

Post a Comment