Friday, August 19, 2011

Ejections: Angel Campos (5)

HP Umpire Angel Campos ejected Brewers left fielder Ryan Braun for arguing strike calls in the top of the 3rd inning of the Brewers-Mets game. With none out and one on, Braun took a 2-2 slider from Mets pitcher Mike Pelfrey for a called strike three. Earlier in the at bat, Braun took a 1-0 sinker for a strike one call. Replays indicate the pitch was located navel high, but off the inside corner of the plate, the call was incorrect.* At the time of the ejection, the Brewers were leading, 1-0. The Brewers ultimately won the contest, 6-1.

This is Angel Campos (84)'s fifth ejection of 2011.
Angel Campos now has -10 points in the Umpire Ejection Fantasy League (-8 Previous + 3 AAA + -1 Penalty + -4 Incorrect Call = -10).
Angel Campos was not drafted in 2011.
*Quality of Correctness was challenged and confirmed ("Incorrect" ==> "Incorrect").

This is the 161st ejection of 2011.
This is the 75th player ejection of 2011.
Prior to his ejection, Braun was 0-2 in the contest.
This is Ryan Braun's second ejection of 2011.
All five of Campos' ejections have been associated with an incorrect QOC.

Wrap: Brewers at Mets 8/19/11 Wrap
Video: Braun Ejected by Campos for Arguing

Pitch f/x courtesy Brooks Baseball


Anonymous said...

I'm a Brewer fan....great pitch....Campos gave him time to say his peace but Braun kept repeating " That's not a f#@$&@g strike" was great during the broadcast.

Anonymous said...

Perhaps I'm missing something, but in the 8th inning of Thursday's TEX-CWS game, Alexei Ramirez was ejected by HP Umpire Jeff Nelson.

PitchfX confirmed it was knee high, and was a strike and appeared it was correct, despite the pitch looked a little low to the naked eye.

tmac said...

Here is the video

Here is Campos' Strike zone! Very interesting

Matt Kemp has also been run tonight!

Here is that video

And Alexi Ramirez has also been run! What a night! Here is that video!

thexfactor264 said...

I have to challenge this call... under rule 6.e.iii, I don't believe that a 1-0 pitch being called a strike had a realistic effect on the rest of the at bat

RCM said...

I am confused....the post here says that the pitch in question was navel high...the pitch was low and inside and it doesn't even show up on this diagram...please explain...

Jeremy Dircks said...

Hey guys, we are delayed on updating fully until the end of the weekend. By Monday we will be completely updated with taking the challenges under review. Thanks guys.

Jon Terry said...

I like the third strike, and I like the ejection. Braun got plenty of rope, dropped multiple f-bombs, and still had a chance to walk away. Campos really kept his cool well to Braun, to Fielder, and to the manager.

I also like the commentators, "that's been a strike so far tonight for Campos".

Lindsay said...

This ruling has been challenged.

After review, Quality of Correctness has been confirmed. The call is now correct.

After review, including consultation of the rules and spirit, the decision of confirming the original Quality of Correctness was made. It was determined, in a five pitch at bat, that an incorrectly ruled second strike has a realistic and significant affect on the outcome of such an at bat. Pitch #2, located navel high and off the plate, was incorrectly ruled a strike.


thexfactor264 said...


However, Pitch #2 was the first strike of the at bat. I definitely agree that the pitch is off the plate, but a called strike one I do not see effecting the rest of the at bat. Pitch #3 (the called second strike), by use of the naked eye, appears to be within the borderline range.

Lindsay said...

You are correct in Pitch #2 being the first strike of the at bat. The above sentence should include the phrase "...incorrectly ruled first strike..."

When considering realistic and significant chance/result/influence, I operate under the "true/false strike" framework. In short, an at bat resulting in a strike out which contains less than three (i.e., zero, one, or two) 'true' strikes is said to have been realistically influenced by the 'false' strike call, while a strike out at bat which contains three or more 'true' strikes may not have been realistically influenced by the 'false' strike call.

"True" Strikes include: (1) a pitch located within the bounds of the strike zone, which is called a strike, (2) a swinging strike [including a correctly ruled "swing" call], (3) a foul ball, (4) a foul tip, (5) any other correctly ruled strike as prescribed by rule [via penalty, hit while attempting to swing, etc.]

"False" Strikes include: (1) a pitch located outside of the strike zone, which is incorrectly called a strike, (2) an incorrectly ruled "swing" call.

The idea is a batter should be entitled to three true strikes every time up. If the batter doesn't get a chance to experience three true strikes and is retired via the strike out, the incorrect call (false strike) has had a realistic and significant influence on the outcome of the at bat. That is why such a rationale applies only to a situation in which a batter experiences no more than three "True AND False" strikes (experiences less than three true strikes).

Anonymous said...


Post a Comment