Saturday, September 29, 2012

No-Hitter #7 Ties MLB Record for Most in Single Season

Homer Bailey captured the 7th no-hitter of the 2012 MLB season on Friday, as called by home plate umpire Ed Hickox, tying the all-time record for no-nos in one season, which was set in 1990 and tied in 1991 (including one perfect game). Of all the home plate umpires who worked the 1990 and '91 no-hitters, only Jerry Layne (June 29, 1990; Fernando Valenzuela) and Tim Tschida (May 1, 1991; Nolan Ryan) are still active. With 3 perfect games this year, 2012 has broken the previous record of 2, established in 2010.

Friday marked Hickox's second career no-hitter (first: July 26, 2010; Matt Garza), joining the likes of Tschida, Eric Cooper, Jeff Kellogg, Brian Runge and Ted Barrett as the only active umpires to have called multiple no-hitters. Barrett, Cooper and Runge have called three no-hitters each while Barrett is the only umpire in MLB history to have called two perfect games in his career (Cooper and Runge have called one perfecto apiece). Runge and Tom Hallion are the only active umpires to have officiated a combined no-hitter.

With 60 callable pitches, including 40 balls and 20 called strikes, here is how Hickox called Bailey's no-hitter:

Balls: 39 called balls outside of strike zone / 1 called ball within strike zone = 39/40 = 97.5% Accuracy
Strikes: 15 called strikes inside strike zone / 5 called strikes outside strike zone  = 15/20 = <90.0% Accuracy
Total Raw Accuracy = 54/60 = 90.0% Accuracy (+4 in favor of CIN/Bailey).
Wrap: Cincinnati Reds vs. Pittsburgh Pirates, 9/28/12


Anonymous said...

Eddie Hickox is a UEFL star. last ej and a nono.

good zone. only missed 6 pitches

Anonymous said...

nice job ed

Anonymous said...

good job by eddie and a shoutout to homer bailey

Anonymous said...

So, cut to the chase, who has the playoffs.

SJR said...

Hell of a job, Ed.

Anonymous said...

Just a quick baseball question. I was looking at the box score of the Rays White Sox game today, and Archer got credit with the save, yet Gomes pitched the 9th. Dont you have to finish to get the save?

Spence1222 said...

A veteran umpire told me when I was starting out as a 14 year old umpire, that if you miss a pitch an innning, you can consider that a good ball game. Ed missed 6 in nine innnings. OUTSTANDING.

SJR said...

I just looked at that box score. You're right that the pitcher earning the save has to finish the game. Not only that, but the pitcher has to be the last of the game while pitching 3 or more innings (Archer pitched 2) when the team ahead is winning by more than 4 runs. If you notice at the bottom of the box score, they credit the win and loss, but they don't credit a save. Looks like somebody made a boo-boo.

Anonymous said...

i guess they did. If you look at the box score on espn, they say archer got the save and then have a (0) next to it. I thought that looked kinda funny

Post a Comment