Sunday, September 4, 2016

MLB Ejection 151 - Brian Gorman (3; Craig Counsell)

2B Umpire Brian Gorman ejected Brewers Manager Craig Counsell for arguing an obstruction (Type A/1) call by 1B Umpire Mark Carlson in the bottom of the 3rd inning of the Brewers-Pirates game. With two out and one on, Brewers batter Hernan Perez hit a 2-1 fastball on the ground to Pirates third baseman Adam Frazier, who threw to first baseman John Jaso as Perez ran to first base, ruled obstruction (Type A/1) by 1B Umpire Carlson. Replays indicate that Jaso jumped in an attempt to catch Frazier's high throw, and that after the attempt proved unsuccessful, but while still airborne, Frazier collided with Perez, who himself was attempting to achieve first base, the call was correct (see footnote for the relevant rule).* At the time of the ejection, the Brewers were leading, 1-0. The Brewers ultimately won the contest, 10-0.

This is Brian Gorman (9)'s third ejection of the 2016 MLB regular season.
Brian Gorman now has 9 points in UEFL Standings (6 Previous + 2 MLB + 1 Correct-Crewmate = 9).
Crew Chief Brian Gorman now has 10 points in Crew Division (9 Previous + 1 Correct Call = 10).
*Rule 6.01(h)(1) [formerly 7.06(a)] pertains to this form of obstruction (underlining is mine): "If a play is being made on the obstructed runner, or if the batter-runner is obstructed before he touches first base, the ball is dead and all runners shall advance, without liability to be put out, to the bases they would have reached, in the umpire’s judgment, if there had been no obstruction."
*In addition to OBR, the MLB Umpire Manual divides batter-runner obstruction before first base into three cases: (1) BR is obstructed on a ground ball to an infielder, (2) BR is obstructed on a pop-up or line drive to an infielder, (3) BR is obstructed on any hit to the outfield. The present play is an example of Case (1): "'Time' is called immediately and batter-runner is awarded first base." Regarding an overthrow, prior to 1B, this falls under "umpire's judgment."
*Because the obstruction occurred while the ball was in flight, the crew is advised to consider the result (e.g., the final resting place) of the wild throw. For instance, if the throw were to have gone into the dugout or other dead ball territory, the two-base penalty (from time of pitch) would be applied (BR to second, R1 to third). Because the ball stayed on the playing field, the proper call is, as illustrated by the aforementioned MLBUM play, an immediate dead ball, with awards, pursuant to OBR 6.01(h)(1), "the bases they would have reached, in the umpire's judgment, if there had been no obstruction." Naturally, the ball became dead as R1 Arcia stood several feet past second base; because the ball became dead immediately at the instance of obstruction, Arcia's actions in rounding third base—an act which occurred notably after the ball became dead—are largely irrelevant in determining what base he would have reached absent the obstruction. In a similar vein, B1 Perez's action in running to, and getting "thrown out" at, second base are also irrelevant as the sequence occurred significantly after the ball first became dead. When the ball is dead, no bases may be run and no runs may be scored unless as the result of an award or penalty as prescribed by rule (e.g., a four-base award for a home run, etc.). In this play, the ball was dead long before R1 Arcia ran home and B1 Perez ran to second.

This is the 151st ejection report of the 2016 regular season.
This is the 59th Manager ejection of 2016.
This is Milwaukee's 2nd ejection of 2016, 4th in the NL Central (PIT 12; CIN 6; CHC 3; MIL 2; STL 1).
This is Craig Counsell's 2nd ejection of 2016, 1st since August 12 (Bill Miller; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Brian Gorman's first ejection since April 22, 2016 (Don Mattingly; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).

Wrap: Milwaukee Brewers vs. Pittsburgh Pirates, 9/4/16 | Video available via "Read more"


Post a Comment