Sunday, May 22, 2011

Ejections: Todd Tichenor (2)

HP Umpire Todd Tichenor ejected Nationals Manager Jim Riggleman for arguing an illegal action out call in the top of the 1st inning of the Nationals-Orioles game. With none out and none on, Nationals leadoff batter Roger Bernadina attempted to bunt a 0-1 fastball from Orioles pitcher Chris Tillman, and was called out for hitting the ball while outside of his batter's box under Rules 6.03 and 6.06(a). Replays indicate Bernadina contacted the ball with one foot completely outside of the left batter's box and touching the ground at home plate, the call was correct. At the time of the ejection, the contest was tied, 0-0. The Orioles ultimately won the contest, 2-1.

This is Todd Tichenor (97)'s second ejection of 2011.
Todd Tichenor now has 8 points in the Umpire Ejection Fantasy League (4 Previous + 2 MLB + 2 Correct Call = 8).
Todd Tichenor is owned as a Secondary Umpire by Scumpire, who is tied for 5th place in the UEFL with 8 points.

This is the 44th ejection of 2011.
This is the 22nd Manager ejection of 2011.
This is Jim Riggleman's second ejection of 2011.

Wrap: Nationals at Orioles 5/22/11 Wrap
Video: Condensed Game WAS @ BAL (0:10 to 1:10 mark)

Image Courtesy "Anonymous"


Anonymous said...

Good picture to show it was a correct call.

Anonymous said...

Ejection now up in this video:

Bill said...

Very good call by Tichenor; very short day for Riggleman...hardly worth getting changed into his uniform.

Interesting crew...two call up guys (Tichenor HP and Estabrook 2B) and two fulltime guys.

jhagen88 said...

Tichenor is a Full-Time MLB umpire now. He was hired at the beginning of the season.

Jeremy Dircks said...

Todd Tichenor is not considered a fill in umpire. He is not considered a AAA umpire in the UEFL, but he is technically not an official MLB full time umpire. There were three hires made by MLB this year: Dan Bellino, Scott Barry, and Brian Knight. Tichenor is filling in for Bill Hohn (DL).

Lindsay said...

As specified in UEFL Draft 2011: Rosters and Results, the following rule interpretation is in place for the 2011 season:

**Accepted rule interpretation, in re: Rules 2, 4.a: An umpire listed on the MLB Crew or MLB Roster list shall be considered a MLB umpire for the purpose of scoring and secondary draft eligibility. These umpires may not receive the "AAA scoring bonus," as specified in Rule 4.a.

Accordingly, Todd Tichenor (for Bill Hohn) is MLB for scoring purposes only. Because of his unofficially full-time status, treating Tichenor as AAA would pose an unfair advantage for scoring purposes.

Jon Terry said...

Let me guess: Riggleman argued, "There's no way you could see that!" Always the last resort on those calls, that umpires can't see the feet and the pitch. Like the announcers who claim that umpires can't actually see checked swings.

That's a great call. Amazing how many little things like this we've seen already this season!

Jeremy Dircks said...

in all fairness to Riggleman, after the game he said like usual the managers are wrong, and the umpires are right. That the call was correct. Riggleman said he was frustrated because he says he hardly ever sees it called.

Post a Comment