Friday, May 18, 2012

Ejection 037: Marty Foster (2)

3B Umpire Marty Foster ejected Cubs Manager Dale Sveum for arguing an out call in the bottom of the 5th inning of the White Sox-Cubs game. With one out and none on, Cubs batter David DeJesus hit a 1-0 fastball from White Sox pitcher Philip Humber to left fielder Dayan Viciedo, who fielded the bounding ball and threw onto second baseman Gordon Beckham as DeJesus arrived at second base. Initially ruled safe, DeJesus broke contact with second base after a collision with Beckham, who tagged DeJesus while off the base. Replays indicate the contact between Beckham and DeJesus did not rise to the level of obstruction under MLB Rule 2.00, which states the fielder must not be in possession of the baseball during the impeding act. Rule 7.01 states, "a runner acquires the right to an unoccupied base when he touches it before he is out. He is then entitled to it until he is put out." Rule 7.08(c) states a runner shall be declared out when "he is tagged, when the ball is alive, while off his base." Associated approved rulings specify exemptions for dislodged bases, but not incidental contact with a fielder attempting to make a play on the runner. Rule 7.09(j) specifies that when a catcher and batter-runner going to first base have contact when the catcher is fielding an infield-bound ball, there is generally no violation, even if either party is adversely impacted by the contact. Rule 9.01(c) authorizes umpires to rule on any point not specifically covered in the rules. The Original Ruling has determined this contact was unintentional, but violates the principle established by Rule 7.01 in authorizing a runner to his base, the call was incorrect.* At the time of the ejection, the White Sox were leading, 2-1. The White Sox ultimately won the contest, 3-2.

This is Marty Foster (60)'s second ejection of 2012.
Marty Foster now has -4 points in the UEFL (-2 Previous + 2 MLB + -4 Incorrect Call = -4).
Crew Chief Jeff Kellogg now has 0 points in the Crew Division (0 Previous + 0 Incorrect Call = 0).
*After review, Quality of Correctness has been affirmed in a 4-1 decision by the UEFL Appeals Board.
Note: The box score now correctly indicates that 3B Umpire Marty Foster was the ejector. Previously, it listed 2B Umpire Eric Cooper as the ejecting umpire.

This is the 37th ejection of 2012.
This is the 22nd Manager ejection of 2012.
This is Dale Sveum's 2nd ejection in 2012, 2nd career ejection as a Manager and 5th MLB ejection (1 as a player [1987], 2 as a coach [2009, '11]).
Umpire Marty Foster has now ejected Cubs Manager Dale Svuem twice in 2012.
This is the first 3rd base umpire ejection of 2012.


Jon Terry said...

I saw this happen, and it was a complete train wreck. Beckham was charging from the shortstop side and fell into the tag. All contact was completely incidental, and very unfortunate.

Bottom line here is, no matter what you call, you have an argument. If you protect the runner, you get Robin Ventura instead. Nothing to do but make a call and wear it.

Though, Foster would have looked a lot better making the call if he had been set instead of moving. Looks like maybe he got on the rotation a touch late.

Anonymous said...

This ejection would be more entertaining if it was the cubs annoucers.

Anybody know what the record is for most ejections in a season?

Anonymous said...

@ kickersrule Im sure Bobby Cox is the one but I'm not sure how many

RichMSN said...

Time before the challenge: 10, 9, ...


Anonymous said...

Why couldn't that call be played under protest. It was not a judgment call. It was a rules interpretation that was incorrect. Fielders are not permitted to knock runners of the base that way. It could be done on virtually every tag play.

Dave D said...

@Jon - I agree with you 100%. I saw it too, and I agree that Foster showed up late in the rotation and didn't see the whole play as it emerged.

I still think he should have called it the other way and taken his chances with Ventura, for whatever that's worth.

I'm disappointed in Steve Stone, but now that's he's moved over to the White Sox, he's got to embellish in that direction.

RichMSN said...

There's also the theory that a runner must be under control of his body sufficiently to handle a hard tag without going off the base (Hrbek). This probably goes beyond that, though.

Anonymous said...

There really isn't a specific rule other than the umpire's wild card. There are rules that prohibit runners from slapping the ball out of a glove, but not a glove slapping a hand off a bag.

Nate said...

Protest! (no, not an appeal)

Anonymous said...

The fielder essentially tackled him off the base. He looked like a linebacker. It should have been an easy call to make but the ump blew it. He's going to feel stupid when he sees the replay.

Anonymous said...

It's sad that more people can't see this was correct by common sense. If the tag was laid down in time but the collision knocked the ball out, he would be safe because of the completely legit, legal collision. Since the collision (completely legit, legal collision, just part of the game) knocked him off the bag with the tag down, he is out. This wasn't a defensive player intentionally trying to force someone off of a base, the slide did have just as much to do with the collision as the diving tag attempt did, so why would you protect the runner? This does not violate Rule 7.01, that doesn't come into play here. And you are mistaken on Rule 2.00 definition too, although it still does not apply here: a defensive player, with possession of the ball, CAN still obstruct a player in certain situations.

Anonymous said...

@Anon 4:11
I couldn't agree more, but I cannot find a rule that pertains. Does the inadvertent contact make it a "dead ball" after the runner is knocked off the base? What if there was a runner on third who was trying to score on the play? Would he be sent back on account of "dead ball"? -- maybe the offense would like to get a run in exchange for an (undeserved) out from the train wreck at 2nd.

Anonymous said...

@Anon 4:21. I don't see this as "common sense" at all. Let's say batter hits a double to left center. He pulls into second with a stand up double. The throw will go over SS head so he back pedals and gets turned aroun to make an over the shoulder catch. His momentum takes him headlong into R2 who gets knocked off the bag. F6 then applies the tag. I don't think common sense says R2 is out. And I really don't see all that much technical difference with the play in question. The Cubs R2 had clear possession of the bag and would have retained it if not for the force of F6 tackling him off the bag. Common sense would be to call R2 safe

Anonymous said...

I ment total ejections in a year by the entire league not just one player. Gil help me out here. What is the record for most ejections in a year for the entire league?

Anonymous said...

@Anon 5:00. Huge difference in my mind. in today's game, F was making a play on R; in your example F is making a play on the ball, not in direct contact with of vicinity of R.

I watched Hrbek play live. Remember to this day. Twins fan, and even I thought it was illegal.

In this game, it was incidental and runner fell off the bag while fielder had ball in glove in contact with runner. He's out. Runner has to stay on base, regardless of other stuff and he didn't. That's common sense.

Also, ump was in great position. a lot of knit-picking here...leads to all the challenges. Less fun...

Big Marc said...

I think this is the opposite of the runner making a legal slide and kncoking the ball out of the glove accidently. Of course it is on purpose if the ball actually comes out.
Had the slide kicked the ball loose into centerfield the runner could advance.
I think it's the same, it's accidental the fielder knocked him off, but it's the same benefit as if it was on purpose.

Once again umpire must be mind readers. Lets see PitchF/x make this call........

Also another great post by Jon Terry. I don't know him, but his words sure ring true.

I propose open comments until Jon Terry makes a post then the thread should be closed for comments. His takes are spot on, and really can't be topped, so why continue.
(some of you maybe thinking of a hatefull slurr to use for my continued affection for Jon's comments...... "get a room" for example. Don't worry I can handle it, I'm an umpire)

Zac said...

Foster wasn't out of position. He adjusted late to get a better look.

The play is just an absolute train wreck. Foster is going to be ejecting someone here no matter what. I'm not so sure though that the runner's leg didn't get back on the base before Beckham finally tagged him.

Zac said...

Someone else said it, but lets see the computers that everyone wants to use to umpire games call this play. Do they also have the ability to eject managers?

Arik said...

Im looking at this as "continuous action". Beckham's momentum took him into BR (since that who it was... it wasnt a base runner). I watched it live at work and thought it was a great call.

I also agree that Foster is dumping someone no matter what. Just so happened it was Svuem and not Ventura.

Also I am challenging the decision that the call was incorrect. I believe that this was just a continuous action baseball play and as long as the contact is not intentional (Hrbek?) then the runner has the responsibility to maintain contact with the bag.

Dan said...

Good lord, the White Sox announcers are annoying. I'm glad I don't have to listen to them every day.

I agree with the incorrect ruling on this call, but I certainly don't envy Marty Foster in having to make his judgement in real time. We have the benefit of looking at replay, he doesn't.

Jeremy Dircks said...

This ruling has been challenged and is under review by the Appeals Board.

SJR said...

Wouldn't the managers be robots?

Lindsay said...

After review, the original Quality of Correctness of "Incorrect" has been affirmed in a 4-1 decision by the UEFL Appeals Board. Three Appeals Board members elected to Uphold the Original Ruling, one elected to Confirm and one elected to Overturn it.

In reviewing this ruling, the Board considered the constitution of incidental contact, a runner's "right of way" to occupy a base and whether this runner was in control of his body at the time contact occurred.

In upholding the Original Ruling, RichMSN delivered the opinion of the Board:
The Foster ejection, to me, is an incorrect call. A hard tag is one thing -- delivering a body block to dislodge someone from the base is another. What I wouldn't do in this case is try to shoehorn this into an existing rule -- I really don't think any of them apply here. It's a common sense and fair play decision that needs to be made here -- call time and do not allow the play. I've had this happen and have done the same thing. This is, IMO, what 9.01c was designed for.

tmac offered a concurring opinion:
This is a case of penalizing who F's up the batter runner did nothing wrong slides into the base it appears his momentum in no way would have taken him off the base. He was then knocked off the base by a player. This is not legal.

Therefore, the Board affirms the Original Ruling, citing Rule 7.01 and Rule 9.01(c).

Confirmed: tmac
Upheld: Jeremy, AlbertaUmpire, RichMSN
Overturned: BillMueller
Deferred: None
Abstained: Gil (Posted Original QOC), yawetag (Owns Foster)

Quality of Correctness has been affirmed, 4-1.

Post a Comment