Wednesday, November 8, 2017

2017 UEFL Award for Crew Chief - Ted Barrett

Ted Barrett wins the UEFL's 2017 Crew Chief of the Year Award [2016 Winner: Ted Barrett].
Voting Results (Top 3): Ted Barrett (24.5%), Joe West (16%), Mike Winters (12.3%).

Award Winner: Ted Barrett.
Ted Barrett is the Umpire Ejection Fantasy League's 2017 Crew Chief of the Year, which marks his third time winning the Crew Chief of the Year Award, and second consecutive award. In his 21st MLB season, Barrett experienced one ejection as the result of a correctly officiated balk call in Anaheim.
Related PostMLB Ejection 056 - Ted Barrett (1; Brian Snitker) (5/31/17).

Earlier in the season, Barrett identified the rarely-seen disruptive variety of unsportsmanlike conduct embodied in Rule 6.04—which prohibits any fielder from taking a position in the batter's line of vision and acting in a manner to distract the batter—and ordered the violative fielder Jonathan Villar to stay put with the help of 2B Umpire Lance Barksdale, who efficiently relayed the message.
Related PostCase Play 2017-3 - Illegal Batter Disconcertion [Solved] (4/27/17).

As was the case in 2016, all four members of Barrett's regular season crew—Barrett, Angel Hernandez, Lance Barksdale, and newcomer John Tumpane—officiated during the postseason, including Tumpane's first-ever selection to the playoffs.

All members of Barrett's crew worked October.
With his own ALDS selection this fall, Barrett has officiated the postseason for 13 consecutive years (2005-17). He finished 16th amongst 92 tracked umpires with a .643 Replay Affirmation Percentage, having been overturned five times in 14 reviews.

UEFL Awards History, Ted Barrett
Umpire of the Year: 2014.
Honorable Umpire of the Year: 2012, 2013, 2014.
Crew Chief of the Year: 2014, 2016.

Ted Barrett now has 12 points in the Umpire Ejection Fantasy League (11 Previous + 1 Award = 12).
The next postseason award, Honorable Umpire of the Year, will be released tonight.


Post a Comment