Tuesday, November 7, 2017

2017 UEFL Award for Fill-In Umpire - Stu Scheurwater

Stu Scheurwater wins UEFL's 2017 Fill-In Umpire of the Year Award [2016 Winner: Adam Hamari].
Voting Results (Top 3): Scheurwater (48.2%), Ryan Blakney (13.6%), Chris Segal (8.2%).

Award Winner: Stu Scheurwater.
Stu Scheurwater is the Umpire Ejection Fantasy League's 2017 Fill-In Umpire of the Year. In his fourth season as a Major League fill-in, Scheurwater worked the vast majority of the season at the MLB level, more than doubling his prior big league experience of 100 games from 2014-16, and spending the bulk on the season on the injured Dale Scott's crew.
Related PostA Look at the Dale Scott Crew Without Their Crew Chief (5/24/17).

Scheurwater concluded the season with five ejections, including his first career heave-ho in late April over a correctly officiated balk call. Said one commenter, "He handled both the call and the aftermath like a star. I have a feeling he is going to be full time next year."
Related PostMLB Ejection 021 - Stu Scheurwater (1; Buck Showalter) (4/30/17).

Scheurwater listens to and ejects Joe Girardi.
In Replay Review, Scheurwater's 11-for-21 affirmation rate (.524 RAP) beat out the league average of .504, and ranked fifth amongst call-up umpires (Sean Barber, Segal, Blakney, Shane Livensparger).

Scheurwater served in the Pacific Coast League in 2017, his sixth overall season in Triple-A.
Related Post2017 Pacific Coast League Umpire Roster (3/11/17).

UEFL Awards History, Stu Scheurwater

Stu Scheurwater now has 11 points in the Umpire Ejection Fantasy League (9 Previous + 2 Award = 11).
The next postseason award, Crew Chief of the Year, will be released tomorrow.


Post a Comment