Thursday, May 26, 2022

Ask UEFL - Batter-Runner's 1B Miss Can Be Covert Appeal

After Athletics batter Chad Pinder grounded out to Mariners first baseman Ty France, we were asked to further examine 1B Umpire John Libka's out call as the runner missed first base, turning this into an appeal play that may have appeared so subtle it looked like a standard out at first.

This Ask the UEFL is a follow-up of sorts to the April 14, 2022 Teachable "Missed Base Appeal at First, Tosi's Tally," in which we reviewed what happens when the batter-runner misses first base and the fielder misses their attempted tag.

Briefly, an appeal is "the act of a fielder in claiming violation of the rules by the offensive team" while Official Baseball Rule 5.09(c)(2) puts the runner who misses the base out when the fielder appeals by tagging either the runner or the base they missed. Note that if the batter-runner's failure to touch first base (e.g., is put out, declared out, or appealed out) is the third out of the inning, no run will score regardless of timing: no play in which the third out is a force out or a batter-runner out before touching first base is a time play, meaning no run may score in those situations.

When the batter-runner returns to touch first base, it is too late to appeal | Video as follows:

Alternate Link: A common appeal play occurs when both BR and F3 miss first base (CCS)


Post a Comment