Thursday, November 6, 2014

2014 UEFL Awards: Honorable: J Hirschbeck, T Barrett

2014 UEFL Awards: Honorable Umpires: John Hirschbeck & Ted Barrett (17, 65) [2013: Bell/Barrett]
Voting Results (min. 10%): John Hirschbeck (15%), Ted Barrett (10%).

Umpire John Hirschbeck
In his 31st MLB season, Hirschbeck suffered the loss of his second son, who passed away at the age of 27. In 1993, Hirschbeck's other son died of complications of adrenoleukodystrophy (ALD), a rare brain disease. Hirschbeck is a cancer survivor, having seen a remission from testicular cancer episodes in 2009 and 2012. Prior to his April departure from the field, Hirschbeck had his only challenged play confirmed by Replay Review, making him the only MLB umpire to have a perfect replay record in 2014. Hirschbeck returned to baseball in late September, working from New York's Replay Operations Center, but did not return to the playing field. Hirschbeck previously won the UEFL's 2013 Crew Chief of the Year Award, a season in which Hirschbeck served as crew chief for his third All-Star Game and the 2013 World Series (his fourth Fall Classic).

Umpire Ted Barrett
Prior to his 18th MLB season, Barrett, along with Mexico native Alfonso Marquez, travelled to Mexico, as they do every year prior to spring training, to develop Mexican League umpires and for children who are lacking clothing and other necessities ("Fonzie's Kids"). Marquez was the UEFL's Honorable Umpire of the Year in 2011 whereas Barrett was a UEFL Honorable Umpire of the Year in 2013 (Barrett also won the Award in 2012, making 2014 his third-straight Honorable Umpire of the Year Award win). A founder of the baseball-themed ministry Calling for Christ, a ministry for professional baseball umpires, Associate Pastor Barrett holds a Pastoral Ministry PhD in theology from Trinity Theological Seminary and also won the 2014 UEFL Crew Chief of the Year Award. He is the only active umpire to serve as a pastor for the ministry. Chris Guccione, Rob Drake, Mike Everitt, Marvin Hudson and Alfonso Marquez round out the group's Board.

John Hirschbeck now has 3 points in the Umpire Ejection Fantasy League (1 Previous + 2 Award = 3).
Ted Barrett now has 21 points in the Umpire Ejection Fantasy League (19 Previous + 2 Award = 21).

The next postseason award, Noteworthy Umpire(s) of the Year, will be released later today.


Post a Comment