Thursday, June 30, 2016

MLB Ejection 093 - Mike Everitt (2; Mike Matheny)

HP Umpire Mike Everitt ejected Cardinals Manager Mike Matheny for arguing a Replay Review decision that overturned 1B Umpire Jordan Baker's out call in the top of the 6th inning of the Royals-Cardinals game. With one out and two on, Royals batter Salvador Perez hit a 0-0 sinker from Cardinals pitcher Mike Leake on the ground to shortstop Greg Garcia, who threw to second baseman Matt Carpenter to first baseman Matt Adams as Perez arrived at first base, Royals baserunner R1 Eric Hosmer out at second. Upon Replay Review as the result of a challenge by Royals Manager Ned Yost, the out call at first base was overturned and Perez was awarded first base as replays indicate Perez touched first base prior to Adams catching the throw, the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the Royals were leading, 3-1. The Royals ultimately won the contest, 4-2.

This is Mike Everitt (57)'s second ejection of the 2016 MLB regular season.
Mike Everitt now has 6 points in the UEFL Standings (2 Previous + 2 MLB + 2 Correct = 6).
Crew Chief Mike Everitt now has 4 points in Crew Division (3 Previous + 1 Correct Call = 4).
*Replay Review Regulation II.D.5 states, in part, "The judgment of the Crew Chief regarding the timeliness of a Manager's Challenge shall be final and binding on both Clubs, and shall not be reviewable by Replay Review or otherwise."
Related Post: MLB Denies Rays Instant Replay Review Timing Protest, 8/26/14
Related Ejection: MLB Ejection 096: Jerry Layne (1; Walt Weiss), 6/17/15

This is the 93rd ejection report of the 2016 regular season.
This is the 36th Manager ejection of 2016.
This is St. Louis' 1st ejection of 2016, 4th in the NL Central (PIT 9; CIN 5; CHC 2; STL 1; MIL 0).
This is Mike Matheny's first ejection since September 18, 2015 (Dan Bellino; QOC = U [Throwing At]).
This is Mike Everitt's first ejection since June 23, 2016 (Brian Snitker; QOC = Y-C [Replay Review]).

Wrap: Kansas City Royals vs. St. Louis Cardinals, 6/30/16 | Video available via "Read more"

Alternate Link: Replays indicate Perez did indeed beat the ball to the bag to beat out the DP (KC)
Alternate Link: Matheny doesn't care for the umpires "getting it right" and is ejected arguing it (STL)


Post a Comment