Video as follows:
Thursday, October 9, 2025
Cubs Wanted Infield Fly Rule on Dropped Ball in Chicago
Cubs manager Craig Counsell sought an infield fly rule call after Chicago 1B Michael Busch lost track of Brewers batter William Contreras' fly ball in the sun, allowing Milwaukee to load the bases in the 1st inning of NLDS Game 3.
With runners on first and second base with one out, Contreras hit a high fly ball in front of first base, on the infield.
The Official Baseball Rules defines the infield fly: "An INFIELD FLY is a fair fly ball (not including a line drive nor an attempted bunt) which can be caught by an infielder with ordinary effort, when first and second, or first, second and third bases are occupied, before two are out. The pitcher, catcher and any outfielder who stations themself in the infield on the play shall be considered infielders for the purpose of this rule."
Accordingly, the infield fly rule has four criteria: 1) first and second (or bases loaded), 2) before two are out, 3) the batter hits a fair fly ball (not line drive nor bunt), 4) that can be caught by an infielder with ordinary effort.
The first three criteria were plainly satisfied, which leaves us with #4: the ordinary effort criterion.
We thus turn to OBR's definition of that term: "ORDINARY EFFORT is the effort that a fielder of average skill at a position in that league or classification of leagues should exhibit on a play, with due consideration given to the condition of the field and weather conditions."
Because F3 Busch, the fielder we would expect to make a play on this ball, lost the ball in the afternoon Chicago sun, the "weather conditions" provision of the ordinary effort definition gets triggered: 1B Umpire Lance Barksdale, looking directly at Busch, ruled that this particular weather condition turned Busch's potential catch from requiring effort that was ordinary into extraordinary.
Umpires therefore ruled ordinary effort was not satisfied, which is why an infield fly was not declared.
Video as follows:
Labels:
Articles
,
Ask the UEFL
,
Infield Fly
,
Lance Barksdale
,
Rules Review
,
UEFL
,
Umpire Odds/Ends
,
Video Analysis
Wednesday, October 8, 2025
Catcher's Interference No-Call in TOR-NYY ALDS
Blue Jays catcher Alejandro Kirk did not interfere with Yankees batter Trent Grisham in Game 3 of the Toronto-New York ALDS, following a Replay Review that upheld HP Umpire Jordan Baker's interference no-call as Grisham's bat came awfully close to making contact with catcher Kirk's mitt.
With none out and none on in the bottom of the 3rd inning of Game 3, batter Grisham attempted to check his swing on a 2-2 knuckle curve from Blue Jays pitcher Shane Bieber, ruled ball three.
Upon Replay Review as the result of a manager's challenge by Yankees manager Aaron Boone, HP Umpire Baker's call was upheld, with Replay HQ ruling "call stands" as to the question of catcher's interference.
Specifically, clear and convincing evidence did not exist to indicate whether or not catcher Kirk interfered. Because of the "call stands" ruling, we know the Replay Official judged the play solely on the merits of whether or not Grisham's bat made contact with Kirk's mitt.
The Official Baseball Rules defines catcher's interference as defensive interference: "an act by a fielder that hinders or prevents a batter from hitting a pitch."
Because replay only concerned itself with potential batt-glove contact, the judgment call as to whether hinderance actually existed (beyond the question of whether contact occurred) was not on the table.
In high school (NFHS), catcher's interference is called catcher's obstruction, as NFHS defensive interference is specifically an act that occurs prior to the pitch.
OBR 6.01(c) specifies the penalty for catcher's interference: "The batter becomes a runner and is entitled to first base without liability to be put out (provided they advance to and touches first base) when the catcher or any fielder interferes with them."
Video as follows:
Labels:
Articles
,
Ask the UEFL
,
Catcher's Interference
,
Rule 2.00 [Interference]
,
Rules Review
,
Video Analysis
Saturday, September 27, 2025
MLB Ejection 174 - John Bacon (6; Mark Kotsay)
HP Umpire John Bacon ejected A's manager Mark Kotsay (foul ball call to Bobby Witt Jr; QOCY) in the top of the 9th inning of the #Royals-#Athletics game. With one out and one on, Royals batter Witt Jr swung at a 1-2 curveball from A's pitcher Hogan Harris, ruled a foul ball by HP Umpire Bacon. Replays indicate that the bat appeared to make slight contact with the pitched ball during the swing before the ball fell into the dirt behind home plate, the call was correct. At the time of the ejection, the Royals were leading, 4-2. The Royals ultimately won the contest, 4-2.
This is John Bacon (70)'s 6th ejection of 2025.
This is the 174th ejection report of the 2025 MLB regular season.
This is the 91st manager ejection of 2025.Ejection Tally: 91 Managers, 28 Coaches, 55 Players.
This is Sacramento's 5th ejection of 2025, 3rd in the AL West (LAA 8; HOU, OAK 5; SEA, TEX 4).
This is Mark Kotsay's 3rd ejection of 2025, 1st since August 2 (John Bacon; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).
This is John Bacon's 6th ejection of 2025, 1st since August 14 (Rocco Baldelli; QOC = Y [Foul Tip]).
Wrap: Kansas City Royals vs No City Athletics, 9/27/25 | Video as follows:
Labels:
Ejections
,
Fair/Foul
,
Foul Tip
,
John Bacon
,
Mark Kotsay
,
OAK
,
QOCY
,
UEFL
MLB Ejections 172-3 - Brock Ballou (2-3; ATL x2)
HP Umpire Brock Ballou ejected Braves manager Brian Snitker and 1B Matt Olson (batter-runner interference call; QOCY) in the bottom of the 6th inning of the #Pirates-#Braves game. With none out and none on, Braves batter Olson hit a 3-1 changeup from Pirates pitcher Bubba Chandler on a fly ball into foul territory, whereupon catcher Henry Davis and Olson collided, resulting in an interference call by HP Umpire Ballou. Replays indicate that after hitting the fly ball, batter-runner Olson remained at home plate and failed to avoid catcher Davis as required by rule, and that the tangle-untangle exemption to the interference rule did not apply because Olson did not attempt to run toward first base, the call was correct.* At the time of the ejections, the Pirates were leading, 3-1. The Pirates ultimately won the contest, 3-1.
These are is Brock Ballou (41)'s 2nd and 3rd ejections of 2025.
*Official Baseball Rule 6.01(a)(10): "It is interference by a batter or a runner when they fail to avoid a fielder who is attempting to field a batted ball, or intentionally interfere with a thrown ball, provided that if two or more fielders attempt to field a batted ball, and the runner comes in contact with one or more of them, the umpire shall determine which fielder is entitled to the benefit of this rule."
OBR 6.01(a)(10) Comment on "Armbrister Tangle": "When a catcher and batter-runner going to first base have contact when the catcher is fielding the ball, there is generally no violation and nothing should be called."
These are the 172nd and 173rd ejections of the 2025 MLB regular season.
This is the 90th manager ejection of 2025.
This is the 55th player ejection of 2025. Ejection Tally: 90 Managers, 28 Coaches, 55 Players.
This is Atlanta's 3/4th ejection of 2025, 3rd in the NL East (WAS 10; NYM 5; ATL, MIA 4; PHI 3).
This is Brian Snitker's 3rd ejection of 2025, 1st since August 27 (Mark Wegner; QOC = U [Warnings]).
This is Matt Olson's first career MLB ejection.
This is Brock Ballou's 2/3rd ejection of 2025, 1st since July 7 (Ray Montgomery; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
Wrap: Pittsburgh Pirates vs Atlanta Braves, 9/27/25 | Video as follows:
Labels:
ATL
,
Brian Snitker
,
Brock Ballou
,
Ejections
,
Interference
,
Matt Olson
,
QOCY
,
Rule 6.01
,
Rules Review
,
UEFL
,
Video Analysis
MLB Ejection 171 - Ramon De Jesus (3; Aaron Boone)
HP Umpire Ramon De Jesus ejected Yankees manager Aaron Boone (strike one/two calls to Aaron Judge; QOCN) in the bottom of the 5th inning of the #Orioles-#Yankees game. With one out and the bases loaded, Yankees batter Judge took a 0-0 fastball and 1-1 sinker from Orioles pitcher Grant Wolfram called first and second strikes. Replays indicate the 0-0 pitch was located off the inner edge of home plate and waist-high (px -0.92, pz 2.99) and the 1-1 pitch was located over the inner edge of home plate and thigh-high (px -0.89, pz 2.47), the call was incorrect.* At the time of the ejection, the Yankees were leading, 5-0. The Yankees ultimately won the contest, 6-1.
This is Ramon De Jesus (18)'s 3rd ejection of 2025.
*The 0-0 pitch was located 0.12 horizontal inches from being deemed correct.
This is the 171st ejection report of the 2025 MLB regular season.
This is the 89th manager ejection of 2025. Ejection Tally: 89 Managers, 28 Coaches, 54 Players.
This is New York's 17th ejection of 2025, 2nd in the AL East (NYY 17; TOR 11; BOS 7; BAL 5; TB 4).
This is Aaron Boone's 7th ejection of 2025, 1st since Sept 3 (Brian Walsh; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Ramon De Jesus' 3rd ejection of 2025, 1st since Sept 2 (José Caballero; QOC = U [Check Swing]).
Wrap: Baltimore Orioles vs New York Yankees, 9/27/25 | Video as follows:
Labels:
Aaron Boone
,
Balls/Strikes
,
Ejections
,
Kulpa Rule
,
NYY
,
QOCN
,
Ramon DeJesus
,
UEFL
Wednesday, September 24, 2025
MLB Ejections 169-70 - Gabe Morales (4-5; TOR x2)
HP Umpire Gabe Morales ejected Blue Jays 1B Vladimir Guerrero Jr and hitting coach David Popkins (strike three call; QOCY) in the bottom of the 7th inning of the #RedSox-#BlueJays game. With none out and none on, Blue Jays batter Guerrero took a 1-2 sinker from Red Sox pitcher Garrett Crochet for a called third strike. Replays indicate the pitch was located over the inner edge of home plate and above the hollow beneath the knee (px -0.77, pz 2.15), the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the Red Sox were leading, 4-0. The Red Sox ultimately won the contest, 7-1.
These are Gabe Morales (47)'s 4th and 5th ejections of 2025.
*This pitch was located 1.73 horizontal inches from being deemed incorrect.
These are the 169th and 170th ejection reports of the 2025 MLB regular season.
This is the 28th coach ejection of 2025.
This is the 54th player ejection of 2025. Ejection Tally: 88 Managers, 28 Coaches, 54 Players.
This is Toronto's 10/11th ejection of 2025, 2nd in the AL East (NYY 16; TOR 11; BOS 7; BAL 5; TB 4).
This is Vladimir Guerrero Jr's 1st ejection since Aug 30, 2019 (Mike Estabrook; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is David Popkins' 3rd ejection of 2025, 1st since July 29 (Nick Mahrley; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Gabe Morales' 4/5th ejection of 2025, 1st since June 11 (JP Sears; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).
Wrap: Boston Red Sox vs Toronto Blue Jays, 9/24/25 | Video as follows:
Labels:
Balls/Strikes
,
David Popkins
,
Ejections
,
Gabe Morales
,
Kulpa Rule
,
QOCY
,
UEFL
,
Vladimir Guerrero Jr
MLB Ejection 168 - Chad Fairchild (5; Mike Shildt)
HP Umpire Chad Fairchild ejected Padres manager Mike Shildt (strike three call to Freddy Fermin; QOCY) in the bottom of the 7th inning of the #Brewers-#Padres game. With one out and the bases loaded, Padres batter Fermin took a 2-2 slider from Brewers pitcher Nick Mears for a called third strike. Replays indicate the pitch was located over the outer half of home plate and above the hollow beneath the knee (px 0.51, pz 1.48 [sz_bot 1.55 / RAD 1.43]), the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the Brewers were leading, 2-1. The Brewers ultimately won the contest, 3-1.
This is Chad Fairchild (4)'s 5th ejection of 2025.
*This pitch was located 1.56 vertical inches from being deemed correct.
This is the 168th ejection report of the 2025 MLB regular season.
This is the 88th manager ejection of 2025. Ejection Tally: 88 Managers, 27 Coaches, 53 Players.
This is San Diego's 11th ejection of 2025, 3rd in the NL West (SD 11; SF 7; ARI, COL 5; LAD 3).
This is Mike Shildt's 3rd ejection of 2025, 1st since August 18 (James Hoye; QOC = N [Replay Review]).
This is Chad Fairchild's 5th ejection of 2025, 1st since Aug 15 (Troy Snitker; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
Wrap: Milwaukee Brewers vs San Diego Padres, 9/24/25 | Video as follows:
Labels:
Balls/Strikes
,
Chad Fairchild
,
Ejections
,
Mike Shildt
,
Miller Rule
,
QOCY
,
SD
,
UEFL
Monday, September 22, 2025
MLB Ejection 167 - Manny Gonzalez (6; Miguel Cairo)
HP Umpire Manny Gonzalez ejected Nationals manager Miguel Cairo (check swing ball four call to Ha-Seong Kim) in the bottom of the 3rd inning of the #Nationals-#Braves game. With none out and two on, Braves batter Kim attempted to check his swing on a 3-2 sinker from Nationals pitcher Jackson Rutledge, ruled a ball by HP Umpire Dan Iassogna and affirmed as no swing by 1B Umpire Gonzalez. At the time of the ejection, the Braves were leading, 2-1. The Braves ultimately won the contest, 11-5.
This is Manny Gonzalez (79)'s 6th ejection of 2025.
This is the 167th ejection report of the 2025 MLB regular season.
This is the 87th manager ejection of 2025. Ejection Tally: 87 Managers, 27 Coaches, 53 Players.
This is Washington's 10th ejection of 2025, 1st in the NL East (WAS 10; NYM 5; MIA 4; PHI 3; ATL 2).
This is Miguel Cairo's 5th ejection of 2025, 1st since Sept 10 (Laz Diaz; QOC = Y [Replay Review]).
This is Manny Gonzalez's 6th ejection of 2025, 1st since Sept 2 (Dan Wilson; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
Wrap: Washington Nationals vs Atlanta Braves, 9/22/25 | Video as follows:
Labels:
Check Swing
,
Ejections
,
Manny Gonzalez
,
Miguel Cairo
,
QOCU
,
UEFL
,
WAS
Sunday, September 21, 2025
MLB Ejection 166 - John Tumpane (2; Mark Vientos)
HP Umpire John Tumpane ejected Mets DH Mark Vientos (check swing strike three call by 1B Umpire Chris Conroy) in the bottom of the 6th inning of the #Nationals-#Mets game. With two out and two on, Mets batter Vientos attempted to check his swing on a 2-2 curveball from Nationals pitcher Mitchell Parker, ruled a ball by HP Umpire Tumpane and called a swinging strike on appeal by 1B Umpire Conroy. At the time of the ejection, the Nationals were leading, 3-2. The Nationals ultimately won the contest, 3-2.
Wrap: Washington Nationals vs New York Mets, 9/21/25 | Video as follows:
This is John Tumpane (74)'s 2nd ejection of 2025.
*This pitch was located 0.53 horizontal inches from being deemed incorrect.
This is the 166th ejection report of the 2025 MLB regular season.
This is the 53rd player ejection of 2025. Ejection Tally: 86 Managers, 27 Coaches, 53 Players.
This is New York's 5th ejection of 2025, 2nd in the NL East (WAS 9; NYM 5; MIA 4; PHI 3; ATL 2).
This is Mark Vientos' first career MLB ejection.
This is John Tumpane's 2nd ejection of 2025, 1st since June 13 (Aaron Boone; QOC = Y [Replay Review]).
Wrap: Washington Nationals vs New York Mets, 9/21/25 | Video as follows:
Labels:
Check Swing
,
Ejections
,
John Tumpane
,
Mark Vientos
,
NYM
,
QOCU
,
UEFL
Saturday, September 20, 2025
MLB Ejection 165 - Stu Scheurwater (2; Bruce Bochy)
HP Umpire Stu Scheurwater ejected Rangers manager Bruce Bochy (strike three call to Cody Freeman; QOCY) in the bottom of the 8th inning of the #Marlins-#Rangers game. With none out and none on, Rangers batter Freeman took a 1-2 slider from Marlins pitcher Ronny Henriquez for a called third strike. Replays indicate the pitch was located over the outer edge of home plate and at the hollow beneath the knee (px 0.87, pz 1.32 [sz_bot 1.44 / RAD 1.32]), the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the Marlins were leading, 4-2. The Marlins ultimately won the contest, 4-3.
This is Stu Scheurwater (85)'s 2nd ejection of 2025.
*This pitch was located 0.53 horizontal inches from being deemed incorrect.
This is the 165th ejection report of the 2025 MLB regular season.
This is the 86th manager ejection of 2025. Ejection Tally: 86 Managers, 27 Coaches, 52 Players.
This is Texas' 4th ejection of 2025, 3rd in the AL West (LAA 8; HOU 5; OAK, SEA, TEX 4).
This is Bruce Bochy's 3rd ejection of 2025, 1st since June 14 (Junior Valentine; QOC = U [Check Swing]).
This is Stu Scheurwater's 2nd ejection of 2025, 1st since June 9 (Craig Counsell; QOC = Y [RLI]).
Wrap: Miami Marlins vs Rangers, 9/20/25 | Video as follows:
Labels:
Balls/Strikes
,
Bruce Bochy
,
Ejections
,
Kulpa Rule
,
QOCY
,
Stu Scheurwater
,
TEX
,
UEFL
MLB Ejections 163-4 - Shane Livensparger (1-2; HOU x2)
HP Umpire Shane Livensparger ejected Astros hitting coach Troy Snitker and manager Joe Espada (strike three call to Jesús Sánchez; QOCY) in the bottom of the 5th inning of the #Mariners-#Astros game. With out and one and none on, Astros batter Sánchez took a 1-2 sinker from Mariners pitcher George Kirby for a called third strike. Replays indicate the pitch was located over the inner half of home plate and below the midpoint (px 0.60, pz 3.56 [sz_top 3.56 / RAD 3.68]), the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the Mariners were leading, 5-0. The Mariners ultimately won the contest, 6-4.
These are Shane Livensparger (43)'s 1st and 2nd ejections of 2025.
*This pitch was located 2.40 vertical inches from being deemed incorrect.
These are the 163rd and 164th ejection reports of the 2025 MLB regular season.
This is the 27th coach ejection of 2025.
This is the 85th manager ejection of 2025. Ejection Tally: 85 Managers, 27 Coaches, 52 Players.
This is Houston's 4/5th ejection of 2025, 2nd in the AL West (LAA 8; HOU 5; OAK, SEA 4; TEX 3).
This is Troy Snitker's 2nd ejection of 2025, 1st since August 15 (Chad Fairchild; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Joe Espada's 2nd ejection of 2025, 1st since May 18 (Nick Mahrley; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Shane Livensparger's 1st ejection since October 1, 2023 (Joey Votto; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).
Wrap: Seattle Mariners vs Houston Astros, 9/20/25 | Video as follows:
Labels:
Balls/Strikes
,
Ejections
,
HOU
,
Joe Espada
,
Shane Livensparger
,
Troy Snitker
,
UEFL
Friday, September 19, 2025
MLB Ejections 161-2 - James Jean, Nestor Ceja (TOR x2)
HP Umpire James Jean ejected Blue Jays pitching coach Pete Walker (ball four call to Maikel Garcia; QOCN) in the bottom of the 1st and 3B Umpire Nestor Ceja ejected Blue Jays manager John Schneider (check swing ball call to John Rave; QOCY) in the bottom of the 6th inning of the #BlueJays-#Royals game. In the 1st, with none out and one on, Royals batter Garcia took a 3-2 fastball from Blue Jays pitcher Max Scherzer for a called fourth ball. Replays indicate the pitch was located over the outer edge of home plate and above the hollow beneath the knee (px 0.75, pz 1.94 [sz_bot 1.70 / RAD 1.58]), the call was incorrect.* At the time of the ejection, the Royals were leading, 2-1. In the 6th, Royals batter Rave attempted to check his swing on a 1-2 splitter from Blue Jays pitcher Yariel Rodriguez. At the time of the ejection, the Royals were leading, 10-1. The Royals ultimately won the contest, 20-1.
This is James Jean (61)'s 2nd ejection of 2025.
This is Nestor Ceja (33)'s 2nd ejection of 2025.
*This pitch was located 0.01 horizontal inches from being deemed correct.
These are the 161st and 162nd ejection reports of the 2025 MLB regular season.
This is the 26th coach ejection of 2025.
This is the 84th manager ejection of 2025. Ejection Tally: 84 Managers, 26 Coaches, 52 Players.
This is Toront's 8/9th ejection of 2025, 2nd in the AL East (NYY 16; TOR 9; BOS 7; BAL 5; TB 4).
This is Pete Walker's 1st ejection since June 3, 2024 (Phil Cuzzi; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).
This is John Schneider's 4th ejection of 2025, 1st since Aug 18 (Mark Ripperger; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is James Jean's 2nd ejection of 2025, 1st since Sept 14 (Warren Schaeffer; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Nestor Ceja's 2nd ejection of 2025, 1st since May 10 (Johnny Washington; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
Wrap: Toronto Blue Jays vs Kansas City Royals, 9/19/25 | Video as follows:
Labels:
Balls/Strikes
,
Check Swing
,
Ejections
,
James Jean
,
John Schneider
,
Kulpa Rule
,
Nestor Ceja
,
Pete Walker
,
QOCN
,
QOCU
,
TOR
,
UEFL
Wednesday, September 17, 2025
Fan Interference AND HR? Blue Jays-Rays Replay Rewind
Rays batter Brandon Lowe's home run stood on review as umpires called both fan interference and a home run on the same play. Blue Jays manager John Schneider met with 3B Umpire Laz Diaz afterward to discuss the unusual ruling, which we now analyze.
Video as follows:
With one out and two on in the bottom of the 3rd inning, Rays batter Lowe hit a 2-2 changeup from Blue Jays pitcher José Berríos on a fly ball to deep right-center field. Blue Jays right fielder Nathan Lukes jumped in an attempt to catch the ball, but a fan reached out of the stands and caught the descending fly ball, ruled a home run by 1B Umpire Brian O'Nora.
Upon Replay Review as the result of a Crew Chief initiated-second look (potential home runs are chief reviews), Replay determined that while the fan did definitively commit spectator interference, the home run would ultimately stand because, absent the fan's interference, the ball would have left the yard anyway.
In crafting this ruling, the Replay Official relied on two different rules concerning spectator interference. The analysis thus relies on two different parts.
First, the Official Baseball Rules definition of terms delineates what spectator interference actually is: "Spectator interference occurs when a spectator (or an object thrown by the spectator) hinders a player’s attempt to make a play on a live ball, by going onto the playing field, or reaching out of the stands and over the playing field."
Upon review, Replay HQ in New York determined clear and convincing evidence did exist to declare that spectator interference did occur. To that end, the call on the field of no interference was overturned.
Second, OBR 6.01(e) is triggered only if the spectator interference definition's criteria are satisfied. OBR 6.01(e) states, "When there is spectator interference with any thrown or batted ball, the ball shall be dead at the moment of interference and the umpire shall impose such penalties as in their opinion will nullify the act of interference." An approved ruling allows the umpire to award an out if the fielder would have caught the ball if not for the interference.
This second part of the equation is where Replay Review encountered more difficulty. Because the video angles available were all from press box/behind the home plate area, and no side angle (e.g., parallel to the fence-line) existed, Replay HQ could not definitely determine what would have happened had interference not occurred. In other words, Replay had trouble with the "nullify the act" portion of the rule.
With a lack of clear and convincing evidence to determine how to nullify the act of interference, that leaves with a peculiar ruling of overturn for the interference part of the equation, but call stands for the nullification portion.
Accordingly, the technically correct language and outcome for this play is that the call on the field of no interference was overturned. It was spectator interference, but because of a lack of clear and convincing evidence to suggest what would have occurred absent the fan's illegal involvement, the home run ultimately stands as called.
Video as follows:
Labels:
Articles
,
Ask the UEFL
,
Fan Interference
,
Instant Replay
,
Interference
,
Laz Diaz
,
Replay Rewind
,
Rule 2.00 [Interference]
,
Rules Review
,
UEFL
,
Umpire Odds/Ends
,
Video Analysis
Sunday, September 14, 2025
MLB Ejection 160 - James Jean (1; Warren Schaeffer)
HP Umpire James Jean ejected Rockies interim manager Warren Schaeffer (strike three call to Kyle Farmer; QOCY) in the top of the 8th inning of the #Rockies-#Padres game. With two out and none on, Rockies batter Farmer took a 3-2 slider from Padres pitcher Mason Miller for a called third strike. Replays indicate the pitch was located over the inner edge of home plate and at the midpoint (px -0.70, pz 3.46 [sz_top 3.57 / RAD 3.69]), the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the Padres were leading, 7-6. The Padres ultimately won the contest, 9-6.
This is James Jean (61)'s 1st ejection of 2025.
*This pitch was located 3.72 vertical inches from being deemed incorrect.
This is the 160th ejection report of the 2025 MLB regular season.
This is the 83rd manager ejection of 2025. Ejection Tally: 83 Managers, 25 Coaches, 52 Players.
This is Colorado's 5th ejection of 2025, 3rd in the NL West (SD 9; SF 7; ARI, COL 5; LAD 3).
This is Warren Schaeffer's 2nd ejection of 2025, 1st since June 29 (Ramon De Jesus; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is James Jean's 1st ejection since August 25, 2024 (Patrick Wisdom; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
Wrap: Colorado Rockies vs San Diego Padres, 9/14/25 | Video as follows:
Labels:
Balls/Strikes
,
COL
,
Ejections
,
James Jean
,
Miller Rule
,
QOCY
,
UEFL
,
Warren Schaeffer
Friday, September 12, 2025
MLB Ejection 159 - Scott Barry (1; Jeff McNeil)
HP Umpire Scott Barry ejected Mets 2B Jeff McNeil (strike three call; QOCY) in the bottom of the 4th inning of the #Rangers-#Mets game. With one out and none on, Mets batter McNeil took a 3-2 fastball from Rangers pitcher Jacob deGrom for a called third strike. Replays indicate the pitch was located over the heart of home plate and at the hollow beneath the knee (px -0.08, pz 1.53 [sz_bot 1.70 / RAD 1.58 / MOE 1.50]), the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the Rangers were leading, 6-3. The Rangers ultimately won the contest, 8-3.
This is Scott Barry (87)'s 1st ejection of 2025.
*This pitch was located 0.36 vertical inches from being deemed incorrect.
This is the 159th ejection report of the 2025 MLB regular season.
This is the 52nd player ejection of 2025. Ejection Tally: 82 Managers, 25 Coaches, 52 Players.
This is New York's 4th ejection of 2025, 2nd in the NL East (WAS 9; MIA, NYM 4; PHI 3; ATL 2).
This is Jeff McNeil's first career MLB ejection.
This is Scott Barry's 1st ejection since August 14, 2021 (Asdrubal Cabrera; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
Wrap: Texas Rangers vs New York Mets, 9/12/25 | Video as follows:
Labels:
Balls/Strikes
,
Ejections
,
Jeff McNeil
,
Miller Rule
,
NYM
,
QOCY
,
Scott Barry
,
UEFL
Wednesday, September 10, 2025
MLB Ejections 157-8 - Laz Diaz (4-5; WAS x2)
1B Umpire Laz Diaz ejected Nationals manager Miguel Cairo and pitcher Jake Irvin (Replay Review decision that upheld 2B Umpire Erich Bacchus' safe call; QOCY) in the bottom of the 6th inning of the #Nationals-#Marlins game. With none out and two on, Marlins batter Otto Lopez hit a 0-2 sinker from Nationals pitcher Irvin on the ground to second baseman Luis García, who attempted to tag out Marlins baserunner R1 Jakob Marsee before overthrowing first base, originally ruled out by 2B Umpire Bacchus, reversed to safe after crew consultation, and confirmed as safe upon Replay Review as the result of a manager's challenge by Nationals manager Cairo. At the time of the ejection, the Nationals were leading, 3-2. The Marlins ultimately won the contest, 8-3.
These are Laz Diaz (63)'s 4th and 5th ejections of 2025.
These are the 157th and 158th ejection reports of the 2025 MLB regular season.
This is the 82nd manager ejection of 2025.
This is the 51st player ejection of 2025. Ejection Tally: 82 Managers, 25 Coaches, 51 Players.
This is Washington's 8/9th ejection of 2025, 1st in the NL East (WAS 9; MIA 4; PHI, NYM 3; ATL 2).
This is Miguel Cairo's 4th ejection of 2025, 1st since August 20 (Todd Tichenor; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Laz Diaz's 4/5th ejection of 2025, 1st since May 25 (Dan Wilson; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
Wrap: Washington Nationals vs Miami Marlins, 9/10/25 | Video as follows:
Labels:
Ejections
,
Instant Replay
,
Jake Irvin
,
Laz Diaz
,
Miguel Cairo
,
QOCY
,
Safe/Out
,
UEFL
,
WAS
MLB Ejection 156 - Junior Valentine (3; Ryan Goins)
HP Umpire Junior Valentine ejected Angels interim bench coach Ryan Goins (ball four call to Trevor Larnach; QOCY) in the top of the 5th inning of the #Twins-#Angels game. With none out and none on, Twins batter Larnach took a 3-2 sinker from Angels pitcher Andrew Chafin for a called fourth ball. Replays indicate the pitch was located off the inner edge of home plate and below the hollow beneath the knee (px 0.94, pz 1.52 [sz_bot 1.81 / RAD 1.69]), the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the Angels were leading, 3-1. The Angels ultimately won the contest, 4-3.
This is Junior Valentine (25)'s 3rd ejection of 2025.
*This pitch was located 3.00 vertical inches from being deemed incorrect.
This is the 156th ejection report of the 2025 MLB regular season.
This is the 25th coach ejection of 2025. Ejection Tally: 81 Managers, 25 Coaches, 50 Players.
This is Los Angeles' 8th ejection of 2025, 1st in the AL West (LAA 8; OAK, SEA 4; HOU, TEX 3).
This is Ryan Goins' 1st ejection since April 17, 2024 (Dan Iassogna; QOC = Y [Balk No-Call]).
This is Junior Valentine's 3rd ejection of 2025, 1st since June 14 (Bruce Bochy; QOC = U [Check Swing]).
Wrap: Minnesota Twins vs Los Angeles Angels, 9/10/25 | Video as follows:
Labels:
Balls/Strikes
,
Ejections
,
Junior Valentine
,
LAA
,
Miller Rule
,
QOCY
,
Ryan Goins
,
UEFL
Tuesday, September 9, 2025
MLB Ejection 155 - Vic Carapazza ( Will Venable)
HP Umpire Vic Carapazza ejected White Sox manager Will Venable (strike two call to Lenyn Sosa; QOCY) in the bottom of the 6th inning of the #Rays-#WhiteSox game. With one out and none on, White Sox batter Sosa took a 1-1 sinker from Rays pitcher Adrian Houser for a called second strike. Replays indicate the pitch was located over the heart of home plate and at the midpoint (px -0.18, pz 3.56 [sz_top 3.46 / RAD 3.58]), the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the Rays were leading, 4-2. The Rays ultimately won the contest, 5-4.
This is Vic Carapazza (19)'s 3rd ejection of 2025.
*This pitch was located 1.20 vertical inches from being deemed incorrect.
This is the 155th ejection report of the 2025 MLB regular season.
This is the 81st manager ejection of 2025. Ejection Tally: 81 Managers, 24 Coaches, 50 Players.
This is Chicago's 5th ejection of 2025, 2nd in the AL Central (MIN 6; CWS 5; KC 3; DET 2; CLE 0).
This is Will Venable's 3rd ejection of 2025, 1st since June 16 (Marvin Hudson; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Vic Carapazza's 3rd ejection of 2025, 1st since Aug 17 (Tanner Swanson; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).
Wrap: Tampa Bay Rays vs Chicago White Sox, 9/9/25 | Video as follows:
Labels:
Balls/Strikes
,
CWS
,
Ejections
,
Miller Rule
,
QOCY
,
UEFL
,
Vic Carapazza
,
Will Venable
Did Runner Interfere So Teammate Could Score?
Chicago trapped Colorado batter-runner Yanquiel Fernández in a rundown as Rockies lead baserunner Warming Bernabel attempted to score. As Cubs second baseman Nico Hoerner received a throw from Michael Busch, BR Fernández collided with him, 2B Umpire Alan Porter ruling an out on the tag, but not interference, the delay from the collision allowing R1 Bernabel additional time to score, with a slide into home plate just ahead of the tag attempt.
Video as follows:
Should this have been ruled interference or, because Fernández hadn't yet been tagged until after the initial collision (although he was tagged while being shoved away by Hoerner), does the relevant rule pertaining to a retired runner not apply? For reference that rule is Official Baseball Rule 6.01(a)(5): "Any batter or runner who has just been put out, or any runner who has just scored, hinders or impedes any following play being made on a runner. Such runner shall be declared out for the interference of his teammate."
Video as follows:
Labels:
Alan Porter
,
Articles
,
Ask the UEFL
,
Interference
,
Rule 6.01
,
Rules Review
,
tmac
,
UEFL
,
Umpire Odds/Ends
,
Video Analysis
Wednesday, September 3, 2025
MLB Ejections 153-4 - Brian Walsh (2-3; NYY x2)
HP Umpire Brian Walsh ejected Yankees pitcher Devin Williams and manager Aaron Boone (ball calls to Taylor Trammel; QOCN) in the bottom of the 8th inning of the #Yankees-#Astros game. With two out and the bases loaded, Astros batter Trammel took a 2-0 fastball and 3-1 changeup from Yankees pitcher Williams for called third and fourth balls. Replays indicate the 2-0 pitch was located over the inner half of home plate and below the midpoint (px 0.71, pz 3.44 [sz_top 3.75 / RAD 3.87 / MOE 3.79]) and the 3-1 pitch was located over the inner half of home plate an at the hollow beneath the knee (px 0.45, pz 1.57 [sz_bot 1.70 / RAD 1.58]), the call was incorrect.*
These are Brian Walsh (60)'s 2nd and 3rd ejections of 2025.
*The 2-0 pitch was located 4.20 vertical inches from being deemed correct.
Official Baseball Rules Definition: "A CATCH is the act of a fielder in getting secure possession in
their hand or glove of a ball in flight and firmly holding it..In establishing the validity of the catch, the fielder shall hold the ball long enough to prove that they have complete control of the ball and that their release of the ball is voluntary and intentional. If the fielder has made the catch and drops the ball while in the act of making a throw following the catch, the ball shall be adjudged to have been caught."
These are the 153rd and 154th ejection reports of the 2025 MLB regular season.
This is the 50th player ejection of 2025.
This is the 80th manager ejection of 2025. Ejection Tally: 80 Managers, 24 Coaches, 50 Players.
This is New York's 15/16th ejection of 2025, 1st in the AL East (NYY 16; BOS, TOR 7; BAL 5; TB 4).
This is Devin Williams' first career MLB ejection.
This is Aaron Boone's 6th ejection of 2025, 1st since August 10 (Derek Thomas; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Brian Walsh's 2/3rd ejection of 2025, 1st since July 8 (Mike Shildt; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
Wrap: New York Yankees vs Houston Astros, 9/3/25 | Video as follows:
Labels:
Aaron Boone
,
Balls/Strikes
,
Brian Walsh
,
Devin Williams
,
Ejections
,
Miller Rule
,
NYY
,
QOCN
,
Rules Review
,
UEFL
,
Video Analysis
MLB Ejection 152 - Dan Bellino (2; Bob Melvin)
HP Umpire Dan Bellino ejected Giants manager Bob Melvin (ball three call to Tyler Freeman; QOCN) in the bottom of the 5th inning of the #Giants-#Rockies game. With two out and one on, Rockies batter Freeman took a 2-2 fastball from Giants pitcher Robbie Ray for a called second ball. Replays indicate the pitch was located over the inner edge of home plate and below the midpoint (px -0.66, pz 3.04 [sz_bot 3.38 / RAD 3.50 / MOE 3.42]), the call was incorrect.* At the time of the ejection, the Rockies were leading, 5-4. The Giants ultimately won the contest, 10-8.
This is Dan Bellino (2)'s 2nd ejection of 2025.
*This pitch was located 1.08 horizontal and 4.56 vertical inches from being deemed incorrect.
We also review a home plate collision play on Rockies batter Hunter Goodman's single to Giants left fielder Heliot Ramos, who threw to catcher Patrick Bailey as Rockies baserunner R2 Freeman arrived at home plate, resulting in a collision. Because Bailey veered into foul territory—into the runner's path—in a legitimate attempt to field the throw (which itself was off the line) as the runner ran directly toward home plate, this is a legal unavoidable collision and no violation on either the catcher nor the runner. The Giants unsuccessfully challenged HP Umpire Bellino's safe call, which was confirmed.
Official Baseball Rule 6.01(i)(l): "A runner attempting to score may not deviate from their direct pathway to the plate in order to initiate contact with the catcher, or otherwise initiate an avoidable collision. If, in the judgment of the umpire, a runner attempting to score initiates contact with the catcher in such a manner, the umpire shall declare the runner out (regardless of whether the catcher maintains possession of the ball)."
This is the 152nd ejection report of the 2025 MLB regular season.
This is the 79th manager ejection of 2025. Ejection Tally: 79 Managers, 24 Coaches, 49 Players.
This is San Francisco's 7th ejection of 2025, 4th in the NL West (SD 9; SF 7; ARI 5; COL 4; LAD 3).
This is Bob Melvin's 4th ejection of 2025, 1st since June 30 (Quinn Wolcott; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Dan Bellino's 2nd ejection of 2025, 1st since May 10 (Bryan Reynolds; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
Wrap: San Francisco Giants vs Colorado Rockies, 9/3/25 | Video as follows:
Labels:
Balls/Strikes
,
Bob Melvin
,
Dan Bellino
,
Ejections
,
HP Collision
,
Kulpa Rule
,
QOCN
,
SF
,
UEFL
,
Video Analysis
Obstruction in Boston as Runner & Catcher Collide on Batted Ball
"Obstruction!" announced umpire Jordan Baker after Guardians batter-runner José Ramírez and Red Sox catcher Connor Wong collided on a batted ball up the first baseline. Instead of an out, Ramírez was awarded first base and Cleveland's Brayan Rocchio scored from third. What's the rule and did Baker's crew get the call right?
With one out and runners on second and third in the top of the 2nd inning of Wednesday's Guardians vs Red Sox game, batter Ramírez hit a check swing ground ball in front of home plate toward first base. Boston catcher Wong initially pursued the batted ball before stopping once he saw pitcher Steven Matz running to field it, turning around to head back to cover home plate as R3 Rocchio raced in.
But as Wong turned toward home, he collided with batter-runner Ramírez. Initially ruled interference on Ramírez, chief Baker called his crew into consultation, ultimately ruling that, because Wong was not entitled to protection under the rules for fielding a batted ball, he therefore obstructed the batter-runner. Accordingly, the batter-runner was awarded first base and all runners advanced one base.
In general, baseball's right-of-way rules give the fielder the right to field a batted ball (meaning the runners must avoid the fielder lest they be guilty of interference) while the runner has the right to run the bases at any other time (the fielder must get out of the runner's way). However, only one fielder is entitled to right-of-way protection on a batted ball and, in this case, that protected fielder was not the pitcher, not the catcher. As such, the unprotected catcher obstructed the runner's right to run the bases.
This is the correct call pursuant to the following rules:
Official Baseball Rule 6.01(a)(10): "It is interference by a batter or a runner when they fail to avoid a fielder who is attempting to field a batted ball, or intentionally interfere with a thrown ball, provided that if two or more fielders attempt to field a batted ball, and the runner comes in contact with one or more of them, the umpire shall determine which fielder is entitled to the benefit of this rule, and shall not declare the runner out for coming in contact with a fielder other than the one the umpire determines to be entitled to field such a ball."
OBR 6.01(h)(1): "If a play is being made on the obstructed runner, or if the batter-runner is obstructed before they touch first base, the ball is dead and all runners shall advance, without liability to be put out, to the bases they would have reached, in the umpire’s judgment, if there had been no obstruction. The obstructed runner shall be awarded at least one base beyond the base they had last legally touched before the obstruction."
Wrap: Cleveland Guardians vs Boston Red Sox, 9/3/25 | Video as follows:
Wrap: Cleveland Guardians vs Boston Red Sox, 9/3/25 | Video as follows:
Labels:
Articles
,
Ask the UEFL
,
Interference
,
Jordan Baker
,
Obstruction
,
Rule 2.00 [Interference]
,
Rule 2.00 [Obstruction]
,
Rule 6.01
,
Rules Review
,
UEFL
,
Video Analysis
Tuesday, September 2, 2025
MLB Ejection 151 - Ramon De Jesus (4; José Caballero)
HP Umpire Ramon De Jesus ejected Yankees 3B José Caballero (check swing strike one [dead ball/HBP] call) in the top of the 4th inning of the #Yankees-#Astros game. With two out and one on, Yankees batter Caballero attempted to check his swing on a 0-0 curveball from Astros pitcher Framber Valdez, ruled a swinging strike by HP Umpire De Jesus, as the pitched ball touched Caballero's foot, resulting in a dead ball strike. At the time of the ejection, the Yankees were leading, 2-0. The Yankees ultimately won the contest, 7-1.
This is Ramon De Jesus (18)'s 2nd ejection of 2025.
*Official Baseball Rules Definition: "A STRIKE is a legal pitch when so called by the umpire, which touches the batter as they strike at it."
This is the 151st ejection report of the 2025 MLB regular season.
This is the 49th player ejection of 2025. Ejection Tally: 78 Managers, 24 Coaches, 49 Players.
This is New York's 14th ejection of 2025, 1st in the AL East (NYY 14; BOS, TOR 7; BAL 5; TB 4).
This is José Caballero's 2nd ejection of 2025, 1st since Aug 20 (Roberto Ortiz; QOC = Y [Replay Review]).
This is Ramon De Jesus' 2nd ejection of 2025, 1st since May 11 (Bob Melvin; QOC = U [Check Swing]).
Wrap: New York Yankees vs Houston Astros, 9/2/25 | Video as follows:
Labels:
Check Swing
,
Ejections
,
Jose Caballero
,
NYY
,
QOCU
,
Ramon DeJesus
,
UEFL
MLB Ejections 148-150 - Phil Cuzzi (SF-COL Fight)
HP Umpire Phil Cuzzi ejected Rockies pitcher Kyle Freeland, Giants SS Willy Adames, and Giants 3B Matt Chapman (fighting after Rafael Devers HR) in the top of the 1st inning of the #Giants-#Rockies game. With none out and one on, Giants batter Devers hit a 0-2 sweeper from Rockies pitcher Freeland for a two-run home run. During Devers' trot, Freeland yelled at and walked off the mound to approach Devers, apparently upset Devers stood to admire his hit, resulting in a benches-clearing incident. At the time of the ejections, the Giants were leading, 2-0. The Giants ultimately won the contest, 7-4.
These are Phil Cuzzi (10)'s 3rd, 4th, and 5th ejections of 2025.
These are the 148th, 149th, and 150th ejection reports of the 2025 MLB regular season.
This is the 46-48th player Ejection Tally: 78 Managers, 24 Coaches, 48 Players.
This is Colorado's 4th ejection of 2025, 4th in the NL West (SD 9; SF 6; ARI 5; COL 4; LAD 3).
This is San Francisco's 5/6th ejection of 2025, 4th in the NL West (SD 9; SF 6; ARI 5; COL 4; LAD 3).
This is Kyle Freeland's 1st ejection since May 5, 2023 (Hunter Wendelstedt; QOC = U [Check Swing]).
This is Willy Adames' 1st ejection since July 3, 2024 (Mark Ripperger; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Matt Chapman's 1st ejection since Sept 6, 2017 (Mike Everitt; QOC = U [Unsportsmanlike-NEC]).
This is Phil Cuzzi's 3-5th ejection of 2025, 1st since July 21 (Ryan O'Hearn; QOC = U [Check Swing]).
Wrap: San Francisco Giants vs Colorado Rockies, 9/2/25 | Video as follows:
Labels:
COL
,
Ejections
,
Fights
,
Kyle Freeland
,
Matt Chapman
,
Phil Cuzzi
,
QOCU
,
SF
,
UEFL
,
Willy Adames
MLB Ejections 146-7 - Manny Gonzalez (4-5; SEA x2)
HP Umpire Manny Gonzalez ejected Mariners RF Dominic Canzone and manager Dan Wilson (strike one call to Cole Young; QOCY) in the top of the 3rd inning of the #Rays-#Mariners game. With one out and none on, Mariners batter Young took a 0-0 fastball from Rays pitcher Drew Ramussen for a called first strike. Replays indicate the pitch was located over the outer half of home plate and above the midpoint (px -0.59, pz 3.63 [sz_top 3.34 / RAD 3.46 / MOE 3.54]), the call was incorrect.* At the time of the ejection, the Rays were leading, 2-0. The Rays ultimately won the contest, 6-5.
These are Manny Gonzalez (79)'s 4th and 5th ejections of 2025.
*This pitch was located 1.08 vertical inches from being deemed correct.
These are the 146th and 147th ejection reports of the 2025 MLB regular season.
This is the 45th player ejection of 2025.
This is the 78th manager ejection of 2025. Ejection Tally: 78 Managers, 24 Coaches, 45 Players.
This is Seattle's 3/4th ejection of 2025, 2nd in the AL West (LAA 7; OAK, SEA 4; HOU, TEX 3).
This is Dominic Canzone's first career MLB ejection.
This is Dan Wilson's 2nd ejection of 2025, 1st since May 25 (Laz Diaz; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Manny Gonzalez's 4-5th ejection of 2025, 1st since Aug 29 (Nestor Cortes; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
Wrap: Seattle Mariners vs Tampa Bay Rays, 9/2/25 | Video as follows:
Labels:
Balls/Strikes
,
Dan Wilson
,
Dominic Canzone
,
Ejections
,
Manny Gonzalez
,
QOCN
,
SEA
,
UEFL
Monday, September 1, 2025
MLB Ejection 145 - Jim Wolf (1; Pat Murphy)
1B Umpire Jim Wolf ejected Brewers manager Pat Murphy (check swing ball four call to Phillies batter JT Realmuto) in the top of the 9th inning of the #Phillies-#Brewers game. With one out and one on, Phillies batter Realmuto attempted to check his swing on a 3-2 slider from Brewers pitcher Abner Uribe, ruled a ball by HP Umpire Alan Porter and overturned to a swinging strike on appeal by 1B Umpire Wolf. At the time of the ejection, the game was tied, 8-8. The Phillies ultimately won the contest, 10-8.
This is Jim Wolf (28)'s 1st ejection of 2025.
This is the 145th ejection report of the 2025 MLB regular season.
This is the 77th manager ejection of 2025. Ejection Tally: 77 Managers, 24 Coaches, 44 Players.
This is Milwaukee's 3rd ejection of 2025, 5th in the NL Central (CHC, STL 7; PIT 5; CIN 4; MIL 3).
This is Pat Murphy's 2nd ejection of 2025, 1st since May 9 (James Hoye; QOC = Y [Obstruction]).
This is Jim Wolf's 1st ejection since August 9, 2024 (Stephen Vogt; QOC = N [Balk]).
Wrap: Philadelphia Phillies vs Milwaukee Brewers, 9/1/25 | Video as follows:
Labels:
Check Swing
,
Ejections
,
Jim Wolf
,
MIL
,
Pat Murphy
,
QOCU
,
UEFL
MLB Ejection 144 - Brennan Miller (3; Xavier Edwards)
HP Umpire Brennan Miller ejected Marlins 2B Xavier Edwards (strike two call; QOCY) in the top of the 1st inning of the #Marlins-#Nationals game. With none out and none on, Marlins batter Edwards took a 1-1 slider from Nationals pitcher Andrew Alvarez for a called second strike. Replays indicate the pitch was located over the heart of home plate and at the midpoint (px -0.07, pz 3.33 [sz_top 3.29 / RAD 3.41]), the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the game was tied, 0-0. The Nationals ultimately won the contest, 2-0.
This is Brennan Miller (55)'s 3rd ejection of 2025.
*This pitch was located 1.92 vertical inches from being deemed incorrect.
This is the 144th ejection report of the 2025 MLB regular season.
This is the 44th player ejection of 2025. Ejection Tally: 76 Managers, 24 Coaches, 44 Players.
This is Miami's 4th ejection of 2025, 2nd in the NL East (WAS 7; MIA 4; PHI, NYM 3; ATL 2).
This is Xavier Edwards' 2nd ejection of 2025, 1st since June 6 (Chad Fairchild; QOC = N [RLI]).
This is Brennan Miller's 3rd ejection of 2025, 1st since July 13 (Oliver Marmo; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
Wrap: Miami Marlins vs Washington Nationals, 9/1/25 | Video as follows:
Labels:
Balls/Strikes
,
Brennan Miller
,
Ejections
,
MIA
,
Miller Rule
,
QOCY
,
UEFL
,
Xavier Edwards
Friday, August 29, 2025
MLB Ejection 143 - Manny Gonzalez (3; Nestor Cortes)
HP Umpire Manny Gonzalez ejected Padres pitcher Nestor Cortes (ball calls to Austin Martin; QOCY) in the bottom of the 4th inning of the #Padres-#Twins game. With none out and one on, Twins batter Martin took 0-0 and 3-2 fastballs from Padres pitcher Cortes for called first and fourth balls. Replays indicate the 0-0 pitch was located over the inner edge of home plate and below the hollow beneath the knee (px -0.75, pz 1.59 [sz_bot 1.68 / RAD 1.56 / MOE 1.64]) and the 3-2 pitch was located off the outer edge of home plate and below the midpoint (px 0.95, pz 3.12 [sz_top 3.44]), the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the Padres were leading, 2-1. The Twins ultimately won the contest, 7-4.
This is Manny Gonzalez (79)'s 3rd ejection of 2025.
*The 0-0 pitch was located 0.60 vertical & the 3-2 pitch was 2.44 horizontal inches from incorrect.
This is the 143rd ejection report of the 2025 MLB regular season.
This is the 43rd player ejection of 2025. Ejection Tally: 76 Managers, 24 Coaches, 43 Players.
This is San Diego's 9th ejection of 2025, 1st in the NL West (SD 9; ARI 5; SF 4; COL, LAD 3).
This is Nestor Cortes' first career MLB ejection.
This is Manny Gonzalez's 3rd ejection of 2025, 1st since July 23 (Aaron Boone; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).
Wrap: San Diego Padres vs Minnesota Twins, 8/29/25 | Video as follows:
Labels:
Balls/Strikes
,
Ejections
,
Kulpa Rule
,
Manny Gonzalez
,
Miller Rule
,
Nestor Cortes
,
QOCY
,
SD
,
UEFL
MLB Ejection 142 - Derek Thomas (4; Chris Johnson)
HP Umpire Derek Thomas ejected Nationals assistant hitting coach Chris Johnson (strike three call to CJ Abrams; QOCN) in the bottom of the 4th inning of the #Rays-#Nationals game. With two out and two on, Nationals batter Abrams took a 3-2 sinker from Rays pitcher Adrian Houser for a called third strike. Replays indicate the pitch was located over the heart of home plate and below the hollow beneath the knee (px 0.14, pz 1.22 [sz_bot 1.59 / RAD 1.47 / MOE 1.39]), the call was incorrect.* At the time of the ejection, the Rays were leading, 2-1. The Rays ultimately won the contest, 4-1.
This is Derek Thomas (53)'s 7th ejection of 2025.
*This pitch was located 2.04 vertical inches from being deemed correct.
This is the 142nd ejection report of the 2025 MLB regular season.
This is the 24th coach ejection of 2025. Ejection Tally: 76 Managers, 24 Coaches, 42 Players.
This is Washington's 7th ejection of 2025, 1st in the NL East (WAS 7; MIA, PHI NYM 3; ATL 2).
This is Chris Johnson's 2nd ejection of 2025, 1st since April 27 (Lance Barrett; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Derek Thomas' 7th ejection of 2025, 1st since August 25 (Oliver Marmol; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
Wrap: Tampa Bay Rays vs Washington Nationals, 8/29/25 | Video as follows:
Labels:
Balls/Strikes
,
Chris Johnson
,
Derek Thomas
,
Ejections
,
Miller Rule
,
QOCN
,
UEFL
,
WAS
Thursday, August 28, 2025
MLB Ejection 141 - David Rackley (1; Craig Counsell)
HP Umpire David Rackley ejected Cubs manager Craig Counsell (strike three call to Ian Happ & Kyle Tucker caught stealing; QOCY) in the top of the 3rd inning of the #Cubs-#Giants game. With one out and one on, Cubs batter Happ took a 3-2 changeup from Giants pitcher Logan Webb for a called third strike. Replays indicate the pitch was located over the outer edge of home plate and thigh-high (px -0.79, pz 2.45), the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the game was tied, 2-2. The Giants ultimately won the contest, 4-3.
This is David Rackley (86)'s 2nd ejection of 2025.
*This pitch was located 1.49 horizontal inches from being deemed incorrect.
This is the 141st ejection report of the 2025 MLB regular season.
This is the 76th manager ejection of 2025. Ejection Tally: 76 Managers, 23 Coaches, 42 Players.
This is Chicago's 7th ejection of 2025, 1st in the NL Central (CHC, STL 7; PIT 5; CIN 4; MIL 2).
This is Craig Counsell's 3rd ejection of 2025, 1st since June 9 (Stu Scheurwater; QOC = Y [RLI]).
This is David Rackley's 1st ejection since Sept 16, 2024 (Vance Wilson; QOC = U [Check Swing]).
Wrap: Chicago Cubs vs San Francisco Giants, 8/28/25 | Video as follows:
Labels:
Balls/Strikes
,
CHC
,
Craig Counsell
,
David Rackley
,
Ejections
,
Kulpa Rule
,
QOCY
,
UEFL
Wednesday, August 27, 2025
MLB Ejection 140 - James Hoye (6; Hunter Goodman)
HP Umpire James Hoye ejected Rockies catcher Hunter Goodman (strike two call; QOCY) in the top of the 6th inning of the #Rockies-#Astros game. With two out and none on, Rockies batter Goodman took a 0-1 curveball from Astros pitcher Framber Valdez for a called second strike before striking out swinging on the next pitch. Replays indicate the 0-1 pitch was located over the outer half of home plate and at the hollow beneath the knee (px 0.46, pz 1.50 [sz_bot 1.56 / RAD 1.44]), the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the Astros were leading, 1-0. The Astros ultimately won the contest, 4-0.
This is James Hoye (92)'s 6th ejection of 2025.
*This pitch was located 1.68 vertical inches from being deemed incorrect.
This is the 140th ejection report of the 2025 MLB regular season.
This is the 42nd player ejection of 2025. Ejection Tally: 75 Managers, 23 Coaches, 42 Players.
This is Colorado's 3rd ejection of 2025, 4th in the NL West (SD 8; ARI 5; SF 4; COL, LAD 3).
This is Hunter Goodman's first career MLB ejection.
This is James Hoye's 6th ejection of 2025, 1st since August 18 (Mike Shildt; QOC = N [Replay Review]).
Wrap: Colorado Rockies vs Houston Astros, 8/27/25 | Video as follows:
Labels:
Balls/Strikes
,
COL
,
Ejections
,
Hunter Goodman
,
James Hoye
,
Miller Rule
,
QOCY
,
UEFL
MLB Ejection 139 - Mark Wegner (3; Brian Snitker)
2B Umpire Mark Wegner ejected Braves manager Brian Snitker (warnings after Ronald Acuña HBP) in the top of the 3rd inning of the #Braves-#Marlins game. With none out and one on, Braves batter Matt Olson hit a home run off Marlins pitcher Ryan Gusto. Ensuing Braves batter Acuña then took a 0-0 sinker from Gusto inside for a hit-by-pitch. Replays indicate the pitch struck Acuña on the elbow, leading to a benches-clearing incident, resulting in warnings, the call was irrecusable. At the time of the ejection, the Braves were leading, 3-0. The Braves ultimately won the contest, 12-1.
This is Mark Wegner (14)'s 3rd ejection of 2025.
*Official Baseball Rule 6.02(c)(9): "If, in the umpire’s judgment, circumstances warrant, both teams may be officially “warned” prior to the game or at any time during the game."
OBR 6.02(c)(9): "Team personnel may not come onto the playing surface to argue or dispute a warning issued under Rule 6.02(c)(9). If a manager, coach or player leaves the dugout or their position to dispute a warning, they should be warned to stop. If they continue, they are subject to ejection."
This is the 139th ejection report of the 2025 MLB regular season.
This is the 75th manager ejection of 2025. Ejection Tally: 75 Managers, 23 Coaches, 41 Players.
This is Atlanta's 2nd ejection of 2025, 5th in the NL East (WAS 6; MIA, PHI NYM 3; ATL 2).
This is Brian Snitker's 2nd ejection of 2025, 1st since June 7 (Gabe Morales; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Mark Wegner's 3rd ejection of 2025, 1st since June 24 (Jazz Chisholm; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).
Wrap: Atlanta Braves vs Miami Marlins, 8/27/25 | Video as follows:
Labels:
ATL
,
Brian Snitker
,
Ejections
,
Mark Wegner
,
UEFL
,
Warnings
Tuesday, August 26, 2025
MLB Ejection 138 - Willie Traynor (2; Jesús Luzardo)
HP Umpire Willie Traynor ejected Phillies pitcher Jesús Luzardo (ball four call to Starling Marte; QOCY) in the bottom of the 5th inning of the #Phillies-#Mets game. With none out and two on, Mets batter Marte took a 3-2 fastball from Phillies pitcher Luzardo for a called fourth ball. Replays indicate the pitch was located off the inner edge of home plate and above the midpoint (px -0.84, pz 3.69 [sz_top 3.52 / RAD 3.64]), the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the Phillies were leading, 2-1. The Mets ultimately won the contest, 6-5.
This is Willie Traynor (45)'s 2nd ejection of 2025.
*This pitch was located 0.12 horizontal and 1.56 vertical inches from being deemed incorrect.
This is the 138th ejection report of the 2025 MLB regular season.
This is the 41st player ejection of 2025. Ejection Tally: 74 Managers, 23 Coaches, 41 Players.
This is Philadelphia's 3rd ejection of 2025, 2bd in the NL East (WAS 6; MIA, PHI NYM 3; ATL 1).
This is Jesús Luzardo's first career MLB ejection.
This is Willie Traynor's 2nd ejection of 2025, 1st since July 26 (Terry Francona; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).
Wrap: Philadelphia Phillies vs New York Mets, 8/26/25 | Video as follows:
Labels:
Balls/Strikes
,
Ejections
,
Jesus Luzardo
,
Kulpa Rule
,
Miller Rule
,
PHI
,
QOCY
,
UEFL
,
Willie Traynor
Monday, August 25, 2025
MLB Ejections 136-7 - Derek Thomas (5-6; STL x2)
HP Umpire Derek Thomas ejected Cardinals DH Willson Contreras and manager Oliver Marmol (strike three call; QOCY) in the bottom of the 7th inning of the #Pirates-#Cardinals game. With one out and one on, Cardinals batter Contreras took a 0-2 sinker from Pirates pitcher Yohan Ramírez for a called third strike. Replays indicate the pitch was located over the inner half of home plate and knee-high (px -0.20, pz 1.77 [sz_bot 1.61 / RAD 1.49]), the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the Cardinals were leading, 6-5. The Cardinals ultimately won the contest, 7-6.
These are Derek Thomas (53)'s 5th and 6th ejections of 2025.
*This pitch was located 4.32 vertical inches from being deemed incorrect.
These are the 136th and 137th ejections of the 2025 MLB regular season.
This is the 40th player ejection of 2025.
This is the 74th manager ejection of 2025. Ejection Tally: 74 Managers, 23 Coaches, 40 Players.
This is St Louis' 6/7th ejection of 2025, 1st in the NL Central (STL 7; CHC 6; PIT 5; CIN 4; MIL 2).
This is Willson Contreras' 1st ejection since August 22, 2023 (Brennan Miller; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Oliver Marmol's 6th ejection of 2025, 1st since August 17 (Nic Lentz; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Derek Thomas' 5/6th ejection of 2025, 1st since August 10 (Aaron Boone; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
Wrap: Pittsburgh Pirates vs St Louis Cardinals, 8/25/25 | Video as follows:
Labels:
Balls/Strikes
,
Derek Thomas
,
Ejections
,
Miller Rule
,
QOCY
,
STL
,
UEFL
,
Willson Contreras
Runner Touched by Fair Ball in Little League - What's the Call?
What happens when a runner is touched by a fair ball? During the Canada vs Aruba Little League World Series game, a baserunner from first base ran into a batted ball after it passed the drawn-in first baseman, but before it got to the second baseman backing up. Umpires, what's the call here?
With one out and one on, a ground ball to the right side eluded Aruba's diving first baseman, without touching him or his glove, before striking baserunner R1 behind him, as the second baseman ranged to his left to potentially back up the play. After initially ruling runner R1 out, umpires ultimately placed R1 on second base, deeming that he did not interfere with the batted ball.
Official Baseball Rule 6.01(a)(11) states it is interference when "A fair ball touches them on fair territory before touching a fielder. If a fair ball goes through, or by, an infielder, and touches a runner immediately back of him, or touches the runner after having been deflected by a fielder, the umpire shall not declare the runner out for being touched by a batted ball. In making such decision the umpire must be convinced that the ball passed through, or by, the fielder, and that no other infielder had the chance to make a play on the ball."
Little League Rule 5.09(f) is nearly identical in outcome: "If a fair ball goes through, or by an infielder and touches a runner immediately back of said infielder or touches a runner after being deflected by an infielder, the ball is in play and the umpire shall not declare the runner out. In making such decision, the umpire must be convinced that the ball passed through, or by, the infielder and that no other infielder had the chance to make a play on the ball; runners advance if forced."
Given that the ball did not make contact with the first baseman, the operative question, thus, is whether or not the second baseman had the chance to make a play on the ball. If he did, then the runner is out. If he did not, then the runner is not out. What's your call?
Video as follows:
Video as follows:
Labels:
Articles
,
Ask the UEFL
,
Interference
,
Rule 6.01
,
Rules Review
,
UEFL
,
Video Analysis
Saturday, August 23, 2025
Umpire Ejects Batboy (Ballboy?) After Controversial Call
Umpire Richy Arrendondo ejected a ball boy for arguing a series of calls during a Loons vs River Bandits game in MiLB's Midwest League. Having already tossed Quad Cities catcher Canyon Brown and manager Jesus Azuaje, the umpire mouthed "What are you doing?" toward the ball boy, who used the delivery of replacement baseballs as an opportunity to argue with the umpire, a no-no for auxiliary personnel.
HP Umpire Richy Arredondo ejected River Bandits catcher Canyon Brown, manager Jesus Azuaje, and the ball boy for arguing a ball four call, foul ball no-call, and balk call in the top of the 7th inning of the Loons-River Bandits game of MiLB's High-A Midwest League. With one out and one on, Loons batter Logan Wagner took a 3-1 pitch from River Bandits pitcher Mauricio Veliz for a called fourth ball, resulting in the ejection of catcher Brown. Following a two-RBI double by Jake Gelof, batter Joe Vetrano swung at a pitch for strike two, ruled a wild pitch that allowed Gelof to advance to third base, resulting in an argument from manager Azuaje that batter Vetrano actually fouled the pitch off (Azuaje was ejected here). Shortly thereafter, Gelof scored on a balk, resulting in the ejection of the ball boy for arguing while he delivered replacement baseballs.
HP Umpire Richy Arredondo ejected River Bandits catcher Canyon Brown, manager Jesus Azuaje, and the ball boy for arguing a ball four call, foul ball no-call, and balk call in the top of the 7th inning of the Loons-River Bandits game of MiLB's High-A Midwest League. With one out and one on, Loons batter Logan Wagner took a 3-1 pitch from River Bandits pitcher Mauricio Veliz for a called fourth ball, resulting in the ejection of catcher Brown. Following a two-RBI double by Jake Gelof, batter Joe Vetrano swung at a pitch for strike two, ruled a wild pitch that allowed Gelof to advance to third base, resulting in an argument from manager Azuaje that batter Vetrano actually fouled the pitch off (Azuaje was ejected here). Shortly thereafter, Gelof scored on a balk, resulting in the ejection of the ball boy for arguing while he delivered replacement baseballs.
Although we don't often encounter it, ball or bat attendant ejections fall under a lower category on officiating's tolerance hierarchy than managers, players, assistant coaches, and bench personnel. Attendants (in this case, a ball boy) are considered auxiliary personnel, are supposed to be impartial (e.g., not to argue or have a competing interest in the game and not to favour one team over the other), and are to be dismissed if they fail to maintain neutrality, as the ball boy did during this game.
Wrap: Great Lakes Loons vs Quad Cities River Bandits (Midwest Lg), 8/21/25 | Video as follows:
Wrap: Great Lakes Loons vs Quad Cities River Bandits (Midwest Lg), 8/21/25 | Video as follows:
Labels:
Articles
,
Ask the UEFL
,
Ejections (MiLB)
,
Richy Arredondo
,
UEFL
,
Umpire Odds/Ends
,
Video Analysis
Wednesday, August 20, 2025
MLB Ejection 135 - Roberto Ortiz (5; José Caballero)
2B Umpire Roberto Ortiz ejected Yankees RF José Caballero (Replay Review decision that upheld out call/pace of play/disengagement no-call; QOCY) in the top of the 10th inning of the #Yankees-#Rays game. With one out and none on, Yankees batter José Caballero attempted to steal second base during Aaron Judge's at bat, thrown out by Rays catcher Hunter Feduccia to second baseman Brandon Lowe and affirmed as an out (call stands) upon Replay Review as the result of a manager's challenge by Yankees manager Aaron Boone. Replays do not conclusively indicate whether Lowe tagged Caballero while he was off the base, the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the Yankees were leading, 6-3. The Yankees ultimately won the contest, 6-4, in 10 innings.
This is Roberto Ortiz (40)'s 5th ejection of 2025.
*Prior to the caught stealing, Caballero appeared to be awarded second base on a disengagement balk as a result of pitcher Pete Fairbanks throwing over to first base three times unsuccessfully during the same at-bat. However, replays indicate that after the second disengagement and pickoff attempt, 1B Umpire Ben May called "Time" to replace the baseball. As Fairbanks never re-engaged the pitcher's plate/rubber and thus HP Umpire Chad Fairchild never put the ball back into play, the ball never became live, the third "throw" did not legally occur, and, therefore there was no third "disengagement." Had R1 Caballero been "out" during the dead ball pickoff attempt, the out call would not have stood either.
Official Baseball Rule 5.12: "When an umpire suspends play, they shall call “Time.” At the umpire-in-chief’s call of “Play,” the suspension is lifted and play resumes. Between the call of “Time” and the call of “Play” the ball is dead."
OBR 5.12 continued: "After the ball is dead, play shall be resumed when the pitcher takes their place on the pitcher’s plate with a new ball or the same ball in their possession and the plate umpire calls 'Play.'"
This is the 135th ejection of the 2025 MLB regular season.
This is the 39th player ejection of 2025. Ejection Tally: 73 Managers, 23 Coaches, 39 Players.
This is New York's 13th ejection of 2025, 1st in the AL East (NYY 13; BOS, TOR 7; BAL 5; TB 4).
This is José Caballero's first career MLB ejection.
This is Roberto Ortiz's 5th ejection of 2025, 1st since August 12 (Don Kelly; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).
Wrap: New York Mets vs Washington Nationals, 8/20/25 | Video as follows:
Labels:
Balk
,
Ejections
,
Instant Replay
,
Jose Caballero
,
NYY
,
Pace of Play
,
Roberto Ortiz
,
Rule 5.12
,
Rules Review
,
Safe/Out
,
UEFL
,
Video Analysis
MLB Ejection 134 - Todd Tichenor (2; Miguel Cairo)
HP Umpire Todd Tichenor ejected Nationals interim manager Miguel Cairo (ball two call to Mark Vientos; QOCY) in the top of the 6th inning of the #Mets-#Nationals game. With one out and one on, Mets batter Vientos took a 1-1 curveball from Nationals pitcher Cole Henry for a called second ball. Replays indicate the pitch was located off the inner edge of home plate and belt-high (px -1.17, pz 3.34), the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the Nationals were leading, 5-4. The Nationals ultimately won the contest, 5-4.
This is Todd Tichenor (13)'s 2nd ejection of 2025.
This pitch was located 5.06 horizontal inches from being deemed incorrect.
This is the 134th ejection of the 2025 MLB regular season.
This is the 73rd manager ejection of 2025. Ejection Tally: 73 Managers, 23 Coaches, 38 Players.
This is Washington's 6th ejection of 2025, 1st in the NL East (WAS 6; MIA, NYM 3; PHI 2; ATL 1).
This is Miguel Cairo's 3rd ejection of 2025, 1st since August 2 (Chris Guccione; QOC = U [Check Swing]).
This is Todd Tichenor's 2nd ejection of 2025, 1st since Aug 10 (Johnny Washington; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
Wrap: New York Mets vs Washington Nationals, 8/20/25 | Video as follows:
Labels:
Balls/Strikes
,
Ejections
,
Kulpa Rule
,
Miguel Cairo
,
QOCY
,
Todd Tichenor
,
UEFL
,
WAS
Monday, August 18, 2025
MLB Ejection 133 - Mark Ripperger (3; John Schneider)
HP Umpire Mark Ripperger ejected Blue Jays manager John Schneider (strike three call to Davis Schneider; QOCY) in the top of the 7th inning of the #BlueJays-#Pirates game. With none out and none on, Blue Jays batter Schneider took a 1-2 curveball from Pirates pitcher Evan Sisk for a called third strike. Replays indicate the pitch was located over the heart of home plate and at the hollow beneath the knee (px 0.13, pz 1.51 [sz_bot 1.47 / RAD 1.35]), the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the game was tied, 2-2. The Pirates ultimately won the contest, 5-2.
This is Mark Ripperger (90)'s 3rd ejection of 2025.
*This pitch was located 2.88 vertical inches from being deemed incorrect.
This is the 133rd ejection of the 2025 MLB regular season.
This is the 72nd manager ejection of 2025. Ejection Tally: 72 Managers, 23 Coaches, 38 Players.
This is Toronto's 7th ejection of 2025, 1st in the AL East (NYY 12; BOS, TOR 7; BAL 5; TB 4).
This is John Schneider's 3rd ejection of 2025, 1st since July 13 (Tripp Gibson; QOC = Y [Replay Review]).
This is Mark Ripperger's 3rd ejection of 2025, 1st since June 29 (Dave Martinez; QOC = Y [Replay Review]).
Wrap: Toronto Blue Jays vs Pittsburgh Pirates, 8/18/25 | Video as follows:
Labels:
Balls/Strikes
,
Ejections
,
John Schneider
,
Mark Ripperger
,
Miller Rule
,
QOCY
,
TOR
,
UEFL
Subscribe to:
Comments
(
Atom
)










































