Friday, April 1, 2022

MLB Umpire Chiefs To Wear Microphones in 2022

After years of idle speculation—and tmac's repeated calls for umpires to use microphones to explain Replay Review decisions and certain other complex calls over the public address system, MLB will finally outfit its umpire crew chiefs with mics during the 2022 season, joining the likes of the National Football League and National Hockey League, which have long utilized referee microphones to announce penalties and certain game situations, such as timeouts.

In tmac's 2017 Teachable Moments article "Let's Fix Replay," suggestion number one to fix MLB's communication problem was "Give the Crew Chief a microphone." Japan's Nippon Professional Baseball Organization has long provided microphones for its umpires to explain complex rulings.

Later that year, MLB began seriously discussing umpire microphones, but ultimately decided against the plan at the time. In 2020, with contract negotiations and a new CBA fresh in the mind of MLB and its umpires, baseball was finally set to embrace the technology, but that plan fell apart when COVID upended the 2020 regular season, as did our aspirations for hearing Joe West ramble on how games are taking too long.

With baseball looking to enter 2022 without pandemic-related restrictions experienced in 2020 and 2021, microphones look to finally be nearing implementation.

Procedure: Following initiation or request of the Manager's Challenge or Crew Chief Review, the Crew Chief (wearing a microphone) shall proceed toward a foul line and address the spectator area and press box regarding the team challenging (if applicable), and the specificity of their challenge (what is being challenged), and the original call. After a review decision has been made, the Crew Chief shall again speak via microphone and communicate the outcome of the review, including whether the call has been confirmed, overturned, or stands, and what the result of the review will be (e.g., the runner is out and the inning is over...Team A loses its challenge).

2022 MLB Umpire Crew List

Major League Baseball's 2022 umpire crews are listed in the following table. To review, five umpires retired (Fieldin Culbreth, Kerwin Danley, Gerry Davis, Brian Gorman, Joe West), five were hired (Ryan Additon, Sean Barber, John Libka, Ben May, Roberto Ortiz), and five were promoted to Crew Chief (Laz Diaz, Greg Gibson, Marvin Hudson, Ron Kulpa, Bill Welke).

Registration for the 2022 Umpire Ejection Fantasy League season, as well as the UEFL draft, will be announced in the coming days, and will conclude prior to Opening Day. Click here to see the rules changes for the 2022 UEFL season

Umpiring crews for the 2022 regular season appear below. The original posting on April 1, in which first names were modified in accordance with April Fool's Day, appears below the unaltered version. You can now update your website without crediting us, Steve:

2022 MLB Umpire Crews (by Seniority)

Crew #

Crew Chief

Umpire 2

Umpire 3

Umpire 4

Crew A

3 Welke, Bill

49 Fletcher, Andy

47 Morales, Gabe

96 Segal, Chris

Crew B

6 Carlson, Mark

68 Guccione, Chris

71 Baker, Jordan

67 Additon, Ryan

Crew C

51 Hudson, Marvin

80 Johnson, Adrian

74 Tumpane, John

36 Blakney, Ryan

Crew D

14 Wegner, Mark

64 Porter, Alan

81 Wolcott, Quinn

35 Rehak, Rehak

Crew E

50 Emmel, Paul

92 Hoye, James

1 Dreckman, Bruce

31 Hoberg, Pat

Crew F

34 Holbrook, Sam

5 Hernandez, Angel

28 Wolf, Jim

17 Reyburn, DJ

Crew G

58 Iassogna, Dan

11 Randazzo, Tony

87 Barry, Scott

97 May, Ben

Crew H

65 Barrett, Ted

23 Barksdale, Lance

83 Estabrook, Mike

59 Lentz, Nic

Crew I

27 Vanover, Larry

2 Bellino, Dan

86 Rackley, David

29 Barber, Sean

Crew J

45 Nelson, Jeff

54 Bucknor, CB

79 Gonzalez, Manny

85 Scheurwater, Stu

Crew K

63 Diaz, Laz

7 O’Nora, Brian

4 Fairchild, Chad

73 Gibson, Tripp

Crew L

77 Reynolds, Jim

13 Tichenor, Todd

76 Muchlinski, Mike

84 Libka, John

Crew M

72 Marquez, Alfonso

95 Timmons, Tim

16 Barrett, Lance

18 De Jesus, Ramon

Crew N

41 Meals, Jerry

15 Hickox, Ed

19 Carapazza, Vic

52 Visconti, Jansen

Crew O

20 Hallion, Tom

10 Cuzzi, Phil

89 Blaser, Cory

90 Ripperger, Mark

Crew P

46 Kulpa, Ron

60 Foster, Marty

98 Conroy, Chris

37 Torres, Carlos

Crew Q

24 Layne, Jerry

21 Wendelstedt, Hunter

78 Hamari, Adam

62 Whitson, Chad

Crew R

26 Miller, Bill

88 Eddings, Doug

91 Knight, Brian

40 Ortiz, Roberto

Crew S

53 Gibson, Greg

39 Nauert, Paul

30 Drake, Rob

93 Little, Will


39 Nauert, Paul


March 2022

2022 MLB Umpire Crews (by Seniority)

Crew #

Crew Chief

Umpire 2

Umpire 3

Umpire 4

Crew A

3 Welke, Tim

49 Fletcher, Barelyknowher

47 Morales, Oreles

96 Segal, Duck

Crew B

6 Carlson, Brutananadilewski

68 Guccione, Tennis

71 Baker, Dozen

67 Additon, Multiply

Crew C

51 Hudson, River

80 Johnson, Pok

74 Tumpane, Rolaidane

36 Blakney, Liveney

Crew D

14 Wegner, Piniella

64 Porter, Inastormer

81 Wolcott, Alfuton

35 Rehak, Cough

Crew E

50 Emmel, Kayjay

92 Hoye, Matey

1 Dreckman, Recycling

31 Hoberg, Winslet

Crew F

34 Holbrook, Halfstream

5 Hernandez, Angel

28 Wolf, Blitzer

17 Reyburn, Icefreeze

Crew G

58 Iassogna, Tortellini

11 Randazzo, Aynuti

87 Barry, Bonds

97 May, June

Crew H

65 Barrett, Grinand

23 Barksdale, Meowscott

83 Estabrook, Thatalago

59 Lentz, Easterz

Crew I

27 Vanover, Doc

2 Bellino, Objection

86 Rackley, Shelfley

29 Barber, Pole

Crew J

45 Nelson, Full

54 Bucknor, Martineznor

79 Gonzalez, Kermitlez

85 Scheurwater, Iffyfire

Crew K

63 Diaz, Horaz

7 O’Nora, Whosnora

4 Fairchild, Fouladult

73 Gibson, Nextfall

Crew L

77 Reynolds, Wrap

13 Tichenor, Smidgenor

76 Muchlinski, Cowski

84 Libka, Conkhan

Crew M

72 Marquez, Potsie

95 Timmons, Ruler

16 Barrett, Notteddy

18 De Jesus, Iguessso

Crew N

41 Meals, Onwheels

15 Hickox, Educatedbison

19 Carapazza, Facedough

52 Visconti, Baroni

Crew O

20 Hallion, Unretired

10 Cuzzi, Can

89 Blaser, Platecoat

90 Ripperger, Taperdog

Crew P

46 Kulpa, Meamaxima

60 Foster, Lager

98 Conroy, Proray

37 Torres, Turris

Crew Q

24 Layne, Stayinyour

21 Wendelstedt, Igiveup

78 Hamari, Powerdrilli

62 Whitson, Dumdaughter

Crew R

26 Miller, Flour

88 Eddings, Cyyed

91 Knight, Nosun

40 Ortiz, Pedro

Crew S

53 Gibson, Homeplateumpire

39 Nauert, Ferrari

30 Drake, Eminem

93 Little, Big


22 East, Klem

25 Battin, Downthehatches

- Ihatebaseball, Manfred

- Idotoo, Womanwilma