Saturday, July 13, 2013

MLB Ejection 096: Hunter Wendelstedt (3; Bryce Harper)

HP Umpire Hunter Wendelstedt ejected Nationals LF Bryce Harper for arguing a strike three call in the top of the 8th inning of the Nationals-Marlins game. With none out and one on, Harper took a 0-2 fastball from
After Harper gets hot, Hunter stays cool.
Marlins pitcher Dan Jennings for a called third strike. Replays indicate the pitch was located navel high and over the outer edge of home plate (sz_top 3.190 pz CI [3.132, 3.215, 3.298]; px -.0832), the call was correct. At the time of the ejection, the Nationals were leading, 1-0. The Marlins ultimately won the contest, 2-1, in 10 innings.

This is Hunter Wendelstedt (21)'s third ejection of 2013.
Hunter Wendelstedt now has 10 points in the UEFL (6 + 2 MLB + 2 Correct Call = 10).
Crew Chief Jerry Layne now has 4 points in the UEFL's Crew Division (3 + 1 Correct = 4).

This is the 96th ejection of the 2013 MLB season.
This is the 42nd player ejection of 2013. Prior to his ejection, Harper was 0-3 in the contest.
This is the Nationals' 3rd ejection of 2013, 3rd in the NL East (ATL 5; NYM 4; WAS 3; MIA, PHI 2).
This is Bryce Harper's 2nd ejection of 2013 and first since May 5, 2013 (John Hirschbeck; QOC = Y).
This is Hunter Wendelstedt's first ejection since May 16, 2013 (Eric Wedge; QOC = Y).

Wrap: Washington Nationals vs. Miami Marlins, 7/13/13
Video: After Hunter's correct call, Harper yells, aggressive gestures and is thrown out for his act (MIA)
Video: After striking out looking for a second time, Harper demonstratively objects and is run (MIA)

MLB Ejection 095: Vic Carapazza (2; Ron Gardenhire)

HP Umpire Vic Carapazza ejected Twins Manager Ron Gardenhire for arguing an interference (batter-runner's) call in the top of the 8th inning of the Twins-Yankees game. With none out and one on, Twins batter Clete Thomas hit a 1-1 fastball from Yankees pitcher Phil Hughes on the ground in front of the mound,
Thomas ruled out after not running within lane.
Hughes fielding the ball and throwing towards first baseman Lyle Overbay. Replays indicate Thomas ran to the inside of the three-foot runner's lane down the first base line (in fair territory) and in doing so interfered with F3 Overbay taking the throw at first base, the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the Twins were leading, 2-1. The Twins ultimately won the contest, 4-1.

This is Vic Carapazza (85)'s second ejection of 2013.
Vic Carapazza now has 8 points in the UEFL (4 + 2 + 2 = 8).
Crew Chief Gary Cederstrom now has 2 points in the UEFL's Crew Division (1 Previous + 1 Correct Call = 2).
*This call is correct pursuant to OBR Rule 6.05(k).

This is the 95th ejection of the 2013 MLB season.
This is the 45th Manager ejection of 2013.
This is the Twins' 2nd ejection of 2013, 4th in the AL Central (CLE 5; DET, KC 3; MIN 2; CWS 1).
This is Ron Gardenhire's 3rd ejection of 2013 and first since May 25, 2013 (Joe West; QOC = Y).
This is Vic Carapazza's first ejection since June 1, 2013 (Joe Girardi; QOC = Y).

Wrap: Minnesota Twins vs. New York Yankees, 7/13/13
Video: After interference call dead ball, Gardenhire argues the point and is ejected (MIN)

Case Play 2013-07: Hidden Ball Trick Fails due to Time Out

Case Play: The Padres attempted a hidden ball trick play Friday night, innings before Manager Bud Black was ejected for arguing a correctly ruled obstruction call. With two out and Giants baserunner Pablo Sandoval on second base in the top of the 5th inning, Padres shortstop Everth Cabrera concealed the game ball while pitcher Sean O'Sullivan walked toward the back of the mound and into the 18-foot dirt circle.

F6 tags R2 as F1 stands to the side of his plate.
As Sullivan ascended the dirt hill, Sandoval took his lead and Cabrera snuck in from behind to tag him. 2B Umpire Laz Diaz, however, ruled time had been called resulting in no play and therefore no out or balk. (Video: Time called, no play). Specifically, time was out after Sandoval's double immediately preceding Pence's at bat (the base coach entered the field to retrieve Sandoval's protective gear) and the ball was never put back into play as the pitcher did not assume his position on the pitcher's plate and HP Umpire Mike Winters did not call "Play."

This frivolity actually explains why a hidden ball trick can never be executed after a double, charged mound visit or other event that results in a call of "Time" immediately afterward.

Q: Had "time" not been granted to either Sandoval or batter Hunter Pence prior to the tag out, what would the proper call have been—out, balk or otherwise—and how should play proceed? This case play expires Sunday 7/14/13 at 3:00pm. Time's up! The correct answer is below...

A: Rule 8.05(i) states it is a balk when "the pitcher, without having the ball, stands on or astride the pitcher's plate or while off the plate, he feints a pitch." Because neither of these events occurred (the pitcher did not stand on his pitchers plate or astride it—he did not straddle it—and he did not fake a pitch, there is no balk and the runner is out. The inning is over.

The rule concerning balks under the professional rules set requires the pitcher to address the pitching rubber via contact or perceived contact (e.g., astride). Under NCAA 9-3-f and NFHS 6-2-5, this same situation is a balk because it becomes a balk when a pitcher steps within five feet of the rubber (NFHS) or merely onto the dirt area of the pitching mound (NCAA).

Correct Responses: Angel55Snapback, Bob Abouy, clawdad, CricketChapman (via e-mail), gkiewitt, kickersrule, Moe, NorthStarUmpire#2, RadioPearl, Radwaste50 (way to cite rules by level of play!), Red @ss Ump, RolBama24, rgoldar2, SJR, toss 'em, Turducken, ump_24, UmpsRule (via e-mail).

Related: MLB Ejection 094: Laz Diaz (1; Bud Black)

MLB Ejection 094: Laz Diaz (1; Bud Black)

2B Umpire Laz Diaz ejected Padres Manager Bud Black for arguing an obstruction call in the top of the 7th inning of the Giants-Padres game. With one out and two on, Padres batter Andres Torres took a 0-0 fastball from Padres pitcher Brad Brach for ball one, a pitch that got away from Padres catcher Nick Hundley as
Diaz attempts to explain obstruction and the definition
of "base path" to a thoroughly confused Padres team.
Giants baserunner R1 Brandon Crawford attempted to advance from first base, unaware that baserunner R2 Kensuke Tanaka was holding at second. After Hundley recovered the ball, he threw to Padres first baseman Yonder Alonso, who threw to third baseman Chase Headley, generating a rundown of Tanaka. Replays indicate that after Headley released the ball to second baseman Jedd Gyorko, Headley made contact with Tanaka, who had turned and was attempting to advance towards third base, the resulting contact impeding Tanaka's ability to run the bases, the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the Giants were leading, 6-1. The Giants ultimately won the contest, 10-1.

This is Laz Diaz (63)'s first ejection of 2013.
Laz Diaz now has 4 points in the UEFL (0 Previous + 2 MLB + 2 Correct Call = 4).
Crew Chief Mike Winters now has 6 points in the UEFL's Crew Division (5 Previous + 1 Correct Call = 6).
*This is 7.06(a) [Type A] obstruction as a play was being made on an obstructed runner. Pursuant to Rule 2.00 [OBS], obstruction "is the act of a fielder who, while not in possession of the ball and not in the act of fielding the ball, impedes the progress of any runner." The "base path" rule (7.08(a)(1)) does not apply here as Tanaka did not deviate greater than three feet away from his base path to avoid being tagged, as Headley did not attempt a tag prior to releasing the ball. Pursuant to 7.08(a)(1): "A runner’s base path is established when the tag attempt occurs and is a straight line from the runner to the base he is attempting to reach safely." With no tag attempt, there can be no violation of Rule 7.08(a)(1) and no out of the base path call. There is no such thing as an "out of the baseline call." R2 was properly awarded third base.

This is the 94th ejection of the 2013 MLB season.
This is the 44th Manager ejection of 2013.
This the Padres' 3rd ejection of 2013, 4th in the NL West (LAD 8; ARI 7; SF 4; SD 3; COL 2).
This is Bud Black's 2nd ejection of 2013 and first since June 5, 2013 (Tim Timmons; QOC = N).
This is Laz Diaz's first ejection since July 23, 2012 (Fredi Gonzalez; QOC = N).

Wrap: San Francisco Giants vs. San Diego Padres, 7/12/13
Video: After Headley runs over Tanaka, resulting in an obstruction call, Black argues and is tossed (SD)
Video: In his post-game presser, Black says "The runner on the grass seemed awkward to me" (3:30)

Injuries: CB Bucknor, Ed Hickox Struck in HSMs

HP Umpires CB Bucknor and Ed Hickox were struck in the HS-mask off deflections Friday evening, resulting in Bucknor's departure while Hickox remained in the game through its completion.

Bucknor receives medical attention.
With none out and one on in the top of the 2nd inning of the Red Sox-A's game, Bucknor was hit with a 1-1 fastball from A's pitcher Jarrod Parker that deflected off of Red Sox batter Daniel Nava's back before drilling CB square in the mask component of his bucket-style helmet. Bucknor was attended to by a member of the A's training staff while on the field before leaving the game and being replaced by crew chief Bill Miller. Miller, 1B Umpire Adam Hamari and 3B Umpire Todd Tichenor assumed three-person mechanics from the remainder of the contest. Bucknor's condition was not immediately available.

On July 19, 2012, Bucknor was struck by a 6th inning pitched ball in a similar fashion after the Rays' Desmond Jennings was hit by a pitch. After that incident, Bucknor remained in game. On May 18, 2012, Bucknor took a direct shot to his right shoulder after Pirates catcher Mike McKenry was unable to field the pitch. On May 1, 2012, Bucknor was forced to leave the Pirates-Cardinals game after suffering an undisclosed injury.

With two out in the top of the 8th inning of the Rockies-Dodgers game, Hickox was hit with a foul ball that deflected off of Rockies batter Jordan Pacheco's bat; the pitch from Dodgers pitcher Jose Dominguez was clocked at 99 miles-per-hour. Hickox remained in the game after the hit and after a mid-inning meeting with crewmates Jeff Nelson, Cory Blaser and crew chief Jim Joyce.

Hickox previously was struck in the jaw by a foul ball on May 14, 2005 while wearing a "sample" Wilson mask, suffering an inner ear injury including concussion and several broken bones in the process. Hickox's lawsuit against Wilson alleged the company failed to tell Hickox his "sample" product had not been tested in the same fashion Wilson used to test other hockey face masks. He was awarded $775,000 as a result of that suit. On April 18, 2009, Hickox suffered an alleged concussion and left ear injury after another foul ball to the face.

Friday, July 12, 2013

MLB Ejection 093: Dan Bellino (4; Mike Matheny)

HP Umpire Dan Bellino ejected Cardinals Manager Mike Matheny following the final out of the Cardinals-Cubs game. With two out and two on, Cardinals batter Jon Jay hit a 1-2 fastball from Cubs pitcher Kevin Gregg to
Matheny yells at Bellino as Bell runs in and
Cubs security looks on in amazement.
left fielder Alfonso Soriano for the final out of the game. As Bellino walked past the first base dugout towards the umpire's dressing room, which at Wrigley Field, is accessed via the visitors' dugout, Matheny confronted Bellino about a strikeout to begin the inning. Though the call itself was not in question, Matheny apparently did not agree with Bellino's situation handling in removing his mask to warn batter Matt Adams after Adams argued the strike three call. At the time of the ejection, the game was over and the Cubs had won, 3-0.

This is Dan Bellino (2)'s fourth ejection of 2013.
Dan Bellino now has 12 points in the UEFL (10 + 2 + 0 = 12).
Crew Chief Wally Bell now has 4 points in the UEFL's Crew Division (3 Previous + 1 Irrecusable = 4).

This is the 93rd ejection of the 2013 MLB season.
This is the 43rd Manager ejection of 2013.
This the Cardinals' 3rd ejection of 2013, T-2nd in the NL Central (PIT 6; CHC, STL 3; MIL 2; CIN 0).
This is Mike Matheny's 2nd ejection of 2013 and first since June 2, 2013 (Clint Fagan; QOC = Y).
This is Dan Bellino's first ejection since May 24, 2013 (Brett Lawrie, John Gibbons; QOC = Y).
This is the first post-game ejection since June 5, 2013 (Tony Randazzo of Mike Aviles; QOC = U).

Wrap: St. Louis Cardinals vs. Chicago Cubs, 7/11/13
Video: Following the final out, Matheny confronts Bellino, is tossed and has to be restrained (STL)

Thursday, July 11, 2013

Roster: 2013 MLB All-Star Game Umpires

MLB has announced the umpires for the 2013 All-Star Game to be held on July 16 at Citi Field in New York:

HP: John Hirschbeck -cc: Working his third All-Star Game (1989, 2004), Hirschbeck will serve as crew chief for just the first time. Hirschbeck has worked eight Division Series, four League Championship Series and three World Series. This is his first special event since returning to baseball this spring after recovering from testicular cancer. 

1B: Wally Bell: Third All-Star Game (1997, 2007). Bell has worked six Division Series (1998, 99, 2003-04, 06, 12), foul League Championship Series (2000, 01, 05, 10) and the 2006 World Series. Also worked the 2013 World Baseball Classic Championship Round in San Francisco. 

2B: Larry Vanover: Second All-Star Game (1999). Vanover has worked the 2006 AL Division Series and 2007 NL Championship Series. 

3B: Paul Emmel: Second All-Star Game (2002). Emmel has worked seven Division Series (2002-03, 06, 08-10, 12) and the 2007 AL Championship Series. Also worked the 2009 World Baseball Classic Championship Round in Los Angeles. 

LF: Rob Drake: First All-Star Game. Worked the 2010 NL Division Series, 2012 NL Wild Card Game and 2012 AL Championship Series. 

RF: Chad Fairchild: First All-Star Game. Worked two Division Series (2011, 12).

MLB Ejection 091, 092: C Fairchild (3, 4; Putkonen, Leyland)

HP Umpire Chad Fairchild ejected Tigers pitcher Luke Putkonen and Manager Jim Leyland for throwing at White Sox batter Alexei Ramirez in the top of the 6th inning of the White Sox-Tigers game. With two out and none on, Ramirez took a 0-0 sinker from Putkonen high and inside for ball one. Warnings were not previously been issued after Tigers batter Prince Fielder was nearly hit by a pitch by Chris Sale while White Sox batter Josh Phegley hit a grand slam prior to Ramirez's at bat, the call was irrecusable. At the time of the ejection, the White Sox were leading, 5-3. The White Sox ultimately won the contest, 6-3.

These are Chad Fairchild (75)'s third and fourth ejections of 2013.
Chad Fairchild now has 12 points in the UEFL (8 Previous + 2*[2 MLB + 0 Irrecusable] = 12).
Crew Chief Jeff Kellogg now has 6 points in the UEFL's Crew Division (4 Previous + 2 Irrecusable = 6).

These are the 91st and 92nd ejections of the 2013 MLB season.
This is the 41st player ejection of 2013. Prior to his ejection, Putkonen's line was 0.1 IP, 0 H, 0 R.
This is the 42nd Manager ejection of 2013.
This the Tigers' 2nd/3rd ejections of 2013, T-2nd in the AL Central (CLE 5; DET, KC 3; CWS, MIN 1).
This is Luke Putkonen's first career ejection.
This is Jim Leyland's first ejection since September 16, 2012 (Brian Knight; QOC = Y).
This is Chad Fairchild's first ejection since April 20, 2013 (Cody Ross, Kirk Gibson; QOC = Y).

Wrap: Chicago White Sox vs. Detroit Tigers, 7/11/13
Video: After Ramirez is thrown behind, benches clear in Detroit; Hawk on the call (CWS)

Wednesday, July 10, 2013

Case Play 2013-06: Foul Bunt with Two Strikes (Completed)

Lightning Case Play: Foul Bunt with Two Strikes. With two out and a 2-2 count in the 9th inning of the final game of the season, a pitcher throwing in his last career game is sitting on 1,999 career strikeouts. On his final pitch of the game, the batter pops up a bunt into foul territory that is caught behind home plate by the catcher, three outs and game over.

Does the pitcher finish his career with 2,000 strikeouts because a foul bunt is a strike pursuant to Rule 2.00 [Strike] ("a strike is a legal pitch...which (d) is bunted foul") or is he stuck at 1,999 because the fly ball was caught by a fielder pursuant to Rule 6.05(a) ("A batter is out when his fair or foul fly legally caught by a fielder")? Does the existence of Rule 6.05(d) change things ("he bunts foul on third strike")?

Related Play: Diamondbacks-Dodgers, 7/10/13, Cody Ross bunted a foul pop fly with a two-strike count.
Clue: Gary Rausch [from Arizona] would know the answer to this question. So would Don Hartack [from LA].

*A lightning case play is a "simple" scenario worth one point. This case play expires Thursday at 11:59 pm.

Correct Answer: The play is ruled a caught foul bunt, the pitcher is left with 1,999 career strikeouts. Rule 10.15(a)(4): "The official scorer shall score a strikeout whenever a batter: bunts foul on a third strike, unless such bunt on a third strike results in a foul fly caught by any fielder, in which case the official scorer shall not score a strikeout and shall credit the fielder who catcher such foul fly with a putout."

Correct Responses by: 2dub, Boredcravens, BT_Blue, BullMeechum, Cdbees, Chris Silvestri, cyclone14, DawgDays, DD4D, gkiewitt, Gregoryakoch, kickersrule, JaxRolo, majessa, Moe, NorthStarUmpire#2, RadioPearl, Red @ss Ump, RichMSN, rgoldar2, ryanrrobbins, SJR, toss 'em, Turducken, UmpsRule.

Mound Visit Madness and MLB Rule 8.06(c)

Mound visits and pitching changes have confounded MLB in recent years, capitulated by a 16th-inning snafu Monday night—or Tuesday morning (the game ended after 16 full on Tuesday at 12:45 am).

This week's episode of mound visit madness occurred during Monday's Mets-Giants game with Giants relief pitcher George Kontos throwing in the top of the 16th. With one out, Kontos surrendered a single to Mets batter Eric Young Jr., prompting a mound visit from San Francisco pitching coach Dave Righetti as Daniel Murphy stepped to the plate and reliever Javier Lopez began to warm in the Giants' bullpen. After Young stole second and with Murphy still at bat, Giants manager Bruce Bochy attempted to substitute Lopez for Kontos, resulting in the second mound visit of the inning, not to mention the at bat.

Bochy strolls to the mound at AT&T Park.
Pursuant to OBR Rule 8.06(c), "The manager or coach is prohibited from making a second visit to the mound while the same batter is at bat" unless a pinch-hitter is substituted for the batter, which nonetheless would require a pitching change for a second mound visit to the same pitcher in the same inning, as in 8.06(b).

Rule 8.06 Comment specifies that, if after a first visit in the same inning with the same pitcher in the game and the same batter at bat, the manager attempts to make a second visit in contravention of Rule 8.06(c), the umpire shall warn him that he cannot return to the mound and if after being warned, the manager still makes that second such visit, "the manager shall be removed from the game and the pitcher required to pitch to the batter until he is retired or gets on base."

During Mets-Giants, Bochy made this second visit and by rule, Kontos was properly replaced by Lopez after Murphy grounded out to advance the winning run—Young—to third base...though Bochy was not "removed from the game" as in Rule 8.06 Comment. One theory as to why Bochy was permitted to remain in the game is that the umpires—HP Umpire Adam Hamari and Acting Crew Chief Bill Miller along with 2B Umpire Todd Tichenor and 3B Umpire CB Bucknor—did not warn Bochy about the impending Rule 8.06(c) violation prior to his second visit.

This is not Bochy's first multiple mound visit rodeo in California.

Mattingly turns around for prohibited visit #2.
(Video): On July 21, 2010, Bochy protested a 9th inning visit by Dodgers acting skipper Don Mattingly (Joe Torre had been ejected) to closer Jonathan Broxton. During that frame, Mattingly left the 18-foot circle surrounding the pitcher's rubber—concluding his mound visit pursuant to Rule 8.06(d)—before turning around to discuss the upcoming at-bat with first baseman James Loney.

In response to that sequence, MLB publicly stated that HP Umpire Adrian Johnson and Crew Chief Tim McClelland improperly applied Rule 8.06 because the umpires required Broxton to leave the game immediately instead of forcing Broxton to face batter Andres Torres and then depart. Reliever George Sherrill allowed a game-winning two-run double to Torres and MLB's statement suggested that had the Dodgers protested the game (they did not), the protest may have been upheld.

In May, Mike Scioscia and the Angels protested after umpires improperly allowed Houston to remove pitcher Wesley Wright without Wright having thrown a single pitch. Because the Angels ultimately won the game, the protest was dropped, though the protest would have been upheld had the Angels lost. Following the game, Crew Chief Fieldin Culbreth was suspended two games while umpires Johnson, Bill Welke and Brian O'Nora were publicly fined. Coincidentally, Johnson was here, as he was in 2010, the home plate umpire.

Monday, July 8, 2013

Major League Umpiring Debut: Hal "Tripp" Gibson III

Umpire Hal "Tripp" Gibson III made his MLB debut Monday night during the Dodgers-Diamondbacks game, a 6-1 victory for Los Angeles. Gibson joined Tim McClelland's crew and umpired at second base, working alongside 3B Umpire Marvin Hudson, 1B Umpire Marty Foster and Home Plate Umpire McClelland, filling in for MLB regular Wally Bell.

Hal "Tripp" Gibson / Sthrn /Int'l Camps
Gibson has been working the 2013 season in the Pacific Coast League, which is his third full season in the PCL and as a AAA umpire. Gibson is a 2006 graduate of the Harry Wendelstedt Umpire School and was awarded the Top Student Runner-Up that year. Gibson's prior experience in Minor League Baseball includes the Gulf Coast (Rookie), New York-Penn (Short A), South Atlantic (A), California (A), Florida State (A), Eastern (AA) and Southern Leagues. Gibson worked the NY-Penn League Championship Series, Florida State League All-Star Game and California League playoffs, having also served as All-Star Game Crew Chief and Championship Series umpire for the Southern League in 2010.

Gibson will serve as the home plate umpire for the 2013 Triple-A All-Star Game, to be held on July 17 in Reno, Nevada (Aces) and televised on MLB Network, joining 1B Umpire Chad Whitson (IL), 2B Umpire Chris Segal (PCL) and 3B Umpire Brad Myers (IL).

Gibson resides in Washington (formerly Missouri, Arizona then Montana; native to Mayfield, Kentucky) and wears the sleeve uniform number 73. Gibson, who makes his MLB debut at the age of 32, holds a bachelor's degree in Art Education from Murray State University and serves as a substitute teacher during the offseason.

Sunday, July 7, 2013

MLB Ejection 090: Doug Eddings (1; B.J. Upton)

HP Umpire Doug Eddings ejected Braves CF B.J. Upton for arguing a strike three call in the top of the 5th inning of the Braves-Phillies game. With none out and two on, Upton took a 1-2 changeup from Phillies pitcher Jonathan Pettibone for a called third strike. Replays indicate the pitch was located thigh high and over the
Upton & Fredi Gonzalez confront Ump Eddings.
outer half of home plate (px 0.660) and that all pitches during the at bat were properly officiated (the strike one pitch, px 0.156), the call was correct. At the time of the ejection, the Phillies were leading, 4-0. The Phillies ultimately won the contest, 7-3.

This is Doug Eddings (88)'s 1st ejection of 2013.
Doug Eddings now has 4 points in the UEFL (2 MLB + 2 Y = 4).
Crew Chief Dana DeMuth now has 5 points in the UEFL's Crew Division (4 Previous + 1 Correct Call = 5).

This is the 90th ejection of 2013.
This is the 40th player ejection of 2013. Prior to his ejection, Upton was 0-2 in the contest.
This is the Braves' 5th ejection of 2013, 1st in the NL East (ATL 5; NYM 4; MIA PHI, WAS 2).
This is B.J. Upton's 2nd ejection of 2013 and first since April 19, 2013 (Sam Holbrook; QOC = Y).
This is Doug Eddings' first ejection since June 8, 2012 (Kevin Youkilis; QOC = Y).

Wrap: Atlanta Braves vs. Philadelphia Phillies, 7/7/13
Video: After being called out on strikes with RISP, Upton yells and gets tossed from the dugout (ATL)

Rule 6.07: Batting Out of Order, Timely Appeal Cost Giants

After a timely batting out of order appeal from the Dodgers, umpires ruled the Giants out of a run in the 1st inning of Saturday's rivalry game by the bay marking the first successful batting out of order appeal for the Dodgers since May 21, 1994 when Brian Dorsett and Bret Boone's order was reversed, ultimately resulting in a Dorsett walk and John Roper (proper batter) ruled out when appealed by Dodgers manager Tommy Lasorda. Though Reds Manager Davey Johnson protested the game, the protest was denied as the umpires ruled the situation correctly.

With one out and one on, the third Giants batter of the day, Buster Posey, hit an RBI double to right field, scoring Gregor Blanco for the game's first run. Meanwhile, in the Dodgers dugout, bench coach Trey Hillman noticed something awry.
The official card had Posey as cleanup.

Posey had been entered onto the official lineup card—exchanged at home plate with the umpires prior to the game—as the fourth batter with Pablo Sandoval listed as third.

Accordingly, Hillman and Dodgers manager Don Mattingly waited until Posey's damaging base hit before addressing HP Umpire and UIC Tony Randazzo with the batting out of order appeal.

After a discussion with crew chief Brian Gorman and umpires Manny Gonzalez and Larry Vanover, Randazzo invoked Official Baseball Rule 6.07 and ruled the proper batter—Sandovalout, nullifying the improper batter's—Posey—double to the wall, sending Blanco back to third base.

Rule 6.07:
(a) A batter shall be called out, on appeal, when he fails to bat in his proper turn, and another batter completes a time at bat in his place. 
(b) When an improper batter becomes a runner or is put out, and the defensive team appeals to the umpire before the first pitch to the next batter of either team, or before any play or attempted play, the umpire shall (1) declare the proper batter out; and (2) nullify any advance or score made because of a ball batted by the improper batter or because of the improper batter's advance to first base on a hit, an error, a base on balls, a hit batter or otherwise.
Pursuant to the terms of Rule 6.07, the improper batter (Posey) could have been replaced with the proper batter (Sandoval) at any time during the at bat without penalty, a fact that lends credence to the characterization of the Dodgers' appeal as "timely."

Following the Sandoval out (scored as a putout for the catcher), Posey flied out to end the inning.

This marks the first batting out of order and appealed out situation in MLB since June 19, 2010, when Marlins batter Brian Barden's 9th inning walk was wiped out and Wes Helms was declared out for the Rule 6.07 violation following Rays manager Joe Maddon's appeal to HP Umpire Lance Barksdale and crew chief Tom Hallion. This play resulted in Barksdale's ejection of Marlins skipper Fredi Gonzalez, who claimed Barksdale wrote down the Marlins' substitutions incorrectly on the lineup card (Ejections: Lance Barksdale-1).

Video: After RBI, Dodgers appeal and umpires rule the Giants out under the Batting Out of Turn rule (FOX)
Video: Don Mattingly discusses the process of appealing the batting out of order violation (FOX)
Video: Giants pitching coach Dave Righetti blames technology—of all things—for the mishap (FOX)