Sunday, September 15, 2019

MLB Ejection 209 - Bill Welke (5; Matt Joyce)

HP Umpire Bill Welke ejected Braves RF Matt Joyce (strike three call; QOCY) in the top of the 5th inning of the #Braves-#Nationals game. With none out and none on, Joyce took a 1-0 curveball from Nationals pitcher Anibal Sanchez for a called first strike and 3-2 fastball for a called third strike. Replays indicate the 1-0 pitch was located over the heart of home plate and knee-high (px -0.05, pz 1.60 [sz_bot 1.56]) and the 3-2 pitch was located over the outer edge of home plate and thigh-high (px -0.73, pz 1.91), the call was correct by 2.21 horizontal inches. At the time of the ejection, the Nationals were leading, 5-0. The Nationals ultimately won the contest, 7-0.

This is Bill Welke (3)'s fifth ejection of 2019.
Bill Welke now has 6 points in the UEFL Standings (2 Prev + 2 MLB + 2 Correct Call = 6).
Crew Chief Tim Timmons now has 6 points in Crew Division (5 Previous + 1 Correct Call = 6).
*UEFL Rule 6-2-b-1 (Kulpa Rule): |0| < STRIKE < |.748| < BORDERLINE < |.914| < BALL.

This is the 209th ejection report of 2019.
This is the 102nd player ejection of 2019. Prior to ejection, Joyce was 0-2 (SO) in the contest.
This is Atlanta's 8th ejection of 2019, 3rd in the NL East (WAS 10; PHI 9; ATL 8; MIA, NYM 5).
This is Matt Joyce's 1st ejection since June 8, 2016 (Alan Porter; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Bill Welke's 5th ejection of 2019, 1st since Sept 14 (Brian Snitker; QOC = x [Check Swing]).

Wrap: Atlanta Braves vs. Washington Nationals, 9/15/19 | Video as follows:

MLB Ejections 207-208 - Gabe Morales (Harper, Kapler)

HP Umpire Gabe Morales ejected Phillies RF Bryce Harper and Manager Gabe Kapler (strike three call; QOCN) in the bottom of the 4th inning of the #RedSox-#Phillies game. With none out and one on (R1), Harper took a 1-2 fastball from Red Sox pitcher Rick Porcello for a called third strike; he was not ejected until arguing during subsequent batter Rhys Hoskins' plate appearance. Replays indicate the pitch was located off the inner edge of home plate and thigh-high (px 0.98, pz 2.06), the call was incorrect by 0.79 horizontal inches.* At the time of the ejections, the Red Sox were leading, 5-1. The Red Sox ultimately won the contest, 6-3.

These are Gabe Morales (47)'s second and third ejections of 2019.
Gabe Morales now has 0 points in the UEFL Standings (2 Prev + 2 MLB - 4 Incorrect Call = 0).
Crew Chief Jerry Meals now has -2 points in Crew Division (-2 Previous + 0 QOCN = -2).
*UEFL Rule 6-2-b-1 (Kulpa Rule): |0| < STRIKE < |.748| < BORDERLINE < |.914| < BALL.

These are the 207th and 208th ejection reports of 2019.
This is the 101st player ejection of 2019. Prior to ejection, Harper was 0-2 (2 SO) in the contest.
This is the 94th Manager ejection of 2019.
This is Philadelphia's 8/9th ejection of 2019, 2nd in the NL East (WAS 10; PHI 9; ATL 7; MIA, NYM 5).
This is Bryce Harper's 2nd ejection of 2019, 1st since April 22 (Mark Carlson; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Gabe Krapler's 4th ejection of 2019, 1st since July 16 (Chris Conroy; QOC = U [Warnings]).
This is Gabe Morales' 2/3rd ejection of 2019, 1st since April 13 (Kyle Schwarber; QOC = Y [Check Swing]).

Wrap: Boston Red Sox vs. Philadelphia Phillies, 9/15/19 | Video as follows:

Saturday, September 14, 2019

MLB Ejections 205-206 - Carlos Torres (4-5; SD)

3B Umpire Carlos Torres ejected Padres 1B Eric Hosmer and Manager Andy Green (check swing strike two call) in the top of the 5th inning of the #Padres-#Rockies game. With one out and two on (R1, R3), Hosmer attempted to check his swing on a 0-1 changeup from Rockies pitcher Peter Lambert, ruled a ball by HP Umpire Paul Nauert and a swinging second strike on appeal by 3B Umpire Carlos Torres, before grounding out two pitches later. On-Field Ruling was adjudicated by the UEFL Appeals Board (8-0), the call was correct. At the time of the ejection, the Rockies were leading, 9-5. The Rockies ultimately won the contest, 11-10.

These are Carlos Torres (37)'s fourth and fifth ejections of 2019.
Carlos Torres now has 17 points in the UEFL Standings (13 Prev + 2 MLB + 2 Correct Call = 17).
Crew Chief Paul Nauert now has 0 points in Crew Division (-1 Previous + 1 Correct Call = 0).

These are the 205th and 206th ejection reports of 2019.
This is the 100th player ejection of 2019. Prior to ejection, Hosmer was 1-2 (RBI) in the contest.
This is the 93rd Manager ejection of 2019.
This is San Diego's 7/8th ejection of 2019, 1st in the NL West (SD 8; COL 6; SF 5; ARI 4; LAD 3).
This is Eric Hosmer's 1st ejection since May 27, 2017 (Bill Welke; QOC = Y-c [Check Swing]).
This is Andy Green's 3rd ejection of 2019, 1st since June 15 (Bill Welke; QOC = U [USC-NEC]).
This is Carlos Torres' 4/5th ejection of 2019, 1st since July 19 (David Bell; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).

Wrap: San Diego Padres vs. Colorado Rockies, 9/14/19 | Video as follows:

MLB Ejection 204 - Chris Guccione (2; Dale Sveum)

HP Umpire Chris Guccione ejected Royals Bench Coach Dale Sveum (ball two call; QOCN) in the top of the 2nd inning of the #Astros-#Royals game. With none out and none on, Astros batter Alex Bregman took a 1-0 sinker from Royals pitcher Mike Montgomery for a called second ball before taking a 3-1 sinker for a called fourth ball. Replays indicate the 1-0 pitch was located over the heart of home plate and above the hollow of the knee (px -0.09, pz 1.73 [sz_bot 1.55 / MOE 1.63] [sz_bot 1.54 / MOE 1.62]) while the 3-1 pitch was located off the inner edge of home plate and thigh-high (px -0.82, pz 2.54), the call was incorrect.* At the time of the ejection, the game was tied, 0-0. The Astros ultimately won the contest, 6-1.

This is Chris Guccione (68)'s second ejection of 2019.
Chris Guccione now has -4 points in the UEFL Standings (-2 Prev + 2 MLB - 4 Incorrect Call = -4).
Crew Chief Mike Everitt now has 4 points in Crew Division (4 Previous + 0 Incorrect Call = 4).
*The 1-0 pitch was located 1.20 1.32 vertical inches from being deemed a correct call.
Overnight processing changed Bregman's sz_bot value from 1.55 to 1.54 (-0.12 inches).

This is the 204th ejection report of 2019.
This is Kansas City's 11th ejection of 2019, T-1st in the AL Central (CWS, DET, KC 11; MIN 4; CLE 1).
This is Dale Sveum's 2nd ejection of 2019, 1st since April 17 (Joe West; QOC = U [Fighting]).
This is Chris Guccione's 2nd ejection of 2019, 1st since June 22 (Gabe Kapler; QOC = N-c [Check Swing]).

Wrap: Houston Astros vs. Kansas City Royals, 9/14/19 | Video as follows:

MLB Ejection 203 - Bill Welke (4; Brian Snitker)

1B Umpire Bill Welke ejected Braves Manager Brian Snitker (check swing/bunt dead ball strike one call) in the top of the 7th inning of the #Braves-#Nationals game. With none out and two on (R1, R2), Braves batter Charlie Culberson squared to bunt a 0-0 fastball from Nationals pitcher Fernando Rodney as the pitch traveled inside and struck Culberson in the face, ruled a HBP by HP Umpire Timmons and a bunt attempt/dead ball strike on appeal by 1B Umpire Welke; the relevant rule is Definition of Terms [Bunt]: "A BUNT is a batted ball not swung at, but intentionally met with the bat and tapped slowly within the infield"; if the batter has intended to meet the ball with the bat, it is a missed bunt; if the batter has struck at the ball and missed, it is a swinging strike; otherwise it is officiated as to the result of the pitch (ball/strike/HBP/foul ball/etc).* On-Field Ruling was adjudicated by the UEFL Appeals Board (0-8), the call was incorrect. At the time of the ejection, the game was tied, 1-1. The Braves ultimately won the contest, 10-1.

This is Bill Welke (3)'s fourth ejection of 2019.
Bill Welke now has 2 points in the UEFL Standings (4 Prev + 2 MLB - 4 Incorrect Call = 2).
Crew Chief Tim Timmons now has 5 points in Crew Division (5 Previous + 0 QOCN = 5).
*Related PostAsk UEFL - Foul Bunt or Ball Fouled Away? (8/29/18).
Related: Marlins' Giancarlo Stanton injured during swing & miss in Milwaukee (9/11/14).

This is the 203rd ejection report of 2019.
This is the 92nd Manager ejection of 2019.
This is Atlanta's 7th ejection of 2019, T-2nd in the NL East (WAS 10; ATL, PHI 7; MIA, NYM 5).
This is Brian Snitker's 4th ejection of 2019, 1st since August 20 (Mark Wegner; QOC = U [Warnings]).
This is Bill Welke's 4th ejection of 2019, 1st since June 15 (Manny Machado; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).

Wrap: Atlanta Braves vs. Washington Nationals, 9/14/19 | Video as follows:

MLB Ejections 201-202 - Alfonso Marquez (5-6; CHC)

HP Umpire Alfonso Marquez ejected Cubs pitcher Dillon Maples and Manager Joe Maddon (throwing at Pirates batter Erik Gonzalez after warnings; QOCU) in the top of the 9th inning of the #Pirates-#Cubs game. With one out and none on, Pirates batter Elias Diaz was hit by a pitch after which subsequent batter Gonzalez took a 3-1 curveball from Maples for a hit-by-pitch. Replays indicate the pitch struck Gonzlaez in the left shoulder; warnings had previously been issued when Cubs batter David Bote was hit by a pitch from Pirates pitcher Clay Holmes in the 6th inning, the call was irrecusable (there is a relevant history, see Heads Up).* At the time of the ejections, the Cubs were leading, 14-1. The Cubs ultimately won the contest, 14-1.

These are Alfonso Marquez (72)'s fifth and sixth ejections of 2019.
Alfonso Marquez now has 12 points in the UEFL Standings (8 Prev + 2*[2 MLB + 0 QOCU] = 12).
Crew Chief Alfonso Marquez now has 9 points in Crew Division (7 Previous + 2*[1 Irrecusable] = 9).
Heads UpMLB Ejection 111 - Joe West (6; Joe Maddon) (7/4/19).

These are the 201st and 202nd ejections of 2019.
This is the 99th player ejection of 2019. Prior to ejection, Maples' line was 0.1 IP, 2 HBP.
This is the 91st Manager ejection of 2019.
This is Chicago's 8/9th ejection of 2019, 3rd in the NL Central (CIN 23; PIT 12; CHC 9; MIL 8; STL 3).
This is Dillon Maples' first career MLB ejection.
This is Joe Maddon's 3rd ejection of 2019, 1st since July 4 (Joe West; QOC = U [USC-NEC]).
This is Alfonso Marquez's 5/6th ejection of 2019, 1st since August 19 (Ron Gardenhire; QOC = U [Pace of Play]).

Wrap: Pittsburgh Pirates vs. Chicago Cubs, 9/14/19 | Video as follows:

Friday, September 13, 2019

MLB Ejections 199-200 - Lance Barrett (3-4; KC)

HP Umpire Lance Barrett ejected Royals LF Alex Gordon and Manager Ned Yost (strike three call; QOCY) in the bottom of the 7th inning of the #Astros-#Royals. With one out and none on, Gordon took a 1-0 fastball from Astros pitcher Gerrit Cole for a called first strike and 2-2 fastball for a called third strike. Replays indicate the 1-0 pitch was located over the inner edge of home plate and thigh-high (px 0.84, pz 1.88) and the 2-2 pitch was located over the inner half of home plate and at the hollow of the knee (px 0.64, pz 1.64 [sz_bot 1.61]), the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the Astros were leading, 1-0. The Astros ultimately won the contest, 4-1.

These are Lance Barrett (94)'s third and fourth ejections of 2019.
Lance Barrett now has 12 points in the UEFL Standings (8 Prev + 2 MLB + 2 Correct Call = 12).
Crew Chief Mike Everitt now has 4 points in Crew Division (3 Previous + 1 Correct Call = 4).
*UEFL Rule 6-2-b-1 (Kulpa Rule): |0| < STRIKE < |.748| < BORDERLINE < |.914| < BALL.
The 1-0 pitch was located 0.89 horizontal inches from being deemed an incorrect call.
The 2-2 pitch was located 2.83 vertical inches from being deemed an incorrect call.

These are the 199th and 200th ejection reports of the 2019 MLB season.
This is the 90th Manager ejection of 2019.
This is the 98th player ejection of 2019. Prior to ejection, Gordon was 0-3 (2 SO) in the contest.
This is Kansas City's 9/10th ejection of 2019, 3rd in the AL Central (CWS, DET 11; KC 10; MIN 4; CLE 1).
This is Alex Gordon's 1st ejection since August 7, 2011 (Rob Drake; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Ned Yost's 4th ejection of 2019, 1st since August 13 (Greg Gibson; QOC = Y-c [RLI]).
This is Lance Barrett's 3/4th ejection of 2019, 1st since Sept 3 (Brandon Hyde; QOC = Y [Check Swing]).

Wrap: Houston Astros vs. Kansas City Royals, 9/13/19 | Video as follows:

MLB Ejection 198 - Tim Timmons (3; Tim Bogar)

1B Umpire Tim Timmons ejected Nationals 1B Coach Tim Bogar (check swing strike two call) in the bottom of the 8th inning of the #Braves-#Nationals game. With one out and one on (R2), Nationals batter Howie Kendrick attempted to check his swing on a 2-1 fastball from Braves pitcher Shane Greene, ruled a ball by HP Umpire Rob Drake and a swinging strike on appeal by 1B Umpire Timmons, before grounding out. On-Field Ruling was reviewed and adjudicated by the UEFL Appeals Board (8-0), the call was correct. At the time of the ejection, the Braves were leading, 5-0. The Braves ultimately won the contest, 5-0.

This is Tim Timmons (95)'s third ejection of 2019.
Tim Timmons now has 9 points in the UEFL Standings (5 Prev + 2 MLB + 2 Correct Call = 9).
Crew Chief Tim Timmons now has 6 points in Crew Division (5 Previous + 1 Correct Call = 9).

This is the 198th ejection report of the 2019 MLB regular season.
This is Washington's 10th ejection of 2019, 1st in the NL East (WAS 10; PHI 7; ATL 6; MIA, NYM 5).
This is Tim Bogar's first career MLB ejection.
This is Tim Timmons' 3rd ejection of 2019, 1st since Sept 1 (Yasmani Grandal; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).

Wrap: Atlanta Braves vs. Washington Nationals, 9/13/19 | Video as follows:

Thursday, September 12, 2019

MLB Ejection 197 - Mike Muchlinski (2; Chris Woodward)

HP Umpire Mike Muchlinski ejected Rangers Manager Chris Woodward (ball two call; QOCY) in the top of the 7th inning of the #Rays-#Rangers game. With one out and none on, Rays batter Ji-Man Choi took a 0-2 slider from Rangers pitcher Jonathan Hernandez for ball one and 1-2 changeup from Hernandez for ball two. Replays indicate the 0-2 pitch was located off the edge of the right-handed batter's box and below the midpoint (px -1.83, pz 2.97 [sz_top 3.30]) and the 1-2 pitch was located off the outer edge of home plate and thigh-high (px -1.32, pz 1.93 [sz_bot 1.59]), the call was correct. At the time of the ejection, the Rangers were leading, 5-4. The Rangers ultimately won the contest, 6-4.

This is Mike Muchlinski (76)'s second ejection of 2019.
Mike Muchlinski now has 14 points in the UEFL Standings (10 Prev + 2 MLB + 2 Correct Call = 14).
Crew Chief Tim Timmons now has 5 points in Crew Division (4 Previous + 1 Correct Call = 5).
*UEFL Rule 6-2-b-1 (Kulpa Rule): |0| < STRIKE < |.748| < BORDERLINE < |.914| < BALL.
The 1-2 pitch was located 6.86 horizontal inches from being deemed an incorrect call.

This is the 197th ejection report of the 2019 MLB regular season.
This is the 89th Manager ejection of 2019.
This is Texas' 5th ejection of 2019, T-3rd in the AL West (OAK, SEA 6; HOU, TEX 5; LAA 4).
This is Chris Woodward's 3rd ejection of 2019, 1st since July 27 (Sean Barber; QOC = U [Throwing At]).
This is Mike Muchlinski's 2nd ejection of 2019, 1st since June 30 (Torey Lovullo; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).

Wrap: Tampa Bay Rays vs. Texas Rangers, 9/12/19 | Video as follows:

MLB Ejection 196 - Ramon De Jesus (3; Wil Myers)

HP Umpire Ramon De Jesus ejected Padres CF Wil Myers (strike two call; QOCY) in the bottom of the 9th inning of the #Cubs-#Padres game. With none out and one on (R2), Myers took a 1-0 fastball from Cubs pitcher Rowan Wick for a called first strike and 1-1 fastball from Wick for a called second strike. Replays indicate the 1-0 pitch was located over the outer half of home plate and thigh-high (px 0.53, pz 2.10), while the 1-1 pitch was located over the outer edge of home plate and waist-high (px 0.82, pz 2.39), the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the Cubs were leading, 4-0. The Cubs ultimately won the contest, 4-1.

This is Ramon De Jesus (18)'s third ejection of 2019.
Ramon De Jesus now has 14 points in the UEFL Standings (10 Prev + 2 AAA + 2 Correct Call = 14).
Crew Chief Fieldin Culbreth now has 13 points in Crew Division (12 Previous + 1 Correct Call = 13).
*UEFL Rule 6-2-b-1 (Kulpa Rule): |0| < STRIKE < |.748| < BORDERLINE < |.914| < BALL.
The 1-1 pitch was located 1.13 horizontal inches from being deemed an incorrect call.

This is the 196th ejection report of the 2019 MLB regular season.
This is the 97th player ejection of 2019. Prior to ejection, Myers was 0-4 (3 SO) in the contest.
This is San Diego's 6th ejection of 2019, T-1st in the NL West (COL, SD 6; SF 5; ARI 4; LAD 3).
This is Wil Myers' first career MLB ejection.
This is Ramon De Jesus' 3rd ejection of 2019, 1st since July 23 (James Rowson; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).

Wrap: Chicago Cubs vs. San Diego Padres, 9/12/19 | Video as follows:

Injury Scout - Gerry Davis Rocked Out of Game

Gerry Davis exited Thursday's matinee assignment in Colorado after a foul ball knocked his mask off.

During Thursday afternoon's Cardinals-Rockies game, Rockies batter Josh Fuentes fouled a 92-mph 1-2 fastball from Cardinals pitcher Miles Mikolas into the lower jaw portion of Davis' traditional-style facemask. Davis immediately exited the game following a visit from the Rockies training staff.

1B Umpire Brennan Miller took over for Davis calling balls and strikes with 2B Umpire Brian Knight assuming Crew Chief duties and sliding to first base with 3B Umpire Pat Hoberg at third.

Relevant Injury History: There is no recent relevant head injury history.

Last Game: September 12 | Return to Play: TBD | Time Absent: TBD | Video as follows:

Braves' Donaldson Called for Retired Batter's INT

After Braves batter Josh Donaldson swung and missed at a 3-2 pitch in Philadelphia, HP Umpire Ted Barrett ruled baserunner Freddie Freeman out for Donaldson’s interference on Phillies catcher JT Realmuto. Was this the correct call? Why or why not?

The Play: With one out and one on (R1), Donaldson struck out swinging on a 3-2 pitch as baserunner R1 Freddie Freeman attempted to steal second base. As Phillies catcher JT Realmuto threw to second base, he interacted with Donaldson in the batter's box, drawing an interference call from HP Umpire Barrett.

The Rule: There are two potential rule at play here: Official Baseball Rule 6.03(a)(3) and 6.01(a)(5). OBR 6.03 pertains to illegal action by the batter: "A batter is out for illegal action when—He interferes with the catcher’s fielding or throwing by stepping out of the batter’s box or making any other movement that hinders the catcher’s play at home base."

We analyze this from both rules' perspectives.
Because Donaldson was already out on the strikeout, OBR 6.03(a)(3) does not apply. Instead, it is Rule 6.01(a)(5) pertaining to a retired batter which rules the day: "It is interference when—Any batter or runner who has just been put out, or any runner who has just scored, hinders or impedes any following play being made on a runner. Such runner shall be declared out for the interference of his teammate."

Call & Analysis: The batter’s box is not a safe haven, especially under the retired batter’s rule which makes no reference to a batter’s box. Instead, the standard is whether a batter or recently-retired batter’s movements have hindered the catcher.

Nonetheless, Donaldson is a RETIRED BATTER and his movement, albeit unintentional, nonetheless constitutes interference. He isn't protected just because he remained in the batter's box.

What Atlanta Thinks Happened: The Braves broadcast featured the phrase: "Donaldson did not move."

Umpire Ted Barrett observes the interference.
What that refers to is a batter who swings and, after swinging, stays still in the box and is run into by the throwing catcher or something of the sort. In that case, it is NOT interference, for the batter has not made a movement ("did not move") to hinder the catcher.

What Actually Happened: Instead, after Donaldson's swing-and-a-miss, he stumbles and falls to his right (toward home plate), where he makes contact with the catcher (albeit unintentionally), and thanks in part to the catcher's own movement to and beyond the front of home plate; however, we know that the catcher got to his spot first, by virtue of Donaldson stepping on top of the catcher's foot.

The rule favors the defense here (especially with a retired batter) and allows the catcher an opportunity to make an unimpeded play.

Gil's Call: This was a popular Ask the UEFL request. I understand Atlanta's argument. Nothing about this was remotely intentional (but it doesn't have to be). Donaldson is falling and happens to fall into the catcher, who in turn may be gamesmanship-ing his way into a call. But Donaldson's foot being on top of Realmuto's seals the deal for me. The catcher got there first, so the batter's movements have hindered him by virtue of stepping on top of JT's plant foot. The batter's box is not a safe space.

Had Donaldson not moved (as depicted by the ATL broadcasters), interference would be an incorrect ruling. But because Donaldson did move, however slightly, unintentionally, solely because he was off-balance, or otherwise, this is an interfering (hindering/impeding) act and the proper call is made.

And at the end of the day, I suppose that's the difference between the team (ATL) and the umpire: Atlanta held that Donaldson "did not move" whereas replays clearly indicate that he did move.

Video as follows:

Wednesday, September 11, 2019

MLB Ejection 195 - John Libka (3; Scott Servais)

HP Umpire John Libka ejected Mariners Manager Scott Servais (backswing interference no-call; QOCN) in the bottom of the 9th inning of the #Reds-#Mariners game. With two out and the bases loaded, Reds batter Derek Dietrich attempted to check his swing on a 0-2 slider from Mariners pitcher Anthony Bass, ruled a ball and called a swinging third strike on appeal by 3B Umpire Paul Nauert. The ball got away from Mariners catcher Omar Narvaez and all Reds runners advanced on the dropped third strike.

Replays indicate that after missing at the pitch, the ball bounced off Narvaez and caromed off batter Dietrich's bat on the backswing, whereupon the ball escaped into the area between home plate and the first base dugout; this is unintentional follow-through contact (aka "backswing interference"), the proper remedy for which is a dead ball strike (this would have ended the game), the call was incorrect. Original Ruling was reviewed and affirmed by the UEFL Appeals Board (7-0), the call was incorrect. At the time of the ejection, the Mariners were leading, 5-3. The Mariners ultimately won the contest, 5-3.

Gil's Call/Analysis: Rule 6.03(a)(3) Comment has this as backswing interference: dead ball strike. If corrected, this results in strike three for Dietrich, who is out to end the game. Remember, backswing interference (follow-through contact at the NFHS level) applies to the bat hitting both the catcher and the baseball behind the batter after he swings and misses at a pitch.
Related PostCase Play 2016-1, The Dropped Third Strike [Solved] (3/31/16).

The umpires were put in a terrible position because MLB does not allow issues such as backswing interference to be reviewed. Because the umpires could not refer to Replay Review, when the T-Mobile Park entertainment production crew ran the instant replay on the outfield video board, this more than anything else caused Servais' ejection as Seattle's skipper reignited his argument and forced Libka to eject him for referencing having seen a video replay that purportedly (definitely, in this case) contradicted an umpire's on-field ruling.

It's one thing to look at the replay and say that Libka missed this because he was looking toward third base at U3 Nauert for the check swing, an issue that can be rectified if the plate umpire stays engaged with the uncaught third strike a tick longer (remember the phrase voluntary strike on a potential uncaught third strike situation, which means the base umpire who judges "swing" should be ready to give an out signal immediately upon the pitch bouncing in the dirt—the word "voluntary" means the base umpire should make a call regardless of whether the plate umpire has formally appealed to him [it's treated as an implied appeal play, as in...the appeal would happen eventually anyway, and time is of the essence on a potential uncaught third strike]. The reason voluntary strike exists is precisely because the plate umpire *still has* responsibilities at home plate on an uncaught third strike play).

And of course, get together with your entire crew if there is any doubt (we do see Libka walking toward the infield before Seattle's broadcast begins showing a series of replays).

Yet in my mind, what caused Servais to get himself thrown out of this game was seeing the video on the stadium big screen, and the umpires entirely unable to do anything about the missed call due to Replay Review rules that prohibit such remediation.

This is John Libka (84)'s third ejection of 2019.
John Libka now has 5 points in the UEFL Standings (7 Prev + 2 AAA - 4 Incorrect Call = 5).
Crew Chief Paul Nauert now has -1 points in Crew Division (-1 Previous + 0 Incorrect Call = -1).
*Official Baseball Rule 6.03(a)(3) Comment states, "If a batter strikes at a ball and misses and swings so hard he carries the bat all the way around and, in the umpire's judgment, unintentionally hits the catcher or the ball in back of him on the backswing, it shall be called a strike only (not interference). The ball will be dead, however, and no runner shall advance on the play."

This is the 195th ejection report of the 2019 MLB regular season.
This is the 88th Manager ejection of 2019.
This is Seattle's 6th ejection of 2019, T-1st in the AL West (OAK, SEA 6; HOU 5; LAA, TEX 4).
This is Scott Servais' 3rd ejection of 2019, 1st since June 15 (Carlos Torres; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is John Libka's 3rd ejection of 2019, 1st since August 21 (Jesus Aguilar; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).

Wrap: Cincinnati Reds vs. Seattle Mariners, 9/11/19 | Video as follows:

MLB Ejection 194 - Dan Bellino (2; James McCann)

HP Umpire Dan Bellino ejected White Sox PH James McCann (ball two call; QOCY) in the top of the 9th inning of the #Royals-#WhiteSox game. With two out and two on in the 8th (R1, R2), McCann took a 0-0 slider from Royals pitcher Tim Hill for a called first strike before striking out two pitches later. In the 9th, Royals leadoff batter Brett Phillips took a 1-2 changeup from White Sox pitcher Hector Santiago for a called second ball. Replays indicate the pitch was located off the outer edge of home plate and above the knee (px -0.99, pz 1.83 [sz_bot 1.65]), the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the Royals were leading, 8-6. The Royals ultimately won the contest, 8-6.

This is Dan Bellino (2)'s second ejection of 2019.
Dan Bellino now has 11 points in the UEFL Standings (7 Prev + 2 MLB + 2 Correct Call = 11).
Crew Chief Alfonso Marquez now has 9 points in Crew Division (8 Previous + 1 QOCY = 9).
*UEFL Rule 6-2-b-1 (Kulpa Rule): |0| < STRIKE < |.748| < BORDERLINE < |.914| < BALL.
This pitch was located 2.90 horizontal inches from being deemed an incorrect call.
^Pursuant to UEFL rules, the 0-0 pitch in the eighth inning (4.6 inches from .914) is prohibited from QOC consideration because the ejection occurred in the 9th inning following a contested pitch to an opposing player.

This is the 194th ejection report of the 2019 MLB regular season.
This is the 96th player ejection of 2019. Prior to ejection, McCann was 0-1 (SO) in the contest.
This is Chicago's 11th ejection of 2019, T-1st in the AL Central (CWS, DET 11; KC 8; MIN 4; CLE 1).
This is James McCann's 1st ejection since Sept 13, 2017 (Quinn Wolcott; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Dan Bellino's 2nd ejection of 2019, 1st since April 11 (Brian Snitker; QOC = Y [Check Swing]).

Wrap: Kansas City Royals vs. Chicago White Sox, 9/11/19 | Video as follows:

Injury Scout - Emmel Out in SF on Pair of Hits

Paul Emmel left his game in San Francisco after being struck by a pair of pitches behind home plate.

During Tuesday's Pirates-Giants game, Kevin Pillar fouled a 96-mph fastball from Pittsburgh pitcher Mitch Keller into Emmel's traditional-style facemask in the 1st inning, before another Keller pitch, to Giants batter Stephen Vogt in the 3rd inning, struck Emmel on the right wrist after a slight deflection by Pirates catcher Jacob Stallings' mitt.

2B Umpire Mike Estabrook replaced Emmel behind home plate with 1B Umpire Ryan Blakney and 3B Umpire Chad Fairchild remaining on the bases. Fairchild assumed acting crew chief duties.

Relevant Injury History: Emmel has a history of head trauma.
On February 28, 2017, Emmel was struck by a bat during Spring Training and left as a precaution.
Related PostSpring Injury - Paul Emmel Clipped by Flying Bat (2/28/17).

On June 23, 2016, Emmel received stitches after being struck in the head by a bat.
Related PostInjury - Paul Emmel Cut Badly by Flying Bat in Anaheim (6/23/16).

Last Game: September 10 | Return to Play: TBD | Time Absent: TBD | Video as follows:

Tuesday, September 10, 2019

Teachable - Base Touch with MiLB Runner Missing HP

This Tmac's Teachable Moment spies a minor league batter-runner who failed to touch home plate after a HR during the Class-A Carolina League playoffs and HP Umpire Steven Jaschinski, who spotted the infraction when Fayetteville Woodpeckers 2B Miguelangel Sierra broke up Down East Wood Ducks pitcher Sal Mendez's no-hitter with a fifth-inning fly ball over the outfield wall at SEGRA Stadium.

As the batter-runner rounded third base and trotted toward home, he leapt in the air during his final stride and, in doing so, jumped over and past home plate in celebration without physically touching the base.

HP Umpire Jaschinski's eyes were trained directly at the modified 17-inch-wide pentagon and Down East catcher Sam Huff presumably noticed the flubbed footwork as well, as the defense executed an appeal on the runner's non-touch of home after Jaschinski put the ball in play, resulting in an out and downgrading the batter-runner's home run to a triple (still breaking up the no-no, but preserving the shutout).

Umpires should ensure the appeal is proper.
It's important for our umpire-in-chief, in addition to watching for the base touch (or lack thereof) to know when the ball is dead vs alive (Jaschinski clearly indicates the dead ball becoming live again by signaling "Play!") and to wait for the pitcher to engage the mound with a new baseball before putting the ball back in play. Once the ball is live again, the pitcher must legally disengage the rubber (lest (s)he balk [if there are runner[s]] or throw an actual pitch and lose the right to appeal) and cause the base-to-be-appealed to be tagged.

In this case (in most cases), F1 Mendez threw to F2 Huff, who stepped on home plate...but a pitcher could also theoretically run with the ball and touch his own foot to the base instead...maybe for scoring purposes, a pitcher hypothetically wants the single-game putout record for pitchers? Always expect the unexpected.

Finally, after selling his call and speaking with the offense's manager (the third base coach in this MiLB game), Jaschinski makes it excruciatingly clear what has happened by motioning to the press box that the run does not count.

This Tmac's Teachable Moments analysis is brought to you by Umpire Placement Course.
Video as follows:

Travel Story of Bob Davidson's Youppi! Ejection

To celebrate the 30-year anniversary of Montreal mascot Youppi!'s ejection care of 3B Umpire Bob Davidson, we revisit a fateful 22-inning Dodgers-Expos game care of MLB.

With Los Angeles at-bat in the 11th, Manager Tommy Lasorda lodged a complaint against Youppi! for repeatedly jumping on and banging the roof of the Dodgers' third-base dugout (sound familiar, Brett Gardner?). Davidson enforced Official Baseball Rule 8.01(b) (then known as 9.01), which states, "Each umpire has authority to order a player, coach, manager or Club officer or employee to do or refrain from doing anything which affects the administering of these rules, and to enforce the prescribed penalties," and ordered Youppi! to leave the Dodgers alone.
Related PostWhy Umpire Chris Segal Ejected Brett Gardner (8/11/19).

Ejection Report: On August 23, 1989, with one out and none on in the top of the 11th inning of the Dodgers-Expos game, 3B Umpire Bob Davidson ordered the removal of mascot Youppi! for banging on the visitor's dugout. Replays indicate Youppi! successfully irritated Lasorda, the call was hilarious. At the time of the ejection, the game was tied 0-0. The Dodgers ultimately won the contest several hours later, 1-0, in 22 innings, a 6-hour, 14-minute game.
Related PostHappy Anniversary - Davidson Ejects Mascot Youppi! (8/24/18).

Bob told us the tale during his podcast episode explaining that, not only was everyone tired from the long game...it was also a travel day. Now, through the magic of video, here's Bob's story:

Monday, September 9, 2019

Ask UEFL - Who Gets a Strikeout in a Suspended AB?

This edition of Ask the UEFL concerns a suspended game between Oakland and Detroit: which batter gets the strikeout if an at-bat is interrupted by a span of days, weeks, or months?

A's pitcher Liam Hendriks faced Detroit's Josh Harrison at Comerica Park, Michigan on May 19, 2019, as rain began to fall in the bottom of the 7th inning, just as Harrison ran the count to 2-2. Crew Chief Mike Winters and HP Umpire Tim Timmons pulled the teams off the field for a weather delay that turned into a suspended game when play could not be resumed.

The game finally resumed on September 6, 2019—nearly four months later—during the two teams' final meeting of the year...in Oakland. Detroit remained the home team (albeit wearing visiting uniforms for logistics reasons) and Jordy Mercer assumed the remainder of Harrison's at-bat with Hendriks remaining on the mound for Oakland.

Mercer swung and missed at the first pitch he saw from Mercer, thus completing the four-month-long AB, but who gets the strikeout? Mercer or Harrison?

Sunday, September 8, 2019

MLB Ejections 192-193 - Roberto Ortiz (2-3; PIT x2)

HP Umpire Roberto Ortiz ejected Pirates Manager Clint Hurdle (strike two call; QOCN) and 2B Adam Frazier (strike three call; QOCY) in the bottom of the 7th inning of the #Cardinals-#Pirates game. With two out and one on (R2), Frazier took a 1-1 fastball from Cardinals pitcher Jack Flaherty for a called second strike. Replays indicate the pitch was located off the outer edge of home plate and knee-high (px -1.08, pz 1.56), the call was incorrect.* After Hurdle's ejection for arguing the strike two call, Frazier took a 1-2 fastball from Flaherty for a called third strike. Replays indicate the pitch was located over the outer half of home plate and at the hollow of the knee (px -0.42, pz 1.45 [sz_bot 1.46 / RAD 1.34]), the call was correct.^ At the time of both ejections, the Cardinals were leading, 2-0. The Cardinals ultimately won the contest, 2-0.

These are Roberto Ortiz (40)'s second and third ejections of 2019.
Roberto Ortiz now has 11 points in the UEFL Standings (9 Prev + 2*[2 AAA] - 4 QOCN + 2 QOCY = 11).
Crew Chief Ted Barrett now has 16 points in Crew Division (15 Previous + 0 QOCN + 1 QOCY = 16).
*UEFL Rule 6-2-b-1 (Kulpa Rule): |0| < STRIKE < |.748| < BORDERLINE < |.914| < BALL.
*The 1-1 pitch was located 1.99 horizontal inches from being deemed a correct call.
^The 1-2 pitch was located 2.32 vertical inches from being deemed an incorrect call.

These are the 192nd and 193rd ejection reports of the 2019 MLB regular season.
This is the 87th Manager ejection of 2019.
This is the 95th player ejection of 2019. Prior to ejection, Frazier was 0-3 (SO) in the contest.
This is Pittsburgh's 11/12th ejection of 2019, 2nd in the NL Central (CIN 23; PIT 12; MIL 8; CHC 7; STL 3).
This is Adam Frazier's first career MLB ejection.
This is Clint Hurdle's 4th ejection of 2019, 1st since July 27 (H Wendelstedt; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Roberto Ortiz's 2/3rd ejection of 2019, 1st since June 22 (Ron Gardenhire; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).

Wrap: St. Louis Cardinals vs. Pittsburgh Pirates, 9/8/19 | Video as follows:

MLB Ejections 190-191 - Mike Estabrook (12-13; WAS)

HP Umpire Mike Estabrook ejected Nationals SS Trea Turner and Manager Dave Martinez (strike three call; QOCY in the top of the 5th inning of the #Nationals-#Braves game. With none out and none on, Nationals batter Trea Turner took a 3-2 fastball from Braves pitcher Mike Soroka for a called third strike. Replays indicate the pitch was located over the outer half of home plate and at the hollow of the knee (px 0.68, pz 1.50 [sz_bot 1.59 / RAD 1.47]) and that all other pitches during the at-bat were officiated properly, the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the Nationals were leading, 4-1. The Nationals ultimately won the contest, 9-4.

These are Mike Estabrook (83)'s 12th and 13th ejections of 2019.
Mike Estabrook now has 42 points in the UEFL Standings (34 Prev + 2*[2 MLB + 2 QOCY] = 42).
Crew Chief Paul Emmel now has 9 points in Crew Division (7 Previous + 2*[1 Correct Call] = 9).
*This pitch was located 1.39 vertical inches from being deemed an incorrect call.

These are the 190th and 191st ejection report of the 2019 MLB regular season.
This is the 94th player ejection of 2019. Prior to ejection, Turner was 1-3 (2 SO) in the contest.
This is the 86th Manager ejection of 2019.
This is Washington's 8/9th ejection of 2019, 1st in the NL East (WAS 9; PHI 7; ATL 6; MIA, NYM 5).
This is Trea Turner's 1st ejection since April 5, 2018 (Doug Eddings; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Dave Martinez's 4th ejection of 2019, 1st since July 28 (Jeremie Rehak; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Mike Estabrook's 12th ejection of 2019, 1st since August 30 (Vlad Guerrero; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).

Wrap: Washington Nationals vs. Atlanta Braves, 9/8/19 | Video as follows:

Injury Scout - Jim Reynolds Removed in Baltimore

Jim Reynolds left his game in Baltimore after a lead-off HBP arm injury to start the night.

With none out and none on in the top of the first inning of Saturday's Rangers-Orioles game, Rangers batter Shin-Soo Choo took a 0-1 92-mph fastball for a hit-by-pitch, with the ball caroming into Reynolds' right hand. Reynolds remained in the game to complete the top of the first inning, signaling strikes with his left arm as the ball nearly found him again during a botched play at the plate.

After the half-inning, 1B Umpire Sean Barber replaced Reynolds at home plate for the remaining 8 1/2 innings with 2B Umpire Stu Scheurwater sent to first base, and 3B Umpire Alan Porter continuing at third base while assuming Acting Crew Chief duties. Reynolds did not work Sunday as Brendan Miller was called up to fill-in.

Relevant Injury History: Reynolds has no recent history of hand injuries.

Last Game: September 7 | Return to Play: TBD | Time Absent: TBD | Video as follows:

Saturday, September 7, 2019

MLB Ejection 189 - Laz Diaz (1; Nelson Cruz)

HP Umpire Laz Diaz ejected Twins bench player/DH Nelson Cruz (strike three call; QOCN) in the bottom of the 6th inning of the Indians-Twins game. With two out and one on (R2), Twins batter CJ Cron took a 0-2 slider from Indians pitcher Adam Cimber for a called third strike. Replays indicate the pitch was located off the outer edge of home plate and above the hollow of the knee (px 1.30, pz 1.88 [sz_bot 1.70]), the call was incorrect.* At the time of the ejection, the Indians were leading, 2-1. The Twins ultimately won the contest, 5-3.

This is Laz Diaz (63)'s first ejection of 2019.
Laz Diaz now has 5 points in the UEFL Standings (7 Prev + 2 MLB - 4 Incorrect Call = 5.
Crew Chief Jeff Nelson now has 9 points in Crew Division (9 Previous + 0 Incorrect Call = 9).
*UEFL Rule 6-2-b-1 (Kulpa Rule): |0| < STRIKE < |.748| < BORDERLINE < |.914| < BALL.
This pitch was located 4.63 horizontal inches from being deemed a correct call.

This is the 189th ejection report of the 2019 MLB regular season.
This is the 93rd player ejection of 2019. Prior to ejection, Cruz did not appear in the game.
This is Minnesota's 4th ejection of 2019, 4th in the AL Central (DET 11; CWS 10; KC 8; MIN 4; CLE 1).
This is Nelson Cruz's 1st ejection since August 31, 2012 (Bill Welke; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Laz Diaz's 1st ejection since August 25, 2017 (Alex Cora; QOC = U [USC-NEC]).

Wrap: Cleveland Indians vs. Minnesota Twins, 9/7/19 | Video as follows:

Friday, September 6, 2019

MLB Ejection 188 - Bill Miller (3; Charlie Montoyo)

HP Umpire Bill Miller ejected Blue Jays Manager Charlie Montoyo (strike three call; QOCY) in the top of the 4th inning of the #BlueJays-#Rays game. With one out and none on, Blue Jays batter Randal Grichuk took a 2-2 fastball from Rays pitcher Brendan McKay for a called third strike. Replays indicate the pitch was located over the inner edge of home plate and above the hollow of the knee (px -0.91, pz 1.70 [sz_bot 1.58]) and that the preceding strike three call to batter Teoscar Hernandez was located over the inner edge of home plate and waist-high (px -0.84, pz 2.90), the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the Rays were leading, 3-0. The Rays ultimately won the contest, 5-0.

This is Bill Miller (26)'s third ejection of 2019.
Bill Miller now has 18 points in the UEFL Standings (14 Prev + 2 MLB + 2 Correct Call = 18).
Crew Chief Bill Miller now has 17 points in Crew Division (16 Previous + 1 Correct Call = 17).
*UEFL Rule 6-2-b-1 (Kulpa Rule): |0| < STRIKE < |.748| < BORDERLINE < |.914| < BALL.
This pitch was located 0.05 horizontal inches from being deemed an incorrect call.
|0.91| is the maximum acceptable px value for a strike call to be considered QOC-Y.

This is the 188th ejection report of the 2019 MLB regular season.
This is the 85th Manager ejection of 2019.
This is Toronto's 6th ejection of 2019, T-2nd in the AL East (NYY 7; BAL, TOR 6; BOS 5; TB 2).
This is Charlie Montoyo's 2nd ejection of 2019, 1st since May 6 (Adam Hamari; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Bill Miller's 3rd ejection of 2019, 1st since Sept 1 (Turner Ward; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).

Wrap: Toronto Blue Jays vs. Tampa Bay Rays, 9/6/19 | Video as follows:

The 2D TV Computer Strike Zone's 3D Problem

Did you know the electronic strike zone graphic used for television broadcast is significantly faulty? In this analysis, we look at the two-dimensional computer-generated PitchCast graphic and compare it to the 3D zone umpires are trained to call.

Two Different Languages...or Dimensions: It's as if baseball is speaking two different languages. Teams and fans are exposed to the familiar flat strike zone "box" at home or in the clubhouse video room whereas umpires calling the game from behind home plate are essentially playing 4D chess...only one dimension (and one sport) removed.

We analyze the following 0-2 cutter thrown by Mariners pitcher Wade LeBlanc to Yankees batter Gary Sanchez in Seattle on August 28, called strike three by HP Umpire Jim Wolf. The computer readout logged this pitch's px value (the horizontal coordinate) at 0.98, which most sources would indicate as significantly off the plate (px value of 0.98 feet is 0.15 feet from the edge of home plate [set at 0.83], or 1.79 inches off the plate).

Yet the slow-motion replay tells a different tale. Video as follows:

Thursday, September 5, 2019

Atlantic League's Bench-Clearing Balk Ejections & Protest

The Atlantic League-MLB experimental balk rule requiring pitchers to step off the rubber during pickoffs produced a handful of ejections and protested game after a quasi-bench clearing argument in High Point led to all umpires entertaining multiple complaints from a Rockers team upset about a pickoff play to end the bottom of the 3rd inning of Wednesday night's 5-1 loss to Southern Maryland.

The Play: With two out and one on (R1), Blue Crabs pitcher Daryl Thompson picked off Rockers baserunner Stephen Cardullo at first base to end the inning, ruled out by 1B Umpire Thomas Newsom.

The ALPB Balk Rule: Under the indy league's MLB partnership, baseball's balk rule was modified to require that pitchers disengage the pitcher's plate in order to attempt a pickoff.
Related PostAtlantic League Debuts New Rules, E-Zone (7/10/19).

Is this is a legal disengagement maneuver?
SIDEBAR: If this league's test rule requires pitchers disengage, and pitcher Thompson has disengaged, the question of whether this is a no-step balk is irrelevant, since Rule 6.02(a)(3) states "it is a balk when—The pitcher, while touching his plate, fails to step directly toward a base before throwing to that base" (bold added for emphasis). The only question is whether Thompson's toe tap with his back/pivot foot while turning his body toward first base constitutes a legal disengagement. I'd surmise that under the "old" rule, this is legal...but what about under the experimental balk rule in the Atlantic League? And is this a judgment call or rules interpretation?

After all, MLB recently deemed that a "toe tap" during delivery is not to be construed as a second step...so how about a "toe tap"-style disengagement of the rubber. Is that to be considered legal pursuant to the ALPB-MLB balk rule experiment as it would under the "old" rule?
Related PostMLB Rules Gearrin's Toe Tap Legal - Analysis (8/29/19).

Argument, Ejections, and Protest: What followed at BB&T Point Stadium in High Point, North Carolina during the post-inning changeover was what may be the slowest single-squad bench-clearing incident of the season, largely because the team on offense now transitioned to becoming the team on defense, with a detour to argue with the umpiring crew.

Multiple argument and ejections ensue.
High Point's prolonged argument resulted in a nearly-10-minute delay, featured multiple ejections (the box score indicated RF Stephen Cardullo [the picked off runner], CF Jared Mitchell, and P Michael Bowden, but did not list Manager Jamie Keefe, who threw his hat, etc.), and concluded with a protested game.

Cardullo's ejection, specifically, was of the "parting shot" variety, which occurs when a player/coach/manager says one final phrase to the umpire and immediately turns his back to walk away. In general, this phrase is personal, profane, or otherwise excessively unsporting, unacceptable, and ejectable.

The parting shot ejection is an optical illusion.
The optics of the "parting shot" ejection relies on normal human reaction time so that by the time the umpire ejects the offender, it appears the umpire has become the aggressor, or in the High Point broadcaster's words, "He did it with the guy's back turned." It is meant to make the violating party look innocent to the umpire's "overreaction" in ejecting someone who is walking way, never mind what that person said or did just moments earlier.

Later on in the festivities, many of High Point's uniformed personnel converged around the three umpires to argue, resulting in at least three separate and simultaneous discussions that included HP Umpire Larry Rosenberg, 1B Umpire Newsom, and 3B Umpire Lindy Hall.

Although Official Baseball Rule 7.04 explicitly states, "no protest shall ever be permitted on judgment decisions by the umpire," whether or not High Point's protest is of the umpires' judgment that pitcher Thompson legally disengaged the rubber in throwing to first base or of the umpires' interpretation of the modified balk rule might be a futile splitting of hairs, at least in this particular organization. After all, the Atlantic League office overturned an umpire's on-field judgment call earlier this season.
Related PostAtlantic League Overturns Umpire's Judgment Call (7/14/19).

Video as follows:

Wednesday, September 4, 2019

Joe Maddon's Untimely Challenge Costs Cubs

Chicago lost its shutout bid against Seattle Tuesday when Cubs Manager Joe Maddon failed to file a timely challenge to HP Umpire Mike Estabrook's 8th inning time play ruling that Mariners runner Dee Gordon scored prior to a third out as Braden Bishop was tagged off of second base.

This much-requested analysis has multiple moving parts, so we'll begin with an umpiring discussion for time plays followed by an overview and application of the relevant rules regarding Replay Review.

The Play: With two out and two on (R1, R2), Mariners batter Daniel Vogelbach hit a 1-1 fastball from Cubs pitcher Kyle Ryan on a line drive to left field. As baserunner R2 Dee Gordon approached home plate, Cubs left fielder Kyle Schwarber threw to second baseman Ben Zobrist as Mariners runner R1 Braden Bishop slid back into second base.

The Call: 2B Umpire Paul Emmel ruled Bishop out at second while HP Umpire Mike Estabrook ruled that Gordon scored a run prior to the final out of the inning.

Estabrook puts himself in position to see.
Umpiring a Time Play: Estabrook puts himself in great position to see this time play: he lines himself up to see Gordon's base touch at home plate as well as the tag play at second base. Unfortunately, the tag—because it is a throw from left field, behind the runner—occurs on the outfield side of the base, which makes it a very difficult call for the plate umpire, who is blocked out by the runner's body.

This is where, perhaps, our second base umpire can help out by pointing to the tag as soon as it occurs, but prior to actually calling the run out. A simple point allows an umpire to keep his/her timing since it's not an actual out/safe call—a point doesn't run the risk of looking foolish if the ball is subsequently dropped, for instance. Otherwise, this is a tough get for the plate umpire.

Fortunately, we have replay...

Untimely challenges are to be denied.
Replay Review: If a manager disagrees with an umpire's replay-eligible ruling, said manager "must notify an Umpire that the Club is contemplating challenging the play in less than ten (10) seconds after the conclusion of the play. If a Manager wishes to invoke his challenge he must do so within thirty (30) seconds after the conclusion of the play or prior to the commencement of the next play, whichever occurs first. This time limit applies to all plays in the game, including plays that end an inning and plays that end the game."

If a Manager takes too long to decide whether to challenge, the umpire shall deny the manager's request to review the play: anything past 30 seconds is considered late.
Related PostReplay Clock Crackdown - Ted Barrett Denies Bochy Review (4/2/19).

But What About a Double-Challenge? When two managers may challenge two different aspects of the same play (e.g., Scott Servais challenged the out call at second base while Joe Maddon considered the run scores call at home plate), the second challenge (in this case, Maddon's) must be made before the Crew Chief talks to the Replay Official via headset. The one and only exception is if a call is overturned, which was not the case here. This rule has been in place since 2014.
Related PostMLB Releases Replay Review Regulations for 2014 Season (3/31/14).

Because Maddon failed to challenge within 30 seconds of the conclusion of play and failed to make contact with the umpires prior to Crew Chief Emmel speaking with the Replay Official (he first spoke with Ryan Blakney after Emmel signaled the runner out following the Replay Review, and spoke with Bruce Dreckman following that), his challenge was denied for tardiness and the play at home plate was not reviewed.

Video as follows:

Tuesday, September 3, 2019

MLB Ejection 187 - Lance Barrett (2; Brandon Hyde)

HP Umpire Lance Barrett ejected Orioles Manager Brandon Hyde (check swing strike three call by 1B Umpire Nic Lentz) in the top of the 8th inning of the #Orioles-#Rays game. With two out and none on, Orioles batter Trey Mancini attempted to check his swing on a 2-2 curveball from Rays pitcher Nick Anderson, ruled a ball by HP Umpire L Barrett and a swing on appeal by 1B Umpire Lentz (BAL misidentified the umpire...Ryan Additon had first base for Game 1 of the doubleheader). On-Field Ruling was reviewed and adjudicated by the UEFL Appeals Board (8-0), the call was correct. At the time of the ejection, the Rays were leading, 2-0. The Rays ultimately won the contest, 2-0.

This is Lance Barrett (94)'s second ejection of 2019.
Lance Barrett now has 8 points in the UEFL Standings (4 Prev + 2 MLB + 2 Correct Call = 8).
Crew Chief Mike Everitt now has 3 points in Crew Division (2 Previous + 1 Correct Call = 3).

This is the 187th ejection report of the 2019 MLB regular season.
This is the 84th Manager ejection of 2019.
This is Baltimore's 6th ejection of 2019, 2nd in the AL East (NYY 7; BAL 6; BOS, TOR 5; TB 2).
This is Brandon Hyde's 3rd ejection of 2019, 1st since June 16 (Tripp Gibson; QOC = Y [RLI]).
This is Lance Barrett's 2nd ejection of 2019, 1st since June 12 (Turner Ward; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).

Wrap: Baltimore Orioles vs. Tampa Bay Rays, 9/3/19 | Video as follows:

Ask UEFL - Forfeit When Ejected Mgr Refuses to Leave

After Mark Carlson's ejection of Chicago's Rick Renteria when the White Sox manager refused to leave until the umpire forced him out, we received an Ask the UEFL question, "Can an ump forfeit a game when an ejected player, coach, or manager refuses to leave the field/dugout?"

While the short answer is "yes" (an ump can also forfeit a game if an ejected athletic trainer refuses to leave!) the more detailed response is more nuanced.

Whether the call leading to ejection was correct or not is of little consequence: this article pertains solely to an ejected person who refuses to leave as prescribed by Official Baseball Rule 6.04(d), which states, "When a manager, player, coach or trainer is ejected from a game, he shall leave the field immediately and take no further part in that game. He shall remain in the Club house or change to street clothes and either leave the park or take a seat in the grandstand well removed from the vicinity of his team’s bench or bullpen."

As long as it gets you to leave...
The relevant rule for forfeiture is OBR 7.03(a) and in this situation, 7.03(a)(5) and (6) may apply. Provision (5) states, "A game may be forfeited to the opposing team when a team—After warning by the umpire, willfully and persistently violates any rules of the game," whereas 7.03(a)(6) states, "A game may be forfeited to the opposing team when a team—Fails to obey within a reasonable time the umpire’s order for removal of a player from the game."

In other words, a manager who is ejected but remains in the dugout after an umpire orders him/her to leave may cause a forfeit. Only the umpire-in-chief has the authority to forfeit a game (OBR 8.03(a)(6)). The MLB Umpire Manual, for instance, requires the UIC consult with—and receive approval from—the Crew Chief prior to declaring a forfeit (so, in Chicago, if things deteriorated that much, Carlson as UIC and CC would be empowered to declare the forfeit).

That may not be reasonable...or is it?
What is a "reasonable time"? Baseball's other forfeit provisions carry certain time limits—(1)'s five-minute start-of-game grace period, (4)'s resumption of play within one minute after a certain suspension of play, and (7)'s 20-minute break between games of a straight double-header...but (6)'s refusing to leave after an ejection simply states, "within a reasonable time."

In the Australian Baseball League, Geelong-Korea Manager Dae-Sung Koo pulled his team off the field after HP Umpire Ben Nash ejected him in November 2018. The umpires waited five minutes before the offending team returned to the field, upon which time play was resumed. In this situation, umpire patience prevented a forfeit, which is likely a key goal at the professional level.
Related PostABL - Korea Pulls Team off Field After Manager Ejection (11/16/18).

I included OBR 7.03(a)(5) [willful and persistent violation of a rule] for the benefit of the rulebook lawyers amongst us who are quick to point out that 7.03(a)(6) says "player" but not explicitly "coach" or "manager." Willful and persistent violation of ejection rule 6.04(d) occurs when an ejected person—which includes managers, as in 6.04(d)—fails to "leave the field immediately and take no further part in that game."

Decide which forfeit rule may apply.
For the rulebook lawyer that notes that "leave the field" doesn't explicitly state, "dugout" or "bench," I included the following sentence of 6.04(d), which gives the ejectee several options: 1) Go and stay in the clubhouse, 2) leave the ballpark, or 3) sit in the stands well removed from the vicinity of the team's bench/bullpen area. That should establish the spirit of this rule.

Gil's Call: Although we might have gotten a Jim Wolf-Frank Robinson-esque stare-down had Carlson not entertained Renteria's request to visit the dugout, this is the right move to make—to swallow pride and ego in order to get the ejected party to leave.

Let the ejected person have the last word, it's a Pyrrhic victory, after all. Of course, an umpire should feel free to be all ears, seeking to pepper the ejection report with more source material.

The goal at this point is to get the ejected person to leave and play to continue, and if an umpire is able to do so by walking over and listening to a post-ejection rant while, as Carlson does, not inflaming matters, this should be considered a win: the umpire completes the ejection and the ejected skipper gets to save face (in their mind, anyway...as long as they're leaving).

How rare is a forfeit? The last MLB forfeit occurred in 1995 for baseballs thrown on the field from the stands. Our own Bob Davidson discussed this event in his podcast interview.
Related PostMLB's Last Forfeit - Bob's Baseball Story (8/10/19).

Bob Davidson had the last NL forfeit in LA.
In the major leagues, the MLB Umpire Manual states, "Announcements shall be made over the P.A. system that a game may be forfeited and again when the game is declared forfeited. Announcement of the possibility of a forfeit must be made to both Clubs and the fans prior to a forfeit." The aforementioned 1995 Cardinals-Dodgers forfeit is what the MLBUM interpretation is primarily designed to address, but the time and resources involved in making such a public announcement just might serve to highlight the absurdity of an ejected person refusing to leave. This is not a National Anthem standoff (although the anthem-off is another topic for another day).

In NFHS (high school), the rule is more direct. NFHS 6-3-1f (Unsportsmanlike Conduct) is rather explicit: "PENALTY: The umpire shall eject the offender from the game. Failure to comply shall result in game being forfeited."

NCAA (college) Rule 5-12 states a forfeit shall only be called as "a last resort." 5-12-f indicates, "If the order for the removal of a player, coach or team personnel is not obeyed, the game is suspended until the order of removal is corrected (see 3-6-d)." In other words, umpires will call the game if it gets to that point, and NCAA likes the conference involved in issues of severe discipline. That said, NCAA shares OBR's provision for forfeiture: "If, after warning by the umpire, any one of the rules of the game is willfully and persistently violated" (NCAA 5-12-e). As in pro ball, the Umpire-in-Chief carries forfeiture authority.

Video as follows:

Injury Scout - Vanover Hit on Arm in LA

Larry Vanover exited his Labor Day assignment at Dodger Stadium after a foul ball to his right arm.

With none out and one on in the fifth inning of Monday's Rockies-Dodgers game, Dodgers batter Enrique Hernandez fouled a 2-1 95-mph sinker from Rockies pitcher James Pazos into Vanover's right forearm, producing a visible laceration. Vanover already wears a padded sleeve over his left arm.

2B Umpire Manny Gonzalez replaced Vanover behind home plate for the rest of the game, as 1B Umpire Dan Bellino and 3B Umpire David Rackley managed the field.

Vanover officiated his 3,000th MLB game in May 2019.
Related PostLarry Vanover Officiates 3,000th MLB Game (5/24/19).

Relevant Injury History: Vanover has left a game before due to a head injury, but not a foul ball to the arm situation.

Last Game: September 2 | Return to Play: Sept 3 | Time Absent: Rest of Game | Video as follows:

Monday, September 2, 2019

MLB Ejection 186 - Mark Carlson (3; Rick Renteria)

HP Umpire Mark Carlson ejected White Sox Manager Rick Renteria (foul vs strike three call; QOCY) in the bottom of the 5th inning of the #WhiteSox-#Indians game. With two out and one on (R2), Indians batter Francisco Lindor swung at a 2-2 curveball from White Sox pitcher Jace Fry, ruled a foul ball by Carlson. Replays indicate the pitch made contact with Lindor's bat during his swing and bounced in the dirt before entering White Sox catcher Welington Castillo's mitt, the call was correct. At the time of the ejection, the Indians were leading, 6-3. The Indians ultimately won the contest, 11-3.

This is Mark Carlson (6)'s third ejection of 2019.
Mark Carlson now has 7 points in the UEFL Standings (3 Prev + 2 MLB + 2 Correct Call = 7).
Crew Chief Mark Carlson now has 11 points in Crew Division (10 Previous + 1 Correct Call = 11).

This is the 186th ejection report of the 2019 MLB regular season.
This is the 83rd Manager ejection of 2019.
This is Chicago's 10th ejection of 2019, 2nd in the AL Central (DET 11; CWS 10; KC 8; MIN 3; CLE 1).
This is Rick Renteria's 8th ejection of 2019, 1st since August 30 (Brian Knight; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Mark Carlson's 3rd ejection of 2019, 1st since May 29 (Glenn Sparkman; QOC = U [Throwing At]).

Wrap: Chicago White Sox vs. Cleveland Indians, 9/2/19 | Video as follows:

Fake Ump Tim Williams' Toronto Charity Night

Proving that even retired fan-umpires can subscribe to @UmpsCare Charities' Helping People is an Easy Call philosophy, Tim Williams of Toronto—the former Real Fake Umpire—and his wife Caroline, who serves on the organization's Board of Directors, will hold a fundraiser on September 26 in Canada: "We hope to raise the profile of Umpscare charity north of the border."

Ryan Blakney, Mike Estabrook, Caroline Williams,
Paul Emmel, Tim Williams & Bruce Dreckman
The Williamses were at Rogers Centre on Sunday to greet Paul Emmel's crew after Justin Verlander's no-hitter, as Tim added the home plate umpire's MLB-authenticated jersey to his collection following Houston's milestone game.

"It was very special to witness Paul Emmel get his first no hitter in Canada for both Caroline and myself. We have known him since 2009 and Paul was the junior 4 man on the original Gary Darling-led crew we first met once The Fake Umpires gained traction and that we realized we could potentially help raise some money for Umpscare," said Tim.

Williams will launch the first-ever Toronto UMPS CARE Charity Night (link here) on 9/26/19 as the MLB umpire-formed organization goes international.

He first gained widespread attention for his Real Fake Umpires routine with Joe Farrell from 2008 through 2010, raising over $10,000 for UMPS CARE Charities during their tour of duty sitting and officiating behind home plate in ballparks across the United States (and Canada's Rogers Centre). In 2015, the duo came back for one encore appearance in New York after a couple of Fake Fake Umpires "put on a Double A act at a Major League Stadium" in San Francisco, raising another $7,000+ for Umps Care.
Related PostReal 'Fake Umps' Return on Sunday Night Baseball, Aug 2 (7/27/15).