Saturday, June 11, 2022

MLB Ejection 066 - Paul Emmel (2; Ramon Laureano)

1B Umpire Paul Emmel ejected Athletics RF Ramon Laureano (balk/quick pitch no-call; QOCY) in the top of the 7th inning of the #Athletics-#Guardians game. With two out and one on (R1), Athletics batter Elvis Andrus struck out on three pitches from Guardians pitcher Enyel De Los Santos; following the third out of the inning, Laureano yelled from the dugout and was ejected. Replays indicate De Los Santos did not balk or quick pitch Andrus, the call was correct. At the time of the ejection, the A's were leading, 7-5. The A's ultimately won the contest, 10-5.

This is Paul Emmel (50)'s 2nd ejection of 2022.
Paul Emmel now has 8 points in the UEFL Standings (4 Previous + 2 MLB + 2 Correct Call = 8).
Crew Chief Paul Emmel now has 4 points in Crew Division (3 Previous + 1 Correct Call = 4).

This is the 66th ejection report of the 2022 MLB regular season.
This is the 21st player ejection of 2022. Prior to ejection, Laureano was 0-4 (SO) in the contest.
This is Oakland's 3rd ejection of 2022, T-2nd in the AL West (HOU 4; OAK, SEA 3; LAA 2; TEX 0).
This is Ramon Laureano's 1st ejection since May 12, 2021 (Ryan Wills; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Paul Emmel's 2nd ejection of 2022, 1st since June 9 (Terry Francona; QOC = Y-c [Obstruction]).

Wrap: Oakland Athletics vs. Cleveland Guardians, 6/11/22 | Video as follows:

Ask UEFL - NCAA Ejection in Tennessee's Super Regional

After umpires ejected Volunteers center fielder Drew Gilbert and assistant (pitching) coach Frank Anderson during Game 1 of the Notre Dame-Tennessee NCAA Super Regional on Friday, we received several requests to analyze the disciplinary sequence, which at the end of the day is fairly straightforward.

Rarely at the Major League Baseball level are we privy to post-game umpire statements, but for this game, Crew Chief Van Rapphorst released the following to Knoxville News Sentinal's Mike Wilson:

"Tennessee #1 Drew Gilbert argued several pitches during the top of the second inning, steaming in from centerfield. To begin the next inning I talked to the player between innings, warning him to direct his comments only to his team, not our crew or the other team. He said O.K. and that he just gets excited.

"During the fifth inning following strike one, Tennessee batter Gilbert yelled an expletive, followed by another expletive as he walked out of the box and was subsequently ejected."

The aforementioned statement established a key fact: that ejectee Gilbert had previously been warned about unsporting comments in the first third of the game, meaning that his 5th inning ejection was not the first offense. Technically, by leaving the batter's box to confront HP Umpire Kellen Levy, the crew could have called Gilbert for violating NCAA's Batter's-Box Rule 7-1-d, the penalty for which is an automatic strike.

As for pitching coach Anderson, the NCAA rules book recognizes two classes of coaches: head coaches (of which there is only one per team) and assistants. Thus, assistant coach Anderson by rule was not authorized to come onto the playing surface to dispute...well...anything, and was ejected by 2B Umpire and Crew Chief Van Rapphorst.

Second, it confirms that Gilbert used profanity directed at HP Umpire Levy, which NCAA treats much more strictly than professional baseball, as it does with suspensions as well, imposing a mandatory one-game suspension for Gilbert and a mandatory three-game suspension for Anderson, since Anderson previously served a one-game suspension during the 2022 season for another ejection (the NCAA rules book calls for progressive discipline for subsequent ejections).

Video as follows:

Friday, June 10, 2022

MLB Ejection 065 - Ramon De Jesus (1; Craig Counsell)

HP Umpire Ramon De Jesus ejected Brewers manager Craig Counsell (backswing [no interference] call; QOCY) in the bottom of the 5th inning of the #Brewers-#Nationals game. With two out and one on (R1), Nationals batter Victor Robles swung and missed at a 1-0 changeup from Brewers pitcher Aaron Ashby for a strike, appearing to direct his bat at the blocked ball as Brewers catcher Omar Narvaez moved to retrieve it. One pitch later, Robles swung and missed at a 1-1 slider from Ashby as baserunner R1 Luis Garcia attempted to steal second base, ruled backswing contact (no interference) by HP Umpire De Jesus, resulting in Garcia being returned to first base and the count resuming with a 1-2 count. Replays indicate Robles did not interfere with Narvaez on the 1-0 pitch because there was nothing to interfere with (e.g., the runner was not attempting to advance) and that Robles' bat made contact with Narvaez on the backswing for which the penalty is a dead ball and runners return (no outs are declared for it is not interference), the call was correct. At the time of the ejection, the Nationals were leading, 6-3. The Nationals ultimately won the contest, 11-5.

This is Ramon De Jesus (18)'s 2nd ejection of 2022.
Ramon De Jesus now has 4 points in the UEFL Standings (0 Previous + 2 MLB + 2 Correct Call = 4).
Crew Chief Alfonso Marquez now has 5 points in Crew Division (4 Prev + 1 Correct Call = 5).
OBR 6.03(a)(3): "A batter is out for illegal action when—They interfere with the catcher’s fielding or throwing by stepping out of the batter’s box or making any other movement that hinders the catcher’s play at home base."
OBR 6.03(a)(3) Comment: "If a batter strikes at a ball and misses and swings so hard he carries the bat all the way around and, in the umpire’s judgment, unintentionally hits the catcher or the ball in back of him on the backswing, it shall be called a strike only (not interference). The ball will be dead, however, and no runner shall advance on the play."

This is the 65th ejection report of the 2022 MLB regular season.
This is the 34th manager ejection of 2022.
This is Milwaukee's 1st ejection of 2022, 4th in the NL Central (CHC 4; STL 3; PIT 2; MIL 1; CIN 0).
This is Craig Counsell's 1st ejection since Sept 2, 2021 (Ted Barrett; QOC = Y-c [Fair/Foul]).
This is Ramon De Jesus' 2nd ejection of 2022, 1st since May 19 (Amir Garrett; QOC = N-c [Balk]).

Thursday, June 9, 2022

MLB Ejection 064 - Paul Emmel (1; Terry Francona)

3B Umpire Paul Emmel ejected Guardians manager Terry Francona (obstruction runner placement/penalty call by 2B Umpire Jeremie Rehak; QOCY) in the bottom of the 6th inning of the #Athletics-#Guardians game. With one out and one on, Guardians baserunner R1 Steven Kwan attempted to steal second base, drawing a throw from A's catcher Sean Murphy. The throw evaded A's shortstop Elvis Andrus and continued into center field, leading Kwan, who had slid into second base, to attempt to advance to third base, becoming entangled with Andrus and tripping, resulting in an obstruction call from 2B Umpire Rehak. Kwan returned to second base as A's center fielder Cristian Pache backed up the throw and retrieved the loose baseball. Replays indicate Andrus, while the defense was not actively making a play on the runner, obstructed Kwan (Type 2 or Type B), but that Kwan likely would not have safely achieved third base had obstruction not occurred, due to Pache's defense, the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the A's were leading, 4-2. The Guardians ultimately won the contest, 8-4.

This is Paul Emmel (50)'s 1st ejection of 2022.
Paul Emmel now has 4 points in the UEFL Standings (1 Prev + 2 MLB + 1 Correct-Crewmate = 4).
Crew Chief Paul Emmel now has 3 points in Crew Division (2 Previous + 1 Correct Call = 3).
*Official Baseball Rule 6.01(h)(2): "When obstruction occurs, the umpires shall call or signal 'Obstruction.' If no play is being made on the obstructed runner, the play shall proceed until no further action is possible. The umpire shall then call “Time” and impose such penalties, if any, as in their judgment will nullify the act of obstruction."
OBR 6.01(h) Comment: "After a fielder has made an attempt to field a ball and missed, they can no longer be in the 'act of fielding' the ball. For example: An infielder dives at a ground ball and the ball passes them and they continue to lie on the ground and delay the progress of the runner, they very likely have obstructed the runner."

This is the 64th ejection report of the 2022 MLB regular season.
This is the 33rd manager ejection of 2022.
This is Cleveland's 1st ejection of 2022, T-4th in the AL Central (DET, KC, MIN 2; CLE, CWS 1).
This is Terry Francona's 1st ejection since July 9, 2021 (James Hoye; QOC = N [Out/Safe]).
This is Paul Emmel's 1st ejection since August 24, 2019 (Yonathan Daza; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).

Monday, June 6, 2022

MLB Ejection 063 - Alex Tosi (1; Rocco Baldelli)

HP Umpire Alex Tosi ejected Twins manager Rocco Baldelli (foul ball/strike/check swing call) in the bottom of the 7th inning of the #Yankees-#Twins game. With none out and one on on, Twins batter Max Kepler attempted to check his swing on a 0-0 sinker from Yankees pitcher Wandy Peralta, ruled a foul ball by HP Umpire Tosi. Replays indicate the bat did not make contact with the ball; the check swing is under review by the UEFL Appeals Board, the call was *PENDING*. At the time of the ejection, the Yankees were leading, 8-4. The Yankees ultimately won the contest, 10-4.

This is Alex Tosi (66)'s 1st ejection of 2022.
Alex Tosi now has ? points in the UEFL Standings.
Crew Chief Jim Reynolds now has ? in Crew Division.

This is the 63rd ejection report of the 2022 MLB regular season.
This is the 32nd manager ejection of 2022.
This is Minnesota's 2nd ejection of 2022, T-1st in the AL Central (DET, KC, MIN 2; CWS 1; CLE 0).
This is Rocco Baldelli's 2nd ejection of 2022, 1st since May 14 (John Tumpane; QOC = Y [Obstruction]).
This is Alex Tosi's first career MLB ejection.

Wrap: New York Yankees vs. Minnesota Twins, 6/7/22 | Video as follows:

MLB Ejections 059-062 - Chris Guccione (HOU-SEA)

HP Umpire Chris Guccione ejected Mariners manager Scott Servais and Astros 1B Coach Omar Lopez (fighting), and pitcher Hector Neris, and manager Dusty Baker (throwing at after warnings) in the top of the 9th inning of the #Mariners- #Astros game. With two out and none on, Mariners batter Ty France took a first-pitch fastball from Astros pitcher Neris for a hit-by-pitch, resulting in a benches-clearing incident and Servais and Lopez's ejections for instigating the altercation, as well as warnings. Replays indicate the pitch was located inside and made contact with the jersey along France's lower back, the call was irrecusable. At the time of the ejections, the Mariners were leading, 5-4.

Following France's HBP, ensuing batter Julio Rodriguez hit a two-run home run before JP Crawford walked. New batter Eugenio Suarez then took a first-pitch fastball for a called first ball, resulting in Neris and Baker's ejection for throwing at Suarez. Replays indicate the pitch was located inside and above the height of Suarez's head, the call was irrecusable. At the time of the ejections, the Mariners were leading, 7-4. The Mariners ultimately won the contest, 7-4.

These are Chris Guccione (68)'s 1st, 2nd, 3rd, and 4th ejections of 2022.
Chris Guccione now has 12 points in the UEFL Standings (4 Prev + 4*[2 MLB + 0 Irrecusable] = 12).
Crew Chief Chris Guccione now has 6 points in Crew Division (2 Previous + 4 Irrecusable Calls = 6).

These are the 59th, 60th, 61st, and 62nd ejection reports of the 2022 MLB regular season.
These are the 30th and 31st manager ejections of 2022.
This is the 20th player ejection of 2022. Prior to ejection, Neris' line was 0.2 IP, 2 ER, BB, HBP.
This is Seattle's 3rd ejection of 2022, 2nd in the AL West (HOU 4; SEA 3; LAA, OAK 2; TEX 0).
This is Houston's 2-4th ejection of 2022, 1st in the AL West (HOU 4; SEA 3; LAA, OAK 2; TEX 0).
This is Scott Servais' 2nd ejection of 2022, 1st since April 28 (Shane Livensparger; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Omar Lopez's first career MLB ejection.
This is Hector Neris' 1st ejection since July 16, 2019 (Chris Conroy; QOC = U [Throwing At]).
This is Dusty Baker's 1st ejection since June 10, 2021 (Sean Barber; QOC = Y [Fair/Foul]).
This is Chris Guccione's 1st ejection since Sept 14, 2019 (Dale Sveum; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).

Wrap: Seattle Mariners vs. Houston Astros, 6/6/22 | Video as follows:

Teachable - Liven on a Sparger with Catch Timing

In this Teachable, tmac points to 2B Umpire Shane Livensparger's patience and timing on a play at second base in Tampa Bay wherein the fielder may or may not have caught a ball. Although Livensparger's mechanic, in real-time, appears relatively quick, in reviewing the play more in-depth, we see that the umpire allowed the play to fully develop before rendering a decision.

A ground ball to Rays shortstop Wander Franco starts this play; with a runner on first, the play is to second and 2B Umpire Livensparger recognizes that and gets into position to officiate it. As Brandon Lowe lunges to field Franco's soft toss, Mariners baserunner R1 Eugenio Suarez enters the screen and jogs toward the base.

Livensparger follows the off-balance fielder Lowe, who has barehanded the throw, before ultimately dropping the baseball, using a safe mechanic to communicate the catch/no catch determination (by virtue of no catch, thus, the force out attempt also is unsuccessful).

Recall that "A CATCH is the act of a fielder in getting secure possession in his hand or glove of a ball in flight and firmly holding it" and that "It is not a catch, however, if simultaneously or immediately following his contact with the ball, he collides with a player, or with a wall, or if he falls down, and as a result of such collision or falling, drops the ball."

U2 Livensparger, having ruled that Lowe dropping the ball was not a voluntary and intentional release of the ball, signals safe, communicating that in his judgment, Lowe did not completely control the ball as required by rule.

Video as follows:

Sunday, June 5, 2022

MLB Ejection 058 - Vic Carapazza (2; Ryan Pressly)

HP Umpire Vic Carapazza ejected Astros pitcher Ryan Pressly (arguing warnings) in the bottom of the 9th inning of the #Astros-#Royals game. With two out and none on, Royals batter Michael Taylor took first-pitch and 2-0 fastballs from Pressly for called balls. Replays indicate the pitch were located inside the right-handed batter's box and thigh-high; two Astros batters had been hit by pitches earlier in the game (Peña by KC pitcher Keasley in the 2nd and Alvarez by KC pitcher Snider in the 9th), the call was irrecusable. At the time of the ejection, the Astros were leading, 7-3. The Astros ultimately won the contest, 7-4.

This is Vic Carapazza (19)'s 2nd ejection of 2022.
Vic Carapazza now has 2 points in the UEFL Standings (0 Previous + 2 MLB + 0 Irrecusable Call = 2).
Crew Chief Jerry Meals now has 3 points in Crew Division (2 Previous + 1 Irrecusable Call = 3).

This is the 58th ejection report of the 2022 MLB regular season.
This is the 19th player ejection of 2022. Prior to ejection, Pressly's line was 0.2 IP, ER, BB.
This is Houston's 1st ejection of 2022, 4th in the AL West (LAA, OAK, SEA 2; HOU 1; TEX 0).
This is Ryan Pressly's 1st ejection since May 4, 2016 (Scott Barry; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Vic Carapazza's 2nd ejection of 2022, 1st since June 1 (Kevin Cash; QOC = N [Check Swing]).

Wrap: Houston Astros vs. Kansas City Royals, 6/5/22 | Video as follows: