Showing posts with label Base Touch. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Base Touch. Show all posts

Wednesday, May 7, 2025

Runner Misses Base in Boston, But Replay Says He's Safe???

When Replay Review ruled Rangers batter-runner Wyatt Langford safe at first base, even though he failed to touch it on an infield ground ball, Red Sox manager Alex Cora visited umpire Dan Iassogna for a "call confirmed" explanation. Soon after, Cora walked back to Boston's dugout, appearing satisfied with the crew chief's rationale...so what was the reason Houck was safe?

With one out and two on, Rangers batter Langford hit a ground ball to Red Sox pitcher Tanner Houck, who threw low to first base, where first baseman Romy Gonzalez failed to catch the low throw as batter-runner Langford danced around Gonzalez to avoid him.

1B Umpire Adam Beck slowly gestured "safe" as Boston opted to challenge the call, alleging that Langford was actually out because first baseman Gonzalez did eventually pick up the baseball while standing on first base.

Replay Review returned a "call confirmed" decision, ruling the runner safe at first base, even though the runner missed the bag on his initial run through and even though the fielder's foot was in contact with first base, while he held the baseball, before the runner could return to touch the missed base.

This is an appeal play pursuant to Official Baseball Rule 5.09(c)(2), which states, "Any runner shall be called out, on appeal, when: With the ball in play, while advancing or returning to a base, they fail to touch each base in order before they, or a missed base, is tagged."

An appeal is defined as "the act of a fielder in claiming violation of the rules by the offensive team," and the MLB Umpire Manual includes a case play whose scenario mirrors that which occurred in Boston.

It states, "Batter-runner hits a ground ball and beats the play at first base but misses the bag...The proper mechanic is for the umpire to make no call on the play because the batter-runner has not yet touched first base. If the defense appeals by tagging the runner (or base) and appealing that the runner missed first base before the runner returns to first base, the batter-runner would be declared out."

Accordingly, Replay Review applied the MLBUM case play to adjudicate this sequence. The runner is ultimately safe because Boston failed to make a clear and unmistakeable appeal claiming a violation of rules by the offensive team, which is a higher standard than a simple tag out. Whereas inadvertently stepping on the base while holding the baseball might result in an out during a force play, this is insufficient to effect an appeal because it lacks clear communication to the umpire of intent to appeal a violation of the rules.

The only part of this play officiated improperly therefore was the umpire's safe mechanic: the proper mechanic is to make no call until either the defense appeals or the runner returns to touch the missed base. But without a defensive appeal, the runner is safe regardless for having beaten the play.

Video as follows:

Thursday, August 29, 2024

Mets Lose Base Touch Challenge on Retouch Requirement Rule

Although Diamondbacks runner Jake McCarthy stumbled back onto the first base side after sliding into second on his way to third, Mets manager Carlos Mendoza lost his base touch challenge as umpires determined McCarthy did not violate a rule by not retouching second base while advancing to third base, leaving at least one broadcaster stumped. What happened?

McCarthy slid feet-first into second base before popping up to advance to third on New York catcher Francisco Alvarez's throwing error. In doing so, however, McCarthy stepped toward the right field/first base side of second, leading New York to appeal a missed base touch at second, with the thought process being that because McCarthy stepped back onto the first base side of the bag, he was required to retouch second before advancing to third (last time by principle).

Official Baseball Rule 5.06(b)(1) states, "In advancing, a runner shall touch first, second, third and home base in order. If forced to return, they shall retouch all bases in reverse order, unless the ball is dead under any provision of Rule 5.06(c). In such cases, the runner may go directly to their original base."

2B Umpire Malachi Moore, however, signaled McCarthy safe and, after Replay Review as a result of Mendoza's challenge, crew chief Bill Miller announced the call had been confirmed, much to the surprise of SNY. Why did Replay confirm this call despite McCarthy clearly stepping to the first base side of the base?

Although McCarthy clearly stepped onto the "prior" side of second base, he did so not as part of an attempt to return (see forced to return, above), but incidentally as part of a recovery from an off-balance slide as he attempted to advance to third. Thus, because the runner was not intending to return, there was no retouch requirement; accordingly, the call was confirmed because the runner did touch second base at some point during the sequence.

Video as follows:

Sunday, August 25, 2024

MLB Ejection 158 - James Jean (2; Patrick Wisdom)

HP Umpire James Jean ejected Cubs 3B Patrick Wisdom (strike three call; QOCY) in the top of the 4th inning of the #Cubs-#Marlins game. With two out and none on, Cubs batter Wisdom took a 1-2 slurve from Marlins pitcher Adam Oller for a called third strike. Replays indicate the pitch was located over the outer edge of home plate and thigh-high (px 0.66, pz 2.50), the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the Marlins were leading, 3-1. The Marlins ultimately won the contest, 7-2.

In the bottom of the 8th inning, Cubs pitcher Julian Merryweather intentionally walked Marlins batter Jesús Sánchez, who was pinch run for by Cristian Pache. Miami then appealed that batter-runner Sánchez failed to touch first base during his intentional walk prior to being substituted for by Pache, ruled out by 1B Umpire Cory Blaser, pursuant to Official Baseball Rule 5.09(c)(2), which puts a runner out on appeal when "while advancing or returning to a base, they fail to touch each base in order before they, or a missed base, are tagged," while OBR 5.05(b)(1) Comment states, "A batter who is entitled to first base because of a base on balls, including an award of first base to a batter by an umpire following a signal from a manager, must go to first base and touch the base before other base runners are forced to advance. This applies when bases are full and applies when a substitute runner is put into the game...If they fail to touch the base to which they are entitled and attempt to advance beyond that base they may be put out by tagging them or the base they missed."

This is James Jean (61)'s 2nd ejection of 2024.
*UEFL Rule 6-2-b-1 (Kulpa Rule): |0| < STRIKE < |.748| < BORDERLINE < |.914| < BALL.
This pitch was located 3.05 horizontal inches from being deemed incorrect.

This is the 158th ejection report of the 2024 MLB regular season.
This is the 53rd player ejection of 2024. Ejection Tally: 80 Managers, 25 Coaches, 53 Players.
This is Chicago's 6th ejection of 2024, T-2nd in the NL Central (MIL 8; CHC, PIT, STL 6; CIN 3).
This is Patrick Wisdom's 1st ejection since Sept 23, 2022 (Ryan Wills; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is James Jean's 2nd ejection of 2024, 1st since June 30 (Jose Altuve; QOC = N [Fair/Foul]).

Wrap: Miami Marlins vs Chicago Cubs, 8/25/24 | Video as follows:

Wednesday, June 26, 2024

A's Lose Run on Odd Retired Runner's Interference

Oakland lost a run in Anaheim as HP Umpire John Bacon declared A's baserunner Kyle McCann out at home after he missed home plate and was physically assisted by Athletics just-scored runner Armando Alvarez in returning to touch the missed base before the Angels had the opportunity to appeal. Was this the correct call?

Although Official Baseball Rule 6.01(a)(8) puts a runner out when "the base coach at third base, or first base, by touching or holding the runner, physically assists them in returning to or leaving third base or first base," Alvarez, who scored seconds earlier, is not a coach and the base assistance came at home plate, not first or third base.

OBR 6.01(a)(5) pertaining to recently-retired runner's interference states, "It is interference by a batter or a runner when any batter or runner who has just been put out, or any runner who has just scored, hinders or impedes any following play being made on a runner. Such runner shall be declared out for the interference of their teammate."

But with Angels pitcher Roansy Contreras appearing oblivious to McCann's initial missed base touch at home, was the home team even planning to appeal the play? Does it even matter?

According to a Wendelstedt Manual interpretation, no it does not: "A runner is out...when a member of the offensive team, other than a another runner running the bases, physically assists..."

Because just-scored Alvarez was not a "runner running the bases" at the time of the physical assistance, this is considered interference by a retired/scored runner, which puts McCann out for Oakland depriving the Angels of the free choice of a potential appeal on the missed base touch.

Video as follows:

Friday, May 24, 2024

Team Loses Playoff Game When Runner Misses Home

New Jersey's Northern Highlands lost its state playoff game when Mount Olive appealed to the umpire that a runner missed home plate to negate three runs...for the final out of the game. How did one runner missing home cost his team three runs, and, the game? Read on.

With two out and two runners on base in the 7th inning against Mount Olive (the NFSIAA high school baseball tournament plays seven innings), Northern Highlands appeared to hit a home run, out of the park. As preceding runner R2 rounded third base, he began jumping in celebration, ultimately jumping directly over and past home plate without touching it, while the two following runners—R1 and the batter-runner—did properly touch home plate.

Every level of baseball requires runners to touch each base in order when advancing (or retreating). The equivalent rule for professional baseball is OBR 5.06(b)(1) Advancing Bases, for college is NCAA 8-6-3, and is NFHS 8-2-1 in high school.

After the play defensive team appealed during a live ball, but before the next pitch or play (or attempted play), that the preceding/lead runner missed his base touch, the HP Umpire ruled R2 out, which by rule also negates any runs that may have been scored by trailing runners who touched home plate after R2.

So instead of a 3-3 game with two outs in the 7th, the appeal made it a 3-0 final score, the third out courtesy of an appeal for a runner who missed home plate.

One small footnote is that because this was a high school game, the defense could have elected to appeal the play verbally, without having to go through the live ball pitcher-disengages-then-throws-to-catcher procedure. NFHS is different than both OBR and NCAA in this regard by allowing dead ball appeals (prior to the next pitch or play) in NFHS rule 8-2-6: "A coach or any defensive player, with or without the ball, may make a verbal appeal on a runner missing a base or leaving a base too soon on a caught fly ball." If you're in high school and concerned about properly appealing during live ball, bear in mind that a dead ball appeal is an option at the NFHS level.

Video as follows:

Sunday, May 12, 2024

Umpire Calls Runner Out for Missing Home Plate on HR, Coach Ejected

Sergio Guerra thought he hit his first home run of the season, only to be called out by HP Umpire Asa Howard for failing to physically touch home plate when Utah Valley appealed the Tarleton State batter's baserunning infraction. Head Coach Fuller Smith was ejected arguing the umpire's ruling.

In calling Guerra out on the defense's successful appeal, umpires enforced NCAA Rule 8-6-3, which states that a runner may be called out on appeal for missing a base when "The runner fails to touch each base in order when advancing or returning to a base. Either the runner or the missed base may be tagged."

College isn't the only level to require base touches; all codes agree on this matter. The equivalent rule for professional baseball is OBR 5.06(b)(1) Advancing Bases and for high school is NFHS 8-2-1.

So next time you spy an umpire running alongside a home run hitter in the infield like 1B Umpire Clayton Hamm did alongside Guerra here, or see a plate umpire lean in to look at home plate as the runner approaches, this is precisely what they are looking for: a required base touch, in case there is an appeal play afterward.

Video as follows:

Sunday, April 9, 2023

Odor Misses Home, Kim Scores, Odor Out on Appeal for Trying to Return to Touch a Missed Base

Padres baserunner Rougned Odor's 4th inning run against Atlanta was wiped off the board after a successful Braves appeal that Odor failed to touch home plate. HP Umpire Chad Fairchild declared Odor out even though replays show Odor returning to touch home plate. Why is that and how does Odor's teammate Ha-Seong Kim factor in?

With two on (R2, R3) and one out, Padres batter Trent Grisham hit a ground ball to Braves first baseman Matt Olson, who threw to catcher Travis d'Arnaud as Padres baserunner R3 Odor attempted to score from third base. Olson's throw evaded d'Arnaud's catcher's mitt and bounced to the backstop as Odor scampered past home plate and trailing baserunner R2 Kim jogged into score an apparent second run, after which R1 Odor, who had missed touching home plate his first time by, returned to touch the missed base.

After the play, however, Braves manager Brian Snitker spoke with HP Umpire Chad Fairchild and when the ball was put back into play, Braves pitcher Charlie Morton stepped off the rubber and threw to catcher d'Arnaud, who stepped on home plate and, after discussion, Umpire Fairchild ruled Odor out for failing to touch home plate.

Even though replays clearly indicate that Odor did return to touch home plate, he did so illegally.

Official Baseball Rule 5.09(c)(2) regarding appeal plays explains why Odor was out: "Any runner shall be called out on appeal when, with the ball in play, while advancing or returning to a base, they fail to touch each base in order before they, or a missed base, are tagged" while OBR 5.09(c)(2)'s Approved Ruling contains the answer key for this particular play: "No runner may return to touch a missed base after a following runner has scored."

Thus, Odor was called out because he returned to touch the missed base after following runner Kim had already scored, which is not allowed. This might sound akin to runners passing, but these two rules are distinct and different. For one, the Odor missed base play is an appeal play: Odor is not out unless the defense properly appeals (live ball appeals only in professional ball, etc.) while if this was a runners passing situation, Odor would have been declared out immediately upon the infraction (e.g., not an appeal play).

Video as follows:

Friday, October 7, 2022

Rays Lose Replay Review Challenge of Guardians HR Base Touch

Rays manager Kevin Cash filed an unsuccessful challenge during Game 1 of Tampa Bay's AL Wild Card Series against Cleveland, alleging that Guardians baserunner Amed Rosario failed to touch second base during teammate Jose Ramirez's home run in the 6th inning. Replay Review upheld 2B Umpire Quinn Wolcott's safe (legal touch) call.

Believe or not, there are a handful of relevant rules for this play.

Official Baseball Rule 5.06(b)(1) obligates runners to touch bases: "In advancing, a runner shall touch first, second, third and home base in order."

OBR 5.09(c)(2) authorizes defensive appeals for a runner's failure to touch their bases: "Any runner shall be called out on appeal when, with the ball in play, while advancing or returning to a base, they fail to touch each base in order before they, or a missed base, is tagged."

And OBR 5.06(b)(4) clarifies that even though OBR 5.09(c)(2) refers to "with the ball in play," bases awarded still must be touched: "The fact a runner is awarded a base or bases without liability to be put out does not relieve them of the responsibility to touch the base they are awarded and all intervening bases."

We also review the MLB Umpire Manual interpretation for past/prior as well as last time by: "If the runner retouches first and then second in advancing to the awarded base, the runner’s failure to touch second base in returning to first is “corrected” under the theory that touching the base the “last time by” corrects any previous error."

Video as follows:

Tuesday, October 4, 2022

Replay Rules Boston's Martinez Short of 1B vs New York

You asked us to take a look at a Replay Review decision that overturned 1B Umpire Paul Clemons' safe call on a play at first base when Red Sox batter-runner JD Martinez lunged for but missed touching first base as Yankees first baseman Marwin Gonzalez stretched to receive a throw.

Although there exists an MLB Umpire Manual interpretation holding that a runner shall be declared "safe" even if they miss a base based on timing alone, the fact of the matter is that in this case, the batter-runner (by virtue of being short of first base) hadn't yet reached first base when the fielder first possessed the ball. Had batter-runner Martinez instead overstepped first base and failed to touch the backside of the base after already having reached it, then the proper call from Replay would be to declare the runner safe, unless New York were to have filed a proper appeal before manager Aaron Boone challenged the play.

From MLBUM: "If the batter-runner misses first base, or a runner misses their next base, they shall be considered as having reached the next base, as referred to in the Note to Official Baseball Rule 5.06(b)(3)(D) and as stated in the Approved Ruling of Official Baseball Rule 6.02(a): 'A runner who misses the first base to which they are advancing and who is called out on appeal shall be considered as having advanced one base for the purpose of this rule.'"

If the Yankees failed to appeal prior to requesting a Replay Review, it would be too late to appeal after the review's conclusion and the runner Martinez would be ruled safe if the Replay Official determined his foot missed first base, but that the runner did, indeed, reach or arrive at first base prior to the fielder possessing the baseball.

Video as follows:

Friday, September 30, 2022

Teachable - A Base Touch Rotation with John Tumpane

For this Teachable, we watch an umpiring rotation during Tigers batter Riley Greene's triple as Detroit hosted Minnesota. After 2B Umpire Marvin Hudson goes out on a fly ball to the gap, 3B Umpire John Tumpane runs to fill in the vacated second base position, watching for batter-runner Greene's touch of second base.

Behind the play, HP Umpire Ryan Blakney has also rotated up the foul line to prepare for a play into third base and 1B Umpire Charlie Ramos is prepared to rotate to home plate if need be.

With no runners, the 2B Umpire is obliged to go out on any ball the umpire senses may become a "trouble" ball—which is those that may be subject to interference, catch/no catch issues, or stadium boundary questions such as a ball getting stuck in a wall or bounding out of play.
Sidebar: The following Mets-Marlins play from September 11, 2022 is an example of what might transpire if a 2B Umpire opts not to pursue a ball into the outfield that does indeed become a trouble ball, creating an umpiring coverage vacuum in the outfield that ultimately sees the home plate umpire make a lodged ball call.

Thus, it is important that all umpires on the field be prepared to rotate to new positions for new responsibilities as play develops, as Hudson's crew does in Detroit—Tumpane becoming the umpire in the middle as the Twins unsuccessfully appealed a missed base, ruled safe by Tumpane, and upheld via Replay Review.

Video as follows:

Monday, September 26, 2022

Ask - Washington Loses Run on Miami's Chaser Appeal

Already 43 games behind first place in the NL East, the Washington Nationals lost an apparent run in Miami after Marlins catcher Nick Fortes successfully appealed to HP Umpire Bill Miller that Nats baserunner CJ Abrams failed to touch home plate, a call affirmed via Replay Review.

With none out and two on (R1 Vargas, R3 Abrams) in the 2nd inning of Sunday's affair in Miami, Nationals batter Victor Robles hit a ground ball to Marlins pitcher Edward Cabrera, who threw home to catcher Fortes as runner R3 Abrams slid toward home plate. HP Umpire Miller made no signal, only ruling R3 Abrams out after catcher Fortes pursued Abrams to the visitor's first-base dugout at Marlins Park to apply a tag.

The Appeal Rule: Pursuant to Official Baseball Rule 5.09(c)(2), a runner is out on appeal when "they fail to touch each base in order before they, or a missed base, are tagged."

Furthermore, the MLB Umpire Manual advises what to do when both the runner misses their base touch and the fielder misses their tag of the runner, as Miller ruled occurred in Miami: "the umpire shall make no signal on the play...the runner must then be tagged if they attempt to return to the plate; if they continue on their way to the bench, the defense may make an appeal."

If the runner returns to the plate before being tagged, the umpire may then signal the runner safe.

If the runner makes no attempt to return to the plate, as occurred in Miami, the catcher has two options to appeal. For this play, F2 Fortes could have either tagged home plate or tagged the runner Abrams; so-called "accidental" appeals wherein the fielder inadvertently steps on the base with the ball don't count, meaning that Fortes would have to make it clear to HP Umpire Miller that stepping on the base was an intentional act alleging that runner Abrams failed to legally touch it—pursuing the runner to the warning track in front of their dugout in order to apply a tag, while time-consuming, is also a valid appeal option, meaning that Miller properly ruled on Fortes' appeal, declaring runner Abrams out for failing to touch a base. 

Video as follows:

Thursday, April 14, 2022

Teachable - Missed Base Appeal at First, Tosi's Tally

In this edition of Tmac's Teachable Moments, we follow 1B Umpire Alex Tosi as he rules Giants batter-runner Mike Yastrzemski out for missing first base, but only after appeal by Brewers fielder Rowdy Tellez.

An appeal is defined in the Official Baseball Rules as "the act of a fielder in claiming violation of the rules by the offensive team."

The appeal here is that the offense failed to touch first base, as in OBR 5.06(b)(1), and the rule stating the runner shall be called out on appeal is 5.09(c)(2) ("fails to touch each base in order before they, or a missed base, are tagged").

This Teachable illustrates how to rule on this appeal and how to recognize when the defense is appealing.

Video as follows:

Thursday, October 7, 2021

Ask the UEFL - Laz Diaz's Postseason Base Touch Replay

When Cardinals batter Yadier Molina hit a fly ball to left field during the 2021 NL Wild Card Game, baserunner R1 Dylan Carlson rounded second base, only to retreat back to first base as Dodgers outfielder Chris Taylor caught the ball. Los Angeles then appealed Carlson's base touch/retouch with 2B Umpire Laz Diaz's safe call upheld following Replay Review.

Although the crowd boo'd as Crew Chief Joe West signaled the decision—as did many of you who sent us a note asking us to cover this play—this call was correct due to the very definition of call stands, which is a Replay Review outcome that occurs when video evidence fails to clearly and convincingly prove whether (in this case) a runner was safe or out—whether the runner touched or failed to touch second base on the last time by going back to first base.

For what it's worth, the official definition of Call Stands is: "No clear and convincing evidence to confirm or overturn the call."

Video as follows:

Sunday, October 3, 2021

MLB Ejection 189 - Manny Gonzalez (7; Derek Shelton)

1B Umpire Manny Gonzalez ejected Pirates manager Derek Shelton (Replay Review call that overturned 2B Umpire Randy Rosenberg's base touch call; QOCY) in the top of the 5th inning of the #Reds-#Pirates game. With one out and one on, Reds batter Max Schrock hit a 0-2 curveball from Pirate pitcher Cody Ponce on a line drive to Pirates right fielder Yoshi Tsutsugo as Reds baserunner R1 Jonathan India rounded second and advanced to third base while Schrock rounded first and advanced to second base. After the play, Pittsburgh appealed that runner R1 India failed to touch second base properly his last time by, affirmed as an out (failure to touch a base) by 2B Umpire Rosenberg. Following Replay Review as the result of a manager's challenge by Reds manager Bryan Price alleging India properly touched second base when passing it, Rosenberg's call was overturned to safe. Replays indicate the runner touched the base and was legal upon leaving the base to advance to third base, the overturned call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the game was tied, 1-1. The Reds ultimately won the contest, 6-3.

This is Manny Gonzalez (79)'s 7th ejection of 2021.
Manny Gonzalez now has 10 points in the UEFL Standings (6 Prev + 2 MLB + 2 Correct Call = 10).
Crew Chief Manny Gonzalez now has 2 points in Crew Division (1 Previous + 1 Correct Call = 2).
*Passing a base is found in Official Baseball Rule 5.06(b)(1) and the MLB Umpire Manual: "A runner is considered to have passed a base if they have both feet on the ground beyond the back edge of the base or beyond the edge of the base in the direction in which they are advancing."

This is the 189th ejection report of the 2021 MLB regular season.
This is the 85th manager ejection of 2021.
This is Pittsburgh's 4th ejection of 2021, T-4th in the NL Central (MIL 16; CIN 12; CHC 8; PIT, STL 4).
This is Derek Shelton's 3rd ejection of 2021, 1st since June 1 (Dan Bellino; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Manny Gonzalez' 7th ejection of 2021, 1st since Sept 25 (Don Mattingly; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).

Saturday, September 4, 2021

Ask UEFL - Batter-Runner Fights Fielder During HR Trot

When Reno Aces batter Henry Ramos fought Tacoma Rainiers shortstop Donovan Walton during his home run trot, inciting a benches-clearing brawl, it also meant that Ramos did not complete his base touches at third or home plate. With punches thrown and players ejected, what is an umpire's official call to be in such a situation when a runner fails to touch a base to which said runner is entitled to advance?

A similar play occurred at the Major League level in 2013 after Brewers batter Carlos Gomez hit an out-of-the-park home run in Atlanta. With the HR entitling Gomez to advance to home plate, scoring a run, while similarly causing the ball to become dead, Gomez and several members of the Braves became engaged in unsporting behavior, culminating with Braves catcher Brian McCann physically confronting Gomez as the Brewers batter-runner ran toward home plate.

Due to the ensuing fight, during which Braves players Gerald Laird and Freddie Freeman, alongside Milwaukee's Gomez, were ejected, Gomez never did physically touch home plate.

After the play, HP Umpire Paul Nauert and crew awarded Gomez with a touch of home plate and the game continued with the home run credited to the now-ejected Gomez.

When we put together a Case Play in the incident's aftermath, the conclusion held that the umpires ruled obstruction on McCann, the penalty of which was to award Gomez a touch of home plate. Pursuant to both the Official Baseball Rules and various interpretation manuals including the MLBUM and Wendelstedt's book, the principle is to penalize the first team to offend while also failing to execute their expected responsibility during a play and/or prevent an opponent from completing a base award.

In this situation—a dead ball home run—the only responsibility belonged to Ramos, as it did to Gomez in 2013: the responsibility to round the bases and touch home plate. Video confirms that both Ramos and Gomez, although engaged in taunting or other verbal unpleasantness, were in the act of running the bases when someone on the defense—Walton for Ramos and McCann for Gomez—left their position to confront the offensive player, inciting a melee.

Even if we assume the batter-runner and the fielder are equally at fault for the unsporting incident, that's what ejections are for. Insofar as the actual base touches are concerned, the runner is entitled to advance without liability to be put out and in both cases, the defense's illegal actions during a dead ball contributed to the prevention of their batter-runner opponents from completing a base award. As Wendelstedt states, when such obstruction occurs, "the umpire may consider the base as touched or reached if he believes it would have taken place had the obstruction not occurred."

Finally, even with the offensive player ejected for fighting, "disqualification shall not take effect until no further action is possible in that play." Because, in both events, obstruction occurred prior to the disqualification, the award holds and the umpires may credit the player with their awarded base touch(es).

Video as follows:

Saturday, August 7, 2021

Red Sox vs Blue Jays - Missed Base & Missed Appeal

Saturday's #RedSox-#BlueJays game in Toronto featured an interesting Replay Review challenge care of Blue Jays manager Charlie Montoyo after Red Sox batter-runner Alex Verdugo appeared to miss first base as Jays 1B Lourdes Gurriel also missed the base, at least initially. Appeal play says what?

Play: With one out and two on (R1, R2), Boston batter Verdugo hit a ground ball to Toronto third baseman Santiago Espinal, who threw to second baseman Marcus Semien to retire baserunner R1 Jonathan Arauz. Semien's throw to first base in an attempt to complete the double play was low and as first baseman Gurriel reached to catch the baseball, he broke contact with first base. Meanwhile, as Verdugo ran past first base, he too failed to touch the base. Gurriel, pivoting around to check on the remaining baserunner R2 Bobby Dalbec, then inadvertently touched first base with his foot while holding the baseball in glove.

Call: 1B Umpire Doug Eddings ruled Verdugo safe at first base, a call confirmed via Replay Review. But if Verdugo didn't touch first base, why was the call confirmed?

Rules Review & The Question of Timing
: Though it may surprise some fans, Official Baseball Rule 5.05(b)(3) Comment governs this play and has been on the books for decades: "If the batter-runner misses first base, or a runner misses their next base, they shall be considered as having reached the base."

There you have it—Montoyo's challenge was about the safe/out call at first base, but, by rule—OBR 5.05(b)(3) to be precise—the runner is deemed to have reached the base, and this action occurred prior to the defense tagging first base.

This is a situation in which the runner's touch is, surprisingly, not relevant whereas the fielder's touch (to signify a tag of the base) is of tantamount importance.

Missed Base Appeal (No Appeal Filed)
: Instead, we now have a situation of a runner missing a base, which, pursuant to OBR 5.09(c)(2) is an appeal play: "Any runner shall be called out, on appeal, when—With the ball in play, while advancing or returning to a base, they fail to touch each base in order before they, or a missed base, are tagged."

Gurriel's foot inadvertently touching/tagging first base is not a valid appeal. In order for Gurriel's appeal to be valid, Gurriel would have had to signal the umpire that he was specifically appealing Verdugo's failure to touch first base. Because Toronto failed to file a valid appeal before Verdugo returned to touch first base after having overrun it, Verdugo is deemed to have corrected his missed base infraction pursuant to the MLB Umpire Manual's "last time by" interpretation in which a runner corrects an infraction committed seconds earlier at the same base by running the bases properly (e.g., touching  the base) on his "last time by" the base (or in this case, more of a "last time standing on" scenario).

TLDR: Verdugo beat the play at first base and was ruled safe via Replay Review pursuant to OBR 5.05(b)(3). Toronto failed to appeal Verdugo's failure to touch first base, as in OBR 5.09(c)(2), and Verdugo corrected the missed base infraction by returning to first base prior to a defensive appeal (which was never filed).

Video as follows:

Friday, June 25, 2021

A Tale of Two Touches - Last Time By in TB

Thursday's Red Sox-Rays game featured two retouch mistakes on the bases, resulting in a successful appeal for the first, while the second error was fixed thanks to the runner returning to the missed base and touching it.

In the bottom of the 4th inning, Rays batter Randy Arozarena, with runner R1 Brandon Lowe on first base, flied out to right fielder Hunter Renfroe as Lowe ran to, past, and back from second base. The Red Sox appealed that Lowe had failed to retouch second base after passing it and while retreating toward first base, resulting in an inning-ending double play as the appeal was affirmed by 2B Umpire Phil Cuzzi.

In the top of the 9th inning, the play nearly repeated itself with Boston batter Hunter Renfroe's fly out to center field and baserunner R1 Rafael Devers failing to retouch second base on his way back to first to tag up, but unfortunately for Tampa Bay, center fielder Kevin Kiermaier threw wildly to first base, the overthrow allowing Devers to advance to second base and, in doing so, legally touch second, effectively erasing his prior touch error under baseball's last time by principle.

For more information about base touching and retouching rule OBR 5.09(c)(2), as well as the MLB Umpire Manual's official interpretation for passing a base, see our June 13 article on Rangers runner Adolis Garcia's improper base running in Los Angeles that resulted in an appealed out.

Video as follows:

Monday, June 14, 2021

Ask UEFL - Altuve Awarded Base Touch on Reversed HR

When Replay Review reversed Astros batter Jose Altuve's foul ball down the left field line in Minnesota to a home run, Crew Chief Dan Iassogna informed Houston that their runner would not need to run and touch all the bases to complete the HR, leading to a question as to why umpires instructed Michael Morse to re-run the bases during his 2012 grand slam following review.

The answer to this question is slightly less complex than one might think: When Morse hit his home run in 2012, originally ruled a single, umpire Jeff Nelson reviewed the call under MLB's original limited replay framework: three umpires left the playing field to watch a television in the bowels of Busch Stadium before rendering a verdict. Upon overturning the call, umpires were careful to make sure bases were appropriately touched.

By contrast, in 2021, plays are reviewed via the expanded Replay Review process, complete with a slew of Replay Review Regulations originally released in 2014. Though various parts of the regulations have changed over the years—and generally not in a public way—the 2014 iteration provides a huge clue in its section on base running challenges in Section V.F, which allows umpires to award a runner with a base touch (e.g., of home plate on a play at the plate if originally called out) if the umpires deem that the runner would otherwise have been safe had the correct call been made as the original call.

We also covered this in 2018 when Replay Review changed a foul ball to a fair ball call in Los Angeles. Baserunner Alex Verdugo was permitted to cut across the diamond from first to third base without needing to touch second. As we wrote at the time, "When a runner is awarded a base via replay, the Replay Official's placement of the runner carries with it a legal touch of any intermediary bases (in this case, second), such that Verdugo is assumed to have legally touched second base en route to third, because the Replay Official determined that he would have achieved third base had the original ruling been proper."

Section IV, correcting an incorrect call, agrees, which mirrors Official Baseball Rule 8.02(c): "If the umpires consult after a play and change a call that had been made, then they have the authority to take all steps that they may deem necessary, in their discretion, to eliminate the results and consequences of the earlier call that they are reversing, including placing runners where they think those runners would have been after the play, had the ultimate call been made as the initial call, disregarding interference or obstruction that may have occurred on the play; failures of runners to tag up based upon the initial call on the field; runners passing other runners or missing bases; etc., all in the discretion of the umpires."

Video as follows:

Sunday, June 13, 2021

Last Time By Touch Failure Costs Texas on Base Appeal

When 3B Umpire Nic Lentz declared Rangers runner Adolis Garcia out at third on Los Angeles' base touch appeal, he invoked Official Baseball Rule 5.09(c)(2) and the 'last time by' principle for base running to give the Dodgers its second successful base touch appeal in less than a week. Unlike Tuesday's game in Pittsburgh, however, this nullified run did not matter as Texas ultimately won the contest, 12-1.

With one out and Garcia on second base, Rangers batter Joey Gallo hit a 0-1 slider from Dodgers pitcher Trevor Bauer into the outfield. Perhaps thinking right fielder Zach McKinstry had caught the ball (it bounced), Garcia first touched third base before retreating toward second without retouching third, and finally running home to score, also without touching third base. The Dodgers appealed and 3B Umpire Lentz ruled Garcia out for a violation of OBR 5.09(c)(2): "With the ball in play, while advancing or returning to a base, they fail to touch each base in order before they, or a missed base, is tagged."

To understand why Garcia's baserunning was illegal requires an understanding of two points: passing a base and the last time by principle.

Passing a Base
: As we've discussed several times, pursuant to the MLB Umpire Manual, "A runner is considered to have passed a base if they both feet on the ground beyond the back edge of the base or beyond the edge of the base in the direction to which he is advancing." The accompanying annotation of Garcia near third base indicates that after initially passing third base (and touching it), Garcia retreated back toward second and un-passed (backward/retreated) third base, meaning he was now positioned prior to third. Following this action, Garcia again passed (forward/advanced) third base en route to home plate, only this time, without touching third base.

Last Time By
: Having established that Garcia passed third base, retreated to a position prior to third base, and then passed third base again, we turn to the "last time by" principle. The MLBUM states the following regarding a runner who touches a base in advancing, but misses retouching the base on the runner's way back to a prior base, only to again touch the base in advancing once again: "If the runner retouches first and then second in advancing to the awarded base, the runner’s failure to touch second base in returning to first is “corrected” under the theory that touching the base the “last time by” corrects any previous error."

In other words, this is what happened: Garcia touched and ran past third base. After passing third base, Garcia retreated back toward second base and in doing so un-passed third base without retouching it. After establishing his position prior to third base (on the second base side of the bag), Garcia again passed third base, only this time, he failed to touch the base.

Under "last time by," Garcia was properly declared out on appeal for failing to touch third base on his last time by the base, which supersedes the touching action that occurred prior to that last time by act. Had Garcia touched third base on his way to home plate (his last time by), he would have effectively nullified his illegal failure to touch the base on his brief retreat toward second base and rendered the Dodgers' appeal meritless, for a runner's base touch legality depends on what such a runner does on their last time by.

Video as follows:

Wednesday, June 9, 2021

Missed Base Appeals Cost Pittsburgh & Arkansas Runs

The Official Baseball Rules hold a runner is out for missing a base when appealed by the defense and on Tuesday, MLB's Pittsburgh Pirates and Double-A's Arkansas Naturals lost home runs on appeal when Ke'Bryan Hayes (PIT) and Bobby Witt Jr (ARK) were declared out for failing to touch first base and home plate, respectively.

The governing rule is OBR 5.09(c)(2): "Any runner shall be called out, on appeal, when, with the ball in play, while advancing or returning to a base, they fail to touch each base in order before they, or a missed base, is tagged." This rule applies not just to physical touches that (don't) occur during a live ball but also to any touches (or missed touches) that occur during a dead ball wherein the runner has been awarded a base (or bases) due to actions that occurred while the ball was live (such as a home run being hit).

Pittsburgh: Hayes' fly ball off of Dodgers pitcher Walker Buehler to deep right field hit the base of PNC Park's right field foul pole, 1B Umpire Adam Beck ruling the play a home run having dashed down the right field line to get an optimal look at the play. With U1 Beck in right field, that left HP Umpire Jeremie Rehak with rotational base touch responsibility for batter-runner Hayes, although Rehak had a more important job just as Hayes was rounding first base.

OBR's General Instruction to Umpires in Rule 8.00 states, in part, "Keep your eye everlastingly on the ball while it is in play. It is more vital to know just where a fly ball fell, or a thrown ball finished up, than whether or not a runner missed a base."

For this reason, when Los Angeles appealed Hayes' failure to touch first base, HP Umpire Rehak did not have definitive knowledge that Hayes had missed first base: Rehak was concentrating on the flight of the ball along the right field foul line at the crucial moment that Hayes missed first base—providing backup for Beck on both the fair/foul decision (due to Rehak's angle on the foul line) and the HR/in play ruling.

Sidebar: You might notice that the foul pole in Pittsburgh is painted black at its base atop the outfield wall, near the wall's painted yellow line. For more information on why this coloring scheme exists, refer to our following article from 2013.

Hayes' miss of first base occurred on the outfield side of the base (see first still image), meaning Rehak's angle from the opposite side of first base would likely not have enabled him to see the missed contact.

No matter, Replay Review took care of LA's appeal in short order, with Crew Chief Dan Iassogna signaling Hayes out and the run nullified.

Arkansas: As for Royals prospect Bobby Witt, Jr., a 430-home run turned into a dead ball triple when the Frisco RoughRiders ruled that Witt failed to touch home plate during his HR trot.

The primary difference between the LA-Pittsburgh play and the Arkansas-Frisco one is that Witt's hit was clearly fair and plainly left the playing field in flight: unlike Rekah, HP Umpire Chris Presley-Murphy didn't have to help a base umpire with a boundary call at the moment Witt arrived at his last base touch responsibility (home plate), as opposed to his first one (first base).

Thus, the umpire (joined by Frisco catcher Matt Whatley) were able to stare at home plate to see whether Witt's foot touched it during his gallop. Whatley appeared to immediately notice Witt failed to touch home plate and, upon the ball being put back into play and made live, pitcher Hever Bueno threw to Whatley, who touched home plate to ask for the missed base appeal, resulting in an out call as the umpire agreed that Witt had missed home plate, resulting in a triple.

Rules Difference
: Appeals must occur during a live ball in professional and college baseball, while high school allows for dead ball appeals. Live ball appeals that follow a missed base wherein the ball remains live during the play, such as a ground ball to the outfield, can occur during the initial play itself (aka a real-time appeal). These appeals may also occur after the ball has been declared dead, returned to the pitcher, and put back into play (aka delayed or traditional appeals, as ordinarily occurs after dead ball situations, such as home runs).

For more information about so-called real-time appeals, refer to this article from 2017.

For an example of where a real-time appeal would have helped a team, refer to this play in New York and correction to an inaccurate statement regarding missed base plays by the Yankees broadcast.

Play Difference, Scenario: The Pittsburgh play occurred at first base while the Arkansas play occurred at home plate. Thus, if there had been two out in the inning and runners on base at the time of the home run, no runs would be allowed to score in LA-Pittsburgh while all runners preceding Witt would be allowed to score in Arkansas-Frisco. The reason is because Hayes (PIT), by virtue of failing to touch first base, becomes a batter-runner making the third out of the inning prior to touching first base (by rule, no runs may score on such a play), while Witt (ARK) is a batter-runner who makes the third out after touching first base. The Hayes (PIT) play is thus scored as a fly out (no hit) while the Witt (ARK) play is a triple, with all runners ahead of him allowed to score because the third out on appeal constitutes a time play.

Video as follows: