Saturday, July 6, 2019

MLB Ejections 113-114 - Tripp Gibson (3-4; NYM)

HP Umpire Tripp Gibson ejected Mets 3B Todd Frazier (unsportsmanlike-NEC) and Manager Mickey Callaway (warnings) in the bottom of the 5th inning of the Phillies-Mets game. With one out and none on, Frazier took a 0-1 changeup from Phillies pitcher Jake Arrieta for a hit-by-pitch. Replays indicate the pitch was located inside and struck Frazier on his left arm resulting in warnings, the call was irrecusable. Two batters later (R2, R3), Mets batter Amed Rosario took a 1-2 changeup from Arrieta for a hit-by-pitch. Replays indicate the pitch was located inside and struck Rosario on his left thigh, the call was irrecusable. At the time of both ejections, the Phillies were leading, 4-3. The Mets ultimately won the contest, 6-5.

These are Tripp Gibson (73)'s third and fourth ejections of 2019.
Tripp Gibson now has 13 points in the UEFL Standings (9 Prev + 2*[2 MLB + 0 Irrecusable] = 13).
Crew Chief Brian Gorman now has 14 points in Crew Division (12 Previous + 2*[1 QOCU] = 14).

These are the 113th and 114th ejection reports of the 2019 MLB regular season.
This is the 46th player ejection of 2019. Prior to ejection, Frazier was 1-2 (HBP) in the contest.
This is the 62nd Manager ejection of 2019.
These are New York's 4/5th ejections of 2019, T-1st in the NL East (ATL, NYM, WAS 5; MIA, PHI 3).
This is Todd Frazier's first ejection since Sept 11, 2018 (Dan Bellino; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Mickey Callaway's 4th ejection of 2019, 1st since June 8 (Mike Winters; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).

Wrap: Philadelphia Phillies vs. New York Mets, 7/6/19 | Video as follows:

Friday, July 5, 2019

Case Play 2019-5 - Batter Causes HBP [Solved]

A batter cannot cause a pitcher to balk, but can he induce a HBP? Giants player Kevin Pillar's errant "Time" request during Padres hurler Luis Perdomo's delivery seemed to cause a hit batsman as HP Umpire Jeff Nelson properly declined Pillar's late request for "Time," resulting in a slowly thrown pitch that bounced into Pillar's left foot on its way to the backstop. Was Nelson's subsequent hit-by-pitch ruling the correct call or should Nelson have reset the play "from scratch"?

The Play: With one out and none on in the top of the 6th inning of July 4's Giants-Padres game, San Francisco batter Pillar requested "Time" from HP Umpire Nelson as San Diego pitcher Perdomo began his delivery; replays indicate Perdomo was into his leg kick as Pillar signaled his timeout request.

Is this disrupted delivery a true HBP?
Nelson properly invoked Official Baseball Rule 5.04(b)(2) Comment and ignored Pillar's untimely request as Perdomo, perhaps thinking "Time" had been called, slowed his delivery and half-heartedly threw a slow pitch that bounced into Pillar's foot.

Case Play Question: As the ball bounced into and away from Pillar, Nelson ruled the pitch a hit batsman and awarded Pillar first base. Was this the correct call and if not, what should the call have been? No pitch? Ball? .... Strike?
Article of NoteEven if Time Not Granted, Batter Cannot Cause a Balk (7/14/18).
Article of NoteStarting From Scratch - Batter Disrupts Pitcher's Delivery (6/29/16).

Case Play Answer: Rule 5.04(b)(2) protects the pitcher from balking as a result of a batter's action, including a batter's late request for "Time" that is denied by the umpire; if the pitcher stops his motion or otherwise balks (with a runner aboard, obviously) as a result of the batter's act, the balk is disregarded and play starts from scratch, one of baseball's only true "do-over" remedies.

However, Rule 5.04(b)(2) does not protect a pitcher from throwing a ball. To better illustrate, consider this timeline of protection: If the batter inadvertently causes the pitcher to disrupt delivery, the pitcher is protected from an infraction of the rules from an illegal delivery (e.g., any balk is nullified). However, if the delivery is not illegal, then the result of the pitcher's delivery shall stand because once the pitch becomes a ball or strike, the umpire shall call it a ball or a strike (or HBP in this case). Protection extends to the conclusion of the balk/illegal pitch rule and does not include the pitch itself, which shall be called 'Ball' or 'Strike,' as the case may be.

Official Baseball Rules Library
OBR 5.04(b)(2) Comment: "Umpires will not call 'Time' at the request of the batter or any member of his team once the pitcher has started his windup or has come to a set position even though the batter claims 'dust in his eyes,' 'steamed glasses,' 'didn’t get the sign' or for any other cause."
OBR 5.04(b)(2) Comment [Cont'd]: "If after the pitcher starts his windup or comes to a 'set position' with a runner on, he does not go through with his pitch because the batter has inadvertently caused the pitcher to interrupt his delivery, it shall not be called a balk. Both the pitcher and batter have violated a rule and the umpire shall call time and both the batter and pitcher start over from 'scratch.'"
OBR 5.04(b)(2): "The batter shall not leave his position in the batter’s box after the pitcher comes to Set Position, or starts his windup. PENALTY: If the pitcher pitches, the umpire shall call 'Ball' or 'Strike,' as the case may be."
OBR 5.05(b)(2): "The batter becomes a runner and is entitled to first base without liability to be put out when—He is touched by a pitched ball which he is not attempting to hit unless (A) The ball is in the strike zone when it touches the batter, or (B) The batter makes no attempt to avoid being touched by the ball."

Video as follows:

Thursday, July 4, 2019

MLB Ejection 112 - Rob Drake (2; Mike Shildt)

HP Umpire Rob Drake ejected Cardinals Manager Mike Shildt (time out request not granted during pitcher's delivery; QOCY) in the top of the 4th inning of the Cardinals-Mariners game. With one out and none on, Cardinals batter Yairo Munoz requested "Time" as Mariners pitcher Tommy Milone threw a 0-1 changeup for a called second strike. Replays indicate the pitch was located over the heart of home plate and thigh-high (px 0.14, pz 2.27) and that pitcher Milone appeared to be in the midst of his delivery at the moment Munoz requested time out (pursuant to Rule 5.04(b)(2), an umpire shall not grant a request for or otherwise call "Time" once the pitcher has started his windup or come to set position), the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the game was tied, 3-3. The Cardinals ultimately won the contest, 5-4.

This is Rob Drake (30)'s second ejection of 2019.
Rob Drake now has 14 points in the UEFL Standings (10 Prev + 2 MLB + 2 Correct Call = 14).
Crew Chief Tim Timmons now has 1 point in Crew Division (0 Previous + 1 Correct Call = 1).
*Rule 5.04(b)(2) Comment states, "Umpires will not call 'Time' at the request of the batter or any member of his team once the pitcher has started his windup or has come to a set position even though the batter claims 'dust in his eyes,' 'steamed glasses,' 'didn’t get the sign' or for any other cause."
Related PostSpring Ejection S-7 - Angel Hernandez (Asdrubal Cabrera) (3/23/17).
Related PostMLB Ejection 097: Todd Tichenor (2; Jonny Gomes) (7/14/13).

This is the 112th ejection report of the 2019 MLB regular season.
This is the 61st Manager ejection of 2019.
This is St. Louis' 3rd ejection of 2019, 5th in the NL Central (CIN 12; MIL, PIT 5; CHC 4; STL 3).
This is Mike Shildt's 2nd ejection of 2019, 1st since May 19 (Jeremie Rehak; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Rob Drake's 2nd ejection of 2019, 1st since March 31 (Shane Carle; QOC = U [Throwing At]).

Wrap: St. Louis Cardinals vs. Seattle Mariners, 7/4/19 | Video as follows:

MLB Ejection 111 - Joe West (6; Joe Maddon)

HP Umpire Joe West ejected Cubs Manager Joe Maddon (Unsportsmanlike Conduct-NEC directed toward opponent following up-and-in pitches to Javier Baez) in the top of the 4th inning of the Cubs-Pirates game. With two out and one on (R2), Cubs batter Baez took a first-pitch fastball and 1-1 fastball from Pirates pitcher Jordan Lyles for called first and second balls before fouling off a 3-2 fastball. Replays indicate the pitches were located high and off the inner edge of home plate (px -1.13, pz 5.32 and px -1.06, pz 4.65, respectively, for balls one and two, and px -1.66, pz 3.79 for the fouled 3-2 pitch) and no warnings had previously been issued (there were no hit-by-pitch events prior to Maddon's ejection), the call was irrecusable.* At the time of the ejection, the Cubs were leading, 4-3. The Cubs ultimately won the contest, 11-3.

This is Joe West (22)'s sixth ejection of 2019.
Joe West now has 12 points in the UEFL Standings (10 Prev + 2 MLB + 0 Irrecusable Call = 12).
Crew Chief Joe West now has 0 points in Crew Division (-1 Previous + 1 Irrecusable Call = 0).
History of USC-NECMLB Ejection 159 - Joe West (5; Joe Maddon) (9/12/16).
*With an average sz_top of 3.46, the first ball was located 2.6 horizontal and 20.8 vertical inches from the outer borderline range of the strike zone, while the second ball was located 1.8 horizontal and 12.8 vertical inches from this boundary. The fouled 3-2 pitch was located 8.9 horizontal and 2.3 vertical inches from the outer limit.
Official Baseball Rule 8.01(a) states, "The umpires shall be responsible for the conduct of the game in accordance with these official rules and for maintaining discipline and order on the playing field during the game."
OBR 8.01(d) states, "Each umpire has authority to disqualify any player, coach, manager or substitute for objecting to decisions or for unsportsmanlike conduct or language, and to eject such disqualified person from the playing field."

This is the 111th ejection report of the 2019 MLB regular season.
This is the 60th Manager ejection of 2019.
This is Chicago's 4th ejection of 2019, 4th in the NL Central (CIN 12; MIL, PIT 5; CHC 4; STL 2).
This is Joe Maddon's 2nd ejection of 2019, 1st since April 11 (Mike Estabrook; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Joe West's 6th ejection of 2019, 1st since June 25 (Gabe Kapler; QOC = U [Warnings]).

Wrap: Chicago Cubs vs. Pittsburgh Pirates, 7/4/19 | Video as follows:

MiLB Ejection - Skyler Shown (Brady Williams)

With the pre-recorded sounds of a baby crying in the background, ejected Durham Bulls Manager Brady Williams grabbed first base from the feet of 1B Umpire Ryan Wills and marched the bag down to HP Umpire Skyler Shown, with whom Williams had argued a play at third base during a preceding sacrifice fly, placing the bag on the ground in a demonstration of...what exactly? It was Williams' third ejections in eight days.

With one out and two on (R2, R3), Mud Hens batter Mikie Mahtook hit a fly ball to center field for a sacrifice fly, scoring Victor Reyes from third base as baserunner R2 Willi Castro tagged up and arrived safely at third base; Shown ejected Williams for arguing a call at third during the sequence. At the time of the ejection, the Mud Hens were leading, 2-0. The Mud Hens ultimately won the contest, 9-3.

The International League, whose sportsmanship standards appear to differ ever so slightly from that of Major League Baseball, suspended Williams two games following his stunt in Toledo. This is Williams' fourth managerial suspension in his Minor League Baseball managerial career (MiLB also suspended him thrice for three games each).

Quipped the 39-year-old Williams, "I've calmed down with age."

This is Brady Williams' first last season as manager of the Bulls.

Wrap: Durham Bulls vs. Toledo Mud Hens, 6/30/19 | Video as follows:

Wednesday, July 3, 2019

Mets End Game on Bobbled Foul Tip

When Yankees batter Brett Gardner made contact with a 3-2 fastball from Mets pitcher Edwin Diaz, NYM catcher Wilson Ramos bobbled the ball and caught it for foul tip strikeout? As umpire Gary Cederstrom—who became yet the latest umpire hit by a pitch or foul ball during a Mets game in 2019—signaled the final out, we review an odd looking non-fly-ball.

The Play: With two out in the 9th inning, Yankees batter Brett Gardner swung and fouled a 3-2 fastball from Mets pitcher Edwin Diaz off the glove of catcher Wilson Ramos and into the air, whereupon the ball ricocheted off Ramos' free hand and back into his glove for a game-ending catch.

Ramos catches a flying foul tip for strike 3.
The Call: This play was ruled a swinging strikeout by HP Umpire Gary Cederstrom, specifically a foul tip.

The Rule: This is indeed a foul tip. Although the Official Baseball Rules' definition of the term states, "A FOUL TIP is a batted ball that goes sharp and direct from the bat to the catcher’s hands and is legally caught. It is not a foul tip unless caught and any foul tip that is caught is a strike, and the ball is in play. It is not a catch if it is a rebound, unless the ball has first touched the catcher’s glove or hand," the most relevant rule is found in OBR 5.09(a)(2) Comment, which refers to "The batter is out when—a third strike is legally caught by the catcher."

The tail end of a foul tip in Milwaukee, 2015.
OBR 5.09(a)(2) Comment states, "If a foul tip first strikes the catcher’s glove and then goes on through and is caught by both hands against his body or protector, before the ball touches the ground, it is a strike, and if third strike, batter is out. If smothered against his body or protector, it is a catch provided the ball struck the catcher’s glove or hand first."

Analysis: The comment's hypothetical scenario is pretty much what happened here, and it's also what happened in a UEFL Case Play from 2015, when HP Umpire Ryan Blakney similarly ruled a foul tip when Diamondbacks batter Jarrod Saltalamacchia's offering deflected off Brewers catcher Martin Maldonado's glove and into the air, where it was caught on the fly by the diving catcher.
Related PostCase Play 2015-04, The Flying Foul Tip [Solved] (6/8/15).

As we wrote in the Case Play, the main consideration is what the ball touched first after coming off the bat. If it's the hands/glove/mitt, it can be legally caught. If it's another part of the catcher's equipment or body, it cannot be legally caught.

To summarize:
Bat => Catcher's Hand, Glove, or Mitt => Caught or Smothered = FOUL TIP.
Bat => Anything Else => Caught or Smothered = FOUL BALL.
The ball's first point of contact: the mitt.

Implications: Finally, we'll discuss what this means in real life. Recall that the ball remains live during a foul tip, but is dead on a foul ball. Thus, if we had less than two outs (or less than two strikes) in New York, our baserunner could have legally stolen third base while the catcher was juggling the foul tip—and because it was a foul tip and not a legally caught foul ball (e.g., an actual fly ball that is caught in the air), there is no requirement to "tag up" or retouch a base. In such event, a quick-thinking catcher—with less than two strikes on the batter—might strategically choose to let the ball fall to the ground for the express purpose of preventing a potential stolen base.

But with two strikes, it's better to catch the ball for a strikeout | Video as follows:

Tuesday, July 2, 2019

Blarge - Obstruction Saves Doomed Runner

Obstruction (not interference) visited Miami during Phillies batter Bryce Harper's long single to deep left field, scoring Maikel Franco and Jake Arrieta after a baserunning blunder turned into a Marlins mishap and umpires' uh-oh when catcher Jorge Alfaro's obstruction on baserunner Arrieta during a rundown led to an automatic base award following apparently conflicting calls from two umpires on the same play.

The Play: With one out and the bases loaded, Harper hit a 3-2 fastball off Marlins pitcher Jeff Brigham to the wall in left field, retrieved and returned to the infield by left fielder Curtis Granderson, to catcher Jorge Alfaro as preceding runner R2 Arrieta and trailing runner R1 Jean Segura both stood on third base. As Alfaro jogged toward and lobbed the ball toward third base, R3 Arrieta sprinted down the third baseline, colliding with Alfaro as the Marlins catcher failed to get out of the baserunner's path, resulting in an obstruction call from 2B Umpire John Tumpane as HP Umpire Ted Barrett ruled the runner out, having called no obstruction as evidenced by his "safe" mechanic in the immediate aftermath of the runner-fielder interaction.

Tumpane and Barrett make conflicting calls.
Analysis, OBS vs Not OBS: Before we get to the obstruction rule itself, let's discuss the general principle of conflicting umpire calls.

Official Baseball Rule 8.03(c) is officiating's catch-all for conflicting calls made on the same play: "If different decisions should be made on one play by different umpires, the umpire-in-chief shall call all the umpires into consultation, with no manager or player present. After consultation, the umpire-in-chief (unless another umpire may have been designated by the League President) shall determine which decision shall prevail, based on which umpire was in best position and which decision was most likely correct. Play shall proceed as if only the final decision had been made."

For MLB/MiLB, this means the crew chief will decide the final call after consultation. This play didn't merit the same level of additional discussion as portrayed in OBR 8.03(c), but why?

Barrett's call technically doesn't happen.
Because Tumpane's call of "Obstruction 1/A" causes the ball to become dead (we'll discuss this later), Barrett's no-call and subsequent out call of Arrieta technically occurs during a dead ball, after the infraction had already been ruled. Thus, Tumpane's call prevails simply because it came first and killed the play prior to Barrett having made any call. Accordingly, we don't technically have conflicting umpire calls since Tumpane's call occurred first and prevented any subsequent "live ball" calls from being made.

In the grand scheme of conflicting calls, a "safe" mechanic in the context of no-calling a violation is a rather tame conflicting call to have, as whether an umpire indicates "safe" or not, the result is the same: the potential obstruction or interference is no-called. The only difference between a mechanic vs no mechanic is "safe" clearly communicates that the umpire has seen the play and observed no infraction of the rules. In general, an umpire's ruling that obstruction has taken place (an active call) takes precedence over an umpire's ruling that no obstruction has taken place (a passive call).

The active vs. passive set of "conflicting calls" is easily correctable—much easier than what Rule 8.03(c)'s purpose is meant for, which would be a set of two active conflicting calls (e.g., "safe" at a base vs "out" at a base, or "that's interference" vs "that's obstruction").

This (conflicting calls) is also one reason why it is important to call "Time" immediately upon ruling that Obstruction Type 1/A has occurred (for Type 2/B, by contrast, play is to be kept alive).

SIDEBAR: We'll use the terms Obstruction 1 and Obstruction A interchangeably, as we will with Obstruction 2/B. The reason for this is the 'old' OBR codification for Obstruction split the types into provisions (a) and (b). The 'new' OBR numbering changed (a) to (1) and (b) to (2); hence 1/A and 2/B).

Analysis, Obstruction 1/A vs 2/B (vs Interference): There are two elements to drill into the audience here. The first is the difference between Obstruction 1/A and 2/B. Succinctly, obstruction type 1 (old OBR: Obstruction A) occurs when a play is being made on the obstructed runner.

This is an example of OBS Type 1/A.
SIDEBAR: Obstruction A also occurs if the batter-runner is obstructed prior to reaching first base on a ground ball to an infielder, whether or not a play is being made on the batter-runner. In the case of a pop-up or line drive to an infielder, obstruction against the batter-runner is identified but the ball is kept alive. If the fly ball is legally caught, the batter is out. If not, it becomes Obstruction A and the batter-runner is awarded first base. In the case of any ball hit to the outfield, the ball is kept alive. The batter-runner, however, is protected to at least first base.

On an outfield hit like Harper's, Obstruction A ordinarily occurs during an ensuing rundown when a fielder hinders or impedes the baserunner's attempt to run the bases. It's important to contrast this with an Obstruction B play, which occurs when there is no play being made on the obstructed runner at the time of obstruction.

If OBS occurs at this moment, it is OBS 2/B.
The 2013 World Series Jim Joyce/Dana DeMuth (Allen Craig/Will Middlebrooks) play is an example of this second obstruction type. Even though the defense may have attempted a play on the runner at some point during the live ball—or may even try to retire the runner later during the same play—Obstruction A only applies to a runner who is obstructed while there is an active play being made on him/her. If, for instance, the defense throws the ball away and the runner is obstructed while attempting to advance while the defense is pursuing the loose ball away from the runner, this would be an example of Obstruction B.
Related PostObstruction 1 or A vs 2 or B - The Difference is Crucial (6/23/17).

Graphic: Timeline of Obstruction.
As you read the following scenario, take a look at the attached Timeline of Obstruction graphic for an illustration of when Obstruction B turns to A, and back again: With baserunner R2 leading off from second base, the batter hits a ball on the ground to shortstop F6. F6 notices R2 halfway between second and third base and throws to second baseman F4. F4 catches the ball and runs toward R2, who is attempting to run toward third base. F4 throws the ball to third baseman F5, who misses the catch as the ball bounces toward the third-base dugout and into foul territory. R2 slides into third base.

If obstruction occurs between baserunner R2 and a fielder while the shortstop is fielding the ball but before he has turned his attention to R2, the obstruction is Type B. If obstruction occurs after F4 has started his attempt to play on the baserunner (and before F5 misses his attempt to field F4's throw), the obstruction is Type A. If obstruction occurs after F5 fails to make the catch and while the ball is loose on the field, the obstruction is Type B. Rinse and repeat.

Obstruction A: Play on runner or BR.
Knowing whether a play is Obstruction 1 or 2 is crucial, because the penalties are different. For Obstruction 1, the ball is immediately dead and all non-obstructed runners are placed where they would have been had there been no obstruction. The obstructed runner is awarded at least one base beyond the base last legally touched at the time of obstruction. It's important to note that the nullify-the-act principle explicitly does not apply to the obstructed runner in the sense that the obstructed runner cannot be returned to a base. The obstructed runner must be awarded at minimum one base and may even be awarded two or more bases. The obstructed runner shall not be declared out.

Obstruction B: No active play on runner.
In OBS 2, all runners are placed where the umpire believes they would have been had obstruction not occurred in the "nullify the act" resolution. This means a runner may be declared out under this scenario if the umpire deems the runner would have been out regardless of the obstruction.

Commentary Critique: The second point to drive home is a broadcasting nightmare wherein announcers have a tendency to confuse "interference" and "obstruction." Here's a quick guide:

Obstruction: The defensive team generally obstructs the offense.
Interference: The offensive team interferes with the fielders.

Catcher's Interference: A limited exception to the general principle occurs with catcher's interference against a batter (an illegal act by the catcher against a runner is always obstruction), but CI can only exist during a pitched ball. Once the ball is no longer pitched (e.g., it is batted, becomes a passed ball/wild pitch, etc.), illegal hindrance by a defensive player against a runner is referred to as obstruction, not interference. NFHS makes it even easier and replaces what OBR/NCAA ordinarily refers to as "catcher's interference" with the term "catcher's obstruction."

Official Baseball Rules, Obstruction:
[Definition of Terms]: "OBSTRUCTION is the act of a fielder who, while not in possession of the ball and not in the act of fielding the ball, impedes the progress of any runner."
Rule 6.01(h)(1): "If a play is being made on the obstructed runner, or if the batter-runner is obstructed before he touches first base, the ball is dead and all runners shall advance, without liability to be put out, to the bases they would have reached, in the umpire’s judgment, if there had been no obstruction. The obstructed runner shall be awarded at least one base beyond the base he had last legally touched before the obstruction. Any preceding runners, forced to advance by the award of bases as the penalty for obstruction, shall advance without liability to be put out."
Rule 6.02(h)(2): "If no play is being made on the obstructed runner, the play shall proceed until no further action is possible. The umpire shall then call 'Time' and impose such penalties, if any, as in his judgment will nullify the act of obstruction."

Video as follows:

Monday, July 1, 2019

Umpires Host Cordova in Colorado

13-year-old Lakewood umpire Josh Cordova's tale came full circle as he joined Chris Guccione and crewmates Tony Randazzo, Laz Diaz, and Cory Blaser for Sunday's Dodgers-Rockies game in Colorado. @UmpsCare Charities helped arrange logistics as Cordova and family walked on the field for the plate meeting, having sat in on the umpires' own pregame meeting in the dressing room.

Cordova, whose youth game devolved through a complete loss of parental sportsmanship and into criminal violence, was honored during the Coors Field pre-game festivities as he met with the umpires, Dodgers Manager Dave Roberts, and Rockies Manager Bud Black.
Related PostChris Guccione to Host Youth Lakewood Umpire (6/28/19).

Cordova and Blaser review lineup cards.
Salida, CO native Guccione was the primary umpire who reached out to Cordova to show support: "I thought it was the perfect opportunity to reach out to Josh, not only to him but his family, to say, 'Hey, I'm proud of you, I'm rooting for you and what you did was the right thing.'"

Cordova added, "I don’t want this to be all about me; it must’ve been scary for the 7-year-olds, seeing their parents on the field. I don’t want them to have the idea that baseball is like that. I want them to have the idea that baseball is a great game, to love the game."

"I'm proud of you" - Chris Guccione.
In the end, Cordova received umpiring gear, including a few #68 jerseys and a chest protector, and he recounted one of the questions he asked the big league umps as he sat in during their pre-game: "I asked them a couple questions...just like, 'How many people have you thrown out?'"

For the record, Guccione has 58 career MLB ejections, Randazzo has 39, Diaz has 35, and Blaser has 14 in just under 1,000 career big league games.

Video as follows:

Sunday, June 30, 2019

MLB Ejection 110 - Mike Muchlinski (1; Torey Lovullo)

HP Umpire Mike Muchlinski ejected Diamondbacks Manager Torey Lovullo (strike three call; QOCY in the top of the 5th inning of the Diamondbacks-Giants game. With none out and one on (R3), Diamondbacks batter Carson Kelly took a 0-1 fastball and 2-2 cutter from Giants pitcher Madison Bumgarner for called second and third strikes. Replays indicate the 0-1 pitch was located over the inner half of home plate and at the midpoint (px -0.65, pz 3.33 [sz_top 3.25 / RAD 3.37]) while the 2-2 pitch was located over the outer edge of home plate and thigh-high (px 0.79, pz 2.25), the call was correct. At the time of the ejection, the Giants were leading, 4-0. The Giants ultimately won the contest, 10-4.

This is Mike Muchlinski (76)'s first ejection of 2019.
Mike Muchlinski now has 6 points in the UEFL Standings (2 Prev + 2 MLB + 2 Correct Call = 6).
Crew Chief Dan Iassogna now has 1 point in Crew Division (0 Previous + 1 Correct Call = 1).
*UEFL Rule 6-2-b-1 (Kulpa Rule): |0| < STRIKE < |.748| < BORDERLINE < |.914| < BALL.
*The 0-1 pitch was located 1.476 vertical inches from being deemed an incorrect call.
*The 2-2 pitch was located 1.488 vertical inches from being deemed an incorrect call.

This is the 110th ejection report of the 2019 MLB regular season.
This is the 59th Manager ejection of 2019.
This is Arizona's 2nd ejection of 2019, T-4th in the NL West (SD 5; SF 4; COL 3; ARI, LAD 2).
This is Torey Lovullo's 1st ejection since April 8, 2018 (Tim Timmons; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Mike Muchlinski's 1st ejection since August 20, 2018 (Scott Servais; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).

Wrap: Arizona Diamondbacks vs. San Francisco Giants, 6/30/19 | Video as follows:

MLB Ejection 109 - Bruce Dreckman (4; Kevin Cash)

HP Umpire Bruce Dreckman ejected Rays Manager Kevin Cash (strike three call; QOCN) in the bottom of the 2nd inning of the Rangers-Rays game. With none out and two on (R2, R3), Rays batter Avisail Garcia took a 3-1 fastball and a 3-2 fastball from Rangers pitcher Jesse Chavez for called second and third strikes. Replays indicate the 3-1 pitch was located over the outer edge of home plate and above the knee (px 0.87, pz 1.77 [sz_bot 1.73]) while the 3-2 pitch was located off the outer edge of home plate and thigh-high (px 1.07, pz 2.73), the call was incorrect.* At the time of the ejection, the game was tied, 0-0. The Rays ultimately won the contest, 6-2.

This is Bruce Dreckman (1)'s fourth ejection of 2019.
Bruce Dreckman now has 8 points in the UEFL Standings (10 Prev + 2 MLB - 4 Incorrect Call = 8).
Crew Chief Paul Emmel now has 7 points in Crew Division (7 Previous + 0 Incorrect Call = 7).
*UEFL Rule 6-2-b-1 (Kulpa Rule): |0| < STRIKE < |.748| < BORDERLINE < |.914| < BALL.
*The 3-1 pitch was a correct call by 0.528 horizontal inches.
*The 3-2 pitch was located 1.872 horizontal inches from being deemed a correct call.

This is the 109th ejection report of the 2019 MLB regular season.
This is the 58th Manager ejection of 2019.
This is Tampa Bay's 1st ejection of 2019, 5th in the AL East (BAL 4; TOR 3; BOS, NYY 2; TB 1).
This is Kevin Cash's 1st ejection since Sept 11, 2018 (Mark Carlson; QOC = Y-c [Balk]).
This is Bruce Dreckman's 4th ejection of 2019, 1st since June 8 (Ned Yost; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).

Wrap: Texas Rangers vs. Tampa Bay Rays, 6/30/19 | Video as follows:

Injury Scout - Welke's Foul Out in New York

HP Umpire Bill Welke left Saturday's Braves-Mets game in New York as the result of a foul ball injury sustained during the 5th inning.

With none out and one on in the top of the 5th, Braves batter Matt Joyce fouled a 2-2 90-mph slider into Welke's traditional-style facemask. Welke remained in the contest for the balance of the 5th and 6th innings, and left the game prior to the 7th inning of play.

2B Umpire Roberto Ortiz served as the home plate umpire for the remainder of the contest, with 1B Umpire Lance Barrett and 3B Umpire/Crew Chief Mike Everitt working the lines.

Relevant Injury History: There is no recent injury history for Bill Welke.

Last Game: June 29 | Return to Play: July 19 | Time Absent: 20 Days | Video as follows: