Showing posts with label Base Coach. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Base Coach. Show all posts

Friday, May 23, 2025

A Weird Walk-off Win on Base Coach Interference???

Despite umpires calling base coach assist interference, MiLB's Reno Aces walked off the Albuquerque Isotopes when CF Sam Hilliard threw a live ball over the outfield fence, allowing the winning run to score in one of the weirdest come-from-behind wins you'll ever see.

With one out and the bases loaded in the bottom of the 9th inning, visiting and defensive team Albuquerque held a 4-3 lead over offensive team Reno. Reno batter Connor Kaiser hit a 3-2 fastball on a sharp line drive to Albuquerque center fielder Hilliard as Reno baserunner R3 Aramis Garcia scored from third base.

However, as runner R2 Cristian Pache rounded third, he collided with a teammate who had come off the bench to celebrate, and who tried getting Pache reoriented to score after the collision. HP Umpire Steven Hodgins called assist interference on the bench, declaring Cristian Pache out, but because Hodgins used the base coach interference rule (as opposed to actual hinder-or-impede interference for runners and retired/scored teammates), the ball remained live.

Mistakenly thinking the game was already over (perhaps unaware of Pache being ruled out), CF Hilliard then threw the live ball over the fence and out of play, resulting in a dead ball and two base award for trailing runner R1 Andy Weber, who had attained second base (if not third base) by the time of the throw. This meant Weber was awarded home, scoring Reno's 5th run to preserve the wacky walk-off win.

Hodgins ruled Pache out under base coach assist Official Baseball Rule 6.01(a)(8), which states it is interference when "(8) In the judgment of the umpire, the base coach at third base, or first base, by touching or holding the runner, physically assists them in returning to or leaving third base or first base."

This brand of interference is treated differently than the usual runners or retired runners' interference rules, which result in an immediate dead ball. According to Wendelstedt Manual, the ball remains live on base coach assist interference, and the ball remaining live allowed the rest of the play to occur: "Following a coach’s interference, the assisted runner is out, but the ball remains alive. Other runners may make bases or outs" (Wendelstedt p. 159).

The two-base award in OBR 5.06(b)(4)(G): "Each runner including the batter-runner may, without liability to be put out, advance two bases when, with no spectators on the playing field, a thrown ball goes into the stands," is taken at time-of-throw (as opposed to time-of-pitch), so R1's position at the time of the throw (either 2nd or 3rd base) meant that R1 scored as a result of his two-base award.

Video as follows:

Tuesday, August 15, 2023

MLB Ejection 200 - Tripp Gibson (2; David Ross)

3B Umpire Tripp Gibson ejected Cubs manager David Ross (balk no-calls on White Sox pitcher Lane Ramsey) in the bottom of the 6th of the #WhiteSox-#Cubs game. Ross was ejected during the inning break following Ramsey's 6th inning appearance, alleging that Ramsey's routine in coming set constituted a balk; however, a review of the balk rules suggest that because Ramsey's rocking movements concluded with a definitive stop point in coming Set—and the pitcher did definitively stop in Set Position prior to starting his delivery, the no-call was correct. At the time of the ejection, the game was tied, 3-3. The White Sox ultimately won the contest, 5-3.

This is Tripp Gibson (73)'s 2nd ejection of 2023.

This is the 200th ejection report of the 2023 MLB regular season.
This is the 91st manager ejection of 2023. Ejection Tally: 91 Managers, 80 Players, 29 Coaches.
This is Chicago's 8th ejection of 2023, 3rd in the NL Central (PIT, STL 10; CHC, MIL 8; CIN 7).
This is David Ross' 5th ejection of 2023, 1st since July 9 (Alex MacKay; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Tripp Gibson's 2nd ejection of 2023, 1st since June 30 (Jose Castro; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).

We also reviewed a potential case of base coach interference (illegal assist) during the Mariners-Royals game in Kansas City.

Wrap: Chicago White Sox vs Chicago Cubs, 8/15/23 | Video as follows:

Tuesday, May 30, 2023

Base Coach Interference Visits Giants Game

The rarely seen interference: base coach assist call made an appearance during the mammoth 7th inning of San Francisco's lopsided victory over Pittsburgh, with 3B Umpire Laz Diaz ruling Giants baserunner R2 Austin Slater out at third base after a crew conference determination that 3B Coach Mark Hallberg illegally assisted him in returning to third base.

Official Baseball Rule 6.01(a)(8) governs this play and states that it is interference by a runner when, "in the judgment of the umpire, the base coach at third base, or first base, by touching or holding the runner, physically assists them in returning to or leaving third base or first base."

Diaz originally ruled Slater safe on a close play at third featuring a collision with Pirates third baseman Rodolfo Castro during which the ball popped out of Castro's glove due to the force of the players coming together. After request from Pirates manager Derek Shelton, the crew convened and Slater was ruled out for the coach assist interference (Giants manager Gabe Kapler did not argue).

Video as follows:

Thursday, May 5, 2016

Defining Base Coach Interference - It Had to Be St Louis

A third base coach interference no-call in St. Louis paved the way for a Cardinals walk-off win against Philadelphia Wednesday night when 3B Umpire Ryan Blakney ruled that Cardinals third base coach Chris Maloney, filling in this season for regular base coach Jose Oquendo, did not interfere with Phillies third baseman Andres Blanco's pursuit of Cards baserunner R2 Carlos Martinez, who eventually made out at home. Stay tuned for an explanation as to why the interference no-call was correct.

But first, let's draw up the play. With one out and the bases loaded in the bottom of the 9th inning of a 4-3 game, Cardinals batter Stephen Piscotty singled on a ground ball to Phillies shortstop Freddy Galvis (R3 Kolten Wong scoring), who threw to F5 Blanco as R2 Martinez rounded third and continued on towards home, where he was subsequently tagged out by catcher Carlos Ruiz. Replays indicate that during the play, third base coach Maloney, who was standing close to the dirt path between third base and home plate, had to maneuver to avoid touching both Martinez and Blanco as both players used a path down the baseline which Maloney appeared to occupy. No contact occurred between Maloney and either player.

NOTE: The distinction of interference vs non-interference is important because, even though R2 Martinez was retired, trail runner R1 Aledmys Diaz advanced to third base during the rundown. Had interference been called, Diaz likely would have been placed back at second base on the dead ball.

Analysis: OBR Rule 5.03 concerns Base Coaches and states in provision (b) that, the base coaches shall, "remain within the coach’s box at all times." Yet with 3BC Maloney clearly outside of the box in apparent contravention of Rule 5.03(b), why did Blankey not rule the play dead on the auspices of base coach interference? Refer to Rule 5.03 Penalty: "The offending base coach shall be removed from the game, and shall leave the playing field." The penalty is not to call interference or kill the play. Here's an example of an umpire enforcing the penalty: [[Ed Montague removes offending base coach Larry Bowa from the game]].

So if 5.03 says nothing about interference, Rule 6.01(f) clearly does: "If a thrown ball accidentally touches a base coach, or a pitched or thrown ball touches an umpire, the ball is alive and in play. However, if the coach interferes with a thrown ball, the runner is out." Not relevant.

Rule 6.01(b) states that, "The players, coaches or any member of a team at bat shall vacate any space (including both dugouts or bullpens) needed by a fielder who is attempting to field a batted or thrown ball." Does not apply, as F5 already had the ball.

Does Rule 6.01(a)(8) apply? "In the judgment of the umpire, the base coach at third base, or first base, by touching or holding the runner, physically assists him in returning to or leaving third base or first base." No.

How about 6.01(a)(9)? "With a runner on third base, the base coach leaves his box and acts in any manner to draw a throw by a fielder." No.

Here's a play portrayed in Rule 6.01(d) Comment: "Batter hits ball to shortstop, who fields ball but throws wild past first baseman. The coach at first base, to avoid being hit by the ball, falls to the ground and the first baseman on his way to retrieve the wild thrown ball, runs into the coach. The batter-runner finally ends up on third base. Whether the umpire should call interference on the part of the coach is up to the judgment of the umpire and if the umpire felt that the coach did all he could to avoid interfering with the play, no interference need be called. If, in the judgment of the umpire, the coach was attempting to make it appear that he was trying not to interfere, the umpire should rule interference." This is relevant. If the interference is intentional, it is to be called. If unintentional AND the coach did all he could to avoid it, it is not a violation.

Coach Maloney successfully avoided both his player and his opponent; he did not obstruct, impede, hinder or confuse any fielder attempting to make a play. That's why Blakney signaled "safe": Because there was no actual interference; F5 was not impeded from completing his play. This is similar in theory to throwing a glove or hat at a loose ball: no harm, no foul unless there's actual interference with the ball's movement.

Regarding Rule 5.03's "remain within the coach's box at all times" language, Rule 5.03 Comment states: "Until a batted ball passes a coach, a coach is not permitted to position himself closer to home plate than the coach’s box nor closer to fair territory than the coach’s box. Otherwise, a coach shall not be considered out of the box unless the opposing manager complains, in which case the umpire shall strictly enforce the rule and require all coaches (on both teams) to remain in the coach’s box at all times."

Though physically out of the box, Maloney is not considered "out of the box" by rule unless opposing manager Pete Mackanin complains, in which case the only recourse is for U3 Blakney to require Maloney to "remain in the coach's box at all times." The penalty for being out of the box is not an interference call.

Video: Maloney dodges Martinez & Blanco; Blakney rules the play legal ("Read more")