Saturday, June 12, 2021

MLB Ejection 073 - Marvin Hudson (1; David Bell)

HP Umpire Marvin Hudson ejected Reds manager David Bell (strike three [no foul ball] call; QOCY) in the bottom of the 4th inning of the #Rockies-#Reds game. With two out and none on, Reds batter Jesse Winker attempted to strike a 0-2 slider from Rockies pitcher German Marquez, ruled a swinging third strike by HP Umpire Hudson. Replays indicate Winker swung at and missed the pitch; the bat did not make contact with the ball, the strike three swinging / no foul ball call was correct. At the time of the ejection, the Reds were leading, 4-3. The Reds ultimately won the contest, 10-3.

The Cincinnati broadcasters referenced a play from the top of the 4th inning in which Wade Miley's initial 0-1 pitch to Rockies batter Elias Diaz was waved off by Hudson. Cincinnati's complaint was that Diaz called time and Hudson granted the request after Miley had started his windup delivery. Official Baseball Rule 5.04(b)(2) states umpires shall not call "Time" after a pitcher has started windup or come to set position.

However, replays additionally indicate Miley began his pitching motion before batter Diaz—who began the sequence outside of the batter's box (for a legal reason after strike one)—was reasonably set in the batter's box, which itself is a violation of OBR 6.02(a)(5): "A quick pitch is an illegal pitch. Umpires will judge a quick pitch as one delivered before the batter is reasonably set in the batter's box. With runners on base, the penalty is a balk; with no runners on base, it is a ball. The quick pitch is dangerous and should not be permitted."

So while "Time" should not be called after a pitcher has started windup, a pitcher shall not start such delivery before the batter is reasonably set in the box. Chicken or egg?

This is Marvin Hudson (51)'s 1st ejection of 2021.
Marvin Hudson now has 5 points in the UEFL Standings (1 Previous + 2 MLB + 2 Correct Call = 5).
Crew Chief Marvin Hudson now has 3 points in Crew Division (2 Prev + 1 Correct Call = 3).

This is the 73rd ejection report of the 2021 MLB regular season.
This is the 38th manager ejection of 2021.
This is Cincinnati's 4th ejection of 2021, 2nd in the NL Central (MIL 6; CIN 4; CHC, PIT 3; STL 2).
This is David Bell's 2nd ejection of 2021, 1st since April 25 (Joe West; QOC = U [Warnings]).
This is Marvin Hudson's 1st ejection since September 5, 2017 (Josh Donaldson; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).

Wrap: Colorado Rockies vs. Cincinnati Reds, 6/12/21 | Video as follows:

Thursday, June 10, 2021

MLB Ejection 072 - Sean Barber (Dusty Baker) & Infield Fly

HP Umpire Sean Barber ejected Astros manager Dusty Baker (fair ball call; QOCY) an inning after 2B Umpire John Tumpane ruled Red Sox batter Rafael Devers out on the infield fly rule during Thursday's #Astros-#RedSox game. In the bottom of the 6th inning, with one out and two on (R1, R2), Red Sox batter Devers hit a fly ball to Astros shortstop Carlos Correa, resulting in an infield fly declaration by 2B Umpire Tumpane that put Devers out before Correa dropped the ball. As we've discussed many, many times, umpires consider several criteria regarding an infield fly.*

1) First and second base were occupied with less than two outs (one out, R1, R2).
2) The batter hit a fair fly ball which was not a line drive nor a bunt.
3) It could be caught by infielder Correa with ordinary effort. This was established as Correa positioned himself in the outfield facing the infield, or, colloquially, was "camped."

As for the ejection, in the top of the 7th inning, with one out and one on (R1), Astros batter Yuli Gurriel hit a 1-2 sinker from Red Sox pitcher Adam Ottavino in front of home plate, ruled fair by HP Umpire Barber upon the baseball being initially touched in fair territory by Red Sox catcher Christian Vasquez, and resulting in a double play as Astros baserunner Yordan Alvarez was tagged out while off his base by Red Sox second baseman Christian Arroyo. Replays indicate Gurriel's batted ball was retrieved by Red Sox catcher Christian Vazquez in fair territory and that the batted ball did not touch Gurriel's person, the call was correct. At the time of the ejection, the Red Sox were leading, 12-8. The Red Sox ultimately won the contest, 12-8.

This is Sean Barber (29)'s 2nd ejection of 2021.
Sean Barber now has 4 points in the UEFL Standings (0 Previous + 2 MLB + 2 Correct Call = 4).
Crew Chief Brian Gorman now has 3 points in Crew Division (2 Prev + 1 Correct Call = 3).
*"An INFIELD FLY is a fair fly ball (not including a line drive nor an attempted bunt) which can be caught by an infielder with ordinary effort, when first and second, or first, second and third bases are occupied, before two are out...On the infield fly rule the umpire is to rule whether the ball could ordinarily have been handled by an infielder-not by some arbitrary limitation such as the grass, or the base lines."

This is the 72nd ejection report of the 2021 MLB regular season.
This is the 37th manager ejection of 2021.
This is Houston's 1st ejection of 2021, T-4th in the AL West (OAK 3; LAA, TEX 2; HOU, SEA 1).
This is Dusty Baker's 1st ejection since August 9, 2020 (Nick Mahrley; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Sean Barber's 2nd ejection of 2021, 1st since April 26 (Bob Melvin; QOC = N [Replay Review]).

Wrap: Houston Astros vs. Boston Red Sox, 6/10/21 | Video as follows:

Umpire Bacchus Accidentally Hits Player - Clearing the Bat

When HP Umpire Erich Bacchus went to clear a dropped bat at home plate during Wednesday's Blue Jays-White Sox game, he accidentally tossed the bat into Chicago on-deck batter Jose Abreu's knee, resulting in a brief injury delay. So, how should an umpire clear a bat to avoid such an unfortunate situation?

While there is no imperative in the Official Baseball Rules to remove a bat from home plate in anticipation of a play at the plate, it is often good form for an umpire to do so in order to lessen the likelihood of injury to catcher or runner, and in order to ensure the discarded bat doesn't interfere with the play at home.

During a play at the plate during a Marlins-Mets game, for example, Ichiro Suzuki attempted to slide head-first into home plate, but his arm, instead of reaching home plate, ended up striking a bat lying next to home plate instead.

While some umpires may be able to remove a bat by picking it up and setting it behind them, others may opt to kick it out of the way. Whatever the method, all it takes it a light touch to clear the area immediately surrounding home plate that may be used for the upcoming play.

For example, we revisit the case of HP Umpire Angel Hernandez picking up a bat, taking a step or two backward, and gently dropping the bat behind him during Game 2 of the 2012 Yankees-Orioles ALDS when Ichiro Suzuki danced around home plate to score for New York. A year later, HP Umpire Dale Scott kicked a bat out of the way during the Boston-Detroit ALCS right before a play at the plate would have otherwise resulted in the catcher landing on the bat, had it not been removed.

When to Remove a Bat (Decision Making Factors)
In short, if the bat is in the way and it's necessary to remove it, consider how accessible the bat it. If it's available, consider if it'd be possible to remove the bat (e.g., it wouldn't take the umpire out of position or interfere with an impending play).

If there's time for a NAP (Necessary, Available, Possible), the bat may be safely removed.

Video as follows:

Schoch Balk? Legality of NCAA Pitcher's Pickoff Move

When college pitcher Stephen Schoch picked off a runner during Virginia's NCAA Regional game against Old Dominion, we were asked if the pick-off was legal or a balk. Using all three rulesets, including professional baseball's OBR and high school's NFHS, we determine the legality of Schoch's high leg kick in an attempt to retire a runner between second and third base.

To answer the legal vs balk question regarding Schoch's move, we consider both the primary purpose of the balk rule (illegal deception of the runner) and, if so, precisely how Schoch's deception was illegal.

NCAA Rule 9-3-a states, simply, it is a balk when, with runners, the pitcher while on the pitcher's plate commits "any feinting motion without completing the throw toward the batter or toward first or third base." OBR 6.02(a)(1)'s language is, "makes any motion naturally associated with their pitch and fails to make such delivery" while NFHS 6-2-4d states, "failing to pitch to the batter in a continuous motion immediately after any movement of any part of the body such as they habitually use in their delivery."

In reviewing Schoch's natural or habitual pitching motion, it would appear this pickoff did not violate the completing-the-pitch balk rule: Schoch's raising of the leg alone is not a balk.

Next, we turn toward the part of the balk rule that concerns a pitcher's free foot crossing over or passing behind the perpendicular plane of the back edge of the pitcher's plate, which ordinarily commits the pitcher to delivering the ball to the batter and prohibits the pitcher from disengaging or stepping off the rubber without making such a delivery.

However, all three rulesets again agree: a pitcher may swing the leg and free foot behind the back edge of the rubber "when feinting or throwing to second base in an attempt to put out a runner."

Because a runner occupied second base at the start of this play, Schoch was within his right as a pitcher in contact with the rubber to fake a throw to second before stepping off and throwing to third base, meaning this play and this pickoff move, with a runner on second base, was legal, in a reminder that just because something may look weird or unusual doesn't mean it is a violation of the rules.

Video as follows:

Wednesday, June 9, 2021

No Catch - AZ Fielder Drops Ball After Colliding with Wall

With two outs and two on in the 2nd inning of Wednesday's Diamondbacks-Athletics game, A's batter Mark Canha hit a fly ball to deep left-center field. Arizona outfielder Ketel Marte attempted to catch the ball, which entered his glove, but after colliding with the wall, dropped the ball, ruled no catch/safe by 3B Umpire Mike Muchlinski. Upon Replay Review as the result of a challenge by D-Backs manager Torey Lovullo, the call was confirmed as an RBI triple (no catch). Should it have been?

In order to answer this question, we turn to the Official Baseball Rules' Definition of Terms: "A CATCH is the act of a fielder in getting secure possession in their hand or glove of a ball in flight and firmly holding it; providing they do not use their cap, protector, pocket or any other part of their uniform in getting possession."

So far so good, but key to this play is the sentence that follows: "It is not a catch, however, if simultaneously or immediately following their contact with the ball, they collide with a player, or with a wall, or if they fall down, and as a result of such collision or falling, drop the ball. It is not a catch if a fielder touches a fly ball which then hits a member of the offensive team or an umpire and then is caught by another defensive player."

Thus, because Marte after colliding with the wall dropped the ball, it is not a catch. Much like falling to the ground, the fielder must complete the act of catching the ball in order to receive credit for such a catch.

There is no magic "two steps" rule or similar football-esque vernacular regarding a catch. Instead, this is the metric umpires are given: "In establishing the validity of the catch, the fielder shall hold the ball long enough to prove that they have complete control of the ball and that their release of the ball is voluntary and intentional. If the fielder has made the catch and drops the ball while in the act of making a throw following the catch, the ball shall be adjudged to have been caught."

To be judged as voluntary and intentional, the ball's release must satisfy a key criterion: the fielder meant for the ball to fall out of their glove. During a throw—the "dropped on the transfer" provision of the rule—the fielder voluntarily opens their glove to retrieve the ball and the release of the ball is intentional in that sense, even if the end result (dropping the ball) is not.

In the Arizona-Oakland game, Marte does not intend to release the ball in this fashion after colliding with the wall and, the fielder not having demonstrated complete control to the umpire in the immediate aftermath of and while still under the effects of momentum from his collision with the wall, 3B Umpire Muchlinski properly rules the play a dropped ball (via safe mechanic), a call affirmed via Replay Review.

Video as follows:

Carlson in Charge - Play at the Plate Teachable

In this Teachable, tmac looks at HP Umpire Mark Carlson officiating a play at the plate in Anaheim when Mariners pitcher Will Vest dives to tag Angels baserunner Juan Lagares to thwart a wild pitch during Seattle's game vs LA.

On this pitch in the dirt, the umpire observes Mariners catcher Tom Murphy's reaction and where Murphy moves as the ball rolls away from the plate.

With Murphy remaining in front of (and to the right of...notably not behind) the umpire, Carlson can next concentrate on what fielder will likely make a play on the runner at home.

In this case, pitcher Vest looks to be in position to field Murphy's throw and tag Lagares' body as the runner slides head-first into the plate. Carlson then adjusts his position to work the play in front of him by moving to his right, and in doing so opens up his angle to observe Vest's tag, which is timely, a call upheld via Replay Review.

Video as follows:

Missed Base Appeals Cost Pittsburgh & Arkansas Runs

The Official Baseball Rules hold a runner is out for missing a base when appealed by the defense and on Tuesday, MLB's Pittsburgh Pirates and Double-A's Arkansas Naturals lost home runs on appeal when Ke'Bryan Hayes (PIT) and Bobby Witt Jr (ARK) were declared out for failing to touch first base and home plate, respectively.

The governing rule is OBR 5.09(c)(2): "Any runner shall be called out, on appeal, when, with the ball in play, while advancing or returning to a base, they fail to touch each base in order before they, or a missed base, is tagged." This rule applies not just to physical touches that (don't) occur during a live ball but also to any touches (or missed touches) that occur during a dead ball wherein the runner has been awarded a base (or bases) due to actions that occurred while the ball was live (such as a home run being hit).

Pittsburgh: Hayes' fly ball off of Dodgers pitcher Walker Buehler to deep right field hit the base of PNC Park's right field foul pole, 1B Umpire Adam Beck ruling the play a home run having dashed down the right field line to get an optimal look at the play. With U1 Beck in right field, that left HP Umpire Jeremie Rehak with rotational base touch responsibility for batter-runner Hayes, although Rehak had a more important job just as Hayes was rounding first base.

OBR's General Instruction to Umpires in Rule 8.00 states, in part, "Keep your eye everlastingly on the ball while it is in play. It is more vital to know just where a fly ball fell, or a thrown ball finished up, than whether or not a runner missed a base."

For this reason, when Los Angeles appealed Hayes' failure to touch first base, HP Umpire Rehak did not have definitive knowledge that Hayes had missed first base: Rehak was concentrating on the flight of the ball along the right field foul line at the crucial moment that Hayes missed first base—providing backup for Beck on both the fair/foul decision (due to Rehak's angle on the foul line) and the HR/in play ruling.

Sidebar: You might notice that the foul pole in Pittsburgh is painted black at its base atop the outfield wall, near the wall's painted yellow line. For more information on why this coloring scheme exists, refer to our following article from 2013.

Hayes' miss of first base occurred on the outfield side of the base (see first still image), meaning Rehak's angle from the opposite side of first base would likely not have enabled him to see the missed contact.

No matter, Replay Review took care of LA's appeal in short order, with Crew Chief Dan Iassogna signaling Hayes out and the run nullified.

Arkansas: As for Royals prospect Bobby Witt, Jr., a 430-home run turned into a dead ball triple when the Frisco RoughRiders ruled that Witt failed to touch home plate during his HR trot.

The primary difference between the LA-Pittsburgh play and the Arkansas-Frisco one is that Witt's hit was clearly fair and plainly left the playing field in flight: unlike Rekah, HP Umpire Chris Presley-Murphy didn't have to help a base umpire with a boundary call at the moment Witt arrived at his last base touch responsibility (home plate), as opposed to his first one (first base).

Thus, the umpire (joined by Frisco catcher Matt Whatley) were able to stare at home plate to see whether Witt's foot touched it during his gallop. Whatley appeared to immediately notice Witt failed to touch home plate and, upon the ball being put back into play and made live, pitcher Hever Bueno threw to Whatley, who touched home plate to ask for the missed base appeal, resulting in an out call as the umpire agreed that Witt had missed home plate, resulting in a triple.

Rules Difference
: Appeals must occur during a live ball in professional and college baseball, while high school allows for dead ball appeals. Live ball appeals that follow a missed base wherein the ball remains live during the play, such as a ground ball to the outfield, can occur during the initial play itself (aka a real-time appeal). These appeals may also occur after the ball has been declared dead, returned to the pitcher, and put back into play (aka delayed or traditional appeals, as ordinarily occurs after dead ball situations, such as home runs).

For more information about so-called real-time appeals, refer to this article from 2017.

For an example of where a real-time appeal would have helped a team, refer to this play in New York and correction to an inaccurate statement regarding missed base plays by the Yankees broadcast.

Play Difference, Scenario: The Pittsburgh play occurred at first base while the Arkansas play occurred at home plate. Thus, if there had been two out in the inning and runners on base at the time of the home run, no runs would be allowed to score in LA-Pittsburgh while all runners preceding Witt would be allowed to score in Arkansas-Frisco. The reason is because Hayes (PIT), by virtue of failing to touch first base, becomes a batter-runner making the third out of the inning prior to touching first base (by rule, no runs may score on such a play), while Witt (ARK) is a batter-runner who makes the third out after touching first base. The Hayes (PIT) play is thus scored as a fly out (no hit) while the Witt (ARK) play is a triple, with all runners ahead of him allowed to score because the third out on appeal constitutes a time play.

Video as follows:

Tuesday, June 8, 2021

Ask - NCAA Pitched Ball Lodges in Umpire's Pocket

Our latest Ask the UEFL comes from the NCAA Austin Regional game between Arizona State and Fairfield when a pitched ball lodged in HP Umpire Derek Mollica's pocket. The umpires awarded each runner a base, leaving the ESPN broadcasters questioning both the play and the rule. Fortunately, we've seen this play before on

With none out and two on (R2, R3), Fairfield pitcher Eli Oliphant's first-pitch fastball eluded Fairfield catcher Matt Venuto and entered HP Umpire Mollica's pocket. Upon calling "Time" and removing the ball from his uniform pocket, Mollica awarded Arizona's two baserunners one base each, allowing the runner from third to score and R2 to advance to third base.

The college rule is NCAA 6-4-d, which states, "The ball becomes dead and base runners advance one base without liability to be put out when a pitched ball lodges in the umpire’s or catcher’s equipment other than the catcher’s glove and remains out of play, or goes over, through or wedges in the field fence or padding.

At the professional level (MLB/MiLB), Official Baseball Rule 5.06(c)(7) declares, "The ball becomes dead and runners advance one base, or return to their bases, without liability to be put out, when a pitched ball lodges in the catcher’s mask or paraphernalia, or in or against the umpire’s body, mask or paraphernalia, and remains out of play, runners advance one base."

For good measure, NFHS/high school's rule is 5-1-1g.4: "Ball becomes dead immediately when a pitch or any other thrown ball lodges in an umpire’s, catcher’s or offensive player’s equipment or uniform."

In 2018, we were treated to two such plays. On July 27, 2018, HP Umpire CB Bucknor ruled a lodged ball when White Sox pitcher Thyago Vieira's 1-2 fastball lodged against the umpire's body, and nearly two months earlier, HP Umpire Dan Bellino ruled similarly when Rockies pitcher Mike Dunn's offering lodged between the umpire's arm and body.
Related PostUEFL Case Play 2018-4 - Bicep of Bellino [Solved] (6/1/18).

Video as follows:

Monday, June 7, 2021

Ask the UEFL - Backswing Recoil Interference?

In this Ask the UEFL, Astros batter Chas McCormick struck out on a foul tip as baserunner Yuli Gurriel attempted to steal second base. With replays indicating McCormick's bat appeared to touch Blue Jays catcher Reese McGuire's throwing hand after McGuire already released the ball, we ask whether umpires should have ruled this interference and, if so, what brand of interference with what penalties?

On-Field & Replay Call: Originally ruled a strikeout by HP Umpire Chris Conroy, no interference, and runner Gurriel declared safe at second by 2B Umpire Pat Hoberg, the call was confirmed following Toronto's Manager's Challenge.

Rule: The relevant rule is Official Baseball Rule 6.03(a)(3): "A batter is out for illegal action when they interfere with the catcher's fielding or throwing by stepping out of the batter's box or making any other movement that hinders the catcher's play at home base." The rule's comment declares that "If a batter strikes at a ball and misses and swings so hard they carry the bat all the way around and, in the umpire’s judgment, unintentionally hit the catcher or the ball in back of them on the backswing, it shall be called a strike only (not interference). The ball will be dead, however, and no runner shall advance on the play."

For good measure, OBR 6.01(a)(5) states it is interference when "any batter or runner who has just been put out...hinders or impedes any following play being made on a runner. Such runner shall be declared out for the interference of their teammate."

: Before dissecting the contact, we first establish this play is not eligible for backswing interference because the batter has already completed his backswing (e.g., behind his back) and the bat has now been brought in front of the batter's body. If interference is to be called, it would not be of the backswing variety.

With that established, we now consider whether or not the catcher was hindered or impeded in his throwing. Because it appears the catcher released the ball prior to contact, which did not appear to alter the course of the throw or release of the baseball, it would follow that this play is not interference. If adjudged as interference, the penalty would have been to declare the runner out for the retired batter's interference, effectively awarding Toronto a double play.

Video as follows:

Sunday, June 6, 2021

Injury Scout - Scott Barry Leaves Game in St Louis

HP Umpire Scott Barry left Sunday's #Reds-#Cardinals game in St. Louis after a foul ball struck him in the mask.

In the bottom of the 4th inning, Cardinals batter Tyler O'Neill swung at and fouled a first-pitch 85.9-mph cutter from Reds pitcher Wade Miley off the upper portion of Barry's traditional-style facemask.

Barry was replaced at home plate by 2B Umpire and Crew Chief Dan Iassogna while 1B Umpire Jeremie Rehak and 3B Umpire Andy Fletcher remained on the lines.

Relevant Injury History: Barry has previously left a game due to a head injury.
> On March 29, 2019, Barry exited a game in Los Angeles after a direct shot to the mask.

Last Game: June 6 | Return to Play: June 11 | Time Absent: 4 Days | Video as follows:

MLB Ejections 070-71 - Gabe Morales & Bill Miller (NYY x2)

HP Umpire Gabe Morales ejected Yankees 3B Coach Phil Nevin (strike three call; QOCN) in the bottom of the 9th and 2B Umpire Bill Miller ejected Yankees bench coach Carlos Mendoza (ball four call; QOCY) in the top of the 10th inning of the #RedSox-#Yankees game. In the 9th, with two out and two on (R1, R2), Yankees batter Rougned Odor took a 3-2 knuckle curve from Red Sox pitcher Matt Barnes for a called third strike. Replays indicate the pitch was located off the inner edge of home plate and thigh-high (px -1.21, pz 2.82), the call was incorrect.* In the 10th, with none out and one on (R2), Red Sox batter Bobby Dalbec took a 3-2 fastball from Yankees pitcher Luis Cessa for a called fourth ball. Replays indicate the pitch was located over the outer half of home plate and below the hollow of the knee (px 0.52, pz 1.41 [sz_bot 1.63 / RAD 1.51 / MOE 1.42]) and that all other pitches during the at-bat were properly officiated, the call was correct.^ At the time of both ejections, the game was tied, 4-4. The Red Sox ultimately won the contest, 6-5, in 10 innings.

This is Gabe Morales (47)'s 1st ejection of 2021.
This is Bill Miller (26)'s 2nd ejection of 2021.
Gabe Morales now has 0 points in the UEFL Standings (2 Prev + 2 MLB - 4 Incorrect Call = 0).
Bill Miller now has 5 points in the UEFL Standings (2 Prev + 2 MLB + 1 Correct-Crewmate = 3).
Crew Chief Bill Miller now has 3 points in Crew Division (2 Previous + 0 QOCN + 1 QOCY = 3).
*UEFL Rule 6-2-b-1 (Kulpa Rule): |0| < STRIKE < |.748| < BORDERLINE < |.914| < BALL.
*The Odor pitch was located 3.55 horizontal inches from being deemed correct.
^The Dalbec pitch was located 2.20 vertical inches from being deemed incorrect.

These are the 70th and 71st ejection reports of the 2021 MLB regular season.
This is New York's 4/5th ejection of 2021, 1st in the AL East (NYY 5; BOS 2; BAL, TOR 1; TB 0).
This is Phil Nevin's 1st ejection since August 5, 2020 (Angel Hernandez; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Carlos Mendoza's first career MLB ejection.
This is Gabe Morales' 1st ejection since September 4, 2020 (Matt Kemp; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Bill Miller's 2nd ejection of 2021, 1st since May 12 (Clint Frazier; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).

Wrap: Boston Red Sox vs. New York Yankees, 6/6/21 | Video as follows:

MLB Ejection 069 - Jeff Nelson (1; Edgar Valera)

HP Umpire Jeff Nelson ejected Twins hitting coach Edgar Valera (strike two call; QOCY) in the top of the 4th inning of the #Twins-#Royals game. With one out and one on (R1, R2), Twins batter Ryan Jeffers took a 1-1 sinker from Royals pitcher Brady Singer for a called second strike. Replays indicate the pitch was located over the heart of home plate and at the hollow of the knee (px 0.54, pz 1.47 [sz_bot 1.63 / RAD 1.51 / MOE 1.42]) and that all other pitches during the at-bat were properly officiated, the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the Twins were leading, 1-0. The Twins ultimately won the contest, 2-1.

This is Jeff Nelson (45)'s first ejection of 2021.
Jeff Nelson now has 4 points in the UEFL Standings (0 Prev + 2 MLB + 2 Correct Call = 4).
Crew Chief Jeff Nelson now has 3 points in Crew Division (2 Previous + 1 Correct = 3).
*This pitch was located 0.60 vertical inches from being deemed incorrect.

This is the 69th ejection report of the 2021 MLB regular season.
This is Minnesota's 4th ejection of 2021, T-1st in the AL Central (KC, MIN 4; CWS 1; CLE, DET 0).
This is Edgar Valera's first career MLB ejection.
This is Jeff Nelson's 1st ejection since May 29, 2019 (David Bell; QOC = U [Warnings]).

Wrap: Minnesota Twins vs. Kansas City Royals, 6/6/21 | Video as follows:

MLB Ejection 067-68 - Tripp Gibson (1-2; SD x2)

HP Umpire Tripp Gibson ejected Padres bench player Manny Machado (check swing strike three call) in the bottom of the 1st and manager Jayce Tingler (check swing ball four call) in the top of the 2nd inning of the #Mets-#Padres game. In the 1st, with two out and one on (R1), Padres batter Fernando Tatis attempted to check his swing on a 3-2 splitter from Mets pitcher Marcus Stroman, ruled a swinging third strike by HP Umpire Gibson. In the 2nd, with none out and none on, Mets batter Dominic Smith attempted to check his swing on a 3-2 fastball by Padres pitcher Chris Paddack for a called fourth ball by HP Umpire Gibson, affirmed as no swing on appeal by 3B Umpire Hunter Wendelstedt. Play was reviewed and adjudicated by the UEFL Appeals Board (9-0; 9-0), both calls were correct. At the time of the ejections, the game was tied, 0-0. The Mets ultimately won the contest, 6-1.

These are Tripp Gibson (73)'s 1st and 2nd ejection of 2021.
Tripp Gibson now has 8 points in the UEFL Standings (0 Prev + 2*[2 MLB + 2 Correct Call] = 8).
Crew Chief Hunter Wendelstedt now has 6 points in Crew Division (4 Previous + 2 QOCY = 6).
*Official Baseball Rule 8.03(a)(4): "The umpire-in-chief shall stand behind the catcher [and shall] make all decisions on the batter." If and only if the UIC rules the batter did not swing and calls the pitch a ball may the defense request an appeal to a base umpire, who may affirm the original call (no swing) or overturn it (swing). The offense may not appeal and appeals may not be made on strike calls.

These are the 67th and 68th ejection reports of the 2021 MLB regular season.
This is the 25th player ejection of 2021. Prior to ejection, Machado did not participate in the game.
This is the 36th manager ejection of 2021.
This is San Diego's 7/8th ejection of 2021, 1st in the NL West (SD 8; ARI 3; COL 2; LAD, SF 1).
This is Manny Machado's 2nd ejection of 2021, 1st since April 10 (Jansen Visconti; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Jayce Tingler's 4th ejection of 2021, 1st since May 29 (Mark Carlson; QOC = Y [Replay Review]).
This is Tripp Gibson's 1st ejection since August 20, 2020 (Colin Moran; QOC = Y [Check Swing]).

Wrap: New York Mets vs. San Diego Padres, 6/6/21 | Video as follows:

Injury Scout - Brian O'Nora Abruptly Exits in Philly

HP Umpire Brian O'Nora left Sunday's #Nationals-#Phillies game in Philadelphia several outs after taking a foul ball off the mask.

In the top of the 1st inning, Nationals batter Josh Bell swung at and fouled a 94.8-mph fastball from Phillies pitcher Vince Velasquez off catcher JT Realmuto and into the traditional-style facemask of O'Nora.

O'Nora remained in the game until Phillies batter Odubel Herrera's at-bat in the bottom of the 1st, at which time O'Nora, with a 3-2 count, called time and exited the playing field through the Phillies dugout.

O'Nora was replaced at home plate by 1B Umpire and Crew Chief Fieldin Culbreth while 2B Umpire DJ Reyburn shifted to first base and 3B Umpire Ryan Blakney remained at third.

Relevant Injury History: O'Nora has a history of head trauma.
> On July 16, 2019, O'Nora left a game in Oakland after a player's backswing struck O'Nora's mask.
> On September 7, 2018, O'Nora left a game in Boston after a foul ball to the mask.
> On September 18, 2016, O'Nora left a game in San Francisco after a foul ball injury.

Last Game: June 6 | Return to Play: June 26 | Time Absent: 19 Days | Video as follows: