Saturday, May 29, 2021

MLB Ejection 056 - Mark Carlson (1; Jayce Tingler)

2B Umpire Mark Carlson ejected Padres manager Jayce Tingler (Replay Review decision that upheld 1B Umpire Chris Segal's out call; QOCY) in the top of the 8th inning of the #Padres-#Astros game. With one out and two on (R1, R2), Padres batter Jurickson Profar hit a 0-1 slider from Astros pitcher Joe Smith on the ground to first baseman Taylor Jones, who threw to Smith as Profar slid head-first toward first base, ruled out by 1B Umpire Segal and upheld after Replay Review as the result of a manager's challenge by Tingler. Replays indicate that while Profar appeared to arrive at the front edge of first base prior to Smith's foot tagging first base, Profar failed to touch first base and did not pass first base prior to Smith's tag, the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the Astros were leading, 6-3. The Padres ultimately won the contest, 11-9, in 12 innings.

This is Mark Carlson (6)'s 1st ejection of 2021.
Mark Carlson now has 5 points in the UEFL Standings (1 Prev + 2 MLB + 2 Correct Call = 5).
Crew Chief Mark Carlson now has 3 points in Crew Division (2 Previous + 1 Correct Call = 3).
*Official Baseball Rule 5.05(b)(3) Comment: "If the batter-runner missed first base, or a runner misses his next base, he shall be considered as having reached the base." However, a runner has not missed a base until said runner has both arrived at and passed the base. Because Profar did not yet pass first base prior to fielder Smith's tag of first base, this is not an appeal play for a missed base.
Related PostPast or Prior - Deciding When a Runner Has Passed a Base (7/1/17).

This is the 56th ejection report of the 2021 MLB regular season.
This is the 31st manager ejection of 2021.
This is San Diego's 4th ejection of 2021, 1st in the NL West (SD 4; COL 2; LAD, SF 1; ARI 0).
This is Jayce Tingler's 3rd ejection of 2021, 1st since May 8 (Nic Lentz; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Mark Carlson's 1st ejection since Sept 28, 2019 (Craig Counsell; QOC = Y [Replay Review]).

Tennessee's Force Play vs MLB's Bona Fide Slide Rule

Although Tennessee looked to walk off Alabama during NCAA Baseball's SEC Tournament, umpires ruled a force play slide rule violation and interference call when Vols base runner R1 Max Ferguson made illegal contact with Alabama second baseman Peyton Wilson during Bama's inning-ending double play attempt in the bottom of the 9th inning of a then-tied ballgame.

With the bases loaded and one out of a game tied 2-2 in the last of the 9th, Tennessee batter Jake Rucker hit a ground ball on the infield, with Wilson tagging second base to retire Ferguson before attempting a throw to first base to complete the double play as Ferguson slid, 2B Umpire Scott Cline ultimately ruling that Ferguson illegally slid into the base, resulting in an inning-ending double play, instead of a walk-off 3-2 win.

Alabama later went on to win the game, 3-2, but Tennessee still came back to eventually win the double-elimination stage of the tournament.

Rules Difference, FPSR
: College baseball/NCAA (as well as high school ball/NFHS) makes use of a force play slide rule (FPSR) in which a runner must slide in a direct line between two bases. NCAA Rule 8-4 states, "The intent of the force-play-slide rule is to ensure the safety of all players. This is a safety and an interference rule. Whether the defense could have completed the double play has no bearing on the applicability of this rule. This rule pertains to a force-play situation at any base, regardless of the number of outs, except it does not apply to the batter-runner at first base."

[high school deems a slide illegal if "he runner, on a force play, does not slide on the ground and in a direct line between the two bases" in NFHS 2-32-2].

Because of its safety-first emphasis, the rule leaves little room for umpire judgment: if the runner violates its terms, a force play slide rule violation shall be called. The NCAA book includes a diagram which leaves little to the imagination: if the runner makes contact with a fielder in the defense's protected gray area, it shall be deemed a double play. On a force play, the runner "must slide on the ground before the base and in a direct line between the two bases" unless avoiding contact with a fielder (NCAA 8-4-a).

Accordingly, the Tennessee play was properly officiated as an FPSR violation and double play.

Pro Rule, Bona Fide Slide Rule: The Official Baseball Rules employed by MLB and MiLB, however, use a different and more lenient standard: the bona fide slide rule. As previously covered on our site, the runner must meet four criteria (begins slide before reaching base, able and attempts to reach base with hand or foot, able and attempts to remain on base, slides within reach of base without changing pathway to initiate contact with fielder).

Unlike NCAA, however, there is no hard-and-fast protected gray area. OBR 6.01(j) states, "a runner who engages in a “bona fide slide” shall not be called for interference under this Rule 6.01, even in cases where the runner makes contact with the fielder as a consequence of a permissible slide." Therefore, a runner whose slide is bona fide can, all else equal, make legal contact with a fielder that, under NCAA rules, would be illegal under the FPSR language.

Caveat: This does not, however, give the runner carte blanche to contact a fielder during a bona fide slide. OBR 6.01(a)(5) states that, "Any batter or runner who has just been put out, or any runner who has just scored, hinders or impedes any following play being made on a runner. Such runner shall be declared out for the interference of his teammate" (this is different than the willful and deliberate interference standard for non-retired runners interfering with batted balls with the obvious intent to break up a double play, as in OBR 6.01(a)(6)).

Thus, under OBR, an umpire could use judgment to deem whether or not the act of retired baserunner Ferguson's left arm making contact with fielder Wilson's body as Wilson threw to first base met this hinder-or-impede standard that, under NCAA, would be unavailable to the umpire (due to the strict standard requiring the FPSR violation). For this precise situation, OBR is more flexible than NCAA.

Accordingly, if an OBR umpire deemed the hinder-or-impede standard was met, the outcome under OBR could very well match the outcome under NCAA (dead ball, inning-ending double play), but for different reasons.

Video as follows:

Thursday, May 27, 2021

Running a Batter Back to Home Plate - Automatic Out Rule

Chicago's Javier Baez reached on an unusual fielder's choice in Pittsburgh Thursday as a ground ball turned into a rundown of Cubs batter-runner Baez between home plate and first base, with HP Umpire Ryan Additon left to make a sudden out/safe decision on Cubs baserunner R2 Willson Contreras' head-first slide into home plate.

Welcome to baseball's automatic out rule for batter-runners who run back to home plate.

Play: With two out and one on (R2) in the top of the 3rd inning of the Cubs-Pirates game, batter Baez hit a 0-2 fastball from Pirates pitcher Tyler Anderson on the ground to third baseman Erik Gonzalez, who threw to first baseman Will Craig as baserunner R2 Contreras ran toward and rounded third base. When Craig stepped off of first base and down the line toward home plate to receive Gonzalez's throw, batter-runner Baez began retreating toward home plate with Craig in pursuit and Contreras still advancing toward home as well. Baez and Contreras arrived at the dirt circle surrounding home plate at around the same time, and Craig opted to throw to catcher Michael Perez to attempt to retire Contreras, whom Additon declared safe. Perez then threw wildly to first base and Baez took second base on the fielder's choice + error.

Rule
: Believe it or not, the odd instance of a batter-runner retreating toward home plate is covered by rule in what may be deemed baseball's automatic out for batter-runners. The MLB Umpire Manual states, simply, "In situations where the batter-runner gets in a rundown between first and home, if the batter-runner retreats and reaches home plate, the batter-runner shall be declared out." This is actually an interpretation of the obstruction rule which states that obstruction may not be called on a fielder who impedes the batter-runner as the BR retreats toward home, but obstruction still does apply to a batter-runner advancing or running toward first base.
Finally, as in Official Baseball Rule 5.08 Comment, "No run shall score during a play in which the third out is made by the batter-runner before they touch first base."

Analysis: Because batter-runner Baez did not make it all the way back to home plate itself (the batter-runner need not touch home plate, but simply arrive at the edge of home plate to be considered to have reached it), the automatic out rule for reaching home plate does not apply; baserunner Contreras beats the tag at the plate and is properly declared safe (sidebar: there is a difference between a declaration of "safe" and a determination as to whether a run scores or not. This play at the plate requires a safe/out mechanic; the umpire may nullify the run after the play has concluded, if applicable). Because no run may score during a play in which the third out is made by the batter-runner prior to first base, Baez still must make it safely to first base in order for Contreras' run to count (at this point, Contreras is safe, but his run remains in jeopardy).

Food for Thought
: After fielder Craig runs batter-runner Baez into the dirt circle surrounding home plate (but, notably, not all the way to home plate), Craig throws to catcher Perez to play on runner Contreras. Keeping our attention on Craig and Baez, we see that after Craig releases the ball and is no longer in possession of nor in the act of fielding it, Baez turns toward first base and collides with Craig. This is obstruction and Baez is eligible for such a call because Baez was moving in the direction of first base when it occurred [e.g., the MLBUM interpretation regarding obstruction going back to home plate does not apply]. Obstruction on the batter-runner prior to first base in this situation is Type A (Type 1) obstruction, meaning that had it been called, the ball would be dead and the batter-runner awarded (at least) first base, meaning catcher Perez's wild throw/error into right field never would have happened (OBR 6.01(h)).
Finally: Because Baez has the legal right to retreat toward home plate, as long he does not reach it, this is likewise not interference. Even so, recall that it is not interference by a retired runner (assuming the runner were to have been retired) simply because the retired runner continues to advance or retreat after being put out (OBR 6.01(a)(5) Comment).

Conclusion: All of this could have been prevented if fielder Craig were to have simply strolled over and stepped on first base to retire Baez for the third out of the inning. Instead, the Cubs scored two bonus runs and ultimately defeated Pittsburgh by two runs, 5-3.

Video as follows:

Wednesday, May 26, 2021

MLB Ejection 055 - Joe West (2; Mike Shildt)

3B Umpire Joe West ejected Cardinals manager Mike Shildt (foreign substance; QOCU) in the bottom of the 7th inning of the #Cardinals-#WhiteSox game. With one out and one on (R2), Cardinals pitcher Giovanny Gallegos replaced pitcher Genesis Cabrera. As Gallegos threw his warmup pitches, the umpires investigated Gallegos' hat, which appeared to have a visible dark spot in the center of its bill. West ordered Gallegos remove the hat and wear a substitute hat in its place, resulting in Shildt's ejection for arguing the umpire's order issued in accordance with Official Baseball Rule 8.01(b), which allows "Each umpire has authority to order a player, coach, manager or Club officer or employee to do or refrain from doing anything which affects the administering of these rules, and to enforce the prescribed penalties."* At the time of the ejection, the Cardinals were leading, 1-0. The Cardinals ultimately won the contest, 4-0.

This is Joe West (22)'s 2nd ejection of 2021.
Joe West now has 5 points in the UEFL Standings (3 Prev + 2 MLB + 0 Irrecusable Call = 5).
Crew Chief Joe West now has 9 points in Crew Division (8 Previous + 1 Irrecusable Call = 9).
*OBR 8.01(d) states, "Each umpire has authority to disqualify any player, coach, manager or substitute for objecting to decisions or for unsportsmanlike conduct or language, and to eject such disqualified person from the playing field."
OBR 6.02(c)(7) states "the pitcher shall not have on their person, or in their possession, any foreign substance."

This is the 55th ejection report of the 2021 MLB regular season.
This is the 30th manager ejection of 2021.
This is St Louis' 2nd ejection of 2021, T-4th in the NL Central (MIL 5; CHC, CIN 3; PIT, STL 2).
This is Mike Shildt's 2nd ejection of 2021, 1st since April 29 (Brennan Miller; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Joe West's 2nd ejection of 2021, 1st since April 25 (David Bell; QOC = U [Warnings]).

Wrap: St. Louis Cardinals vs. Chicago White Sox, 5/26/21 | Video as follows:

Open Gate HR Features in SWAC Championship Game

NCAA's 2021 Southwestern Athletic Conference (SWAC) crowned Southern University as champions after the Jaguars came back to defeat Jackson State on a 9th inning home run helped by an outfield gate to the visiting bullpen that swung open as a home outfielder attempted to catch a fly ball.

Play: With two on (R1, R2) and none out in the top of the 9th inning of a game the home team Jackson State Tigers were leading 6-4, Southern batter O'Neill Burgos hit a fly ball to deep left center field where Jackson State CF CJ Newsome leapt to make a catch at the wall. However, as as the batted ball entered Newsome's glove and Newsome's body made contact with the outfield wall and gate leading to the Southern bullpen, the door swung open and Newsome fell into dead ball territory, dropping the batted ball in the process.

Call: After crew consultation, the umpires ruled the play a home run, resulting in three runs to flip the score to a 7-6 lead in favor of Southern University. Six outs later, Southern capped off its victory and advanced to the 2021 NCAA Baseball Tournament.

Rules
: Although NCAA Rule 8-3-o-1 prescribes a two-base award "if a fair ball bounces over or passes through a fence," the play above is more complicated than that. Instead, we have a player effectively carrying the ball through a fence, who then drops the ball beyond the fence-line. NCAA 8-3-m, for instance, states, "If a fair ball is dropped outside the fence, it becomes a home run. This same dead-ball ruling applies to fly balls into any dead ball areas" (for reference, NCAA 8-3-h states that all runners, including the batter, are entitled to score if a fair ball goes over the fence in flight).

The Official Baseball Rule (pro) award equivalents are 5.06(b)(4)(F) ("two bases, if a fair ball...goes through or under a field fence"), and 5.06(b)(4)(A) ("to home base, scoring a run, if a fair ball goes out of the playing field in flight"), with the MLB Umpire Manual prescribing that the key difference is whether or not the fair ball was deflected out of play in flight or not (in fair territory/within the foul lines), with an in-flight deflection resulting in a home run and a not-in-flight deflection resulting in a two-base award from time of pitch.

OBR's definition for IN FLIGHT describes "a batted, thrown, or pitched ball which has not yet touched the ground or some object other than a fielder."

Analysis: It is simply not within the spirit of the rules to hold that a batted ball that is carried by a fielder through a broken fence/open gate below the top of the natural wall should be a home run. That said, the question should be whether or not the ball exited the playing field above or below where the top of the fence would have been had the bullpen gate not opened (e.g., the home run line).

For better or for worse, there is no consideration for which team (offense/defense) is the home team insofar as stadium upkeep is concerned, nor which team's bullpen gate opened insofar as door operator error is concerned, unless the umpires can conclusively determine that an intentional act caused the gate to swing open.

For instance, if the umpire saw that the visiting/offensive team's bullpen staff or players deliberately opened the gate, the umpires could rule interference and impose penalties to remedy this. In professional baseball, for instance, OBR 6.01(b) [Fielder Right of Way] would govern: "If a member of the team at bat [other than a runner] hinders a fielder's attempt to catch or field a batted ball, the ball is dead, the batter is declared out and all runners return to the bases occupied at the time of the pitch."

Video as follows:

Tuesday, May 25, 2021

Joe West Sets MLB Record for Most Games as an Umpire

Since his first major league game in 1976, Joe West has remained a baseball icon, officiating longer than anyone in big league history. On May 25, he passes Hall of Fame umpire Bill Klem for most regular season games officiated in MLB history with 5,376. On this Joe West day 45 years after his big league debut, we look at some accolades and anecdotes from throughout baseball.

USA Today journalist Bob Nightengale wrote an article on the occasion of West's record-setting day, dubbing the 68-year-old West the Lonesome Cowboy, a nod to West's career nickname of the Blue Cowboy, which itself is the title of West's country music CD released in 1987 and recorded in Houston and Gilley's Studio in Pasadena, Texas.

Associated Press reporter Jay Cohen also wrote about the upcoming milestone, as did New York Times author Benjamin Hoffman, and so did Paul Sullivan of the Chicago Tribune.

Hawk Harrelson recited his two rules of baseball ("first rule is catch the ball, second rule is don't mess with Joe West") and baseball personalities from Rick Sutcliffe to David Freese reminisced about their on-field adventures with Country Joe.

Even Duane Allen and The Oak Ridge Boys were spotted in Chicago to celebrate West's achievement (and to sing the national anthem for the White Sox).

As for West's recent ejection and other play-calling history, see our related label: Joe West.

Did Shoemaker Obstruct Wilkerson's Arrival at First Base?

As Twins first baseman Alex Kirilloff tagged first base to retire Orioles batter Stevie Wilkerson on a groundout, a third party entered the fray as the odd man out in the form of Minnesota starting pitcher Matt Shoemaker, leaving 1B Umpire David Rackley to not just rule on the issue of who tagged first base first, but whether Shoemaker's presence posed an obstructive influence on the play.

After the leadoff groundout call to start the 3rd inning of Monday's Orioles-Twins game, Baltimore manager Brandon Hyde approached Rackley and Crew Chief/HP Umpire Larry Vanover to advocate for an obstruction call, alleging that Shoemaker's out-of-place presence impeded Kirilloff's attempt to reach first base.

The Rule
: The Official Baseball Rules define obstruction as "the act of a fielder who, while not in possession of the ball and not in the act of fielding the ball, impedes the progress of any runner." Furthermore, OBR 6.01(h)(1) states that, "If a play is being made on the obstructed runner, or if the batter-runner is obstructed before he touches first base, the ball is dead and all runners shall advance, without liability to be put out, to the bases they would have reached, in the umpire’s judgment, if there had been no obstruction. The obstructed runner shall be awarded at least one base beyond the base they had last legally touched before the obstruction."

Premise: Thus, Shoemaker, by virtue of being a fielder not in possession of the ball and not in the act of fielding the ball (or taking a throw from another fielder, as Kirilloff took the ball to the bag himself), could qualify as a fielder who, if ruled to have impeded the progress of any runner, might be guilty of obstruction, the penalty of which would be to award obstructed batter-runner Wilkerson first base.

Analysis: To determine whether or not Shoemaker obstructed Wilkerson is to consider whether Wilkerson's progress was impeded. Because Kirilloff did not touch first base until a fraction of a second before Wilkerson's arrival, one can not state that the out negates the potential obstruction: Shoemaker's potential impeding act occurred prior to the moment of truth at first base, so to speak.

This is also not a nullify the act obstruction play (as it would have been had obstruction occurred while no play was being made on a runner other than the batter-runner on a ground ball before touching first base) and leaves no further room for interpretation: If Shoemaker interrupted Wilkerson's progress negatively—thus impeding it, even by a fraction of a second—then obstruction is the proper call.

If Shoemaker's unprotected presence did not have any influence on Wilkerson's progress, then there is no obstruction.

Gil's Call: Ultimately, it looked like Shoemaker obstructed his own first baseman more than Wilkerson in real-time, but there is no such rule as a fielder obstructing a teammate while there is very much a rule about a defensive player obstructing an opponent on offense.

In real-time, I didn't see Shoemaker's act as obstruction, but on replay (noting that this play is not eligible for Replay Review), and especially given Kirilloff's failure to tag first base on his first jab at it (thanks, in large part, to Shoemaker, but, again, the defensive team cannot obstruct itself), this does strike as a potentially obstructive act. The complication is that Wilkerson would have slowed his run to first base with or without Shoemaker's presence, due to Kirilloff's presence (which is protected as Kirilloff had the ball and was making a play). Accordingly, this is a 50-50 call that I could see both justifications for: a no-call or a ruling of obstruction.

What's your call? | Video as follows:

Monday, May 24, 2021

MLB Ejection 054 - Junior Valentine (1; Pete Walker)

HP Umpire Junior Valentine ejected Blue Jays pitching coach Pete Walker (ball four call; QOCY) in the top of the 1st inning of the #Rays-#BlueJays game. With two out and the bases loaded, Rays batter Taylor Walls took a 3-2 fastball from Blue Jays pitcher Trent Thornton for a called fourth ball to force in a run. Replays indicate the pitch was located off the outer edge of home plate and waist-high (px -0.86, pz 2.36) and that all other pitches during the at-bat were properly officiated, the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the Rays were leading, 1-0. The Rays ultimately won the contest, 14-8, in 11 innings.

This is Junior Valentine (115)'s 1st ejection of 2021.
Junior Valentine now has 5 points in the UEFL Standings (1 Prev + 2 AAA + 2 Correct Call = 5).
Crew Chief Jerry Meals now has 3 points in Crew Division (2 Previous + 1 Correct Call = 3).
*UEFL Rule 6-2-b-1 (Kulpa Rule): |0| < STRIKE < |.748| < BORDERLINE < |.914| < BALL.
*This pitch was located 1.34 horizontal inches from being deemed incorrect.

This is the 54th ejection report of the 2021 MLB regular season.
This is Toronto's 1st ejection of 2021, T-2nd in the AL East (NYY 2; BAL, BOS, TOR 1; TB 0).
This is Pete Walker's 1st ejection since April 28, 2019 (Alfonso Marquez; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).

Sunday, May 23, 2021

MLB Ejection 053 - Erich Bacchus (1; David Ross)

HP Umpire Erich Bacchus ejected Cubs manager David Ross (strike two call; QOCN) in the top of the 4th inning of the #Cubs-#Cardinals game. With none out and none on, Cubs batter Kris Bryant took a 0-1 changeup from Cardinals pitcher Adam Wainwright for a called second strike. Replays indicate the pitch was located over the outer half of home plate and below the hollow of the knee (px 0.58, pz 1.48 [sz_bot 1.71 / RAD 1.59 / MOE 1.51]), the call was incorrect.* At the time of the ejection, the game was tied, 0-0. The Cubs ultimately won the contest, 2-1, in 10 innings.

This is Erich Bacchus (101)'s 1st ejection of 2021.
Erich Bacchus now has -2 points in the UEFL Standings (0 Prev + 2 AAA - 4 Incorrect Call = -2).
Crew Chief Tom Hallion now has 2 points in Crew Division (2 Previous + 0 Incorrect Call = 2).
*This pitch was located 0.36 vertical inches from being deemed correct.

This is the 53rd ejection report of the 2021 MLB regular season.
This is the 29th manager ejection of 2021.
This is Chicago's 3rd ejection of 2021, T-2nd in the NL Central (MIL 5; CHC, CIN 3; PIT 2; STL 1).
This is David Ross' 2nd ejection of 2021, 1st since April 24 (Cory Blaser; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Erich Bacchus' first career MLB ejection.

MLB Ejection 052 - Adrian Johnson (1; Mike Matheny)

1B Umpire Adrian Johnson ejected Royals manager Mike Matheny (check swing strike two call) in the bottom of the 6th inning of the #Tigers-#Royals game. With one out and one on (R1), Royals batter Whit Merrifield attempted to check his swing on a 0-1 sinker from Tigers pitcher Casey Mize while being hit by the pitch, ruled a swing on appeal by 1B Umpire Johnson and resulting in a dead ball strike. This play is under review by the UEFL Appeals Board, the call was *PENDING*. At the time of the ejection, the Tigers were leading, 2-0. The Royals ultimately won the contest, 3-2.

This is Adrian Johnson (80)'s 1st ejection of 2021.
Adrian Johnson now has X points in the UEFL Standings (2 Prev + 2 MLB + X Call = X).
Crew Chief Brian Gorman now has X points in Crew Division (3 Previous + X Call = X).

This is the 52nd ejection report of the 2021 MLB regular season.
This is the 28th manager ejection of 2021.
This is Kansas City's 4th ejection of 2021, 1st in the AL Central (KC 4; MIN 3; CLE, CWS, DET 0).
This is Mike Matheny's 2nd ejection of 2021, 1st since May 5 (Angel Hernandez; QOC = Y [Balk]).
This is Adrian Johnson's 1st ejection since August 9, 2018 (James Rowson; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).

Wrap: Detroit Tigers vs. Kansas City Royals, 5/23/21 | Video as follows:

Fielder Must Establish Catch Before Falling Out of Play

When Bear River high school (Utah) softball outfielder Olivia Taylor caught a batted ball while falling out of play beyond the center field fence, the student-athlete was rightly hailed for an athletic catch while we were asked what the rule is for such a play: was this catch, while impressive, legal?

The succinct answer, at all levels of play—high school, college, pro, softball, baseball—is yes.

Official Baseball Rule 5.06(b)(3)(C) Comment, for instance, states, "If a fielder, after having made a legal catch, should step or fall into any out-of-play area, the ball is dead and each runner shall advance one base, without liability to be put out, from their last legally touched base at the time the fielder entered such out-of-play area."

The minutiae of the rules are different, but largely agree: If a fielder establishes firm and secure possession in their hand or glove of a ball in flight prior to falling out of play, it is a catch ("the act of a fielder getting secure possession in their hand or glove of a ball in flight and firmly holding it"). What this effectively means is that, because the fielder in this play appears to catch the ball while still airborne with feet over the fence and not in contact with dead ball territory, this is a legal catch (OBR 5.09(a)(1) adds the requirement, "must have one or both feet on or over the playing surface").

If the fielder were to have juggled the ball while falling to and contacting the ground, or had the ball fallen out of the glove when the fielder's elbow/back hit the ground in dead ball territory, this would not be a catch: that's what makes this call tricker than it appears on the surface. The umpire must determine whether the fielder legally caught the ball (gained secure possession) prior to falling out of play.

The outcome for a legal catch and carry is a dead ball, batter declared out, and any runners awarded one base from time-of-pitch. If the umpire determined this was not a catch, the outcome would be to award the batter a home run.

Video as follows: