Showing posts with label Basketball. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Basketball. Show all posts

Sunday, February 4, 2024

Basketball Line is Out - Responding to Fan Complaints

During Sunday's NCAA Men's Basketball game between Wisconsin and Purdue, some Badgers fans were upset with the officiating crew over a displacement related foul call and an out of vs in bounds no-call for an inbounder. Let's take a look.

The foul call pertains to an attempted trap defense near the end line. The Boilermakers ballcarrier picks up his dribble and is defended before appearing to either travel or step out of bounds, only for the center official to signal a foul.

What the referee saw was the defensive player move forward and into the offensive player, displacing the ballcarrier with a knee and causing the potential violation. Ergo, foul call.

But the focus of today's lines lesson pertains to a complaint about referees no-calling an inbounder who stepped on the line before inbounding the basketball. The purpose of this video and article is to reiterate that the end- and side lines are always out of bounds such that when an inbounder, standing out of bounds, steps on (but not across) one of these lines, that player is still considered out of bounds.

Video as follows:

Saturday, January 27, 2024

Coach Throws Shoe at Referee, Player Throws Shoe to Play Defense - Technically Speaking...

A disgruntled head coach threw his shoe at a referee during a basketball game, while a player used his shoe to try and block a shot attempt, leading to a few technical fouls and one ejection for illegal use of sneakers...kind of.

NCAA Men's Basketball - Player Throws Shoe to Play Defense: During a Stonehill College vs Long Island University game in Brooklyn, Skyhawks guard Tony Felder slipped out of his shoe while on offense in the front court. As the player picked up his fallen shoe, play shifted to the other end of the floor and instead of putting the shoe back on, Felder sprinted to play defense, shoe in hand.

As Sharks forward Tana Kopa pump-faked a three point try, Felder jumped into the frame, appearing to throw his shoe in an attempt to block the potential shot. Play was whistled dead immediately and Felder assessed a technical foul for the shoe throw.

In NCAA Men's college, there are two basic types of technicals: Class A and Class B. The primary difference between the two is that Class A pertains to unsporting acts while Class B includes technical fouls that aren't maliciously unsporting in nature or otherwise don't rise to the severity of Class A. Class A's result in two free throws, count as one of two technicals for disqualification, and are added to the team foul count for bonus purposes. Class B's result in one free throw, do not count as one of the two DQ technicals (through three B's result in an ejection [or two B's plus one A]), and do not get the team fouls-toward-bonus treatment. Both resume at point of interruption.

NFHS Boys' Basketball - Head Coach Throws Shoe at Referee: While the Brooklyn shoe-throw might not have risen to the level of Class A, JSerra head coach Keith Wilkinson's conduct certainly did as he threw his shoe at a referee during a Trinity League game at Mater Dei after a no-call. Add in a second shoe-throw/spike and Wilkinson was ejected...and suspended six games.

High school ball has no Class A vs B technical foul distinction—these were simply two bench technicals assessed to the head coach.

Long story short, throwing a shoe to play defense or otherwise is nearly always illegal.

Video as follows:

Monday, March 31, 2014

Roster: 2014 NCAA Final Four Officials

The 2014 NCAA Final Four Officials roster has been released and the following referees were selected to work the 2014 tournament's semifinal and championship game rounds, either as an on-court official or as a table-side alternate.

• Pat Adams, Mobile, Alabama
• Joe DeRosa, North Canton, Ohio
• Verne Harris, Denver, Colorado
• John Higgins, Omaha, Nebraska
• Michael Roberts, Atlanta, Georgia
• Doug Shows, Rome, Georgia
• Doug Sirmons, Virginia Beach, Virginia
• Michael Stephens, Cranston, Rhode Island
• Mike Stuart, Maryville, Tennessee
• Terry Wymer, North Baltimore, Ohio

Monday, November 11, 2013

Basketball: To Save or Not to Save? Two Points in Question

With basketball season well underway, it's time for a quick rules review. During last week's Falcons-Wildcats NCAA Men's Basketball game, Kentucky freshman James Young attempted to save a ball headed out of bounds, throwing the ball high above his head back onto the court, a successful save...until the ball happened to fly straight through opponent Montevallo's basket, referees ruling a two-point award for the Falcons pursuant to NCAA Rule 5, Section 1, Article 4, Provision a (5-1.4.a), which states, “When a player scores a field goal in the opponent’s basket, it shall count two points for the opponent regardless of the location on the playing court from where it was released. Such a field goal shall not be credited to a player in the scorebook but shall be indicated with a footnote.” NFHS and NBA codes agree (NFHS 5-2-1 "two points for the team into whose basket the ball is thrown" and 5-2-3 and NBA 5-I-d), though the NBA credits such a goal to "the opposing player nearest the player whose actions caused the ball to enter the basket."

Young saves ball, back to bucket.
Scenario: (a) Had Young saved the ball but instead had been a member of the Falcons team, what would be the result? (b) What if instead of entering the goal, the ball clanked off the rim and was rebounded by a (Falcons) teammate and the Falcons were unable to get a shot off in, for instance, 23 [NBA] or 34 [NFHS/NCAA] seconds? (c) Young is fouled in the act of saving the ball, after releasing the ball: score the goal?

(a)
Answer, NFHS: Three points (5-2-1, "A successful try, tap or thrown ball from the field by a player who is located behind the team's own 19-foot, 9-inch arc counts three points" / Though a try is "an attempt by a player to score two or three points by throwing the ball into a team's own basket" [4-41-2], a try is not presently required for a three-point goal [Case Play 5.2.1 SITUATION B]).
Answer, NCAA: Three points (5-1.4, "A successful try from beyond the three-point line shall count three points..." and 5-1.1, "A try for field goal is an attempt by a player to score two or three points by throwing or tapping the ball into his basket" / BUT Approved Ruling [A.R.] 138[1], "Score three points [on pass attempt entering basket]" // NCAA Rules Error [AR clearly specifies that a ball thrown [passed] @ basket shall be scored two-, or three-, if successful, but does not account for this scenario in Rule 5-1.4 re: 3-pt FG tries]).
Answer, NBA: Three points (5-I-c, "A successful field goal attempt from the area outside the three-point field goal line shall count three points" and 4-X, "A field goal attempt is a player's attempt to shoot the ball into his basket for a field goal...the term is also used to include the flight of the ball until it becomes dead or is touched by a player" and Case Book 370, "If a ball on its upward flight [e.g., pass] toward the basket...continues into the basket, three points shall be awarded").

(b)
Answer, NFHS: No penalty (for states not employing a shot clock) / Shot clock violation (for states using a 30- or 35-second boys' shot clock; for instance, CIF addition NFHS 9-14, "the team in control shall attempt a try within 35 seconds").
Answer, NCAA: Shot clock violation (9-12.4, "It is a violation when a try for field goal does not leave the shooter's hand before the expiration of the allotted shot-clock time...or when it does leave the shooter’s hand before the expiration of the allotted shot-clock time and the try does not subsequently strike the ring or flange or enter the basket" and A.R. 136, "When a passed [thrown] ball hits the ring and does not enter the basket, there is no reset of the shot clock").
Answer, NBA: No penalty (7-IV-c, "the 24-second clock shall be reset...(2) ball from the playing court contacting the basket ring of the team which is in possession" and Case Book 437, "The 24-second clock is reset anytime the ball from inbounds touches the basket ring of the team which has possession").

(c)
Answer, NFHS: No. Young was never in the act of shooting [no try or tap for goal] and, therefore, the ball became dead immediately upon the foul being committed (6-7, "The ball becomes dead, or remains dead, when...7. a foul occurs...EXCEPTION: a. Article 7 occurs while a try or tap for a field goal is in flight").
Answer, NCAA: No (6-5-1, "The ball shall become dead or remain dead when...d. an official blows the whistle except when a try is in flight" and A.R. 176 "dead while in flight...not a legal try").
Answer, NBA: Yes (6-IV-a, "The ball becomes dead and/or remains dead when...(1)official blows his/her whistle...EXCEPTION: If a field goal attempt is in flight, the ball becomes dead when the goal is made, missed or touched by an offensive player").
All codes agree: continuous motion does not apply when no try for field goal or free throw exists.

Wrap: Montevallo Falcons vs. Kentucky Wildcats, 11/4/13
Video: Falling out of bounds, Young's emergency toss comes crashing through opposing team's bucket
Video: In an attempt to save teammate's blocked shot, Young accidentally throws ball into wrong goal (ALT)

Tuesday, July 2, 2013

NCAA Suspends Mulkey for Disparagement of Officials

The NCAA suspended Baylor women's basketball coach Kim Mulkey for making disparaging comments about the officials following Baylor's regional semifinal loss to Louisville on March 31 that eliminated the Bears from the NCAA Division I women's tournament.

The Women's Basketball Committee described Mulkey's behavior as "unacceptable" and having "no place in the women's basketball championship. Chairperson Carolayne Henry noted the decision was unanimous and based on Mulkey's history.

In 2011, Mulkey received a public reprimand for complaining about a referee.

As such, Mulkey's second violation in three years prompted the Committee to issue a more severe penalty in the postseason suspension, reprimand and withholding of the postseason travel per diem, which carries the effect of a fine.

In 2011, UC Santa Barbara Gauchos soccer player Machael David was suspended three games for verbal abuse of the referee following a 2010 postseason match. Seniors Waid Ibrahim and Tim Pontius were also punished via the per diem sanction while head coach Tim Vom Steeg was issued a public reprimand and fined $600.

Following the 2012 Men's Water Polo Championship, the NCAA suspended UCLA head coach Adam Wright one postseason game for his verbal abuse of officials following elimination from the tournament.

News: Baylor coach Mulkey given one-game postseason suspension, reprimand (NCAA)

Saturday, April 6, 2013

2013 NCAA Men's Basketball Tourney: Final Four Referees

The NCAA DI Committee selected the following 10 officials for the 2013 Final Four, including three rookies:

» John Cahill (Albany, NY) [11th Final Four] — Big East and SEC Conferences
» Mike Eades (Princeton, WV) [First Final Four] — ACC and Big Ten Conferences
» Tony Greene (Atlanta, GA) [Seventh Final Four] — SEC and Big East Conferences
» Karl Hess (Forrest, VA) [Sixth Final Four] — ACC and Big East Conferences
» John Higgins (Omaha, NE) [Fourth Final Four] — Big 12 and Missouri Valley Conferences
» Les Jones (Chesapeake, VA) [Fifth Final Four] — ACC and Big East Conferences
» Randy McCall (Highland Ranch, CO) [Fourth Final Four] — Mountain West and Pac-12 Conferences
» Doug Sirmons (Virginia Beach, VA) [First Final Four] — Big 12 and ACC Conferences
» Mark Whitehead (Denham Springs, LA) [Fourth Final Four] — Big 12 and Missouri Valley Conferences
» Terry Wymer (North Baltimore, OH) [First Final Four] — Big Ten and MAC Conferences

In the wake of Pac-12 Coordinator Ed Rush's controversial remarks and resignation, no official primarily associated with the Pac-12 was selected to work the NCAA Men's Basketball Final Four.

Tuesday, April 2, 2013

NBA Referee Greg Willard Dead at 54

NBA referee Greg Willard has died nearly 10 months after first being diagnosed with pancreatic cancer.

Greg Willard passed away April 1, 2013.
An official since 1988 who wore the uniform number 57, Willard officiated 1,515 regular season and 134 playoff games, including three NBA Finals after stints with the Continental Basketball Association and college basketball's PCAA (now Big West) and Pac-10 (now Pac-12) conferences. Willard also was affiliated with the Orange County Football Officials Association and attended both Orange Coast College and Long Beach State.

Willard officiated his final NBA contest in October, a pre-season affair between the Utah Jazz and Los Angeles Lakers, played in Anaheim, close to Willard's home town of Huntington Beach. He received the Pancreatic Cancer Action Network's Spirit of Hope Award later that month.

Pancreatic cancer is the fourth most common cause of cancer-related deaths in the United States with a poor prognosis. Exocrine pancreatic cancer is associated with a one-year survival rate of just 25%, decreasing to 6% after five years. The median survival is about 10 months.

In honor of PCAN and Willard, NBA regional rights-holders such as FOX Sports have raised awareness and funds throughout the season for cancer research; NBA officials have worn purple awareness bracelets throughout the 2012-13 NBA season.

A Southern California native and a married father of three, Willard was 54 years old.

Wednesday, March 6, 2013

Stanford-Cal Fight: NCAA Rule Restricts Bench Personnel

Officials Mike Scyphers (crew chief; referee), Tony Padilla (umpire 1) and Tommy Nunez (umpire 2) ejected Stanford guard Gabriel Harris, Cal forward Richard Solomon, Stanford assistant coaches Charles Payne and Mark Madsen and Cal assistant coach Gregg Gottlieb for leaving the bench area and entering the playing court during a fight in the second half of the Stanford-Cal game. With 5:04 remaining in the second period, a loose ball on the ground led to a held ball situation and skirmish, resulting in the declaration of a fighting situation. Stanford's Chasson Randle, Dwight Powell and Aaron Bright, and Cal's Allen Crabbe, Justin Cobbs and Tyrone Wallace were all charged with personal fouls for their roles during the play. At the time of the ejections, Stanford was leading, 72-53. Stanford ultimately won the contest, 83-70.

With broadcasters and fans alike wondering why assistant coaches—who were presumably on the court to separate combatants—officials Mike Scyphers, Tony Padilla and Tommy Nunez correctly assessed the fabled "leaving the bench" penalties, not withstanding actions of players on the court at the time of the brawl.

Pursuant to NCAA Rule 10-6-2-j and 10-6-2-EJECTION, "any individual who leaves the bench area and enters the playing court but does not participate in a fight (Art. 2.j.) ... shall be ejected but is not subject to suspension." The exception to EJECTION is embodied within 10-6-2-j, and states, "the head coach may leave the bench area in this case to prevent the situation from escalating." Bench personnel—including assistants, substitutes and trainers—are not authorized to leave the bench for any reason during a fight.

Accordingly, head coaches Johnny Dawkins (Stanford) and Mike Montgomery (Cal) were not penalized.

Complicating matters, the UC Berkeley public address erroneously made the announcement, "the entire Stanford assistant coaching staff has been ejected" (instead, only Payne and Madsen were penalized).

Trivia: Several personnel involved have NBA connections. Stanford AC Mark Madsen is a former Laker & Timberwolf while Tommy Nunez is a former NBA referee. Gottlieb is CBS personality Doug Gottlieb's brother.

Wrap: Stanford Cardinal at California (Berkeley) Golden Bears (Pac-12 Conference Game), 3/6/13
Video: Held ball with 5:04 left to play turns into shoving match and a "handful" of ejections (ESPN)

Wednesday, February 27, 2013

Cheers to a Cure: PCAN/Greg Willard Benefit Event on 3/24

Edison High School (Huntington Beach, California) seniors Karly Freeman and Kailea Nuzzo have created a fundraiser with the goal of raising money for pancreatic research. Their friend and neighbor, NBA referee Greg Willard, has been named as honorary beneficiary for the March 24, '13 fundraiser Cheers to a Cure, with proceeds benefitting the Pancreatic Cancer Action Network (PCAN).

The Cheers to a Cure website describes the event as "a night of wine and hors d'oeuvres as we come together to support a great cause," featuring a silent auction and opportunity drawings. Items include a week's stay in Bali Indonesia, surfboards, golf clubs and, of course, basketball tickets.

In lieu of attending the event, donations are being accepted under the designation "CIBACS Foundation."

Cheers to a Cure Benefitting PCAN takes place at the Huntington Beach Art Center, 3/24/13, 4-7pm.

Monday, February 18, 2013

NCAA: Discipline After Correct Call, Incorrect Administration

Following Sunday night's Wichita St-Illinois State NCAA men's basketball game, officials David Hall, Gerry Pollard and Paul Janssen were disciplined by the Missouri Valley Conference for what the MVC has determined was an incorrect penalty administration.

With 49 seconds remaining in the 2nd half of the contest, Illinois State forward Jackie Carmichael attempted to claim a defensive rebound, jumping to secure the basketball before a Wichita State foul at 41.2 seconds (0:40 per play-by-play score sheet) stopped play.

Following the officiating crew's use of instant replay review, Carmichael was assessed a flagrant 1 foul after it was determined that Carmichael's kick to Shockers guard Tekele Cotton's upper torso, head and/or neck area while Cotton stood in front of the end line was excessive and/or unnecessary (restricted area does not apply).

NCAA Rule 4-29-c specifies a flagrant 1 foul includes "a personal foul that is deemed excessive in nature and/or unnecessary, but not based solely on the severity of the act." Included under the flagrant 1 category are provisions (1) excessive contact with an opponent while playing the ball and (6) illegal contact with an elbow that occurs above the shoulders of an opponent when the elbows are not swung excessively.

Rule 2-3 ("Elastic Power") grants the referee the authority to make decisions on any points not specifically covered in the rules. Pursuant to this Rule, referee Hall was well within his right to deem Carmichael's foot-based contact a flagrant 1 personal foul pursuant to the terms of 4-29-c-1 or 4-29-c-6 or under any other provision of 4-29-c, as a kick to and through (be it the chest area or upward) may be properly interpreted as excessive and/or unnecessary.

Rule 2-13-2-d authorizes officials to initiate instant replay review in order to determine whether a flagrant 2 personal or contact technical foul has occurred if (a) there is a foul called for contact [did not occur] or (b) a coach requests the official to review whether such a foul occurred [basis for present case].

This procedure shall be used during the first dead ball after the clock was stopped, which did occur.

Rule 2-13-d-3 was then correctly applied, "The infraction(s) should be penalized and play shall be resumed...[at] stoppage of play." In other words, officials should have awarded Wichita State (offended team) two free throws and continued by awarding the ball to Wichita State at the stoppage of play (following Illinois State's bonus free throws). Under no circumstance was Wichita State to receive the ball in lieu of Illinois State's bonus free throws and officials correctly effected this procedure.

Illinois State's Johnny Hill was accordingly awarded his bonus first and successfully converted both attempts.

Following Hill's free throws with the lane cleared and perhaps as a result of the confusion in enforcing a retroactively reviewed and assessed flagrant foul which chronologically took place before a foul which produced free throws (both teams were in the bonus), free throw shooter Cotton became lost in the shuffle.

This is where the crew erred and instead, free throws were inaccurately awarded to Cotton's teammate Cleanthony Early, who successfully converted both free throws, a correctable error pursuant to Rule 2-12-1-c (permitting a wrong player to attempt a free throw). Unfortunately, this error was not recognized nor rectified.

Wichita State was then improperly awarded possessesion of the basketball on their end line (the proper in bounds location should have been "where the stoppage of play occurred to review the flagrant act"; 2-13-d-3). Regardless, Wichita State inbounded the ball into their backcourt, making this placement error moot.

Following Early's two scores, Illinois State led, 67-62. Wichita State ultimately won the contest, 68-67.

Lastly for those pondering possible nefarious conduct on the part of Wichita State in Early's free throw attempts, Rule 10-6-1-c specifies a Class B technical foul shall be called when a player "knowingly attempts a free throw to which he is not entitled." It is not clear whether Early possessed this definitive knowledge when he accepted the free throws.

In sanctioning the officiating crew (undisclosed punishment), the MVC confirmed its penalties were for allowing an improper player to attempt free throws and not because of a judgment call.

Wrap: Wichita State Shockers vs. Illinois State Redbirds, 2/17/13
Video: Video replay used to rule a flagrant 1 foul while ESPNU broadcaster declares, "there's no 'size 16' rule"
News: Refs Disciplined Following Carmichael Kick (WIBW)

Saturday, February 9, 2013

NCAAB: Yes, He Can. Remaining in Game with 2 Technicals

During Saturday's Ole Miss-Missouri game, a fighting incident occurred during the contest's second half. With 7:30 remaining in the second period, Missouri Tigers forward Alex Oriakhi committed a flagrant one foul against Rebels guard Marshall Henderson, provoking an unsportsmanlike dead ball incident during which a brief fighting incident transpired. Ole Miss Rebels forward Reginald "Reggie" Buckner was ejected from the contest with a flagrant Class A technical foul for fighting (threw punch) while officials Anthony Jordan (Referee), Patrick Evans (U1) and Tim Clougherty (U2) issued Class A technical fouls to Tigers forward Laurence Bowers and Rebels forward Murphy Holloway for their respective unsportsmanlike conduct.

The tech was Bowers' second of the contest, leaving some fans—not to mention the CBS broadcast crew—questioning why Bowers was not ejected for receiving two technicals.

Were Jordan, Evans and Clougherty correct in allowing Bowers to remain in the contest?

Video: Bowers hangs on the rim and is assessed a Class B technical foul pursuant to NCAA Rule 10-6-1-f
Video: Bowers receives his second T of the game during a charged fight to Buckner, but is not tossed (Soon)

In short, yes. Though Bowers did in fact receive a prior technical foul, his infraction was for grasping a basket in an excessive and emphatic manner, an action which by rule is not deemed unsporting (10-6-1-f). Specifically, NCAA Rules stipulate this non-unsporting technical foul shall be deemed a Class B technical foul.

Under the college rule, a player must be ejected after being assessed: two Class A technical fouls (10-5-a:f), one flagrant technical A foul, or one Class A and two Class B technical fouls. Individuals actively participating in a fight shall be ejected and subject to suspension (10-7).

Because Bowers possessed one Class A and just one Class B technical foul, his penalties did not qualify for automatic ejection pursuant to Rule 10-5-Ejection, allowing him to remain in the contest.

This rule is similar in principle to, for instance, NFHS high school's direct vs. indirect technical fouls charged to a head coach. In NBA basketball, a player receiving two such technical fouls shall be ejected.

The Missouri Tigers ultimately won the contest, defeating the Ole Mis Rebels, 98-79.

Sunday, January 27, 2013

Basketball: Playing the Inbounds Backboard

Confusion reigned supreme on NBA-TV Saturday evening during the waning seconds of Utah's 114-110 overtime win against the Indiana Pacers after Jazz forward Paul Millsap's inbounds pass deflected off the backboard before falling onto the playing court:
Did it hit the backboard? This is unreal.
Following a three-point field goal by Indiana guard George Hill to trim Utah's late lead to 112-110, a violation on the ensuing throw-in by Millsap would have given Indiana the ball for a potential game-tying or game-winning opportunity. Instead, the ball was kept alive and after touching several players, settled into the arms of Millsap, who held onto the ball as Indiana's Paul George committed a foul to send Millsap to the free-throw line, allowing Utah to ice the game.

Yet as the broadcast—and NBA.com's own video description ("Controversial Ending")—allude to, should a violation have been called? Did the referees miss a crucial call?

No, officials Marc Davis, J.T. Orr & Leon Wood got the call right; the ball struck the bottom of the backboard.

NBA Rule 4-I-c: "Five sides of the backboard (front, two sides, bottom and top) are considered in play when contacted by the basketball. The back of the backboard and the area directly behind it are out-of-bounds." Rule 8-II-a agrees: "the ball is out-of-bounds when it touches...the supports or back of the backboard." Rule 8-III-f, which states, a throw-in that "touches anything above the playing surface is a violation. The ball must be thrown directly inbounds," pertains to items such as the center-court scoreboard or speaker system, as the five in-bound sides of the backboard are, by rule, inbounds; therefore, Millsap's throw-in complies with the statement, "the ball must be thrown directly inbounds." It was.

NCAA college Rule 7-1-2 specifies a ball shall be out-of-bounds if it touches "the supports or back of the backboard" while 9-5-1-g specifies that a thrower-in shall not throw the ball so that it "strikes the back of the backboard or its supports." NFHS high school 7-1-2-a-3, while 4-4-5 emphatically declares, "a ball which touches the front faces or edges of the backboard is treated the same as touching the floor inbounds." Both codes further specify a violation if the throw-in pass becomes lodged between the backboard and ring or comes to rest on the flange without first touching an inbounds player (e.g., 7-2-8).

Had Millsap's throw touched the back of the backboard or its supports or had the ball deflected off the bottom of the board and fallen or bounced out-of-bounds without being touched, he would have violated NBA Rule 10-III-7 (a thrower-in shall not "cause the ball to go out-of-bounds without being touched by a player in the game"). Had Millsap been the first to touch the ball after it deflected off the backboard in-bounds, he would have been in violation of 10-III-3 ("touch it on the court before it has touched another player").

Wrap: Indiana Pacers vs. Utah Jazz (1/26/13)
Video: Millsap's inbounds pass bounces off the bottom of the backboard before touching a player

Friday, January 18, 2013

National TV's Basketball Rules Ignorance & TFFL Day 77

It's not just baseball and the Chicago White Sox's Ken "Hawk" Harrelson. As officials across nearly all sports have long known, ignorance of the rules is universally pervasive.

For a more confined case study, consider Thursday evening's NBA contest between the Miami Heat and Los Angeles Lakers during which TNT broadcasters Marv Albert, Steve Kerr and Reggie Miller discussed several rules intricacies: traveling as relates to a loose ball/falling on the ground, the eight-second rule and the clear path foul. The Qualities of Broadcasting Accuracy for each instance below is "incorrect":

Traveling: After a loose ball struggle, Kerr lamented that in college and high school basketball, players would routinely be called for a traveling violation upon diving on the floor for a loose ball. Later in the contest, Albert referenced a sequence in which Miami's LeBron James recovered a loose ball on the ground and stood up without being whistled for a violation.

Explanation: NBA Rule 10-II-a is fairly straightforward: "A player shall not run with the ball without dribbling it." For this discussion (player on floor), Rule 10-XIII-e is relevant:
e) A player who falls to the floor while holding the ball or stopping may not gain an advantage by sliding.

In NCAA college, Rule 4-70-6 states "it is traveling when a player falls to the playing court while holding the ball without maintaining a pivot foot." In NFHS high school, Rule 4-44-5 states that a player holding the ball "may not touch the floor with a knee" or if gaining control on the floor, "may not attempt to get up or stand." At these levels, a player is permitted to dive for a loose ball and possess it, but may not voluntarily violate a rule as specified above.

All codes agree—despite their differences, all levels require a player to hold the ball while committing a second act. During the play in question, James did not hold the ball while moving from the ground to standing. Replays indicate the ball maintained contact with the ground until James' feet were the only parts of his body in contact with the ground. Only then did James pick the ball up or "hold" it. This is legal at all levels.

Eight-Second Rule: Hastled in the backcourt, Miami's Dwyane Wade carried the ball over the midcourt line with 16 seconds visible on the shot clock. Albert and Kerr immediately stated they believed an eight-second violation had occurred while Miller proposed this apparently "new rule" had caused confusion resulting in what the broadcasters deemed was a missed call.

Explanation: When the eight-second rule was adopted in 2001 (prior to that, it was 10 seconds, a rule introduced in 1933), the math was simple: taking a shot clock of 24 seconds, officials were to rule a violation if a team was in continuous possession of the ball in its backcourt for more than 8 seconds, or at the 16-second mark (24-8=16). However, as I have previously stated, shot clock timing became more complex when the NBA converted to a tenths-of-a-second timer prior to the 2011-12 season.

Before 2011-12, shot clocks ran from 24-to-0, which in tenths-of-seconds, was 24.9-to-0.9, the violation occuring at 0.9 seconds (technically, 0.999999...). The reason for this is previous-model shot clocks only displayed full seconds, so instead of seeing 0.9 seconds, viewers would see 0 seconds, or, a violation. Accordingly, eight full seconds lapsed at 16.9 seconds on the shot clock, or as soon as the clock read 16.

After the conversion, shot clocks effectively lost nine-tenths of a second, running from 24.0 to 0.0, the shot clock violation this time occuring at 0.0 seconds (which, logically is really 0.09 seconds, meaning 24.0 seconds is really 24.09 seconds). Accordingly, eight full seconds lapse at 16.0 seconds, or a full nine-tenths of a second after the clock reads 16.

Because the clock does not operate in tenths-of-a-second above the five-second mark (sig digs!), officials have no full-proof way of knowing when the clock is equal to 16.0 versus 16.9 sec. Therefore, the common axiom is to whistle the violation at 15.9 (visible = 15) seconds, a 0.1-second margin of error.

Nonetheless, replays confirm the Heat advanced the ball into the frontcourt prior to 16.0.

Clear Path Foul: During a steal and pass from James intended for Wade, Los Angeles' Metta World Peace committed a foul on Wade. Albert, Kerr and Miller considered the possibility a clear path foul had occurred and were surprised when, after review, officials Joey Crawford, Mark Ayotte and Zach Zarba ruled the foul common and not of the clear path variety.

Explanation: Rule 12-B-I-Penalties-6 clarifies this exact situation: "If a defender is ahead of the player being fouled and has the opportunity to position himself between the ball and the basket, there is no clear path foul." Though the rule further specifies the requirements of (1) team possession, (2) backcourt origin, and (3) deprivation of opportunity to score, the aforementioned and explicitly referred to information clearly deliniates that the clear path foul call does not apply in this situation because World Peace was clearly ahead of Wade and between the ball and the basket during the foul.

2012-13 TFFL: Day 77 (4 Games, 2 Technicals).
505: 24 Mike Callahan, 6 Tony Brown, 74 Curtis Blair. Knicks' Chandler; 3rd, 10:59.
The New York Knicks ultimately won the contest, defeating the Detroit Pistons, 102-87.
This game was played at the O2 Arena in London, England.

506: 22 Bill Spooner, 42 Eric Lewis, 73 Tre Maddox. Bucks' Boylan; 3rd, 3:17.
The Milwaukee Bucks ultimately won the contest, defeating the Phoenix Suns, 98-94.

1. (111 pts) Boredcravens.
2. (107 pts) Bino.
3. (99 pts) Drjjulius.
4. (98 pts) flap0703.
5. (89 pts) Eagle_12, cyclone14

Friday, October 26, 2012

Draft: The Inaugural Technical Foul Fantasy League (TFFL)

Close Call Sports and the Umpire Ejection Fantasy League introduce our newest league, the Technical Foul Fantasy League (TFFL), a league charting technical fouls administered during the NBA season and playoffs.
In its initial state, the TFFL will operate in a fashion similar to that employed by the UEFL during its infancy; Because the sport of basketball is highly subject to Quality of Correctness interpretation and a technical foul is less likely to consistently be directly attributed to one call as would an MLB ejection, the TFFL will not address this factor of officiating. Likewise, the TFFL will take into account the cohesive properties of NBA rotating crew dynamics and the actual administration of technical fouls on the floor as a crew call, as opposed to an individual action (for instance, because basketball players/coaches are prohibited from requesting an unofficial "time out" to argue, as in baseball, this prevents the arguer/umpire dynamic seen in baseball). Accordingly, the TFFL points structure will be fairly simple and resemble that of the UEFL's Crew Division.

TFFL Points Structure
+1 point for any technical foul called by any official during a game in which an owned official is working. Technical must be assessed to a player, coach or other team personnel (e.g., 3-sec = 0 pts).
+1 bonus point for a crew's second technical foul resulting in ejection (3 points total [1 + 1 + 1 bonus]).
+1 point for any appearance during a singular round of the NBA playoffs by an owned official. The maximum allocation is one point per round, regardless of number of series/games worked or round # of playoffs.
+1 bonus point for any appearance during the NBA Finals, regardless of # of games worked (2 points total).
+1 point for an on-floor/court working appearance during the NBA All-Star Game, if applicable.
+0 points for "Alternate" status during the postseason ("Alternate" shall not constitute an "appearance").
+0 points for any flagrant 1 or 2 fouls assessed, regardless of ejection status (auto in 2). We're not there yet.

*Appeals/Disputed Information: All appeals or challenges will be decided by the TFFL/UEFL Commissioners.
*Injuries: In the event of injury, league participants may not draft a replacement referee.

TFFL Registration & Draft
Registration for the TFFL is now open, as is the draft. To sign up for and draft your officials in the referees' TFFL, click the below link ("Read more »") to view the entire post. The roster from which to choose officials reflects full-time NBA officials and does not include "non-staff" (WNBA, D-League ... MLB's AAA) officials; MLB jersey # equivalents have been included, just for fun. Registration/draft deadline is October 30, 6:00 AM PT.

Thursday, October 18, 2012

Greg Willard Officiates Pre-Season Game, to Take Leave

NBA referee Greg Willard, diagnosed with pancreatic cancer in June, worked Tuesday's Jazz-Lakers exhibition contest in Anaheim in what appears to have been Willard's last game of 2012.

Greg Willard (left) officiates a play between Bryant & Utah's
Kevin Murphy, 10/16/12 (AP/Jae Hong).
After the contest, Lakers guard Kobe Bryant visited the referees' locker room, later saying of Willard:
"He's an extremely good ref...Honestly, tonight I wanted him to T me up for old time's sake. I didn't want him to have any kind of special night. I wanted it to be just like it's always been. I wanted to drop a couple F-bombs to him. I wanted it to be like how it's always been. That's the best way."
Willard is presently listed on the 2012-13 NBA officiating roster and his upcoming leave of absence is similar in practice to cancer-related absences seen with MLB umpires Jeff Nelson and John Hirschbeck.

Willard, age 53, is a 25-year NBA veteran official and southern California native. He is scheduled to receive the Spirit of Hope Award during the 15th annual Evening With the Stars gala presented by the Pancreatic Cancer Action Network fundraiser in Beverly Hills, CA, 10/20/12.

News: NBA official, Long Beach State alum Greg Willard taking leave to battle pancreatic cancer

Wednesday, October 17, 2012

WNBA Finals Technical Fouls: Michael Price (1, 2)

WNBA Referee Michael Price issued technical fouls to Lynx guard Lindsay Whalen and Head Coach Cheryl Reeve for overt actions indicating resentment to a call during Game 2 of the WNBA Finals between the Indiana Fever and Minnesota. With 3:18 remaining in the third period, Whalen rebounded a missed shot from Fever guard/forward Karima Christmas and attempted to execute a layup, which was blocked by Fever guard Briann January. At the time of the technical fouls, the contest was tied, 48-48. A technical was later issued to Fever coach Lin Dunn (9:08, 4th Quarter). The Lynx ultimately won the contest, 83-71.

WNBA Rule 12A-Section V-d directs officials to issue conduct technical fouls for unsportsmanlike tactics, including (1) disrespectfully addressing an official, (3) overt reactions indicating resentment to a call, (4) use of profanity and (5) a coach entering onto the court without permission of an official.

Reeve subsequently removed and threw her jacket as Price walked away from the area, but was not ejected.

Officials: #39 Michael Price, #42 Roy Gulbeyan, #43 Brenda Pantoja

Wrap: Indiana Fever at Minnesota Lynx, WNBA Finals Game 2, 10/17/12
Video: After no-call on Whalen drive and miss, Whalen and Reeve hit with technical fouls

Thursday, July 19, 2012

NBA to Consider Expanded Instant Replay Review

The NBA Board of Governors—Basketball's own Rules Committee—is meeting today in Las Vegas, Nevada, in the hopes of implementing multiple changes to the NBA Rules Book in advance of the 2012-13 basketball season.

Key items on the docket include (*asterisk indicates a Rules Change):
  • *Basket Interference: Shall the "cylinder" above the rim restriction be eliminated, akin to FIBA?
  • Flopping: Shall faking a foul be tracked via a technical foul-like points system? (No vote)
  • *Inbounds Location: Shall teams dictate post-timeout inbound locations (sideline vs. baseline)?
  • *Instant Replay, Flagrant Fouls: Shall all flagrant 1 & 2 fouls be subject to replay review?
  • *Instant Replay, Goaltending & Restricted Area: Shall replay be approved for calls in the final 2:00?
  • Lottery: Shall the league's draft lottery system be tweaked, reworked or eliminated?
In 2011, the NBA Board of Governors approved the tenths-of-a-second shot clock, expedited instant replay and substitution procedures, procedures for rescinding a timeout on overturned instant replay decisions, an additional free throw lane violation for disconcertion caused by excessive movement.

So what about you? Should basket interference be modified to conform to the FIBA standard? Does flopping deserve discipline? Should instant replay be expanded to flagrant fouls and/or goaltending/RA circle plays? How would you vote?

*Update* 7/19/12 19:10 Pacific Time: The Board has passed both instant replay proposals. Instant replay may now be used to determine all flagrant foul calls and for restricted area and goaltending calls in the final two minutes of regulation or overtime. Flopping has been referred to the competition committee, which meets in September.

Thursday, June 14, 2012

NBA Finals: Key Uncalled Foul in Final Seconds of Game 2

Game 2 of the NBA Finals came to a rough end as Thunder forward Kevin Durant unsuccessfully attempted a score with 11 seconds remaining in regulations. As far as video breakdowns go, this one is pretty simple.

It was a foul (Incorrect Call), as video evidence conclusively demonstrates B6 using his left arm to alter and impede W35. Ever the loyal soldier, retired referee Steve Javie did his best to explain the call to a national audience.

Javie correctly surmised that the lead official Tom Washington had a poor angle with which to see the illegal contact, and therefore, the offending arm-bar, clamp and hack were all missed, unseen by the closest man with a whistle.

ESPN gave Javie about 30 seconds of air time Thursday night, just long enough to discuss position adjustments, angles and—without directly saying it—admit that Washington was straightlined for that crucial play.

By virtue of its position relative to the game clock, any controversial call that occurs in the final two minutes will be magnified; any apparent miss in the final 24 seconds will become a mountain and more importantly, will set off that ever-popular firestorm of "the referee cost my team the game," neglecting turnovers, shooting percentages and missed plays that might have led up to the barn-burning loss.

Monday, June 11, 2012

Referee Greg Willard Diagnosed with Pancreatic Cancer

Long time and veteran National Basketball Association referee Greg Willard was scheduled to work last Wednesday's Game 6 of the Western Conference Finals between the San Antonio Spurs and Oklahoma City Thunder, but had to remove himself from the assignment due to an illness and troubling blood test results. On Monday, Willard was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer.

The 24 year NBA veteran official has officiated over 1,500 regular season games (including 61 this year) and over 120 postseason games. Only four days before Willard was scheduled to work Game 6 of the Western Conference Finals, he worked Game 4 of the Eastern Conference Finals between the Miami Heat and Boston Celtics that went to overtime. Willard had worked the previous two NBA Finals, but will be physically absent from this year's Finals.

Tuesday, May 22, 2012

Flagrant 2: Haslem, Pittman on Hook for Suspensions?

Does the NBA have a flagrant foul problem? Violent hits from Miami and Indiana might indicate so.

Before the following video analysis and review of each potentially flagrant foul that occurred in Tuesday's Heat-Pacers contest, it might be useful to consult the NBA Rules Book, which defines a flagrant foul as, "A flagrant foul is unnecessary and/or excessive contact committed by a player against an opponent whether the ball is dead or alive" (Rule 4-III-f).

Rule 12-B-IV specifically differentiates the Flagrant One vs. Flagrant Two foul:
Flagrant One: If contact committed against a player, with or without the ball, is interpreted to be unnecessary, a flagrant foul—penalty (1) will be assessed. A personal foul is charged to the offender and a team foul is charged to the team.
Flagrant Two: If contact committed against a player, with or without the ball, is interpreted to be unnecessary and excessive, a flagrant foul—penalty (2) will be assessed. A personal foul is charged to the offender and a team foul is charged to the team.

Furthermore, basketball officials are trained to look for three phases to determine if unnecessary and/or excessive contact shall be deemed flagrant.
1) The Wind-Up: Did the player prepare for unnecessary and/or excess contact by winding up before delivering the blow? This element premeditation is absolutely vital, especially in calling a Flagrant Two foul.
2) The Delivery: Described as "an appropriate level of impact" by NBA Executive Stu Jackson, the delivery phase is the contact itself. On its own merits and without criteria one or three, was the contact unnecessary and/or excessive?
3) The Follow Through: Perhaps the most difficult component to adjudicate, the final phase, the follow through, is crucial in determining flagrant foul status. To this end, officials must call the entire play and that includes officiating past the whistle. Many a fight has started due to a referee turning his or her back from a flagrant or even legal—yet hard— foul.

Now that we know what we're looking for, it is time to evaluate three tough fouls: One by Tyler Hansbrough against Dwayne Wade, the second by Udonis Haslem against Hansbrough and a third by Dexter Pittman against Lance Stephenson. For each play, a video link has been included.