Saturday, September 14, 2019

MLB Ejections 205-206 - Carlos Torres (4-5; SD)

3B Umpire Carlos Torres ejected Padres 1B Eric Hosmer and Manager Andy Green (check swing strike two call) in the top of the 5th inning of the #Padres-#Rockies game. With one out and two on (R1, R3), Hosmer attempted to check his swing on a 0-1 changeup from Rockies pitcher Peter Lambert, ruled a ball by HP Umpire Paul Nauert and a swinging second strike on appeal by 3B Umpire Carlos Torres, before grounding out two pitches later. On-Field Ruling was adjudicated by the UEFL Appeals Board (8-0), the call was correct. At the time of the ejection, the Rockies were leading, 9-5. The Rockies ultimately won the contest, 11-10.

These are Carlos Torres (37)'s fourth and fifth ejections of 2019.
Carlos Torres now has 17 points in the UEFL Standings (13 Prev + 2 MLB + 2 Correct Call = 17).
Crew Chief Paul Nauert now has 0 points in Crew Division (-1 Previous + 1 Correct Call = 0).

These are the 205th and 206th ejection reports of 2019.
This is the 100th player ejection of 2019. Prior to ejection, Hosmer was 1-2 (RBI) in the contest.
This is the 93rd Manager ejection of 2019.
This is San Diego's 7/8th ejection of 2019, 1st in the NL West (SD 8; COL 6; SF 5; ARI 4; LAD 3).
This is Eric Hosmer's 1st ejection since May 27, 2017 (Bill Welke; QOC = Y-c [Check Swing]).
This is Andy Green's 3rd ejection of 2019, 1st since June 15 (Bill Welke; QOC = U [USC-NEC]).
This is Carlos Torres' 4/5th ejection of 2019, 1st since July 19 (David Bell; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).

Wrap: San Diego Padres vs. Colorado Rockies, 9/14/19 | Video as follows:

MLB Ejection 204 - Chris Guccione (2; Dale Sveum)

HP Umpire Chris Guccione ejected Royals Bench Coach Dale Sveum (ball two call; QOCN) in the top of the 2nd inning of the #Astros-#Royals game. With none out and none on, Astros batter Alex Bregman took a 1-0 sinker from Royals pitcher Mike Montgomery for a called second ball before taking a 3-1 sinker for a called fourth ball. Replays indicate the 1-0 pitch was located over the heart of home plate and above the hollow of the knee (px -0.09, pz 1.73 [sz_bot 1.55 / MOE 1.63] [sz_bot 1.54 / MOE 1.62]) while the 3-1 pitch was located off the inner edge of home plate and thigh-high (px -0.82, pz 2.54), the call was incorrect.* At the time of the ejection, the game was tied, 0-0. The Astros ultimately won the contest, 6-1.

This is Chris Guccione (68)'s second ejection of 2019.
Chris Guccione now has -4 points in the UEFL Standings (-2 Prev + 2 MLB - 4 Incorrect Call = -4).
Crew Chief Mike Everitt now has 4 points in Crew Division (4 Previous + 0 Incorrect Call = 4).
*The 1-0 pitch was located 1.20 1.32 vertical inches from being deemed a correct call.
Overnight processing changed Bregman's sz_bot value from 1.55 to 1.54 (-0.12 inches).

This is the 204th ejection report of 2019.
This is Kansas City's 11th ejection of 2019, T-1st in the AL Central (CWS, DET, KC 11; MIN 4; CLE 1).
This is Dale Sveum's 2nd ejection of 2019, 1st since April 17 (Joe West; QOC = U [Fighting]).
This is Chris Guccione's 2nd ejection of 2019, 1st since June 22 (Gabe Kapler; QOC = N-c [Check Swing]).

Wrap: Houston Astros vs. Kansas City Royals, 9/14/19 | Video as follows:

MLB Ejection 203 - Bill Welke (4; Brian Snitker)

1B Umpire Bill Welke ejected Braves Manager Brian Snitker (check swing/bunt dead ball strike one call) in the top of the 7th inning of the #Braves-#Nationals game. With none out and two on (R1, R2), Braves batter Charlie Culberson squared to bunt a 0-0 fastball from Nationals pitcher Fernando Rodney as the pitch traveled inside and struck Culberson in the face, ruled a HBP by HP Umpire Timmons and a bunt attempt/dead ball strike on appeal by 1B Umpire Welke; the relevant rule is Definition of Terms [Bunt]: "A BUNT is a batted ball not swung at, but intentionally met with the bat and tapped slowly within the infield"; if the batter has intended to meet the ball with the bat, it is a missed bunt; if the batter has struck at the ball and missed, it is a swinging strike; otherwise it is officiated as to the result of the pitch (ball/strike/HBP/foul ball/etc).* On-Field Ruling was adjudicated by the UEFL Appeals Board (0-8), the call was incorrect. At the time of the ejection, the game was tied, 1-1. The Braves ultimately won the contest, 10-1.

This is Bill Welke (3)'s fourth ejection of 2019.
Bill Welke now has 2 points in the UEFL Standings (4 Prev + 2 MLB - 4 Incorrect Call = 2).
Crew Chief Tim Timmons now has 5 points in Crew Division (5 Previous + 0 QOCN = 5).
*Related PostAsk UEFL - Foul Bunt or Ball Fouled Away? (8/29/18).
Related: Marlins' Giancarlo Stanton injured during swing & miss in Milwaukee (9/11/14).

This is the 203rd ejection report of 2019.
This is the 92nd Manager ejection of 2019.
This is Atlanta's 7th ejection of 2019, T-2nd in the NL East (WAS 10; ATL, PHI 7; MIA, NYM 5).
This is Brian Snitker's 4th ejection of 2019, 1st since August 20 (Mark Wegner; QOC = U [Warnings]).
This is Bill Welke's 4th ejection of 2019, 1st since June 15 (Manny Machado; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).

Wrap: Atlanta Braves vs. Washington Nationals, 9/14/19 | Video as follows:

MLB Ejections 201-202 - Alfonso Marquez (5-6; CHC)

HP Umpire Alfonso Marquez ejected Cubs pitcher Dillon Maples and Manager Joe Maddon (throwing at Pirates batter Erik Gonzalez after warnings; QOCU) in the top of the 9th inning of the #Pirates-#Cubs game. With one out and none on, Pirates batter Elias Diaz was hit by a pitch after which subsequent batter Gonzalez took a 3-1 curveball from Maples for a hit-by-pitch. Replays indicate the pitch struck Gonzlaez in the left shoulder; warnings had previously been issued when Cubs batter David Bote was hit by a pitch from Pirates pitcher Clay Holmes in the 6th inning, the call was irrecusable (there is a relevant history, see Heads Up).* At the time of the ejections, the Cubs were leading, 14-1. The Cubs ultimately won the contest, 14-1.

These are Alfonso Marquez (72)'s fifth and sixth ejections of 2019.
Alfonso Marquez now has 12 points in the UEFL Standings (8 Prev + 2*[2 MLB + 0 QOCU] = 12).
Crew Chief Alfonso Marquez now has 9 points in Crew Division (7 Previous + 2*[1 Irrecusable] = 9).
Heads UpMLB Ejection 111 - Joe West (6; Joe Maddon) (7/4/19).

These are the 201st and 202nd ejections of 2019.
This is the 99th player ejection of 2019. Prior to ejection, Maples' line was 0.1 IP, 2 HBP.
This is the 91st Manager ejection of 2019.
This is Chicago's 8/9th ejection of 2019, 3rd in the NL Central (CIN 23; PIT 12; CHC 9; MIL 8; STL 3).
This is Dillon Maples' first career MLB ejection.
This is Joe Maddon's 3rd ejection of 2019, 1st since July 4 (Joe West; QOC = U [USC-NEC]).
This is Alfonso Marquez's 5/6th ejection of 2019, 1st since August 19 (Ron Gardenhire; QOC = U [Pace of Play]).

Wrap: Pittsburgh Pirates vs. Chicago Cubs, 9/14/19 | Video as follows:

Friday, September 13, 2019

MLB Ejections 199-200 - Lance Barrett (3-4; KC)

HP Umpire Lance Barrett ejected Royals LF Alex Gordon and Manager Ned Yost (strike three call; QOCY) in the bottom of the 7th inning of the #Astros-#Royals. With one out and none on, Gordon took a 1-0 fastball from Astros pitcher Gerrit Cole for a called first strike and 2-2 fastball for a called third strike. Replays indicate the 1-0 pitch was located over the inner edge of home plate and thigh-high (px 0.84, pz 1.88) and the 2-2 pitch was located over the inner half of home plate and at the hollow of the knee (px 0.64, pz 1.64 [sz_bot 1.61]), the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the Astros were leading, 1-0. The Astros ultimately won the contest, 4-1.

These are Lance Barrett (94)'s third and fourth ejections of 2019.
Lance Barrett now has 12 points in the UEFL Standings (8 Prev + 2 MLB + 2 Correct Call = 12).
Crew Chief Mike Everitt now has 4 points in Crew Division (3 Previous + 1 Correct Call = 4).
*UEFL Rule 6-2-b-1 (Kulpa Rule): |0| < STRIKE < |.748| < BORDERLINE < |.914| < BALL.
The 1-0 pitch was located 0.89 horizontal inches from being deemed an incorrect call.
The 2-2 pitch was located 2.83 vertical inches from being deemed an incorrect call.

These are the 199th and 200th ejection reports of the 2019 MLB season.
This is the 90th Manager ejection of 2019.
This is the 98th player ejection of 2019. Prior to ejection, Gordon was 0-3 (2 SO) in the contest.
This is Kansas City's 9/10th ejection of 2019, 3rd in the AL Central (CWS, DET 11; KC 10; MIN 4; CLE 1).
This is Alex Gordon's 1st ejection since August 7, 2011 (Rob Drake; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Ned Yost's 4th ejection of 2019, 1st since August 13 (Greg Gibson; QOC = Y-c [RLI]).
This is Lance Barrett's 3/4th ejection of 2019, 1st since Sept 3 (Brandon Hyde; QOC = Y [Check Swing]).

Wrap: Houston Astros vs. Kansas City Royals, 9/13/19 | Video as follows:

MLB Ejection 198 - Tim Timmons (3; Tim Bogar)

1B Umpire Tim Timmons ejected Nationals 1B Coach Tim Bogar (check swing strike two call) in the bottom of the 8th inning of the #Braves-#Nationals game. With one out and one on (R2), Nationals batter Howie Kendrick attempted to check his swing on a 2-1 fastball from Braves pitcher Shane Greene, ruled a ball by HP Umpire Rob Drake and a swinging strike on appeal by 1B Umpire Timmons, before grounding out. On-Field Ruling was reviewed and adjudicated by the UEFL Appeals Board (8-0), the call was correct. At the time of the ejection, the Braves were leading, 5-0. The Braves ultimately won the contest, 5-0.

This is Tim Timmons (95)'s third ejection of 2019.
Tim Timmons now has 9 points in the UEFL Standings (5 Prev + 2 MLB + 2 Correct Call = 9).
Crew Chief Tim Timmons now has 6 points in Crew Division (5 Previous + 1 Correct Call = 9).

This is the 198th ejection report of the 2019 MLB regular season.
This is Washington's 10th ejection of 2019, 1st in the NL East (WAS 10; PHI 7; ATL 6; MIA, NYM 5).
This is Tim Bogar's first career MLB ejection.
This is Tim Timmons' 3rd ejection of 2019, 1st since Sept 1 (Yasmani Grandal; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).

Wrap: Atlanta Braves vs. Washington Nationals, 9/13/19 | Video as follows:

Thursday, September 12, 2019

MLB Ejection 197 - Mike Muchlinski (2; Chris Woodward)

HP Umpire Mike Muchlinski ejected Rangers Manager Chris Woodward (ball two call; QOCY) in the top of the 7th inning of the #Rays-#Rangers game. With one out and none on, Rays batter Ji-Man Choi took a 0-2 slider from Rangers pitcher Jonathan Hernandez for ball one and 1-2 changeup from Hernandez for ball two. Replays indicate the 0-2 pitch was located off the edge of the right-handed batter's box and below the midpoint (px -1.83, pz 2.97 [sz_top 3.30]) and the 1-2 pitch was located off the outer edge of home plate and thigh-high (px -1.32, pz 1.93 [sz_bot 1.59]), the call was correct. At the time of the ejection, the Rangers were leading, 5-4. The Rangers ultimately won the contest, 6-4.

This is Mike Muchlinski (76)'s second ejection of 2019.
Mike Muchlinski now has 14 points in the UEFL Standings (10 Prev + 2 MLB + 2 Correct Call = 14).
Crew Chief Tim Timmons now has 5 points in Crew Division (4 Previous + 1 Correct Call = 5).
*UEFL Rule 6-2-b-1 (Kulpa Rule): |0| < STRIKE < |.748| < BORDERLINE < |.914| < BALL.
The 1-2 pitch was located 6.86 horizontal inches from being deemed an incorrect call.

This is the 197th ejection report of the 2019 MLB regular season.
This is the 89th Manager ejection of 2019.
This is Texas' 5th ejection of 2019, T-3rd in the AL West (OAK, SEA 6; HOU, TEX 5; LAA 4).
This is Chris Woodward's 3rd ejection of 2019, 1st since July 27 (Sean Barber; QOC = U [Throwing At]).
This is Mike Muchlinski's 2nd ejection of 2019, 1st since June 30 (Torey Lovullo; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).

Wrap: Tampa Bay Rays vs. Texas Rangers, 9/12/19 | Video as follows:

MLB Ejection 196 - Ramon De Jesus (3; Wil Myers)

HP Umpire Ramon De Jesus ejected Padres CF Wil Myers (strike two call; QOCY) in the bottom of the 9th inning of the #Cubs-#Padres game. With none out and one on (R2), Myers took a 1-0 fastball from Cubs pitcher Rowan Wick for a called first strike and 1-1 fastball from Wick for a called second strike. Replays indicate the 1-0 pitch was located over the outer half of home plate and thigh-high (px 0.53, pz 2.10), while the 1-1 pitch was located over the outer edge of home plate and waist-high (px 0.82, pz 2.39), the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the Cubs were leading, 4-0. The Cubs ultimately won the contest, 4-1.

This is Ramon De Jesus (18)'s third ejection of 2019.
Ramon De Jesus now has 14 points in the UEFL Standings (10 Prev + 2 AAA + 2 Correct Call = 14).
Crew Chief Fieldin Culbreth now has 13 points in Crew Division (12 Previous + 1 Correct Call = 13).
*UEFL Rule 6-2-b-1 (Kulpa Rule): |0| < STRIKE < |.748| < BORDERLINE < |.914| < BALL.
The 1-1 pitch was located 1.13 horizontal inches from being deemed an incorrect call.

This is the 196th ejection report of the 2019 MLB regular season.
This is the 97th player ejection of 2019. Prior to ejection, Myers was 0-4 (3 SO) in the contest.
This is San Diego's 6th ejection of 2019, T-1st in the NL West (COL, SD 6; SF 5; ARI 4; LAD 3).
This is Wil Myers' first career MLB ejection.
This is Ramon De Jesus' 3rd ejection of 2019, 1st since July 23 (James Rowson; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).

Wrap: Chicago Cubs vs. San Diego Padres, 9/12/19 | Video as follows:

Injury Scout - Gerry Davis Rocked Out of Game

Gerry Davis exited Thursday's matinee assignment in Colorado after a foul ball knocked his mask off.

During Thursday afternoon's Cardinals-Rockies game, Rockies batter Josh Fuentes fouled a 92-mph 1-2 fastball from Cardinals pitcher Miles Mikolas into the lower jaw portion of Davis' traditional-style facemask. Davis immediately exited the game following a visit from the Rockies training staff.

1B Umpire Brennan Miller took over for Davis calling balls and strikes with 2B Umpire Brian Knight assuming Crew Chief duties and sliding to first base with 3B Umpire Pat Hoberg at third.

Relevant Injury History: There is no recent relevant head injury history.

Last Game: September 12 | Return to Play: Sept 13 | Time Absent: Rest of Game | Video as follows:

Braves' Donaldson Called for Retired Batter's INT

After Braves batter Josh Donaldson swung and missed at a 3-2 pitch in Philadelphia, HP Umpire Ted Barrett ruled baserunner Freddie Freeman out for Donaldson’s interference on Phillies catcher JT Realmuto. Was this the correct call? Why or why not?

The Play: With one out and one on (R1), Donaldson struck out swinging on a 3-2 pitch as baserunner R1 Freddie Freeman attempted to steal second base. As Phillies catcher JT Realmuto threw to second base, he interacted with Donaldson in the batter's box, drawing an interference call from HP Umpire Barrett.

The Rule: There are two potential rule at play here: Official Baseball Rule 6.03(a)(3) and 6.01(a)(5). OBR 6.03 pertains to illegal action by the batter: "A batter is out for illegal action when—He interferes with the catcher’s fielding or throwing by stepping out of the batter’s box or making any other movement that hinders the catcher’s play at home base."

We analyze this from both rules' perspectives.
Because Donaldson was already out on the strikeout, OBR 6.03(a)(3) does not apply. Instead, it is Rule 6.01(a)(5) pertaining to a retired batter which rules the day: "It is interference when—Any batter or runner who has just been put out, or any runner who has just scored, hinders or impedes any following play being made on a runner. Such runner shall be declared out for the interference of his teammate."

Call & Analysis: The batter’s box is not a safe haven, especially under the retired batter’s rule which makes no reference to a batter’s box. Instead, the standard is whether a batter or recently-retired batter’s movements have hindered the catcher.

Nonetheless, Donaldson is a RETIRED BATTER and his movement, albeit unintentional, nonetheless constitutes interference. He isn't protected just because he remained in the batter's box.

What Atlanta Thinks Happened: The Braves broadcast featured the phrase: "Donaldson did not move."

Umpire Ted Barrett observes the interference.
What that refers to is a batter who swings and, after swinging, stays still in the box and is run into by the throwing catcher or something of the sort. In that case, it is NOT interference, for the batter has not made a movement ("did not move") to hinder the catcher.

What Actually Happened: Instead, after Donaldson's swing-and-a-miss, he stumbles and falls to his right (toward home plate), where he makes contact with the catcher (albeit unintentionally), and thanks in part to the catcher's own movement to and beyond the front of home plate; however, we know that the catcher got to his spot first, by virtue of Donaldson stepping on top of the catcher's foot.

The rule favors the defense here (especially with a retired batter) and allows the catcher an opportunity to make an unimpeded play.

Gil's Call: This was a popular Ask the UEFL request. I understand Atlanta's argument. Nothing about this was remotely intentional (but it doesn't have to be). Donaldson is falling and happens to fall into the catcher, who in turn may be gamesmanship-ing his way into a call. But Donaldson's foot being on top of Realmuto's seals the deal for me. The catcher got there first, so the batter's movements have hindered him by virtue of stepping on top of JT's plant foot. The batter's box is not a safe space.

Had Donaldson not moved (as depicted by the ATL broadcasters), interference would be an incorrect ruling. But because Donaldson did move, however slightly, unintentionally, solely because he was off-balance, or otherwise, this is an interfering (hindering/impeding) act and the proper call is made.

And at the end of the day, I suppose that's the difference between the team (ATL) and the umpire: Atlanta held that Donaldson "did not move" whereas replays clearly indicate that he did move.

Video as follows:

Wednesday, September 11, 2019

MLB Ejection 195 - John Libka (3; Scott Servais)

HP Umpire John Libka ejected Mariners Manager Scott Servais (backswing interference no-call; QOCN) in the bottom of the 9th inning of the #Reds-#Mariners game. With two out and the bases loaded, Reds batter Derek Dietrich attempted to check his swing on a 0-2 slider from Mariners pitcher Anthony Bass, ruled a ball and called a swinging third strike on appeal by 3B Umpire Paul Nauert. The ball got away from Mariners catcher Omar Narvaez and all Reds runners advanced on the dropped third strike.

Replays indicate that after missing at the pitch, the ball bounced off Narvaez and caromed off batter Dietrich's bat on the backswing, whereupon the ball escaped into the area between home plate and the first base dugout; this is unintentional follow-through contact (aka "backswing interference"), the proper remedy for which is a dead ball strike (this would have ended the game), the call was incorrect. Original Ruling was reviewed and affirmed by the UEFL Appeals Board (7-0), the call was incorrect. At the time of the ejection, the Mariners were leading, 5-3. The Mariners ultimately won the contest, 5-3.

Gil's Call/Analysis: Rule 6.03(a)(3) Comment has this as backswing interference: dead ball strike. If corrected, this results in strike three for Dietrich, who is out to end the game. Remember, backswing interference (follow-through contact at the NFHS level) applies to the bat hitting both the catcher and the baseball behind the batter after he swings and misses at a pitch.
Related PostCase Play 2016-1, The Dropped Third Strike [Solved] (3/31/16).

The umpires were put in a terrible position because MLB does not allow issues such as backswing interference to be reviewed. Because the umpires could not refer to Replay Review, when the T-Mobile Park entertainment production crew ran the instant replay on the outfield video board, this more than anything else caused Servais' ejection as Seattle's skipper reignited his argument and forced Libka to eject him for referencing having seen a video replay that purportedly (definitely, in this case) contradicted an umpire's on-field ruling.

It's one thing to look at the replay and say that Libka missed this because he was looking toward third base at U3 Nauert for the check swing, an issue that can be rectified if the plate umpire stays engaged with the uncaught third strike a tick longer (remember the phrase voluntary strike on a potential uncaught third strike situation, which means the base umpire who judges "swing" should be ready to give an out signal immediately upon the pitch bouncing in the dirt—the word "voluntary" means the base umpire should make a call regardless of whether the plate umpire has formally appealed to him [it's treated as an implied appeal play, as in...the appeal would happen eventually anyway, and time is of the essence on a potential uncaught third strike]. The reason voluntary strike exists is precisely because the plate umpire *still has* responsibilities at home plate on an uncaught third strike play).

And of course, get together with your entire crew if there is any doubt (we do see Libka walking toward the infield before Seattle's broadcast begins showing a series of replays).

Yet in my mind, what caused Servais to get himself thrown out of this game was seeing the video on the stadium big screen, and the umpires entirely unable to do anything about the missed call due to Replay Review rules that prohibit such remediation.

This is John Libka (84)'s third ejection of 2019.
John Libka now has 5 points in the UEFL Standings (7 Prev + 2 AAA - 4 Incorrect Call = 5).
Crew Chief Paul Nauert now has -1 points in Crew Division (-1 Previous + 0 Incorrect Call = -1).
*Official Baseball Rule 6.03(a)(3) Comment states, "If a batter strikes at a ball and misses and swings so hard he carries the bat all the way around and, in the umpire's judgment, unintentionally hits the catcher or the ball in back of him on the backswing, it shall be called a strike only (not interference). The ball will be dead, however, and no runner shall advance on the play."

This is the 195th ejection report of the 2019 MLB regular season.
This is the 88th Manager ejection of 2019.
This is Seattle's 6th ejection of 2019, T-1st in the AL West (OAK, SEA 6; HOU 5; LAA, TEX 4).
This is Scott Servais' 3rd ejection of 2019, 1st since June 15 (Carlos Torres; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is John Libka's 3rd ejection of 2019, 1st since August 21 (Jesus Aguilar; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).

Wrap: Cincinnati Reds vs. Seattle Mariners, 9/11/19 | Video as follows:

MLB Ejection 194 - Dan Bellino (2; James McCann)

HP Umpire Dan Bellino ejected White Sox PH James McCann (ball two call; QOCY) in the top of the 9th inning of the #Royals-#WhiteSox game. With two out and two on in the 8th (R1, R2), McCann took a 0-0 slider from Royals pitcher Tim Hill for a called first strike before striking out two pitches later. In the 9th, Royals leadoff batter Brett Phillips took a 1-2 changeup from White Sox pitcher Hector Santiago for a called second ball. Replays indicate the pitch was located off the outer edge of home plate and above the knee (px -0.99, pz 1.83 [sz_bot 1.65]), the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the Royals were leading, 8-6. The Royals ultimately won the contest, 8-6.

This is Dan Bellino (2)'s second ejection of 2019.
Dan Bellino now has 11 points in the UEFL Standings (7 Prev + 2 MLB + 2 Correct Call = 11).
Crew Chief Alfonso Marquez now has 9 points in Crew Division (8 Previous + 1 QOCY = 9).
*UEFL Rule 6-2-b-1 (Kulpa Rule): |0| < STRIKE < |.748| < BORDERLINE < |.914| < BALL.
This pitch was located 2.90 horizontal inches from being deemed an incorrect call.
^Pursuant to UEFL rules, the 0-0 pitch in the eighth inning (4.6 inches from .914) is prohibited from QOC consideration because the ejection occurred in the 9th inning following a contested pitch to an opposing player.

This is the 194th ejection report of the 2019 MLB regular season.
This is the 96th player ejection of 2019. Prior to ejection, McCann was 0-1 (SO) in the contest.
This is Chicago's 11th ejection of 2019, T-1st in the AL Central (CWS, DET 11; KC 8; MIN 4; CLE 1).
This is James McCann's 1st ejection since Sept 13, 2017 (Quinn Wolcott; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Dan Bellino's 2nd ejection of 2019, 1st since April 11 (Brian Snitker; QOC = Y [Check Swing]).

Wrap: Kansas City Royals vs. Chicago White Sox, 9/11/19 | Video as follows:

Injury Scout - Emmel Out in SF on Pair of Hits

Paul Emmel left his game in San Francisco after being struck by a pair of pitches behind home plate.

During Tuesday's Pirates-Giants game, Kevin Pillar fouled a 96-mph fastball from Pittsburgh pitcher Mitch Keller into Emmel's traditional-style facemask in the 1st inning, before another Keller pitch, to Giants batter Stephen Vogt in the 3rd inning, struck Emmel on the right wrist after a slight deflection by Pirates catcher Jacob Stallings' mitt.

2B Umpire Mike Estabrook replaced Emmel behind home plate with 1B Umpire Ryan Blakney and 3B Umpire Chad Fairchild remaining on the bases. Fairchild assumed acting crew chief duties.

Relevant Injury History: Emmel has a history of head trauma.
On February 28, 2017, Emmel was struck by a bat during Spring Training and left as a precaution.
Related PostSpring Injury - Paul Emmel Clipped by Flying Bat (2/28/17).

On June 23, 2016, Emmel received stitches after being struck in the head by a bat.
Related PostInjury - Paul Emmel Cut Badly by Flying Bat in Anaheim (6/23/16).

Last Game: September 10 | Return to Play: TBD | Time Absent: TBD | Video as follows:

Tuesday, September 10, 2019

Teachable - Base Touch with MiLB Runner Missing HP

This Tmac's Teachable Moment spies a minor league batter-runner who failed to touch home plate after a HR during the Class-A Carolina League playoffs and HP Umpire Steven Jaschinski, who spotted the infraction when Fayetteville Woodpeckers 2B Miguelangel Sierra broke up Down East Wood Ducks pitcher Sal Mendez's no-hitter with a fifth-inning fly ball over the outfield wall at SEGRA Stadium.

As the batter-runner rounded third base and trotted toward home, he leapt in the air during his final stride and, in doing so, jumped over and past home plate in celebration without physically touching the base.

HP Umpire Jaschinski's eyes were trained directly at the modified 17-inch-wide pentagon and Down East catcher Sam Huff presumably noticed the flubbed footwork as well, as the defense executed an appeal on the runner's non-touch of home after Jaschinski put the ball in play, resulting in an out and downgrading the batter-runner's home run to a triple (still breaking up the no-no, but preserving the shutout).

Umpires should ensure the appeal is proper.
It's important for our umpire-in-chief, in addition to watching for the base touch (or lack thereof) to know when the ball is dead vs alive (Jaschinski clearly indicates the dead ball becoming live again by signaling "Play!") and to wait for the pitcher to engage the mound with a new baseball before putting the ball back in play. Once the ball is live again, the pitcher must legally disengage the rubber (lest (s)he balk [if there are runner[s]] or throw an actual pitch and lose the right to appeal) and cause the base-to-be-appealed to be tagged.

In this case (in most cases), F1 Mendez threw to F2 Huff, who stepped on home plate...but a pitcher could also theoretically run with the ball and touch his own foot to the base instead...maybe for scoring purposes, a pitcher hypothetically wants the single-game putout record for pitchers? Always expect the unexpected.

Finally, after selling his call and speaking with the offense's manager (the third base coach in this MiLB game), Jaschinski makes it excruciatingly clear what has happened by motioning to the press box that the run does not count.

This Tmac's Teachable Moments analysis is brought to you by Umpire Placement Course.
Video as follows:

Travel Story of Bob Davidson's Youppi! Ejection

To celebrate the 30-year anniversary of Montreal mascot Youppi!'s ejection care of 3B Umpire Bob Davidson, we revisit a fateful 22-inning Dodgers-Expos game care of MLB.

With Los Angeles at-bat in the 11th, Manager Tommy Lasorda lodged a complaint against Youppi! for repeatedly jumping on and banging the roof of the Dodgers' third-base dugout (sound familiar, Brett Gardner?). Davidson enforced Official Baseball Rule 8.01(b) (then known as 9.01), which states, "Each umpire has authority to order a player, coach, manager or Club officer or employee to do or refrain from doing anything which affects the administering of these rules, and to enforce the prescribed penalties," and ordered Youppi! to leave the Dodgers alone.
Related PostWhy Umpire Chris Segal Ejected Brett Gardner (8/11/19).

Ejection Report: On August 23, 1989, with one out and none on in the top of the 11th inning of the Dodgers-Expos game, 3B Umpire Bob Davidson ordered the removal of mascot Youppi! for banging on the visitor's dugout. Replays indicate Youppi! successfully irritated Lasorda, the call was hilarious. At the time of the ejection, the game was tied 0-0. The Dodgers ultimately won the contest several hours later, 1-0, in 22 innings, a 6-hour, 14-minute game.
Related PostHappy Anniversary - Davidson Ejects Mascot Youppi! (8/24/18).

Bob told us the tale during his podcast episode explaining that, not only was everyone tired from the long game...it was also a travel day. Now, through the magic of video, here's Bob's story:

Monday, September 9, 2019

Ask UEFL - Who Gets a Strikeout in a Suspended AB?

This edition of Ask the UEFL concerns a suspended game between Oakland and Detroit: which batter gets the strikeout if an at-bat is interrupted by a span of days, weeks, or months?

A's pitcher Liam Hendriks faced Detroit's Josh Harrison at Comerica Park, Michigan on May 19, 2019, as rain began to fall in the bottom of the 7th inning, just as Harrison ran the count to 2-2. Crew Chief Mike Winters and HP Umpire Tim Timmons pulled the teams off the field for a weather delay that turned into a suspended game when play could not be resumed.

The game finally resumed on September 6, 2019—nearly four months later—during the two teams' final meeting of the year...in Oakland. Detroit remained the home team (albeit wearing visiting uniforms for logistics reasons) and Jordy Mercer assumed the remainder of Harrison's at-bat with Hendriks remaining on the mound for Oakland.

Mercer swung and missed at the first pitch he saw from Mercer, thus completing the four-month-long AB, but who gets the strikeout? Mercer or Harrison?

Sunday, September 8, 2019

MLB Ejections 192-193 - Roberto Ortiz (2-3; PIT x2)

HP Umpire Roberto Ortiz ejected Pirates Manager Clint Hurdle (strike two call; QOCN) and 2B Adam Frazier (strike three call; QOCY) in the bottom of the 7th inning of the #Cardinals-#Pirates game. With two out and one on (R2), Frazier took a 1-1 fastball from Cardinals pitcher Jack Flaherty for a called second strike. Replays indicate the pitch was located off the outer edge of home plate and knee-high (px -1.08, pz 1.56), the call was incorrect.* After Hurdle's ejection for arguing the strike two call, Frazier took a 1-2 fastball from Flaherty for a called third strike. Replays indicate the pitch was located over the outer half of home plate and at the hollow of the knee (px -0.42, pz 1.45 [sz_bot 1.46 / RAD 1.34]), the call was correct.^ At the time of both ejections, the Cardinals were leading, 2-0. The Cardinals ultimately won the contest, 2-0.

These are Roberto Ortiz (40)'s second and third ejections of 2019.
Roberto Ortiz now has 11 points in the UEFL Standings (9 Prev + 2*[2 AAA] - 4 QOCN + 2 QOCY = 11).
Crew Chief Ted Barrett now has 16 points in Crew Division (15 Previous + 0 QOCN + 1 QOCY = 16).
*UEFL Rule 6-2-b-1 (Kulpa Rule): |0| < STRIKE < |.748| < BORDERLINE < |.914| < BALL.
*The 1-1 pitch was located 1.99 horizontal inches from being deemed a correct call.
^The 1-2 pitch was located 2.32 vertical inches from being deemed an incorrect call.

These are the 192nd and 193rd ejection reports of the 2019 MLB regular season.
This is the 87th Manager ejection of 2019.
This is the 95th player ejection of 2019. Prior to ejection, Frazier was 0-3 (SO) in the contest.
This is Pittsburgh's 11/12th ejection of 2019, 2nd in the NL Central (CIN 23; PIT 12; MIL 8; CHC 7; STL 3).
This is Adam Frazier's first career MLB ejection.
This is Clint Hurdle's 4th ejection of 2019, 1st since July 27 (H Wendelstedt; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Roberto Ortiz's 2/3rd ejection of 2019, 1st since June 22 (Ron Gardenhire; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).

Wrap: St. Louis Cardinals vs. Pittsburgh Pirates, 9/8/19 | Video as follows:

MLB Ejections 190-191 - Mike Estabrook (12-13; WAS)

HP Umpire Mike Estabrook ejected Nationals SS Trea Turner and Manager Dave Martinez (strike three call; QOCY in the top of the 5th inning of the #Nationals-#Braves game. With none out and none on, Nationals batter Trea Turner took a 3-2 fastball from Braves pitcher Mike Soroka for a called third strike. Replays indicate the pitch was located over the outer half of home plate and at the hollow of the knee (px 0.68, pz 1.50 [sz_bot 1.59 / RAD 1.47]) and that all other pitches during the at-bat were officiated properly, the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the Nationals were leading, 4-1. The Nationals ultimately won the contest, 9-4.

These are Mike Estabrook (83)'s 12th and 13th ejections of 2019.
Mike Estabrook now has 42 points in the UEFL Standings (34 Prev + 2*[2 MLB + 2 QOCY] = 42).
Crew Chief Paul Emmel now has 9 points in Crew Division (7 Previous + 2*[1 Correct Call] = 9).
*This pitch was located 1.39 vertical inches from being deemed an incorrect call.

These are the 190th and 191st ejection report of the 2019 MLB regular season.
This is the 94th player ejection of 2019. Prior to ejection, Turner was 1-3 (2 SO) in the contest.
This is the 86th Manager ejection of 2019.
This is Washington's 8/9th ejection of 2019, 1st in the NL East (WAS 9; PHI 7; ATL 6; MIA, NYM 5).
This is Trea Turner's 1st ejection since April 5, 2018 (Doug Eddings; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Dave Martinez's 4th ejection of 2019, 1st since July 28 (Jeremie Rehak; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Mike Estabrook's 12th ejection of 2019, 1st since August 30 (Vlad Guerrero; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).

Wrap: Washington Nationals vs. Atlanta Braves, 9/8/19 | Video as follows:

Injury Scout - Jim Reynolds Removed in Baltimore

Jim Reynolds left his game in Baltimore after a lead-off HBP arm injury to start the night.

With none out and none on in the top of the first inning of Saturday's Rangers-Orioles game, Rangers batter Shin-Soo Choo took a 0-1 92-mph fastball for a hit-by-pitch, with the ball caroming into Reynolds' right hand. Reynolds remained in the game to complete the top of the first inning, signaling strikes with his left arm as the ball nearly found him again during a botched play at the plate.

After the half-inning, 1B Umpire Sean Barber replaced Reynolds at home plate for the remaining 8 1/2 innings with 2B Umpire Stu Scheurwater sent to first base, and 3B Umpire Alan Porter continuing at third base while assuming Acting Crew Chief duties. Reynolds did not work Sunday as Brendan Miller was called up to fill-in.

Relevant Injury History: Reynolds has no recent history of hand injuries.

Last Game: September 7 | Return to Play: TBD | Time Absent: TBD | Video as follows: