Sunday, November 8, 2015

2015 Honorable Umpires - John Hirschbeck & Dale Scott

John Hirschbeck and Dale Scott are 2015's Honorable Umpires of the Year [2014: Hirschbeck & Ted Barrett]
Voting Results (Top 5): Hirschbeck (15%), Scott (14%), Ted Barrett (13%), Sam Holbrook (9%), Will Little (8%).

John Hirschbeck and Dale Scott are the Umpire Ejection Fantasy League's 2015 honorable umpires of the year, which marks Hirschbeck's second consecutive season receiving this award. UEFL'ers noted that Hirschbeck dedicated the 2015 season to the memory of his son as driving his receipt of this award: "It's tough to top a father honoring his late son and Hirschbeck's motives for the 2015 MLB season are the definition of honorable." Said another regarding Hirschbeck's return to baseball: "Like or not for how he handles things on the field, for him to come back after a year removed from losing another child should give hope to all of us battling things off the field in our lives."

Support for Dale Scott as Honorable Umpire of the Year referred to "another solid season in what could have been a shit show of both positive and negative publicity coming off his disclosure," which refers to the December 2014 Outsports feature, "MLB umpire Dale Scott comes out as gay in quietest way possible," which itself referred to an October 2014 Referee Magazine feature. Both Scott and Hirschbeck worked postseason baseball, Scott the Division Series and Hirschbeck the League Championship Series.

Other than Hirschbeck, umpires who recently experienced immediate loss include Holbrook (9%) and Little (8%).

John Hirschbeck now has 17 points in the Umpire Ejection Fantasy League (15 Previous + 2 Award = 17).
Dale Scott now has 8 points in the Umpire Ejection Fantasy League (6 Previous + 2 Award = 8).
The next postseason award, Noteworthy Umpire(s) of the Year will be released later tonight.


Post a Comment