Wednesday, May 25, 2016

Featured MiLB Ejection - Jeff Gorman (Joe Mikulik)

Umpire Jeff Gorman's ejection of Frisco's Joe Mikulik, who put on another one of his act-like-a-five-year-old shows Tuesday night in the Double-A Texas League, is our featured Minor League ejection. It is also another opportunity to look at the bona fide slide rule (circa May 2016).

Mount Mikulik blew up again on Tuesday.
3B Umpire Jeff Gorman ejected RoughRiders Manager Joe Mikulik for arguing a middle-infielder interference double play call in the top of the 8th inning of the RoughRiders-Drillers game. With one out and two on (R1, R2), Frisco batter Kellin Deglan hit a 0-0 fastball from Drillers pitcher Caleb Dirks on the ground to second baseman Willie Calhoun, who threw to shortstop Brandon Trinkwon as RoughRiders baserunner R1 Zach Cone slid into Trinkwon, who attempted to throw onto first baseman Cody Bellinger. After conferring with 1B Umpire Lee Meyers, Gorman ruled R1 Cone and teammate BR Deglan out for Cone's interference. Replays indicate Cone's slide appeared bona fide and also show that he raised his right arm, but are inconclusive as to whether his actions constituted interference (mainly due to the camera leaving the action area during Cone's slide), the call was irrecusable. At the time of the ejection, the Drillers were leading, 3-0. The Drillers ultimately won the contest, 3-0.

Recall the four criteria of bona fide slide rule 6.01(j):
The runner attempting to break up a double play must engage in a bona fide slide:
1) Runner begins his slide and makes contact with the ground before reaching the base;
2) He is able and attempts to reach the base with his hand or foot;
3) He is able and attempts to remain on the base (except home) after completing the slide; and
4) He slides within reach without change of path to initiate contact with a fielder.

For this reason, we believe Cone's slide was bona fide (albeit without visual evidence that criterion #3 was satisfied), but cannot conclusively determine, given the mid-home camera angle shown (a reverse angle would have been useful), Cone's legality as relates to the "old" non-bona fide interference Rule 5.09(a)(13): "A preceding runner shall, in the umpire’s judgment, intentionally interfere with a fielder who is attempting to catch a thrown ball or to throw a ball in an attempt to complete any play."

Related Ejection: Ron Teague, 6/17/15 (Joe Mikulik).

Wrap: Frisco RoughRiders vs. Tulsa Drillers, 5/24/16 | Video available via "Read more"
Alternate Link: Mikulik throws another of his famous tantrums on a slide-turned-DP (FRI)


Post a Comment