Thursday, November 24, 2016

2016-17 Winter League MiLB Umpire Rosters

Each year as part of the Minor League Baseball Umpire Development program, MiLBUD (formerly PBUC) supports certain umpires to develop and officiate in off-season professional leagues.

In October, Minor League Baseball assigned 12 umpires (nine PCL, three IL) to the 2016 Arizona Fall League (roster available via this link). AFL assignments have recently featured mid-to-high level Triple-A umpires on track for work at the Major League level (e.g., four 2016 AFL umpires also officiated MLB games in 2016).

Before getting that coveted AFL assignment and informal domestic tryout, many umpires—especially those from other parts of the globe—take the international route by officiating one of pro baseball's Winter Leagues. The following is a roster of the 2016-17 Winter League umpires and regular season dates. Our Minor League Scout MLBumpireobserver has additionally identified which of these officials also served in Minor League Baseball this past season; they are identified at the top of their respective league in bold text with their 2016 MiLB league in parentheses. Minor League Baseball officiating is most strongly represented this winter in the Venezuelan League with six umpires officiating that league's games:

Australian Baseball League (ABL, 11/17/16 - 1/29/17) - Two 2016 Minor League Umpires
Takahito Matsuda (Single-A, California League) - From Seiyo Ehime, Japan
Tom West (Single-A, South Atlantic League) - From Queensland, Australia
Barry Barnes
Riley Barrington
Andrew Bell
Lou Bonomi
Peter Bowie
Gavin Carson
Bob Crawford
Michael Cumming
Blake Halligan
Geoff Hallmann
Ryan Harder
Greg Howard
Stewart Howe
Paul Hyham
Greg Kent
Paul Latta
Michael Lyons
Mal Mackay
David Milton
Ian Reval
Brett Robson
James Shields
Payne Sowter
Jordan Taylor
Trent Thomas

Dominican Winter League (10/20 - 12/21/16) - One 2016 Minor League Umpire
Hardlen Acosta (Rookie Short, Gulf Coast League) - From Sanchez, Dominican Republic
Santo Castillo
Nelson De La Cruz
Juan Diaz
Felix Leguisamo
Verman Mejia
Miguel Mercedes
Domingo Paulino
Edward Pinales
Domingo Polanco
Juan Manuel Rodriguez
Santos Silvestre
Felix Tejada
Simeon Vasquez
Mariano Vizcaino

Puerto Rican / Roberto Clemente League (10/27 - 12/30/16) - Two 2016 Minor League Umpires
Jean JC Velez-Morales (Single-A, Carolina League) - From San Juan, Puerto Rico
Kelvis Velez Caminero (Rookie Short, Gulf Coast League) - From Ensenada, Puerto Rico
Kelvin Bultron
Delfin Colon* (Former MiLB and MLB Fill-In Umpire)
Jorge Davilla
Edwin Hernandez
William Lopez
Ivan Mercado
Vincent Morales
Carlos Rey
Charlie Rivera

Venezuelan Winter League (10/6 - 12/29/16) - Six 2016 Minor League Umpires
David Arrieta Quintero (Double-A, Southern League) - From Maracaibo Zulia, Venezuela
Gabriel Alfonzo (Rookie Short, Gulf Coast League) - From Guacara, Venezuela
Jhonatan Biarreta (Rookie Short, Gulf Coast League) - From Barquisimeto, Lara, Venezuela
Roberto Moreno (Triple-A, International League) - From Cumana, Venezuela
Jonathan Parra (Single-A, Carolina League) - From Valencia, Carabobo, Venezuela
Jorge Teran (Double-A, Eastern League) - From Barquisimeto, Venezuela
Manolo Alejandro
Heriberto Diaz
Mayhue Edwards
Luis Gonzalez
Juan Gomez
Edwin Jimenez
Emil Jimenez
Carlos Leal
Yosman Mendez
Jose Navas
Leo Nieves
Edward Pacheco
Osmel Pimentel
Jesus Santiago
Rainiero Valero

Mexican Pacific League (10/11 - 12/30/16)
Ulises Dominguez
Eliseo Favela
Jair Fernandez
Jaime Gutierrez
Demian Hernandez
Abraham Lopez
Jesus Lopez
Orlando Lopez
Roberto La Madrid
Socrates Marin
Oswaldo Meza
Marco Nava
Felipe Romero
Daniel Rubio
Michael Salazar
Pablo Soto

Hometown information is from


Post a Comment