Sunday, October 11, 2020

2020 AL & NL League Championship Series Umpire Roster

MLB announced umpire assignments for 2020's American and National League Championship Series. The roster features umpires in seven-person crews led by chiefs Jeff Nelson (ALCS) and Jim Reynolds (NLCS).

Crew Chiefs are indicated in bold text and by the -cc suffix, regular season crew chiefs with an asterisk (*), interim crew chiefs with a degree (°), and first League Championship Series assignments by the tag (^1st LCS^). The following crews are presented in their Game 1 rotation.

Unique to 2020, umpires for the LCS and World Series will not rotate through New York for Replay Review duty. Instead, the seven-person crew will remain in the postseason bubble with each umpire slated to be off the field during the game prior to that umpire's scheduled plate game. Thus, if an umpire officiates Game 1 at second base and Game 2 at first base, that umpire will be off for Game 3 and serve as home plate umpire for Game 4.

Umpires assigned to HP, 7th, 1B, and 2B, thus, are guaranteed to work home plate during the series, with umpires starting at 3B, LF, and RF scheduled for decisive Games 5, 6, and 7, respectively, and if necessary. Due to baseball's unique 2020 postseason format, MLB has assigned an unprecedented number of umpires to the postseason. The League Championship Series is the third round of four.

AL League Championship Series (Houston Astros vs Tampa Bay Rays) Umpires:
HP: Manny Gonzalez ^1st LCS^
1B: Jeff Nelson* -cc [Game 3 Plate]
2B: Chris Conroy [Game 4 Plate]
3B: Ted Barrett* [Game 5 Plate]
LF: Tim Timmons [Game 6 Plate]
RF: Lance Barksdale [Game 7 Plate]
7th: John Tumpane ^1st LCS^ [Game 2 Plate]

NL League Championship Series (Atlanta Braves vs Los Angeles Dodgers) Umpires:
HP: Pat Hoberg ^1st LCS^
1B: Jim Reynolds* -cc [Game 3 Plate]
2B: Cory Blaser [Game 4 Plate]
3B: Dan Iassogna* [Game 5 Plate]
LF: Alan Porter [Game 6 Plate]
RF: James Hoye [Game 7 Plate]
7th: Will Little ^1st LCS^ [Game 2 Plate]

Replay Officials: Marty Foster (ALCS) and Mike Muchlinski (NLCS), Jordan Baker (Assistant)

Pursuant to UEFL Rule 4-3-c, umpires selected to appear in the League Championship Series receive three bonus point for this appearance, while postseason crew chiefs receive an additional bonus point.


Post a Comment