Saturday, July 30, 2011

Ejections: Marvin Hudson (4)

1B Umpire Marvin Hudson ejected Blue Jays shortstop Yunel Escobar for arguing an out call in the bottom of the 6th inning of the Rangers-Blue Jays game. With none out and none on, Escobar hit a 1-1 fastball from Rangers pitcher Derek Holland for a ground ball to second baseman Ian Kinsler to first baseman Michael Young. Replays indicate Young momentarily had possession of the ball in the glove while in contact with first base, the call was correct. At the time of the ejection, the Rangers were leading, 2-0. The Rangers ultimately won the contest, 3-0.

This is Marvin Hudson (51)'s fourth ejection of 2011.
Marvin Hudson now has 10 points in the Umpire Ejection Fantasy League (6 Previous + 2 MLB + 2 Ccorrect Call = 10)
Marvin Hudson is owned as a Secondary Umpire by mtn335, who is now in 4th place in the UEFL with 20 points.

This is the 133rd ejection of 2011.
This is the 61st player ejection of 2011.
Prior to his ejection, Escobar was 0-3 in the contest.

Wrap: Rangers at Blue Jays 7/30/11 Wrap
Video: Hudson Runs Escobar
Video (2): Escobar Ejected Over Out Call

7 comments :

Anonymous said...

If you have MLB.tv look at the full Rangers feed and one video shows the call was clearly correct good call by Hudson...

tmac said...

That wasn't all that dificult of a call.. One wonders what was going through Escobar's head at the time.... Yes at some point his foot will come off the bag.... It will not stay there forever.

zcr57 said...

Looks like a good call to me.

drjjulius said...

I love it how the announcers automatically go against the umpire. They can't even get the call right with a reply. Good call, Hudson.

Anonymous said...

If Escobar had actually been running hard out of the box, he would have been safe by a step.

He'd also be a perennial all star if he showed even a little bit of passion.

Anonymous said...

Wow, I also cannot believe the announcers? If MLB institutes more replay, it's going to be a fiasco! Not only was this a good call, I agree with a previous post, it was kind of easy.

Anonymous said...

It looked like he might have come off the bag, but Hudson never got into position, he saw that the ball got there in time and called him out while he was still running into position, you obviously can't make that call while running. The quick trigger was just a practice of CYA, so he didn't have to argue the call and admit he didn't have a good look at it.

Post a Comment