Friday, May 11, 2012

Ejection 025: Derryl Cousins (1)

HP Umpire Derryl Cousins ejected Indians 3B Coach Steve Smith for arguing an out call in the top of the 2nd inning of the Indians-Red Sox game. With two out and one on, Indians batter Jason Kipnis hit a 2-2 fastball from Red Sox pitcher Clay Buchholz to left fielder Daniel Nava who threw to catcher Jarrod Saltalamacchia as Indians runner Jack Hannahan arrived at home plate. Replays indicate Saltalamacchia successfully blocked home plate, Hannahan's foot did not touch it, the call was correct. At the time of the ejection, the Red Sox were leading, 2-1. The Red Sox ultimately won the contest, 7-5.

This is Derryl Cousins' (13) first ejection of 2012.
Derryl Cousins now has 4 points in the UEFL (0 Previous + 2 MLB + 2 Correct Call = 4).
Crew Chief Derryl Cousins now has 1 point in the Crew Division (0 Previous + 1 Correct Call = 1).

UEFL Standings Update

This is the 25th ejection of 2012.
This is Steve Smith's first ejection of 2012.
This is the second non-manager, non-player ejection of 2012.

Wrap: Indians at Red Sox 5/11/12
Video: Cousins bangs out Hannahan at the plate, ejects 3rd base coach Steve Smith for arguing
Video: Nava gets Hannahan at the plate with a Saltalamacchia block of the plate

21 comments :

SJR said...

The play itself is uploaded, but not the ejection: http://mlb.mlb.com/news/article.jsp?ymd=20120511&content_id=30978348&vkey=news_mlb&c_id=mlb

True, the catcher's foot did go up, but the runner's foot went over home plate never touching it. Good call.

UmpsRule said...

Is it just me or is Smith embroiled in controversy more than the average coach?

Turducken said...

@UmpsRule, I guess Reality TV does that to you!

tmac said...

Wow... You can't give enough credit to Cousins for handling this play about as perfect as a play can be handled! This isn't as easy as he made it look.... NO tag no touch of the plate no call.... and once a base coach leaves his position to argue done. Now THERE is a ZERO tolererence policy that should be followed 100% of the time... Can't be done any better!!

Anonymous said...

tmac, where did you see the video?

Dan said...

Mike Muchlinski dumped Eric Hinske in the 8th inning of the Braves/Cards game, for arguing a strike three call on a pitch that, having only seen it quickly on Sports Center and not seeing a replay yet, appeared to be well off the plate.

Anonymous said...

tmac, I loved your analysis of the play. Yes, it was great mechanics by Cousins. BTW, the Indian announcers said it was a "good call" and their replay had a great close up of Hanrahan missing the base.

Pete said...

Excellent call by Cousins -- not easy to make a no call when there is no tag/no touch.

Also, Interesting play Pirates/Astros with Brad Mills getting the gate. Possible case-play there.

Pete said...

Steve Smith ejetion: http://mlb.mlb.com/video/play.jsp?content_id=21334561&c_id=mlb

Mills Ejection:
http://mlb.mlb.com/video/play.jsp?content_id=21344419&c_id=mlb

MaestroBen said...

@Dan,

Just watched the Hinske ejection on the mlb.tv archive. It's clear that Muchlinski called the pitch strike 3 on the swing. It was close. As a Braves fan, emotionally I'd like to say that there was no swing. But if I were behind the plate I'd definitely be tempted to ring Hinske up there.

Dan said...

Oh ok, I didn't realize it was a check swing call. I was just going by what they were saying on Baseball Tonight, and they were acting like it was a called strike three. Not surprising that they didn't know what they were talking about.

tmac said...

I watched the video of the indians cast on mlb.tv which is a pay service that if you watch baseball all the time like I do is a must.... I think it should be noted both broadcasters were very kind to the umpire... in this instance!!

And thank you... I'm always here to try to break down the plays as best as i can as i know we have a lot of non-umpires on the site!!

Jeremy Dircks said...

Sorry guys, having technical difficulties. Write ups are coming.

Anonymous said...

I wish there was a camera that followed Smith into the clubhouse...I can see it now!! All red faced pacing around, screaming at the clubbie to pull up the replay just waiting for vindication. The replay comes up, he starts nodding his head "yup..here it is, here we........" only to realize..."oh wow that wasn't close"...then he gets really quiet, grabs a diet coke sits down on a couch and feels like a silly goose for sending that guy.

UmpsRule said...

@ tmac: Yes, the Indians announcers were kind to the umpire. They must not be feeling well.

kickersrule said...

Technically the runner was safe because the catcher blocked the plate without the ball which would be obstruction. However that is never called so I guess it was a really good call.

Anonymous said...

Not even close to obstruction.

Rule 2.00 obstruction is the act of a fielder, who, while not in possession of the ball and not in the act of fielding the ball, impedes the progress of any runner. Catcher is clearly in the act of fielding the ball. Even the comment allows it:

Rule 2.00 (Obstruction) Comment: If a fielder is about to receive a thrown ball and if the ball is in flight directly toward and near enough to the fielder so he must occupy his position to receive the ball he may be considered “in the act of fielding a ball.” It is entirely up to the judgment of the umpire as to whether a fielder is in the act of fielding a ball.

Anonymous said...

kickersrule: You must be thinking of high school rules. In OBR it's enough to be about to receive the ball, which he clearly is.

Anonymous said...

Great call and a well deserved EJ by Cousins. If nothing else, I hope Smith now realizes how much he showed up his manager by running to the plate to argue like that. Steve Smith: the only member of the 2008 WS champion Phillies coaching staff not invited back for the following season.

Anonymous said...

Cousins has made this call numerous times over his long umpiring career. Smith is a punk.

Big Marc said...

kickersrule...... wow, wow to your comments.

Cousins is a great umpire. He made a great non call last year at 2nd base.

Post a Comment