Friday, August 29, 2025

MLB Ejection 143 - Manny Gonzalez (3; Nestor Cortes)

HP Umpire Manny Gonzalez ejected Padres pitcher Nestor Cortes (ball calls to Austin Martin; QOCY) in the bottom of the 4th inning of the #Padres-#Twins game. With none out and one on, Twins batter Martin took 0-0 and 3-2 fastballs from Padres pitcher Cortes for called first and fourth balls. Replays indicate the 0-0 pitch was located over the inner edge of home plate and below the hollow beneath the knee (px -0.75, pz 1.59 [sz_bot 1.68 / RAD 1.56 / MOE 1.64]) and the 3-2 pitch was located off the outer edge of home plate and below the midpoint (px 0.95, pz 3.12 [sz_top 3.44]), the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the Padres were leading, 2-1. The Twins ultimately won the contest, 7-4.

This is Manny Gonzalez (79)'s 3rd ejection of 2025.
*The 0-0 pitch was located 0.60 vertical & the 3-2 pitch was 2.44 horizontal inches from incorrect.

This is the 143rd ejection report of the 2025 MLB regular season.
This is the 43rd player ejection of 2025. Ejection Tally: 76 Managers, 24 Coaches, 43 Players.
This is San Diego's 9th ejection of 2025, 1st in the NL West (SD 9; ARI 5; SF 4; COL, LAD 3).
This is Nestor Cortes' first career MLB ejection.
This is Manny Gonzalez's 3rd ejection of 2025, 1st since July 23 (Aaron Boone; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).

Wrap: San Diego Padres vs Minnesota Twins, 8/29/25 | Video as follows:

MLB Ejection 142 - Derek Thomas (4; Chris Johnson)

HP Umpire Derek Thomas ejected Nationals assistant hitting coach Chris Johnson (strike three call to CJ Abrams; QOCN) in the bottom of the 4th inning of the #Rays-#Nationals game. With two out and two on, Nationals batter Abrams took a 3-2 sinker from Rays pitcher Adrian Houser for a called third strike. Replays indicate the pitch was located over the heart of home plate and below the hollow beneath the knee (px 0.14, pz 1.22 [sz_bot 1.59 / RAD 1.47 / MOE 1.39]), the call was incorrect.* At the time of the ejection, the Rays were leading, 2-1. The Rays ultimately won the contest, 4-1.

This is Derek Thomas (53)'s 7th ejection of 2025.
*This pitch was located 2.04 vertical inches from being deemed correct.

This is the 142nd ejection report of the 2025 MLB regular season.
This is the 24th coach ejection of 2025. Ejection Tally: 76 Managers, 24 Coaches, 42 Players.
This is Washington's 7th ejection of 2025, 1st in the NL East (WAS 7; MIA, PHI NYM 3; ATL 2).
This is Chris Johnson's 2nd ejection of 2025, 1st since April 27 (Lance Barrett; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Derek Thomas' 7th ejection of 2025, 1st since August 25 (Oliver Marmol; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).

Wrap: Tampa Bay Rays vs Washington Nationals, 8/29/25 | Video as follows:

Thursday, August 28, 2025

MLB Ejection 141 - David Rackley (1; Craig Counsell)

HP Umpire David Rackley ejected Cubs manager Craig Counsell (strike three call to Ian Happ & Kyle Tucker caught stealing; QOCY) in the top of the 3rd inning of the #Cubs-#Giants game. With one out and one on, Cubs batter Happ took a 3-2 changeup from Giants pitcher Logan Webb for a called third strike. Replays indicate the pitch was located over the outer edge of home plate and thigh-high (px -0.79, pz 2.45), the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the game was tied, 2-2. The Giants ultimately won the contest, 4-3.

This is David Rackley (86)'s 2nd ejection of 2025.
*This pitch was located 1.49 horizontal inches from being deemed incorrect.

This is the 141st ejection report of the 2025 MLB regular season.
This is the 76th manager ejection of 2025. Ejection Tally: 76 Managers, 23 Coaches, 42 Players.
This is Chicago's 7th ejection of 2025, 1st in the NL Central (CHC, STL 7; PIT 5; CIN 4; MIL 2).
This is Craig Counsell's 3rd ejection of 2025, 1st since June 9 (Stu Scheurwater; QOC = Y [RLI]).
This is David Rackley's 1st ejection since Sept 16, 2024 (Vance Wilson; QOC = U [Check Swing]).

Wrap: Chicago Cubs vs San Francisco Giants, 8/28/25 | Video as follows:

Wednesday, August 27, 2025

MLB Ejection 140 - James Hoye (6; Hunter Goodman)

HP Umpire James Hoye ejected Rockies catcher Hunter Goodman (strike two call; QOCY) in the top of the 6th inning of the #Rockies-#Astros game. With two out and none on, Rockies batter Goodman took a 0-1 curveball from Astros pitcher Framber Valdez for a called second strike before striking out swinging on the next pitch. Replays indicate the 0-1 pitch was located over the outer half of home plate and at the hollow beneath the knee (px 0.46, pz 1.50 [sz_bot 1.56 / RAD 1.44]), the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the Astros were leading, 1-0. The Astros ultimately won the contest, 4-0.

This is James Hoye (92)'s 6th ejection of 2025.
*This pitch was located 1.68 vertical inches from being deemed incorrect.

This is the 140th ejection report of the 2025 MLB regular season.
This is the 42nd player ejection of 2025. Ejection Tally: 75 Managers, 23 Coaches, 42 Players.
This is Colorado's 3rd ejection of 2025, 4th in the NL West (SD 8; ARI 5; SF 4; COL, LAD 3).
This is Hunter Goodman's first career MLB ejection.
This is James Hoye's 6th ejection of 2025, 1st since August 18 (Mike Shildt; QOC = N [Replay Review]).

Wrap: Colorado Rockies vs Houston Astros, 8/27/25 | Video as follows:

MLB Ejection 139 - Mark Wegner (3; Brian Snitker)

2B Umpire Mark Wegner ejected Braves manager Brian Snitker (warnings after Ronald Acuña HBP) in the top of the 3rd inning of the #Braves-#Marlins game. With none out and one on, Braves batter Matt Olson hit a home run off Marlins pitcher Ryan Gusto. Ensuing Braves batter Acuña then took a 0-0 sinker from Gusto inside for a hit-by-pitch. Replays indicate the pitch struck Acuña on the elbow, leading to a benches-clearing incident, resulting in warnings, the call was irrecusable. At the time of the ejection, the Braves were leading, 3-0. The Braves ultimately won the contest, 12-1.

This is Mark Wegner (14)'s 3rd ejection of 2025.
*Official Baseball Rule 6.02(c)(9): "If, in the umpire’s judgment, circumstances warrant, both teams may be officially “warned” prior to the game or at any time during the game."
OBR 6.02(c)(9): "Team personnel may not come onto the playing surface to argue or dispute a warning issued under Rule 6.02(c)(9). If a manager, coach or player leaves the dugout or their position to dispute a warning, they should be warned to stop. If they continue, they are subject to ejection."

This is the 139th ejection report of the 2025 MLB regular season.
This is the 75th manager ejection of 2025. Ejection Tally: 75 Managers, 23 Coaches, 41 Players.
This is Atlanta's 2nd ejection of 2025, 5th in the NL East (WAS 6; MIA, PHI NYM 3; ATL 2).
This is Brian Snitker's 2nd ejection of 2025, 1st since June 7 (Gabe Morales; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Mark Wegner's 3rd ejection of 2025, 1st since June 24 (Jazz Chisholm; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).

Wrap: Atlanta Braves vs Miami Marlins, 8/27/25 | Video as follows:

Tuesday, August 26, 2025

MLB Ejection 138 - Willie Traynor (2; Jesús Luzardo)

HP Umpire Willie Traynor ejected Phillies pitcher Jesús Luzardo (ball four call to Starling Marte; QOCY) in the bottom of the 5th inning of the #Phillies-#Mets game. With none out and two on, Mets batter Marte took a 3-2 fastball from Phillies pitcher Luzardo for a called fourth ball. Replays indicate the pitch was located off the inner edge of home plate and above the midpoint (px -0.84, pz 3.69 [sz_top 3.52 / RAD 3.64]), the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the Phillies were leading, 2-1. The Mets ultimately won the contest, 6-5.

This is Willie Traynor (45)'s 2nd ejection of 2025.
*This pitch was located 0.12 horizontal and 1.56 vertical inches from being deemed incorrect.

This is the 138th ejection report of the 2025 MLB regular season.
This is the 41st player ejection of 2025. Ejection Tally: 74 Managers, 23 Coaches, 41 Players.
This is Philadelphia's 3rd ejection of 2025, 2bd in the NL East (WAS 6; MIA, PHI NYM 3; ATL 1).
This is Jesús Luzardo's first career MLB ejection.
This is Willie Traynor's 2nd ejection of 2025, 1st since July 26 (Terry Francona; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).

Wrap: Philadelphia Phillies vs New York Mets, 8/26/25 | Video as follows:

Monday, August 25, 2025

MLB Ejections 136-7 - Derek Thomas (5-6; STL x2)

HP Umpire Derek Thomas ejected Cardinals DH Willson Contreras and manager Oliver Marmol (strike three call; QOCY) in the bottom of the 7th inning of the #Pirates-#Cardinals game. With one out and one on, Cardinals batter Contreras took a 0-2 sinker from Pirates pitcher Yohan Ramírez for a called third strike. Replays indicate the pitch was located over the inner half of home plate and knee-high (px -0.20, pz 1.77 [sz_bot 1.61 / RAD 1.49]), the call was correct.* At the time of the ejection, the Cardinals were leading, 6-5. The Cardinals ultimately won the contest, 7-6.

These are Derek Thomas (53)'s 5th and 6th ejections of 2025.
*This pitch was located 4.32 vertical inches from being deemed incorrect.

These are the 136th and 137th ejections of the 2025 MLB regular season.
This is the 40th player ejection of 2025.
This is the 74th manager ejection of 2025. Ejection Tally: 74 Managers, 23 Coaches, 40 Players.
This is St Louis' 6/7th ejection of 2025, 1st in the NL Central (STL 7; CHC 6; PIT 5; CIN 4; MIL 2).
This is Willson Contreras' 1st ejection since August 22, 2023 (Brennan Miller; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Oliver Marmol's 6th ejection of 2025, 1st since August 17 (Nic Lentz; QOC = N [Balls/Strikes]).
This is Derek Thomas' 5/6th ejection of 2025, 1st since August 10 (Aaron Boone; QOC = Y [Balls/Strikes]).

Wrap: Pittsburgh Pirates vs St Louis Cardinals, 8/25/25 | Video as follows:

Runner Touched by Fair Ball in Little League - What's the Call?

What happens when a runner is touched by a fair ball? During the Canada vs Aruba Little League World Series game, a baserunner from first base ran into a batted ball after it passed the drawn-in first baseman, but before it got to the second baseman backing up. Umpires, what's the call here?

With one out and one on, a ground ball to the right side eluded Aruba's diving first baseman, without touching him or his glove, before striking baserunner R1 behind him, as the second baseman ranged to his left to potentially back up the play. After initially ruling runner R1 out, umpires ultimately placed R1 on second base, deeming that he did not interfere with the batted ball.

Official Baseball Rule 6.01(a)(11) states it is interference when "A fair ball touches them on fair territory before touching a fielder. If a fair ball goes through, or by, an infielder, and touches a runner immediately back of him, or touches the runner after having been deflected by a fielder, the umpire shall not declare the runner out for being touched by a batted ball. In making such decision the umpire must be convinced that the ball passed through, or by, the fielder, and that no other infielder had the chance to make a play on the ball."

Little League Rule 5.09(f) is nearly identical in outcome: "If a fair ball goes through, or by an infielder and touches a runner immediately back of said infielder or touches a runner after being deflected by an infielder, the ball is in play and the umpire shall not declare the runner out. In making such decision, the umpire must be convinced that the ball passed through, or by, the infielder and that no other infielder had the chance to make a play on the ball; runners advance if forced."

Given that the ball did not make contact with the first baseman, the operative question, thus, is whether or not the second baseman had the chance to make a play on the ball. If he did, then the runner is out. If he did not, then the runner is not out. What's your call?

Video as follows: