|This is a UEFL Video Case Play. Click the picture to view.|
Play: With one out and a runner on first in the bottom of the ninth inning of a tied ballgame, batter B1 hits a ground ball into the hole between short and third base. Shortstop F6 fields the ground ball and, after R1 has already rounded second base, throws wildly past first base and into the dugout or camera well.
UEFL Video: Case Play 2013-02, SF-MIL Bot. 9
a: Milwaukee's Bill Schroeder and San Francisco's Jon Miller both had unique interpretations of the play as it unfolded and as Brewers Manager Ron Roenicke came out to discuss the events with home plate umpire and crew chief Tim Welke.
Bill Schroeder (Milwaukee Brewers, FSWI): "It's not where he was when the ball goes into the dugout, it's where the fielder gets rid of the baseball...he should be able to score."
Jon Miller (San Francisco Giants, KNBR): "That rule is simply from the base at which they started [on a batted ball, at time of pitch], so he only gets the one extra base no matter where he actually was."
Who is right: Schroeder, Miller or neither? If neither, what would a fully correct transcript have stated?
For this and the following scenarios, where do the runners end up and how shall play resume?
b: Assume F6 Brandon Crawford bobbles the ball—does not field it cleanly—and fakes R1 Josh Prince back to second before throwing to first base, with the same result of a wild throw into dead ball territory (had the throw been accurate, B1 Carlos Gomez may or may not have been retired—it would have been bang-bang at first). Is your answer to part (a) the same? If not, what is the correct ruling?
c: Assume F6 fields the ball cleanly, as in the original play, but the speedy Carlos Gomez had already rounded first base in anticipation of a potential error as Crawford releases his throw in an attempt to "pick off" or catch Gomez by surprise in throwing behind the batter-runner. R2 Prince is standing on second base. As in the original play, this throw enters DBT. Is your answer to part (a) the same? If not, what is the correct ruling?