"This is like Final Jeopardy! on the umpire exam....Time to go digging for the ol' rule book."
|U3 Guccione halts play at third base.|
Replays indicate that when F2 Montero tagged R2 Murphy, R3 Tejada was not in contact with third base (having already ran past it).
Video: Darrell Ceciliani can't get the bunt down, leading to Mets mayhem at third base (CHC)
Case Play Question, 2015-06: What is the proper call here? Rule 7.03(a) [OBR 2015 Rule 5.06(a)(2)] states that, "Two runners may not occupy a base, but if, while the ball is alive, two runners are touching a base, the following runner shall be out when tagged and the preceding runner is entitled to the base" (unless it is a force play), but what happens when said preceding runner attempts to retreat to his base and overruns it while the trail runner is in contact?
Hint: Which came first, the chicken or the egg?